Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: With the 2007 model year we finally get to bid adieu to a car famous for poor safety marks, a dangerously defective ignition and power steering that would work … sometimes.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
59,735 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Saturn Ion fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Saturn Ion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Saturn Ion Owner Comments (Page 3 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #14

Aug 302010


  • 79,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact smelled a very strong fuel odor when the vehicle was turned off. The vehicle was taken to the garage and the diagnostic test confirmed that there was a fuel leak above the fuel tank. The vehicle wasn't repaired. The VIN information wasn't available. The failure mileage was 79,000 and the current mileage was 80,000.

- Fort Washington , PA, USA

problem #13

Aug 052010

Ion 4-cyl

  • 101,200 miles
On August 5, 2010, my 2007 Saturn Ion developed a strong gasoline odor that was noticeable inside and outside the car. The car has simultaneously become hard to start. No gas has been observed dripping from under the car, but I am concerned about the potential for fire. I have also found that GM issued a recall for this same problem, but it does not cover cars in my state.

- Lexington, OH, USA

problem #12

Aug 022010


  • 65,234 miles
I am the owner of a 2007 Saturn Ion redline with 65,000 miles. During the first week in August 2010 I noticed a strong smell of gasoline inside the passenger compartment. I walked around the outside of the vehicle and noticed that the smell was even stronger toward the rear of the vehicle. After searching the internet for a possible cause, I discovered my vehicle has a current recall for the fuel pump. "manufacturer: General Motors Corp. Mfr's report date: Oct 22, 2009 NHTSA campaign id number: 09V419000 N/a NHTSA action number: N/a component: Fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump" however, this recall only pertains to certain states, of which my vehicle was not purchased in and is not currently registered in. A leak in the fuel system is a major safety risk as it can result in fires or explosions during normal operating conditions or accidents. New Jersey as well as the rest of the nation need to be included in this recall notice due to the clear defect present in the vehicles manufacturing.

- Galloway, NJ, USA

problem #11

Apr 042010


  • 24,000 miles


I was driving down the interstate in April 2010 when my power steering went out on my 2007 Saturn Ion 3 causing me to almost be in an accident. I pulled over to the side of the road and turned the car off then back on and the power steering acted fine. Took it to the dealership only to find out this is a "known problem" and they fixed it. Then in July, 3 months later, I had a very strong odor of gasoline and was having problems starting the car. I took it to the dealership where I was again told this was a "known problem" and they fixed the gas pump. Now, I have terrible gas mileage and am being offered no assistance.

- St Louis, MO, USA

problem #10

Jun 072010


  • 27,000 miles
Unfortunately I have a 2007 Saturn Ion which sounds like it is going to break in half over even the slightest small bumps in the road. I have a warranty on the vehicle which expired in June 2010. Although the car only has 29000 miles on it~ Saturn would not honor the warranty when I brought my car in for a check engine light~ it was the purge sensor. They wanted to charge me over $300 to repair this issue. I went online and saw many other's had reported the same problem. I also saw the part for only $26 ~however at the Saturn dealership they charged me $51 for the part. I ended up fixing the repair myself to avoid being robbed by the Saturn dealership!! I am very displeased with my car~ now the struts and control arm bushings are making significant rumble when driving over the slightest bumps in the road. At 29000 miles the car should not be making any noise!! I feel very unsafe and scared in my Saturn!! I've seen many reports of other owner's with the same vehicle that are similar. Even the GM cobalt which has the exact same platform and steering has the same issues and for that car power steering issues have been recalled but not for the Ion which ~I repeat has the same components. I bought my car when fuel costs soared and thought it would at least last me 5 years with out issues. I think GM needs to address these issues especially since so many consumers are experiencing issues at such low mileage. There are also issues with the rear defrost, power windows, steering, and transmission. I'm from mn. And it's terrible when you have a newer car that won't even take you 30,000 miles without breaking down!! I'm very disappointed and Saturn needs to recall everything on these unsafe vehicles before someone gets seriously hurt ~like Toyota. I'm sure you've had several complaints. The car is defective!! please help!! Saturn won't repair unless it's completely broken even if the car is smokin they blow you off!!! ~horrible!!!

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #9

Jul 012010

Ion 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
I have a 2007 Saturn Ion which was purchased brand new in the state of Illinois. I started smelling a large amount of gas inside and outside of the vehicle about two weeks ago. Then it started leaking gas near the right back tire well. We took it to get looked at and the mechanic stated the fuel pump module was cracked and leaking gas 3 inches away from my muffler which is dangerous because if ignited in some way the car could catch fire. I looked up any known issues with this model of vehicle and I found a recall that was issued Oct 2009 for 2007 Saturn Ions in a lot of states but not Illinois. I am very concerned that this potentially hazard issue is happening to vehicles in Illinois also but no one is being notified of the danger. My family was at risk. If there would have been an accident or someone threw a cigarette at my car and the vehicle could of caught fire. I also park my car in an attached garage which also brought risk to my home. Please consider also adding Illinois and any other states that may be having the same problem that you have already issued the previous recall campaign 09V419000 for. Please contact me for any additional information. Thank you for your time and consideration.

