Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Vehicle Speed Control Problems

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2008 Aura’s issues with brakes, such as worn out rotors, isn’t as severe as the prior model year, but let’s just not start awarding them any brake awards just yet. Does that even exist? “The Brakies”?

One thing the 2008 does share with the 2007 is a recall of a busted gear shifter cable which can make it look like your car is in park, when the transmission is still engaged. You can only imagine what kind of fun that causes.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
57,949 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Saturn Aura engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Saturn Aura:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Saturn Aura Owner Comments

problem #18

Jan 012013

Aura

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We have not been able to get our recalls repaired. We have only been able to get the brake sensor repaired. We are still having issues with the ESC sensors, speed control and power locks freaking out whenever they want. Every time we call the dealership we are being told that the parts are not available. This issue is getting worse and need to be corrected asap.

- Roseville, MI, USA

problem #17

Jul 092014

Aura 6-cyl

  • 42,776 miles
2008 Saturn Aura. Consumer writes in regards to body control module connection system recall notice issues. The consumer stated she experienced a problem with the traction control warning light illuminating, prior to the recall. The consumer attached the recall notice.

- Tacoma, WA, USA

problem #16

Mar 062015

Aura 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
My wife was driving to work on the highway. All of the sudden the check engine light came on. The car reduced engine power. A message came up on the display saying to service the traction control. I took the vehicle to a GM dealer. They said it was the throttle body position sensor. The exact same incident happened to an acquaintance the week before in her 2012 Chevy Malibu with the dealer determining the cause to also be the throttle body position sensor. The incident in my car almost caused my wife to be rear ended due to the dramatic speed change from going into limp mode all of the sudden at highway speed.

- North Huntingdon, PA, USA

problem #15

May 012014

Aura

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Aura. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 5 mph, the vehicle jerked without warning. The failure recurred on several occasions. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 12V460000 (power train) and 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control) however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Mansfiled, MA, USA

problem #14

Jul 212011

Aura 4-cyl

  • 51,763 miles
The brake lights on my car engage and disengage in no relation to the brake pedal being depressed. While driving, the brake lights will illuminate on their own and turn off when the brake pedal is pushed. Sometimes, the brake lights will turn off if the brake pedal is pulled up in the opposite direction. Repairs have been attempted on the following occurrences: July 21, 2011, July 27, 2011, August 21, 2012, March, 29, 2013, September 24, 2014, November 19, 2014. Repairs have included the following: Brake light switch replaced (2 times); dielectric grease applied to BCM connectors (approximately 12 times); cruise control switches replaced; brake pedal home position recalibrated (2 times). The issue still has yet to be resolved, despite it being included in a GM recall from August 2014 number 13036, and having it twice been attempted under said recall. The GM dealership to which this car has been brought for the recall, colonial Buick Pontiac GMC in watertown, MA claims that they have done everything under the terms of the recall and if the problem persists than it must be paid by the customer. This is antithetical to the purpose of the recall, which is to fix the problem, despite the terms of the recall not fully addressing the error. The service people at the dealership claim that what should be fixed next is replacing the brake light switch, despite that having been replaced twice. The GM recall is not fully addressing the problem, and I, as the customer, should not be expected to pay for any costs associated with fixing the malfunctioning brake lights.

- Cambridge, MA, USA

problem #13

Oct 182014

Aura 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
While driving down the highway after setting the cruise control it will just cut off by itself. Then will not reset when you try to set it again until the vehicle has been shut off and restarted. Sometimes the cruise control will not set at all. The last time it happen was on October 18, 2014, but it has happen several times I just do not remember the dates or the mileage. The mileage is estimated.

- Cheraw, SC, USA

problem #12

Aug 042014

Aura

  • 48,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Aura. While driving approximately 5 mph, the vehicle accelerated independently and crashed into a building. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed and no injuries were reported. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic, but diagnostic testing was not performed. The failure occurred twice. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 48,000.

- Annarbor, MI, USA

problem #11

Jul 102014

Aura 4-cyl

  • 97,000 miles
As I was driving to work after being in the car for no more than 15 minutes, my rear brake lamp went on while I was driving and would only shut off if I tapped on the brake pedal. Also my cruise control would not engage. This has continued to happen ever since. I feel this is a very serious safety hazard especially in traffic and the drivers behind me do not know when I am actually coming to a stop! ironically, we received a recall notice last week regarding this problem. I have contacted both a local dealer and GM directly and neither party can tell me when the repairs will be made as there are no parts available. I am feeling extremely frustrated and helpless. There is also a recall out there # 14118 for loss of power steering dated last month and still have heard nothing further on this issue.

