Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Steering Problems

2007 Saturn Ion (Page 2 of 19)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: With the 2007 model year we finally get to bid adieu to a car famous for poor safety marks, a dangerously defective ignition and power steering that would work … sometimes.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
15 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 0
Average Mileage:
63,324 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Saturn Ion steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Saturn Ion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Saturn Ion Owner Comments (Page 2 of 19)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #341

Feb 152014

Ion

  • 89,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. While attempting to park the vehicle, the steering wheel seized. The failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the steering suspension and the power steering motor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The contact was made aware of NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering) however, the VIN was not included. The failure mileage was 89,000.

- Roseland, NJ, USA

problem #340

Mar 172014

Ion

  • 77,195 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. While driving at approximately 45 mph, the power steering and alarm warning lights illuminated and a chime sounded. There was also a total loss of power steering. The vehicle was pulled over and the contact noticed that the steering strut was fractured. The power steering column failed and was replaced. The failures recurred on multiple occasions. The vehicle was towed to a dealer, who diagnosed code C0550 (failure of power steering assembly). The vehicle was repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The failure was related to NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering). The approximate failure mileage was 77,195.

- Dallastown, PA, USA

problem #339

Dec 192014

Ion 4-cyl

  • 114,395 miles
While driving on city streets at approx. 25 miles an hour the steering wheel disengaged from the steering mechanism. This was very frightening for my daughter. The vehicle was pushed into a parking lot. We spoke with the manufacture and we were told to that the vehicle did not have any recalls that were outstanding. We had the vehicle towed to the the nearest dealership to be evaluated. We were told that the steering coupling was broken and needed to be replaced. This we had done. We were very fortunate that this did not occur while driving on the freeway. The complete disconnection of the steering from the rest of the vehicle is something gravely serious. This something that the NHTSA should look into.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #338

Dec 272014

Ion

  • 78,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 10 mph, the steering wheel seized and the power steering warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering). The failure mileage was 78,000. Updated 03/10/15

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #337

Mar 012014

Ion

  • miles
Letter from senator warner on behalf of constituent re Saturn Ion recall (attn: Shane clem). The consumer was informed on several occasions, the parts were not available. When the parts did arrive, he was informed the machine was broken. There was a recall, regarding a steering issue as well. The consumer had to return to the dealer, because he continued to experience problems with the steering.

- Oakton, VA, USA

problem #336

Nov 032014

Ion 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Saturn Ion. Consumer received the first recall and was told by the dealer the parts were not available. He was told the same thing when the 2nd recall arrived. The consumer referenced recall # 14V153000.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #335

Nov 062014

Ion 4-cyl

  • 72,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car was parked tried to start would not start with jump. Had towed determined problem with starter. Fixed overnight drove off lot then lost power steering same night just avoided accident. Found out recalls on both total of 8 on this vehicle. Only had since 8/1/2014 never advised of any recalls on vehicle and mccafferty Ford in langhorne, pa did not offer to assist advised its not their responsibility to check recalls. Car can be driven 10-15mins then steering locks up. Have to wait for car to cool down then steering comes back, 10-15 mins same problem. There is also recalls related to air bags.

- Willow Grove, PA, USA

problem #334

Nov 032014

Ion 4-cyl

  • miles
I purchased the vehicle in March 2014. On 7/17/2014 the ignition switch was replaced at asheville Chevrolet in asheville nc. I had not had any issues with the ignition at that time. On 11/3/14 the car stalled while I was driving. I took it the dealership on 11/5/14. The dealership kept the car for 11/5 and 11/6 and replaced the ignition coil and spark plugs and stated that is needed a map sensor repaired. They verbally informed me that they checked the ignition switch again and checked the fuel pump for leakage (which was another recall). I drove the car home on 11/6/14 and it stalled again within 20 minutes. I called the dealership back on 11/7/14 and was informed that technician that worked on it was not there and they would call me back on Monday (11/10). On 11/10 I talked with the dealership again and was informed that the technician that worked on the car was fired on 11/7 and I could bring it back in for them to check it. I took the car to another mechanic on 11/10 who could not do any work as the computer needed to be "flashed" as it had not been reset when work was done by the dealer which prevented them from identifying any issues that may exist. I brought it back in on 11/11 and informed them that the car is still stalling with the exact same issue that I brought it in on 11/5. the dealership could not confirm that anything was ever checked regarding the ignition switch replacement and stated that the already replaced the recalled ignition switch. They further refused to reset the computer and denied the need for any further work. The vehicle continues to stall when the car is driving and the dealer is well aware of this issue though they refuse to take any action.

- Fletcher, NC, USA

problem #333

Jun 102014

Ion

  • 60,000 miles
Car impacted by three recalls 14V047, 14V171, 14V153 contacted dealership in June- no parts, registered with dealership October told parts are on order. Dealership advised there are 700 consumers on their recall list, to date they have been able to service 100. Neither GM or dealership can provide any timeline for when might be able to expect repair. At the least, as a consumer having a timeframe for repair would help us weigh options, particularly while we are forced to put our families at risk due to the continued unavailability of parts.

