Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Electrical System Problems

2007 Saturn Ion (Page 2 of 7)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: With the 2007 model year we finally get to bid adieu to a car famous for poor safety marks, a dangerously defective ignition and power steering that would work … sometimes.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
50,802 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Saturn Ion electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Saturn Ion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Saturn Ion Owner Comments (Page 2 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #120

Nov 032014

Ion 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased the vehicle in March 2014. On 7/17/2014 the ignition switch was replaced at asheville Chevrolet in asheville nc. I had not had any issues with the ignition at that time. On 11/3/14 the car stalled while I was driving. I took it the dealership on 11/5/14. The dealership kept the car for 11/5 and 11/6 and replaced the ignition coil and spark plugs and stated that is needed a map sensor repaired. They verbally informed me that they checked the ignition switch again and checked the fuel pump for leakage (which was another recall). I drove the car home on 11/6/14 and it stalled again within 20 minutes. I called the dealership back on 11/7/14 and was informed that technician that worked on it was not there and they would call me back on Monday (11/10). On 11/10 I talked with the dealership again and was informed that the technician that worked on the car was fired on 11/7 and I could bring it back in for them to check it. I took the car to another mechanic on 11/10 who could not do any work as the computer needed to be "flashed" as it had not been reset when work was done by the dealer which prevented them from identifying any issues that may exist. I brought it back in on 11/11 and informed them that the car is still stalling with the exact same issue that I brought it in on 11/5. the dealership could not confirm that anything was ever checked regarding the ignition switch replacement and stated that the already replaced the recalled ignition switch. They further refused to reset the computer and denied the need for any further work. The vehicle continues to stall when the car is driving and the dealer is well aware of this issue though they refuse to take any action.

- Fletcher, NC, USA

problem #119

Jun 102014

Ion

  • 60,000 miles
Car impacted by three recalls 14V047, 14V171, 14V153 contacted dealership in June- no parts, registered with dealership October told parts are on order. Dealership advised there are 700 consumers on their recall list, to date they have been able to service 100. Neither GM or dealership can provide any timeline for when might be able to expect repair. At the least, as a consumer having a timeframe for repair would help us weigh options, particularly while we are forced to put our families at risk due to the continued unavailability of parts.

- Towson, MD, USA

problem #118

Feb 282014

Ion

  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact stated that the key failed to release from the ignition switch. The vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14E021000 (electrical system) but the remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The manufacture was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 78,000.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #117

Nov 012014

Ion

  • 112,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This car was repaired under the recent General Motors ignition switch recall in June of 2014. We are still having problems with the ignition. The key will periodically get stuck in the ignition, (you can turn the key to the acc position, but it will not go to the off position). In order to remove the key from the ignition you must restart the vehicle and turn it off again, usually after the 3rd of 4th try the key will go into the off position and the key can be removed. There are times when this does not work. There is an ignition release button located beneath the steering wheel, the ignition will turn to the off position when you stick your finger into the hole and push the button. However, I have received a slight shock when pushing this button. We are also concerned the other problems associated with the ignition recall will also still be present.

- Lafayette, LA, USA

problem #116

Jun 072012

Ion 4-cyl

  • 51,950 miles
On June 7, 2014, the vehicle would not stop running. I took it to a nearby care care center where they stopped it. The recall establishment (zimbrick Buick-Saturn) told them to have the vehicle towed to their establishment. They kept the vehicle until June 26th trying to replace the switch and start the vehicle. They charged the car care center "jump started" the vehicle in a wrongful manner and that caused a computer to fail. I have a sworn statement that it was not jump started. They eventually replaced the computer with a used Cadillac part and charged me $1288.41. The entire process was caused by a defective ignition switch and incompetence in repairing the vehicle. I don't believe I should be required to pay the amount requested and seek compensation.