- Babson Park, FL, USA

problem #10

Dec 022013

Aura

  • miles
Experiencing issues with the ESC, transaction control sensors, and power locks. We have had the sensor in the gas pedal replaced without success. We are experiencing issues daily with our speed control, locks, and ESC and traction sensors. Contacted GM and they stated our vehicle is not on the recall list due to it being manufactured in NY. We need to get this resolved asap as we have a newborn on the way.

- Eastpointe, MI, USA

problem #9

Jun 272014

Aura 6-cyl

  • 98,150 miles
I was driving to work and my car seemed to shift oddly between second and third gears. Rough, jerky and revving when it didn't need to. When I was backing into my parking space in the garage, I put the car in reverse and it didn't have any power. It hesitated like it didn't want to go and then it finally moved. I had to do this two or three times to get into my parking spot and each time it was worse. I called the shop and had it towed because I suspected the transmission was having issues, and even saw online that there had been some recalls on the Saturn Aura for that year on the transmission, but the dealer said there are no active recalls on my vehicle. I need a new transmission now according to the dealer.

- Blue Springs, MO, USA

problem #8

Apr 232014

Aura

  • 54,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving across the parking lot going to get something to eat. My son was in the rear left passenger seat. As I began turning the wheel, the car locked up, hesitated, then quickly sped up. Because there was no ability to gain control of the car, the vehicle stuck the curbside and then a tree. My son and I were not injured, only shook up. The incident was reported immediately and the adjuster informed me of the recall on the Saturn Auras.

- Winterville, NC, USA

problem #7

Feb 152014

Aura 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
The brake light would illuminate without brake pedal being pressed. This happened on more than one occasion. Problems with the cruise control engagement. Problems with the traction control sensor coming on without cause.

- Aberdeen, NC, USA

problem #6

Aug 142013

Aura

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Aura. The contact stated that while driving 70 mph, the brake lights illuminated without the brake pedal being depressed. Additionally, the contact lost control of the vehicle when traveling over a puddle, causing the vehicle to spin in partially into the direction of oncoming traffic. The service traction control warning light was illuminated. Also, the contact stated that the cruise control did not function properly. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, vehicle speed control). The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 85,000.

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #5

Jan 012014

Aura

  • 50,000 miles
This is an issue I experience a couple years ago and discussed this with the dealer. It has since returned and is getting worse. Rear brake lights are on while the car is driving and in neutral although the brake pedal is not depressed. Cruise control will not function once the break light turns on. When the pedal is pressed lightly and the breaks engage slowly, the break lights will turn off. Upon moderate to heavy breaking the lights will then turn back on. This is a significant safety issue. Upon releasing the breaks I will have approx. 7 seconds where I can use the cruise control and the break lights are off before the lights turn on again and disengages the cruise control. During that 7 seconds light breaking will still not turn on the break lights. This issue is intermittent but is appearing more regularly. During a recent 40 mile trip I could use the cruise control for a couple miles, then loose it for a couple more with the brake lights on, then regain normal functionality for a couple more, etc.

- Hamburg, NY, USA

problem #4

Aug 172013

Aura 4-cyl

  • 85,400 miles
My brake lights were illuminating like the brake pedal was being depressed; however, the brake pedal was not being depressed. When I did depress the brake pedal, the brake lights would go off completely. Then, after approximately 10 seconds, they would come back on like they were being depressed. Also, the cruise control was not working. It would not set and hold the car at a specific speed.

- Mentor, OH, USA

problem #3

Jan 182013

Aura

  • 83,000 miles
Was driving on freeway with cruise control on then suddenly the cruise control disengaged. When I looked in the rear view mirror I noticed that my 3rd brake light was coming on by itself and staying on and I was not pressing brake. Brakes come on and stay on when not pressing brake pedal and turn off when brake pedal is pressed. Makes other cars behind me think I'm braking when I'm not and when I do brake it looks as if I'm not braking. Risk getting rear ended because of this. Safety issue.

- Chula Vista, CA, USA

problem #2

Nov 182012

Aura

  • 63,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Aura. The contact stated that while driving at 65mph and attempting to decelerate in order to switch into the slow lane, the vehicle suddenly accelerated independently. The contact lost control of the vehicle and crashed into the guard rail. The vehicle was towed to the contact's home. A police report was filed and no injuries were reported. The approximate failure and current mileage was 63,000.

- South Dartmouth, MH, USA

problem #1

Jul 122009

Aura 4-cyl

  • miles
I came to a complete stop, the car was in drive. I accelerated and my car drove backwards, in reverse. I was frightened and deeply concerned. I took my car to the dealership for repair, no repair was done on this serious problem. The work order states, they could not duplicate concern.

- Lago Vista, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?