- Towson, MD, USA

problem #332

Oct 102014

Ion

  • 128,000 miles
I cranked car power steering would not work. Turn car off restarted car still no power steering turn car off raised hood could not see anything wrong. Restarted car third time power steering work ok.week later same problem with power steering turn car off restarted worked fine.this car has a salvage title GM will not cover this (bulletin 14115)because of title.if it was a recall they would pay for repair.I have never been notify by GM of this problem. Found all my information thru your web site.don't understand why this problem is not classed as a recall. I don't think I could have turn steering wheel if I had been moving in the car at slow rate of speed..with car not moving could not turn steering wheel at all.

- Dunn, NC, USA

problem #331

Oct 152009

Ion

  • 36,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have had both my power steering, ignition, and repairs completed regarding the gas leak pertaining to recalls. However, even after the supposed "fix, " the vehicle has still not been repaired. These issues happened initially while the vehicle was still under warranty, however, GM is now just acknowledging them, although there are service bulletins that prove they knew at the time, so now they are only offering me repeated failed repairs or money towards another GM vehicle. GM vehicle's that are brand new, to which they are still recalling! I want my money back period! GM refuses to acknowledge or take responsibility for flooding the market with faulty vehicles. Please help, I'm interested in filing suit. I was already involved in one accident, regarding the power steering, years ago when it just went out, they claimed they didn't know about it, and I paid for the repairs, only to have received a letter a year ago, stating it still wasn't repaired, I took it back, and now got a letter again yesterday saying it needs to be repaired. I have children and this is our only mode of transportation, I do not feel safe in this vehicle and I certainly don't feel that they are able to repair the vehicle, nor do I trust anything GM said at this point. Please help.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #330

Oct 132014

Ion 4-cyl

  • 114,000 miles
I was driving at speed limit from I 75 to rochester road at 7:50 am. All of sudden, I felt steering got very hard to turn and stuck at pointing to right, I tried my best to turn the steering wheel, but no success, car span off the road into the ditch, back of the car ended up on an electric pole. No airbag deployment. No other cars hurt. Someone called 911. I felt ok at the moment. 2 hours later felt dizzy. Based on how odd the steering felt, I think I had experienced a sudden power steering loss. Luckily the car did not hit the pole first, otherwise I could have died.

- West Bloomfield, MI, USA

problem #329

Jun 102014

Ion

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Jackson, TN, USA

problem #328

Oct 092014

Ion 4-cyl

  • 41,000 miles
I just have a question. I received a recall notice for my car today, October 10, 2024. I called immediately and the first appointment to get it repaired is December 30th. I don't think that is a reasonable length of time. My question is, is it safe and reasonable to have to wait this long?

- Midlothian, VA, USA

problem #327

Oct 102014

Ion

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V047000 (electrical system), NHTSA campaign number: 14V171000 (electrical system) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering). The contact stated that the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #326

May 082014

Ion

  • 82,000 miles
The contact owned a 2007 Saturn Ion. While driving 45 mph, the steering wheel seized and the vehicle crashed into cement stumps. The contact was injured and required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed and towed from the scene. The approximate failure mileage was 82,000. Updated 02/20/15

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #325

Sep 022014

Ion

  • 170,000 miles
My car was recalled for 2 things - ignition and power steering. I was provided a rental by GM in the interim of getting my car fixed. It has been 3.5 months and I still do not have my vehicle. I have been told by the dealership on two separate occasions that my car is ready for pickup. I was told that my car battery had died and that in order to get it, I would need to pay $200 to fix the battery or have the car towed out of the lot. I was not happy about this, but figured that I would go to the dealership to evaluate the state of my car in the morning. I called 5 times throughout the day, and left three messages for the service manager. I did not hear anything else about my car for several days. I received a voicemail from [xxx] employee, [xxx]. he acknowledged my frustration and informed me "not to worry about paying for the rental" and that "we were waiting until we heard from you to submit the recall fix to GMC." [xxx] never called. A week later, I received a voicemail from someone else at the dealership stating my car was ready. I called [xxx] and he stated "you have a bill for $200 for the battery replacement, and I believe the car has a new pump for the power steering recall." I called Saturn customer service number to address my concerns about both the charge for the battery, and the fact that when I run a VIN search on my car, the power steering recall shows up as "incomplete." She did not have an answer. She said the recall VIN search has a "lag time, " and had no reason fornotmentioning thisbefore. Throughout this, [xxx] had said "I believe the power steering pump has been replaced, "but a VIN search shows the recall as incomplete, and according to gms own documents, a pump was never part of the recall remedy. I have no reason to believe my car is fixed, and I am being given no alternative to this $200 charge, which I never approved. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Winthrop, MA, USA

problem #324

May 152014

Ion 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Saturn Ion. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch recall notice and other vehicle problems. The consumer stated the vehicle stalled and left her stranded on May 15,2014. On May 19, 2014, the power steering failed. The vehicle had to be towed both times. The ignition switch was replaced.

- Crofton, MD, USA

problem #323

Aug 042010

Ion

  • miles
The power steering goes out after two attempts to parallel park.

- Mt. Pleasant, IN, USA

problem #322

Jul 162014

Ion

  • 58,000 miles
TL * the contact owns a 2007 Saturn Ion. While driving 45 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to turn. The contact heard a chime sound and the power steering warning indicator illuminated. The contact injured her shoulder attempting to steer the vehicle. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering); however, the part needed for the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 58,000.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?