Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Air Bags Problems

2007 Saturn Aura (Page 2 of 4)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: The Saturn Aura was a mid-size car meant to replace the somewhat problematic L-Series. Unfortunately, the Aura brought its own problems: namely cheap brake parts that needed early replacement and a gear shifter that could say it’s in park while the transmission was still engaged.

Brake problems, including uneven wear and warped rotors that cause the car to wobble, are common complaints from 2007 owners. Did GM use metal for its rotors that can’t stand the heat? That’s what some say, and it’s hard to argue when reports show that rotors could start to warp as early as 500 miles off the dealer lot.

Meanwhile, a busted gear shifter cable lead to some unwanted rollaways. That’s because the shifter could say “Park” while the transmission was still in drive, reverse or neutral. A defect investigation into the issue was opened in 2011, eventually leading to a recall of 56,000 vehicles in 2014.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
71,859 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Saturn Aura seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Saturn Aura:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Saturn Aura Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #58

Jul 162010

Aura 6-cyl

  • 24,755 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

7-16-10 air bag light came on as soon as I started the car. Repair that was done states "airbag readiness light on w/dtcs B0081/B0092 in sdopcode:C9780. "retrieved fault code set 056. Tech inspected for dampness/wet damage, cleaned module & dried eassembled and rezeroed module assembly. Within a few months the light started coming on again sporadically. 2-3-11 took car back to dealer for airbag light sporadically turning on. Repair states "32031 tested for codes no codes found, tested circuit, no problem". light still came on. 11-18-11 took care for dealer for airbag light. I was advised I needed to pay for repairs as my car was no longer under warranty.

- Norwalk , CA, USA

problem #57

Oct 292013

Aura 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. The contact stated that the air bag off warning light illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the mode dual needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000. Updated 12/9/14 updated 5/11/2015

- Lino Lakes, MN, USA

problem #56

Aug 012013

Aura 6-cyl

  • 36,000 miles
Passenger air bag turned off while driving. The dash light comes on indicating the air bag is off. Happened most times we drove the car and at any speed. Occasionally the service air bag warning light would also come on indicating both front air bags weren't working. I took the car to our dealer and was told this was a very dangerous situation and need to replace the passenger seat air bag sensor for approximately $1200. Also was told there is no safety recall for this which I find is incredible. We had the work done and hope GM will perform a recall before someone is injured or killed.

- Downers Grove, IL, USA

problem #55

Oct 262014

Aura

  • 115,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. The contact stated that the service air bag light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 115,000.

- Davidson, MI, USA

problem #54

Feb 012014

Aura 6-cyl

  • 28,000 miles
Vehicles airbag warning lights turn on intermittently. Stating one or both are not functioning. This warning message shows for the passenger airbag warning signal whether there is a passenger in the seat also when it is empty. Warning light for drivers seat will turn off and reset back to "normal" or it's working I assume only when I stop the car put in park and shut the engine off and startup again. This is unnerving, not really sure whether I truly have functioning airbags even after completing this ridiculous process. Oct. 24,2014 I took the vehicle in for the latest recall 13036 body control module which was completed. While at Chevy dealership I had the service department check the airbag malfunction. The diagnosis was the only way to fix the problem would be to replace the passenger pressence system B0081 sym 71. B0081 sym 3A total cost to me $820. !!! my Aura is in excellent condition with 31,597 miles as of October 24,2014. However, I have no other choice for transportation at this time, so I hope and pray the airbags will function correctly should I need them. I feel this is a definite safety issue for General Motors. Please issue this recallto cover all costs before someone is hurt!

- Hastings, MI, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #53

Oct 012012

Aura 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
My passenger air bag light came on. When I took it to the dealership they indicated it was a bad bag that looked like it had been used. The car has never been in any kind of wreck. I bought it from a dealership with 28,000 miles and a carfax indicated one owner and no wrecks. I noticed on GM recall list several passenger air bags are being recalled. My dealership wants $700 to replace and I feel it should be fixed by GM for putting a faulty air bag in the car.

- Grosse Pointe, MI, USA

problem #52

Sep 012010

Aura 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Passenger air bag sensor cycles on/off every time the passenger shifts in their seat. The dealer want $1,200+ to repair this $1 part as the system is mis-designed. The passenger air bag will likely not deploy in an accident.

- Mt. Juliet, TN, USA

problem #51

Jul 162010

Aura 6-cyl

  • 24,758 miles
2007 Saturn Aura. Consumer writes in regards to airbag problems. The consumer stated the air bag light illuminated, back in July 2010. The technician retrieved a fault code of 056. The tech inspected the unit for dampness, cleaned and dried the module. The air bag light illuminated again, but no fault code appeared. The air bag light illuminated again, for a third time. However, the consumer was informed the vehicle was no longer under warranty and she would have to pay a $125 for a diagnosis.