- Mechanicsburg, IL, USA

problem #8

Jul 022010


  • 70,000 miles


My wife was driving our 2007 Saturn Ion to visit family in ky while I am in the middle East(military) we live in va so this is quite a drive. My wife while driving the car noticed the check engine light came on and shortly after the car jerked very hard while traveling at like 60mph, my wife stated that it felt like she was rearended but was not, causing her to swerve some I am glad nothing happened cause my 2 little boys were in the car as well. So my wife took the car to the dealership we bought it from, which is no longer a Saturn dealer but still a GM company. They said we need to replace our fuel pump, and fuel injectors. I did some research on parts and came across the recall on the fuel pump and called the 800 # listed and they called my wife to talk to her and they called the dealership where we bought the car. The dealership we bought the car from stated that the fuel pump while faulted is not faulted due to a defect and that they will not cover the cost and that if we want it fixed it will cost over 1000 dollars. My wife and I feel that this is too much of a coincidence to believe that this is the case. Had something else happened and my wife was to be in a wreck and my family was to be harmed and the diagnoses was that the fuel pump had faulted while driving I would be making sure that my life was devoted to closing this vial company for the good of humanity.

- Norfolk, VA, USA

problem #7

Dec 222009


  • 43,519 miles
I want to report a problem with my 2007 Saturn Ion. I live in Virginia and my vehicle had a fuel system leak like the one described in your safety recall 09V419000. My vehicle was actually dripping fuel from the skid plate covering the fuel tank. GM was made aware of this problem back in December 2009, but because my vehicle was about 7000 miles out of the factory warranty Saturn/GM refused to help. I compared the original fuel pump and the new one purchased from GM and find that they have been redesigned indicating that GM knows that the oem fuel pump is defective. I was surprised that GM refused to help since this car had been to the dealer on 2 other occasions from March to May 2009 with fuel system problems. I also want to make you aware that during the time I was having this problem my daughter was constantly complaining of headaches. Ever since I had the fuel pump replaced she has not had any headaches after riding in the vehicle. I feel all 2006-2007 Saturn Ions and Chevrolet cobalts are safety hazards. I hope you can investigate and make GM issue a nationwide recall on these models and not just the states currently listed on your recall. I feel GM has suppressed this information and not made the public aware of this severe problem in order to minimize their expense to repair these vehicles.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #6

Sep 012009


  • 40,000 miles
Fuel pump leading to gas tank had a crack. Had to replace the whole fuel pump system. Was leaking gas.

- Statesville, NC, USA

problem #5

Sep 302009


  • 36,000 miles
Gas accelerating on it's on in a Saturn Ion 2007 causing wreck 2 times, fuse blew in power steering causing wreck 1 time.

- Gilbert, WV, USA

problem #4

Oct 272009


  • 6,568 miles


In late October 2009, there was a strong smell of gasoline while driving my car. I took my car to my local Saturn dealership, where I had purchased my car. The service manager advised me that I must have gone over a speed bump too fast because the fuel pump had been pushed into he bottom of my car causing the fuel pump to crack and leak. I had no recollection of that kind of impact and there was no exterior damage to my car. I was very skeptical of the service manager's explanation, so I took my car to another mechanic and I was advised that the fuel pump was actually defective. I have tried to work with Saturn on a resolution, however to say that the local and district office have been unhelpful, would be putting it mildly.

- Roanoke, VA, USA

problem #3

Oct 182009


  • 47,000 miles
Vehicle had a strong fuel odor. Vehicle was checked after engine line came on. Main fuel line connected to fuel pump came apart and vehicle was leaking fuel. If I had a collision car would have exploded due to amount of fuel leaking. New fuel pump was replaced cost to $400 plus labor costs. Just bought used vehicle in August 2009 from dealer.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #2

Oct 152009


  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. He smelled an odor of gasoline leaking from his vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a repair facility and a mechanic concluded that there was fuel leakage from the fuel tank. He took the vehicle to the dealership and a technician concluded that because the warranty expired they would not provide any assistance. The current and failure mileages were approximately 50,000.

- Clearwater, FL, USA

problem #1

May 012008


  • 4,147 miles
Revised brand new car, dent in trunk, 3 months later check engine light and not starting, needs new fuel tank and they need to replace the motor in the ac unit. 05-30-08, car wont start again - service department says that is due to automatic car starter new car purchased on 11-29-08, 6 months old, only 4700 miles on it. Falling apart one piece at a time.

- Edison, NJ, USA

Not what you are looking for?