Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: With the 2007 model year we finally get to bid adieu to a car famous for poor safety marks, a dangerously defective ignition and power steering that would work … sometimes.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
51,116 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Saturn Ion electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Saturn Ion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Saturn Ion Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #34

Dec 212014

Ion 4-cyl

  • 93,000 miles


The car failing to start on the first ignition cycle and a smell of fuel while driving and after the car as turned off was noticed. A week later fuel is now considerably leaking from near the rear of the car. A recall has been issued for a fuel pump problem on the 2007 Ion, but only in certain states, Illinois not included. Obviously, this is a major safety issue and yet another defective part/system from Saturn/GM. As GM dealerships are booked repairing the faulty ignition switches, I have to wait over a week for the repair to get looked at. The choice is now risking fire/explosion on the car as the leak is very near the hot exhaust pipe or not going to work for a week.

- Orland Park, IL, USA

problem #33

Oct 082014


  • 84,000 miles
My vehicle had 3 recalls from GM. After the defects were repaired on 10-8-14, the vehicle still has problems. The key ignition is still defective. Most of the times, when I park the car the key doesn't come out. I have to turn on and off the car to have it remove. I feel so unsafe on this car. I contacted GM and was given a case file# [xxx], which to this date hasn't contacted me. I called again today, and was advised that they assigned a senior advisor to my case named [xxx] at 1-866-790-5600 ext# [xxx], which did not response. I spoke with a customer service rep names [xxx] and she stated that he was not responding and offered to transferred my call to his voice mail, which I did. I waited for so long for the parts, driving an unsafe car because I didn't want it to take advantage of the situation. However, on 9-6-14, I had to drive the car to the dealership, because the power steering failed in the middle of the highway. It was very scary. I got a rental for 1 month until they repaired the car. However, it seems that the problem persists and it is not fair for me. I need a reliable car. I need them to provide me with another car. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #32

May 192014


  • 146,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start when the ignition was turned. The failure occurred on numerous occasions. The dealer replaced the ignition switch, but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer, but they could not diagnose the cause of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 146,000.

- Decatur, GA, USA

problem #31

Apr 302014


  • 45,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. After the vehicle was repaired according to NHTSA campaign number: 14V171000 (electrical system), the key would become stuck in the ignition. The dealer was unable to diagnose the cause of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired again and the manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 45,000.

- North Hampton, PA, USA

problem #30

Jan 162013

Ion 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
An accident occurred when a vehicle pulled out in front of me. I was traveling 50-55 mph and had time to briefly apply the brakes. The resulting collision destroyed the entire front end of my car. I was shocked the airbag did not deploy but at the time was unaware my car had serious potential safety issues. Since becoming aware of the recall I have been able to simulate the ignition failure by jostling the key in the ignition while the car is running. I have followed the instruction sent to me by GM in regards to the recall process and have heard nothing back from my GM dealer 3 months since calling to arrange bringing my vehicle in. I was simply informed they would call me when the part comes in. In the mean time, I am extremely conscious of the fact that my car does indeed fail. I actually say a quick prayer every time I get in the car now because I'm scared. I am scared of the possibility that I could be responsible for hurting or killing someone while driving a vehicle I am fully aware can fail. GM will call me back soon, I hope.

- Warren, MI, USA

problem #29

Jul 112014

Ion 4-cyl

  • 73,000 miles
After being verbally told and in writing that everything was fine with my car after the ignition recall kit was installed, my check engine light came on before I could even exit the service dealership lot. I immediately returned the car to their service department which resulted in going from no charges, everything is ok, to my car mysteriously may have a cylinder 1 misfire and it will cost me $2,000 to repair. General Motors has and continues to give me the run around by placing me on hold and transferring me to call centers in india. This nightmare I have endured since 6/6/2014 to now is a shame and outright criminal in my opinion. I never post on sites like these but wanted to notify other Saturn owners who worked hard to own and up keep their cars.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #28

Mar 122013

Ion 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact stated that after parking her vehicle and trying to remove the key, it failed to release. The vehicle was later towed to a dealer. After diagnosis, they advised her that the ignition lock cylinder and housing failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was contacted. The failure and current mileages were approximately 69,000. Updated 4/24/13 updated 05/17/2013