- Madison`, WI, USA

problem #115

Oct 072009

Ion

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact stated that the key became lodged in the ignition switch when attempting to turn the vehicle off. Also, the contact stated the electrical components in the vehicle sporadically turn off and on. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed there was an electrical issue. The technician removed the key from the ignition but the problem persisted. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Fort Myers, FL, USA

problem #114

Oct 152009

Ion

  • 36,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have had both my power steering, ignition, and repairs completed regarding the gas leak pertaining to recalls. However, even after the supposed "fix, " the vehicle has still not been repaired. These issues happened initially while the vehicle was still under warranty, however, GM is now just acknowledging them, although there are service bulletins that prove they knew at the time, so now they are only offering me repeated failed repairs or money towards another GM vehicle. GM vehicle's that are brand new, to which they are still recalling! I want my money back period! GM refuses to acknowledge or take responsibility for flooding the market with faulty vehicles. Please help, I'm interested in filing suit. I was already involved in one accident, regarding the power steering, years ago when it just went out, they claimed they didn't know about it, and I paid for the repairs, only to have received a letter a year ago, stating it still wasn't repaired, I took it back, and now got a letter again yesterday saying it needs to be repaired. I have children and this is our only mode of transportation, I do not feel safe in this vehicle and I certainly don't feel that they are able to repair the vehicle, nor do I trust anything GM said at this point. Please help.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #113

Jun 102014

Ion

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Jackson, TN, USA

problem #112

Oct 102014

Ion

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V047000 (electrical system), NHTSA campaign number: 14V171000 (electrical system) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering). The contact stated that the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #111

Jul 092014

Ion 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Saturn Ion. Consumer writes in regards to faulty ignition switch recall issues. The consumer stated after the recall was performed, he noticed the remote no longer worked, which worked prior. The next problem, was the key being difficult to remove from the ignition and sometimes it was difficult to insert the key into the ignition. Occasionally, the vehicle would not shut off. The consumer would have to turn the key to off and then on, which would require several attempts, to get the vehicle to turn off. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, whey the shaved the keys and said that should fix the problem. As for the remote, the dealer couldn't reprogram it, and they suggested, just buying a new one. The consumer soon discovered, the problem remained the same. Also, the fuel pump had to replaced. The pump was built with plastic fuel lines molded into the top of the pump. At about 70,000, the plastic lines cracked at the top of the pump, probably due to vibration. The problem could have been avoided, by using steel lines connected to the pump, or coming off the pump with a short section of the hose. The fracture leak was small at first, but smell gas was present, but a leak could not be found, until the pressure line cracked at the point it made a puddle under the vehicle. The pump was replaced at a cost of $ 600. However, the new pump was built exactly like the failed pump.

- Twin Falls, ID, USA

problem #110

Aug 012007

Ion

  • 38,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14E021000 (electrical system: Ignition: Switch). After the vehicle was repaired according to the recall, the alarm system caused the ignition switch to lock. The failure prevented the engine from starting. The alarm would sound while the vehicle was in operation. The dealer stated that the alarm system needed to be repaired. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 38,000.

- North Babylon, NY, USA

problem #109

Aug 292014

Ion

  • 119,011 miles
My car was in the General Motors ignition switch recall. I took my car to the Chevrolet dealership to have it worked on. They kept it little over a month. They finally called me and said my car had been fixed and that I could come and get it. I drove my car for a couple of days and then I started hear a clicking noise in my ignition. So when I got to where I was going I switched my car off and it was making that clicking sound again. So I tried to get my key out of the ignition and it wouldn't come out. So I sat there a few minutes and I tried again and it still would not come out. So I kept switching the car off and on until I finally got the key out. So the next week I took it back to the servicers and I was told that it didn't do that with him.so he couldn't tell me what the problem was. So I took the car and left. It started doing the same thing again. So the next week I took it right back and they still didn't do anything. So I contacted the General Motors headquarters and they supposed to had got back with me within 24-48 hrs. Well I didn't hear from them until about a week later when I had to called them back while I was back at the Chevrolet service center. So they finally call me back and talked to me and the service manager. So I was told to bring my car back Tuesday 9\17\14 and I did. They come telling me that it's my gear stick without putting it on a machine to see what could be the problem. So again I left with my car in the same condition and it is still making that clicking noise and my key still be hard to come out at times. When my car was there getting repaired somehow my door got messed up. Won't nothing wrong with my door when I took my car to them. Although they won't admit to it they done something to my door. They say they wasn't back there at my door but greasy hand prints are back there on the door.

