Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2008 Aura’s issues with brakes, such as worn out rotors, isn’t as severe as the prior model year, but let’s just not start awarding them any brake awards just yet. Does that even exist? “The Brakies”?

One thing the 2008 does share with the 2007 is a recall of a busted gear shifter cable which can make it look like your car is in park, when the transmission is still engaged. You can only imagine what kind of fun that causes.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 1
Average Mileage:
83,223 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Saturn Aura steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Saturn Aura:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Saturn Aura Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #44

Aug 312014

Aura 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,900 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Aura. The contact stated while driving approximately 25 mph, the steering wheel seized without warning. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician stated that the power steering fluid was leaking on the exhaust and advised the contact not to drive the vehicle since it could catch fire. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated the VIN was not included under NHTSA campaign id number: 14V153000 (steering). The approximate failure mileage was 48,900. Updated 10/14/14

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #43

Jul 182014


  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Aura. The contact stated while driving 45 mph the power steering failed without warning. The vehicle was taken to a independent mechanic and the technician diagnosed the motor needed to be replaced. No repairs were made and the manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Hampton , VA, USA

problem #42

Jul 172014


  • 79,850 miles
While driving the power steering went on my car. It became very difficult to steer my vehicle at low speeds as well as change lanes. Now the casey Chevrolet is saying that there are no recalls on the electric power assist system (eps). However when doing my research to price how much it cost I see multiple recalls in regards to the eps.

- Hampton , VA, USA

problem #41

Apr 132013


  • 100,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Aura. The contact stated that while driving various speeds, the power steering and brakes failed. The vehicle would also jerk and fail to accelerate. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #40

Jul 012014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Aura. The contact received recall notices for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control) and 14V153000 (steering) however, the parts needed for the repairs were unavailable. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Summerville, SC, USA

problem #39

Jul 192014


  • 90,000 miles
I received a notice of a recall from GM on my vehicle at the end of June/beginning of July for a power steering issue. The notice said I would be further contacted when parts became available. On 7/19/14, I began noticing intermittent problems with my steering: The wheel would click and turn slightly left to right, sometimes while operating the vehicle and sometimes when the car was stopped (at a light). On 7/22/14, the wheel turned slightly and clicked while I was driving and my power steering indicator warning began flashing. I took the vehicle to an authorized dealer who handles Saturn and they had the car for two days. The indicator light only came on and off intermittently at the time and they did not address the steering issue related to the recall because they said GM had not sent parts yet. They were extremely dismissive of my concerns. Since that time, the power steering warning has progressed to staying on all of the time while the car is operating. Upon starting, the wheel clicks and turns slightly, a chime sounds, and the power steering indicator warning comes on and stays on. I have had my mechanic check the steering as well and he agrees that the issue is related to the recall. I do not feel safe driving this vehicle as I feel a failure in the power steering may be imminent. If it fails for instance while I am changing lanes on the highway and I am not able to easily steer the car into the proper lane, I could be involved in a crash, which could result in one or more fatalities. The GM dealership refused to contact GM to try to get parts quickly. After a heated argument, the dealership said they emailed GM and they have had no reply.

- Norton, MA, USA

problem #38

Jul 152014

Aura 4-cyl

  • 106,000 miles


The steering wheel locks up randomly. I am able to steer however it is very hard, I basically loose my power steering. I have been lucky because each of the 4 times it has occurred I was traveling at a low speed and I was able to control the car. Each time, I turn the car off and restart it and everything is fine. I have called my dealership several times and they still do not have the parts in.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #37

Apr 012014

Aura 6-cyl

  • 200,000 miles
I began having issues with power steering fluid leaking on my 2008 Saturn Aura over a year ago (approximately January-March 2013). I had some temporary fixes done to help alleviate the problem, but on approximately April 1, 2014, my power steering system totally failed. I have been driving without power steering since this time. I had read that many 2008 Saturn Aura's were being recalled for this problem and hoped that my Aura would be included in this recall. When I realized that my car was not part of the recall, I had an estimate done to find out how much it would cost to have the power steering fixed. The estimate I received was over $1,200. Because I do not have this kind of money readily available, I have not been able to have this problem taken care of. I am highly disappointed that GM is not covering more of the vehicles that may be affected by this problem. There was obviously an issue with parts for some 2008 Saturn Aura's (among others) - but apparently there are more vehicles affected than you are covering - or perhaps that you are aware of. I am hoping that maybe you will consider looking into this issue on other vehicles that were manufactured near the same time as those being recalled before there are more injuries and/or fatalities.

