Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Steering Problems

2006 Saturn Ion (Page 1 of 25)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

CarComplaints.com Notes: When it comes to the 2006 Ion, the biggest questions are: what big problem is going to pop up next? And how long until GM chooses to address it?

The 2006 Ion has a defective ignition switch that gave owners fits. Their keys would get stuck in the ignition, the engine wouldn’t shut off or in some cases it would shut off at the most dangerous time. The ignition was eventually recalled as part of one of the largest recalls of all-time , but it took GM 10 years to do it. Then there’s this car’s temperamental power steering which is prone to stop working randomly while driving. It too was eventually recalled, even if GM took their sweet time about it.

Lastly, it turns out a car built with plastic doors, fenders and bumpers – while fun for a game of “shopping cart bocce” – is horrible for safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
17 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
67,141 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Saturn Ion steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Saturn Ion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Saturn Ion Owner Comments (Page 1 of 25)

problem #497

Nov 102016

Ion

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There was a recall on the power steering. I had the replacement part done. 2 years later the power steering replacement. I called the dealer and I called GM. They won't do anything. They need to recall the recall. Do I have to replace my power steering every 2 years. Very upsetting

- Jackson, NJ, USA

problem #496

Sep 222016

Ion

  • 200,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Saturn Ion. While driving approximately 45 mph, a clicking noise was heard and the steering wheel seized, the speedometer gauges fluctuated, and the vehicle accelerated independently. As a result, the contact lost control of the vehicle. The vehicle was restarted and driven to the contact's residence. The vehicle was later driven to the dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 200,000.

- Sevierville, TN, USA

problem #495

Sep 062016

Ion 4-cyl

  • 175,400 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Saturn Ion. While driving 25 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 175,400. Updated 10/19/16 the consumer stated while driving, the steering locked up. She had to reduce her speed into order to maintain the steering wheel. The consumer turned the vehicle off, and the steering reset it self. The consumer has since experienced a similar incident. Updated 11/03/16.

- Greenville, SC, USA

problem #494

Apr 202016

Ion

  • 111,546 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car inspection rejected codeb0092 pass presense system1 performance just put catalit converter and an engine in this car looking for tech. Service bul. Tsb3677 car is rejected demed unsafe to drive

- East Wareham, MA, USA

problem #493

Mar 092016

Ion

  • 19,946 miles
On March 9,2016 my daughter drove to the store from my work place. When she return to my job while in the parking lot the stirring wheel locked and she couldn't turn. Good thing she had made it off highway or it would have been an accident if it went out at light as she turned on road to my work place. I had my uncle to pull car to family mechanic shop they then checked on it and told me to order power stirring motor. After then my uncle found out there was an recall on power stirring gone out while driving causing accidents. My uncle took the car to GMC in dublin, ga on March twenty fifth 2016. The GMC just checked on the car April 4,2016.

- East Diblin, GA, USA

problem #492

Nov 032015

Ion

  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Saturn Ion. While driving at any speed, the steering wheel seized. The vehicle operated normally when the brake pedal was depressed. In addition, while the vehicle was in motion, the steering wheel seized and could not be moved. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 72,000.

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #491

Jun 022015

Ion

  • 84,023 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Saturn Ion. While driving 30 mph and making a left or right turn, the steering wheel seized. The contact coasted over to the side of the road and was then driven to the contact's residence. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the igniton switch was replaced from a previous NHTSA notification; however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 84,023.

- Alhambra, CA, USA

problem #490

Dec 092015

Ion

  • 113,112 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Saturn Ion. The contact stated that after a year of the vehicle being repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering), the power steering warning light illuminated. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the steering column assembly and steering module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 113,112. Updated 02/18/16

- Viriginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #489

Dec 142015

Ion

  • 131,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Saturn Ion. While driving 30 mph, the vehicle became difficult to steer. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 131,000.

- Edwardsville, IL, USA

problem #488

Dec 042015

Ion

  • 113,012 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Saturn Ion. While driving 20 mph, the steering wheel seized and the power steering light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the electric power steering module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact also stated that the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering). The contact stated that there was only 2,000 miles on the vehicle since the recall repair was performed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 113,012.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #487

Jan 012015

Ion

  • 69,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Saturn Ion. The contact stated that the steering wheel became difficult to turn and the power steering warning light illuminated. The contact also stated that the ignition switch had to be wiggled several times to be able to start the engine. The manufacturer advised that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number 14V153000 (steering). The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was 69,000.

- Shreveport, LA, USA

problem #486

Aug 132015

Ion

  • 142,300 miles
My power steering failed, when I restarted the car it worked again. A few months ago I went to grey Chevrolet for a recall on the power steering. They replaced the power steering motor. Now they say that the power steering column has failed. Why wasn't that replaced in the recall. I see on line that I am not the only Saturn owner this has happened to. If GM has put out a defective product, and has delayed response to this for years after finding out about it, why do consumers have to pay for the repairs.

- Port Orchard, WA, USA

problem #485

Jun 132015

Ion

  • 132,200 miles
The power steering shuts off while the car is in motion, and displays a pwr stg error message on the dashboard. The car's power steering will remain inoperable until the car is restarted. The power steering can become inoperable several times in a single day.

- Dumfries, VA, USA

problem #484

Jun 282015

Ion

  • 106,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Saturn Ion. While driving 40 mph, the driver experienced a loss of power steering and an unknown warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 106,000. The VIN was not available.

- Rockport, NY, USA

problem #483

Apr 102015

Ion

  • 130,000 miles
My wife and I, had the ignition recall work done at sport Chevrolet in silver spring, Maryland. We had no problems with our ignition. Second recall, also work was completed at sport Chevrolet. We hadn't experienced any problems with our power steering. 04/10/2015, we now are now having the problem as described in the recall! what are our options at this time?

- Odenton, MD, USA

problem #482

Jan 052015

Ion

  • 102,500 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Saturn Ion. The contact stated while waiting to make a left turn, the steering wheel seized without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 102,500.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #481

Mar 142015

Ion 4-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
My car shakes every so often especially when I use my brakes and when I steer. I noticed there was a recall with the electric power steering and I think it has affect the power steering column as well. I have not had an accident yet but I don't want one because one part of a system was recalled and not the whole system.

- Apo, AP, USA

problem #480

Oct 022014

Ion

  • 79,547 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Saturn Ion. The contact stated while driving approximately 40 mph, there was a loss of power steering without warning. The steering wheel became very difficult to turn. The failure occurred only after the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering). Additionally, the vehicle was insufficiently repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14E021000 (electrical system). The remedy failed to correct the failure. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 79,547.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #479

Jun 172010

Ion 4-cyl

  • miles
2006 Saturn Ion. Consumer requests reimbursement for recall steering repairs. The consumer stated in June 2010, he began to experience sudden loss of power steering. The steering column and motor assembly were replaced. In October 20104, the check engine and reduced engine power light illuminated. The consumer was informed the lights were on due to a steering recall. The consumer stated the work had previously been done. The consumer is now seeking reimbursement.

- Vicksburg, MS, USA

problem #478

Sep 192014

Ion 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 118,189 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Saturn Ion. The contact stated after starting the vehicle, the steering wheel became difficult to maneuver and the power steering warning light illuminated. The vehicle restarted and resumed normal function. The failure recurred and the vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician diagnosed that the steering module in the steering column needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 118,189. Updated 3/31/15 the consumer stated he did not have any problems, until the dealer replaced the steering motor. Updated 04/07/15

- Lindstrom, MN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?