- Clinton, NC, USA

problem #108

Sep 022014

Ion

  • 170,000 miles
My car was recalled for 2 things - ignition and power steering. I was provided a rental by GM in the interim of getting my car fixed. It has been 3.5 months and I still do not have my vehicle. I have been told by the dealership on two separate occasions that my car is ready for pickup. I was told that my car battery had died and that in order to get it, I would need to pay $200 to fix the battery or have the car towed out of the lot. I was not happy about this, but figured that I would go to the dealership to evaluate the state of my car in the morning. I called 5 times throughout the day, and left three messages for the service manager. I did not hear anything else about my car for several days. I received a voicemail from [xxx] employee, [xxx]. he acknowledged my frustration and informed me "not to worry about paying for the rental" and that "we were waiting until we heard from you to submit the recall fix to GMC." [xxx] never called. A week later, I received a voicemail from someone else at the dealership stating my car was ready. I called [xxx] and he stated "you have a bill for $200 for the battery replacement, and I believe the car has a new pump for the power steering recall." I called Saturn customer service number to address my concerns about both the charge for the battery, and the fact that when I run a VIN search on my car, the power steering recall shows up as "incomplete." She did not have an answer. She said the recall VIN search has a "lag time, " and had no reason fornotmentioning thisbefore. Throughout this, [xxx] had said "I believe the power steering pump has been replaced, "but a VIN search shows the recall as incomplete, and according to gms own documents, a pump was never part of the recall remedy. I have no reason to believe my car is fixed, and I am being given no alternative to this $200 charge, which I never approved. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Winthrop, MA, USA

problem #107

Aug 052014

Ion

  • miles
After having the recall for the ignition switch problem completed, I began to have the "seatbelt warning" light stay on or "on and off" intermittently. The problem has occurred when starting the vehicle and while driving. At the same time the digital display on the radio began to flicker and become unreadable. I believe this is a serious problem and have seen other complaints for the same problem. My understanding is GM has refused to attribute the problem to the recall work or new ignition switch. I never had this problem until the recall word was done. Investigation is warranted in this case as it could be life threatening. It's not just a coincidence!

- Easton, PA, USA

problem #106

Sep 112013

Ion 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Saturn Ion. Consumer writes in regards to reimbursement for ignition defect repairs. The consumer from day one, she had a difficult time removing the key from the ignition. The service invoice stated the shifter was replaced. GM denied the consumers request for reimbursement. According to the letter from GM, the repair that was performed was not the repair covered by the recall.

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #105

May 152014

Ion 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Saturn Ion. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch recall notice and other vehicle problems. The consumer stated the vehicle stalled and left her stranded on May 15,2014. On May 19, 2014, the power steering failed. The vehicle had to be towed both times. The ignition switch was replaced.

- Crofton, MD, USA

problem #104

Mar 122014

Ion

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V171000 (electrical system) and stated that the part was unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was notified of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Mentor , OH, USA

problem #103

Mar 152014

Ion

  • 87,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact received NHTSA campaign number 14E021000 (ignition switch). After the vehicle was repaired under the recall the contact stated that he had not experienced these failures until the recall repair was performed. The contact stated that the "air bag" warning lights were illuminated intermittently. The contact stated that the horn blows without being depressed and the doors did not lock when the vehicle was shifted into drive. The failure recurred multiple times. The contact notified the dealer of the failure and was advised that the remedy for the recall did not have anything to do with the failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 87,000....updated 09/19/16

- Pinehill, AL, USA

problem #102

Apr 172014

Ion

  • 90,000 miles
TL * the contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact stated that once the vehicle was started, the ignition and the air bag warning indicator illuminated. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical); however, the parts needed for the repair were unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #101

Nov 022011

Ion 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Saturn Ion. Consumer writes in regards to ignition / shifter problems and reimbursement issues. The consumer had the ignition lock cylinder and solenoid replaced, prior to the recall, because the key was getting stuck in the ignition. Also, the shifter assembly had to be replaced, because the key continued to get stuck. The consumer stated there were times, where she could not get the vehicle to shut off, because the key was stuck. The consumer is seeking reimbursement.

- Brighton, CO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?