- Turner, MI, USA

problem #36

Jun 142014


  • 80,000 miles
On Saturday, June 14 my car would not start. I moved the floor gear shift deeper into the park position and it started. On Monday, June 16 I parked my car after purchasing an item at drive-through window. When I attempted to start it, it would not start. The gear shift moved through all of the indicators (PRD...) and the car began to roll backwards nearly hitting another car. I called for a tow, and the driver noted the problem. Today, pep boys completed repair of the the gear shift assembly. There was a missing part. The incident notice ( recall id # 103875 - power train:automatic transmission:lever and linkage:floor shiftplushide details recall date: Apr 30, 2014 model affected: 2008 Saturn Aura summary: General Motors llc (GM) notified the Agency on April 29, 2014, that they are recalling 56,214 model year 2007 and 2008 Saturn Aura vehicles. Consequences: If the transmission shift cable fractures while the vehicle is being driven, the transmission gear selection may not match the indicated gear and the vehicle may move in an unintended or unexpected direction, increasing the risk of a crash. Furthermore, when the driver goes to stop and park the vehicle, despite selecting the ┐park┐ position, the transmission may not be in ┐park.┐ if the vehicle is not in the "park" position there is a risk the vehicle will roll away as the driver and other occupants exit the vehicle or anytime thereafter. A vehicle rollaway increases the risk of injury to exiting occupants and bystanders. Remedy: GM will notify owners, and GM dealers will replace the shift cable assembly and mounting bracket, free of charge. The manufacturer has not yet provided a notification schedule. Owners may contact General Motors at 1-800-553-6000. GM's number for this recall is 14152.

- Fishers, IN, USA

problem #35

Apr 232014


  • 54,000 miles
I was driving across the parking lot going to get something to eat. My son was in the rear left passenger seat. As I began turning the wheel, the car locked up, hesitated, then quickly sped up. Because there was no ability to gain control of the car, the vehicle stuck the curbside and then a tree. My son and I were not injured, only shook up. The incident was reported immediately and the adjuster informed me of the recall on the Saturn Auras.

- Winterville, NC, USA

problem #34

Sep 112013

Aura 4-cyl

  • 13,000 miles


Steering will not stay straight wants to go left or right. Steering wheel will shake while idling. When driving on highway and this happens can be hair raising and dangerous.

- Northfield, NH, USA

problem #33

May 262014


  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Aura. The contact stated that while traveling 60 mph, suddenly the steering wheel became difficult to maneuver. The power steering resumed to normal five minutes later. The failure occurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 75,000 and the current mileage was 86,000.

- Emerson, NJ, USA

problem #32

Feb 072014


  • 50,000 miles
The steering wheel of my car will move by itself. It will shake and turn while driving at any speed. While the car itself doesn't jerk when it does it, it's extremely frightening. It will happen at any speed and happens at random times.

- Spring Lake, NC, USA

problem #31

Oct 192013

Aura 4-cyl

  • 97,000 miles
It's hard to drive my car now the brakes power steering and light has to be changed frequently.

- Youngstown, OH, USA

problem #30

Apr 212014


  • 138,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Aura. The contact stated that while driving 65 mph, the power steering failed without warning. The vehicle was taken to a independent mechanic who stated that the power steering hose was too close to the exhaust and caused it to fail. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 138,000.

- Garden Grove, CA, USA

problem #29

Mar 102014

Aura 6-cyl

  • miles
My vehicle losses power steering at low speeds. When accelerating or at full speed, the steering is fine. I had my vehicle checked. The power steering fluid remains full. I have trouble getting in and out of parking spaces, the manual steering is very tough to use.

- South Holland, IL, USA

problem #28

Feb 192014

Aura 6-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
The power steering failed and needed replaced. The auto was taken to "wrench on wheels" on 04/21/2014 and power steering was installed at my cost of $389.97. I have a bill for this amount that I can supply.

- Mckeesport, PA, USA

problem #27

Sep 012009


  • 19,020 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Aura. The contact stated that the steering wheel was making a loud noise and it required force to turn the wheel on multiple occasions. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who was unable to diagnose the failure more than once. The contact was not included in NHTSA campaign id number:14V153000 (steering) and experienced the same failure on multiple occasions. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 19020.

- Hillsboro, MO, USA

problem #26

Mar 142014

Aura 4-cyl

  • 41,000 miles
Lost power steering while on a canyon road causing me to cross into the on coming lane of traffic. There is a recall in Canada for this exact same problem why isn't our government forcing the same thing here?

- Bountiful, UT, USA

problem #25

Jun 182010

Aura 4-cyl

  • 70,231 miles
Power steering light would come on and off and then while driving ps went out. Had to stop and restart engine and then power steering worked. Did this for several weeks and then dealership said diagnostic codes were C0550 and C0460. Found internal malfunction at pscm. Replaced and never a problem until the same thing happened 2/7/2014 with 165,000 miles. Has to be a defective pscm. Needs to be recalled. Safety issue. GM not good at recalling.

- Denham Springs, LA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?