- Florence, KY, USA

problem #27

Sep 162012


  • Manual transmission
  • miles
Cpsc# I1290352A. Saturn Ion 2007. Consumer stated she was having lock cylinder malfunction. The consumer stated the key became stuck in the ignition in the on position. She was unable to turn the engine off. Because the vehicle has a manual transmission, she was able to release the clutch which stopped the engine from running. She had to disconnect the battery to keep if from dying.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #26

Jun 132011

Ion 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Saturn Ion. Consumer states problem with vehicle ignition the ignition lock cylinder and housing were replaced.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #25

Aug 082011


  • Automatic transmission
  • 168,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact stated the power steering lamp illuminated immediately after the power steering failed. The steering wheel was difficult to control and he was unable continue driving the vehicle. He was only able to turn the vehicle off after the power steering reset. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 168,000. Updated 02/15/12 the consumer also stated it took several attempts to remove the key from the ignition. Updated 02/22/12.

- Hurst, TX, USA

problem #24

Jun 232007

Ion 4-cyl

  • 15 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact stated that at any time, the key would become stuck in the ignition. The vehicle was repaired by the dealer but the failure recurred after repairs. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 15 and the current mileage was 42,077. Updated 08/31/11 the dealer replaced the ignition cylinder. Updated 10/12/11

- Canton, MS, USA

problem #23

Jul 202011


  • 102,000 miles
The key is stuck in the ignition switch and the car will not turn off. The key even came out of the ignition switch and the car will not turn off. This could be a very big safety issue.. single mothers have these cars I am one of them and there are complaints all over the internet about this problem. Safety or health issue daughter taking baby to dr and key wont come out stuck in the ignition switch she can not take the baby into his dr's car has been running over four hours no one can get it to turn off --disconnectedness battery does not turn the car off. There are no dealerships or mechanics open and now car running for over 5 hors and is extremely hot --ended up having to remove the fuel fuse and kill the fuel running to the car--- this is the only thing that killed my engine..this could be a very big issue for owners when happens after hours. What other option is available --leave it running lock it and hope someone does not steal the car and that it gets put in drive by a child.

- Amarillo , TX, USA

problem #22

Oct 192010


  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. While attempting to turn the vehicle off the key would not turn inside of the ignition which made it difficult to turn the vehicle off. The failure was not diagnosed and there were no prior warnings. The current and failure mileages were 55000.

- Somerset, MA, USA

problem #21

Oct 042010


  • 59,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. While attempting to turn the vehicle off the key would not release out of the ignition and it would not turn to the off position. The vehicle had not been diagnosed. The current and failure mileages were 59000.

- Santa Ana, CA, USA

problem #20

Sep 202010

Ion 4-cyl

  • 47,000 miles
2007 Saturn Ion 2 does not allow key to pulled out of ignition.

- Alexandria, KY, USA

problem #19

Aug 012007

Ion 4-cyl

  • 4,500 miles
Problems with 2007 Saturn Ion ignition cylinder and park/lock interface. Vehicle frequently can not be turned off. Park/lock interface will not unlock door, when ignition turned off. Key cannot be removed from ignition.

- Summerville, SC, USA

problem #18

Aug 102010


  • 34,000 miles
My 2007 Saturn Ion was stuck running with the key stuck in the ignition. I could not turn off my car and the key was stuck. The Saturn dealer replaced the ignition lock cylinder and housing and cut new keys.

- Ashland, VA, USA

problem #17

Aug 022010


  • 13,100 miles
Key becomes stuck in ignition - owner unable to turn vehicle off. Had to pull the fuse in order to shut the vehicle off and tow.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #16

Jul 202010


  • 53,711 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The keys were stuck in the ignition and would not turn the engine off. The vehicle was towed to a mechanic who stated that the lock cylinder broke into several pieces and needed to be replaced for $400 and was not covered by the warranty or recall. The Saturn manufacturer was notified but there was no answer. The failure and the current mileages were 53,711.

- Whitehall, NY, USA

problem #15

Jul 122010

Ion 4-cyl

  • 33,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact stated the key would intermittently fail to release from the ignition. On one occasion, she was unable to shut off the vehicle due to the key being resistant to movement. The vehicle was then towed to the dealer where the contact was awaiting a diagnosis of the failure. The manufacturer did not provide any assistance. The current and failure mileages were approximately 33,000. Updated 09/09/10. The ignition cylinder was replaced. Updated 09/14/10

- Canyon Lake, TX, USA

Read the next 14 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?