- Norwalk, CA, USA

problem #50

Aug 042014

Aura 6-cyl

  • miles
2007 Saturn Aura. Consumer writes in regards to passenger air bag sensor problems. The consumer stated the passenger air bag sensor would go out, when his wife sat in the passenger seat. When driving, the sensor light would go to the off position, then back on and after a while to off again. The consumer had the problem back in 2008, and the dealer replaced the sensor pad in the passenger seat under warranty.

- Andover, MA, USA

problem #49

May 082012

Aura 6-cyl

  • miles
I purchased my vehicle in 2011 with 55,476 odometer within this time frame I had to replace fuel pump and the alarm system is not functioning at all. The air bag system comes on and off even in the process of me driving. I haven't been notify due to any of these matters until I found web site.

- Shreveport, LA, USA

problem #48

Jul 102014

Aura 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

July 2014 - Saturn Aura 2007 problem: Service light turned on when starting car called GM dealership to schedule a service appointment; car was not driven until appointment when starting the car, the light was out inspection: Service department advisor noted: The passenger air bag module was defective (?trouble codes B0081 3A and B0081 71) considered a safety hazard passenger air bag may malfunction on impact repairs: ?replaced module and connector and heat pad (followed bulletin 10-0941-003A) "in addition, customer had received an "open" recall for a transmission shift cable fracture; work required by recall completed. Complaint - module defect: There is a safety hazard associated with the passenger air bag. Owner's manual caution the air bag system may not perform in a crash?and should be serviced"without delay. According to other complaints on your website, this is not an uncommon occurrence or an isolated incident in some GM models. The high cost for correcting this GM malfunction has been imposed on the owners and is beyond the owner's responsibility for standard repairs and upkeep for safety issues associated with this malfunction, there should be a mandated recall.

- Miamisburg, OH, USA

problem #47

May 022011

Aura

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. While driving 45 mph, the air bag indicator illuminated. The failure occurred multiple times. The dealer stated that there could have been an electrical failure in the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000.

- Canyon Country, CA, USA

problem #46

Jul 122014

Aura 6-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
Passenger airbag indicator light works intermittently when a passenger is in the seat. An approx 125 lbs person sits in the seat and it goes on for a bit and then back off. Concerned that it airbag will not deploy properly in an accident if the sensor is not working. After reading various forums, it seems to be a common problem with the Saturn Aura once over 50K miles.

- Henrico, VA, USA

problem #45

Jul 012013

Aura 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
Air bag light does not always turn on when passenger seat is occupied, therefore, unknown if the airbag works or not!

- Marysville , WA, USA

problem #44

Mar 032014

Aura

  • 96,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. The contact stated that the brake lights illuminated while the vehicle was in motion and dimmed when the brake pedal was depressed. In addition, the air bag indicator would not illuminate when the seat was occupied. The dealer was unable to diagnose the cause of the failures. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 96,000.

- Newaygo, MI, USA

problem #43

May 242013

Aura 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
Door locks malfunction constantly locking and unlocking. Engine heat can be felt inside the car when driving causing the A/C to be used excessively waisting more gasoline. Windshield wipers wear out quickly and do not wipe water off of driver side glass well. Radio and speakers electrical malfunctioning. Lettering rubbed off on functional buttons on steering wheel and doors. Air bag light malfunction. Hood of car developed weather spots. Insulation at the top of front window worn out.

- Delray Beach, FL, USA

problem #42

Jun 202007

Aura 6-cyl

  • 5,000 miles
We have owned a 2007 Saturn Aura, VIN [xxx] since it was new. When it had about 5000 miles the service air bag light came on and the passenger air bag went out even though there was a passenger in the seat. A few minutes later the light went out. This would happen off and on but the dealership could never find a code. Recently it began doing it again quiet often and was really intermittent. I tried onstar diagnostics but every time I'd push the onstar button the light would go out and they could never find a code. I took it to our Chevy dealership on Friday and they called me today saying it's a bad passenger detection module. Looking at 'X web site this has been an issue with a lot of these vehicles. Since there's been no recall. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Springfield, MO, USA

problem #41

May 012014

Aura 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Passenger air bag on/off indicator intermittently turns to "off" even with a passenger weighing in excess of 150 pounds in the seat. Stopping and restarting the car sometimes corrects the issue temporarily. Research shows this is a commonly reported problem and that, in fact, the system will malfunction in an accident. Due to the dangerous nature of this failure, there should be a required recall from GM.

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #40

May 092012

Aura

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Aura. The contact stated that while driving approximately 30 mph, the air bag off indicator illuminated even though there was a front seat passenger present. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle had not been diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000.

- Irving, TX, USA

problem #39

Jun 022014

Aura 6-cyl

  • miles
2007 Saturn Aura. Consumer writes in regards to airbag, transmission and other vehicle defects. The consumer stated the air bag light would display off when driving on the highway. Also, the transmission was failing and there was a loud noise emitting from the vehicle. The traction control warning light illuminated when he accelerated up an incline. A small gas spot formed under the vehicle, when the tank was full. The dealer informed the consumer the leak was from filling the fuel tank full. Another dealer, stated the issue was with the fuel pump.

- Indio, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?