Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
78,023 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Saturn Outlook drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Saturn Outlook:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Saturn Outlook Owner Comments (Page 1 of 6)

problem #106

Apr 182016


  • miles


Transmission control module tcm is bad

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #105

Sep 292015


  • 148,000 miles
Please issue recall for the wave plate. I was almost rear ended today because my vehicle would not get up to speed. This is going to cause an accident. I will not buy another GM vehicle. Wave plate is known to be faulty in Saturn Outlook, Chevy traverse, and GMC acadia. This causes transmission not to shift properly and rev at 4K rpms. Transmission solonoid 1 gets stuck open per code please inform when recall is issued. This happens periodically whether stopped or in motion. This has happened 20+ times since September 2015.

- Ozark, MO, USA

problem #104

Apr 252015


  • miles
Tve pps modul is not working properly. Power train is working wear when in desacelerating.

- Garden City, ID, USA

problem #103

Jan 302015


  • 172,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Outlook. During low climate weather, the ignition was turned to the on position and all of the warning indicators illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was shifted into drive, but failed to move. While driving at various speeds, all of the warning indicators illuminated and the engine stalled. While driving during low temperatures, the brake pedal was depressed, but the vehicle accelerated. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that there was oil in the engine air flow. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 172,000.

- Ducktown, TN, USA

problem #102

Sep 032015


  • 130,000 miles
Transmission took a while to engage into 2nd gear. When in first gear, you can hear the transmission making a distinct sound. Sounds like a whinny noise, as it was struggling to get into 2nd gear. I noticed this sound when stopped at a traffic light and the light turned green. As I began to accelerate, I noticed the vehicle was having a tough time getting out of 1st gear. This is the second issue with the transmission in 22 months. Back in November of 2013, I had the wav plate replaced at a cost of $2,600. The dealership now is telling me I need a whole new transmission at a cost of $4,000. GM did reimburse me for my first transmission issue, but without a reimbursement, I would be looking at spending nearly $6,600 over the course of 22 months for transmission-related issues. No reasonable person would expect to pay that much money in such short of a time period for (2) separate, transmission related issues.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #101

Aug 212015


  • 119,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Outlook. While driving approximately 35 mph and attempting to merge onto a highway, the vehicle hesitated to accelerate. The stability control and the brake system warning indicators illuminated. The vehicle was driven to an independent mechanic who stated that the trans control module was faulty and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired and the failure recurred. The approximate failure mileage was 119,000.

- Yorkville, IL, USA

problem #100

Jul 232014


  • 75,648 miles


I stopped and parked at macdonald. To grap a coffee. After ireturned, vehicle would not start. I towed vehicle to king Buick GM llc, GM authorized dealership in gaithersburg, Maryland 20882. Dealer concluded that timing chain is intact and some metal parts broke. He recommended to rplace the engine at a cost of $7700. GM had additional protection for timing chain issues for Saturn Outlook xr 2007 model up to 10years from the vehicle placed in service or 120,000 miles. My vehicle had only 75654 miles and eight years in service. GM dealership declined to honor the GM warranty. I took my vehicle to another mechanic, he opened the engine and saw timing chain was in-fact broke and it caused for vehicle to lost compression. I paid $4700 for the repairs. I am filing a reimbursement claim with

- Gaithersburg, MD, USA

problem #99

Mar 092012


  • 130,000 miles
Transmission failed, was rebuilt, failed again and rebuilt again. It has now failed a 3rd time. A 'service' bulletin was issued - but only to 120K miles or 10 years. My vehicle was 10K over the 120K but still within the 10 year. Saturn refuses to make the product right. Searching the internet is full of the same complaint at various stages. The vehicle has a faulty transmission - and should be replaced. Just because I drive miles, I am being penalized and stuck with a faulty product. My car has been dealer maintained since I purchased it new in Nov 2007. Please help Saturn owners that purchase a vehicle in good faith that it will work. We need transmissions replaced for our cars.

- Du Quoin, IL, USA

problem #98

Mar 302015

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 133,000 miles
Issues with the 2007 Saturn Outlook include ongoing electrical issues (lights intermittent functioning, stabilitrack, traction control and ABS lights on intermittently, remote start doesn't work, power lift gate opens on it's own, lift gate switch failed internally), air intake filled with oil and water mix, water under fuel induction service, intermittently the stabilitrack will turn off, message saying 'engine power reduced', car shakes, no power and requires coasting to side of road. (this particular issue is temporarily addressed by turning the car off, removing the keys, opening the door, waiting five minutes. Then the car starts but check engine light remains on.) required new throttle body, replacing struts, sway bar link, shot and/or strut assembly. Rack and pinion, tie rods needed to be replaced. Most recently having difficulties with hard shifting, cel and traction control lights on, intake boot full of oil, vehicle will not shift out of 1st gear until 4000rmp's and does the same thing on highway in 2nd gear.

- Shoreview, MN, USA

problem #97

Apr 062015


  • 103,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Outlook. The contact stated that the clutch wave plate malfunctioned. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, where the technician diagnosed that the shift cable needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 103,000.

- Climax, MI, USA

problem #96

Jan 192015


  • 122,000 miles


The vehicle would not shift leaving me stranded - during a Chicago snow storm. I'm being told that it's the transmission again - only now the power tran warranty has expired.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #95

Dec 122014

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 52,834 miles
Driving home from the store when entering a dangerous intersection my transmission gave out. Luckily I had enough speed to make it through the intersection and was able to drive home. Upon taking my vehicle to two different repair shops, I was told I would need a new transmission. The wave plate shattered and pieces were now in my transmission. I called GM to get some financial assistance since my vehicle had such low mileage. I was told there was no recall. After speaking to the owner of the transmission shop and doing some online investigating, it appears that I am not the only one who had a problem with the wave plate in their Saturn Outlook or GM acadia. I feel the wave plate is defective and that a recall should be put in place so no one else gets hurt from their transmission giving out on them.

- Munhall, PA, USA

problem #94

Jan 192015

Outlook 6-cyl

  • miles
I received a recall notice (14329) from GM at the end of September 2014. The recall stated: This letter is intended to make you aware that some 2007 model year Saturn Outlook vehicles may develop a power steering pump wear condition that can cause an intermittent drop of power steering hydraulic pressure that will cause reduced or loss of steering assist. The vehicle may revert to manual steering which requires greater driver effort, particularly at low vehicle speeds. I took the vehicle to the dealership in December. They were unable to look at the vehicle because I did not have an appointment. I took the vehicle back yesterday. At first the service representative tried to tell me that the letter was more of "if you want to buy a warranty". I informed him that the steering wheel has been making a 'whirring' sound and to inspect it. Of course they called within an hour to state that the power steering pump was bad. The vehicle also needed to have the rack and pinion replaced, front struts replaced, and a wheel alignment. The cost to me was $1800. All of this is a result of a defective GM product. This should be covered by them. Shame on GM. I am aware that there is a GM recall on the 2009 and newer traverse, acadia, and enclave models. The Saturn models should be included in this too.

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #93

Oct 102014

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 132,000 miles
I have a 2007 Saturn Outlook. Wife drives this vehicle every day until it stopped shifting out of second gear! she would stop at the end of our road and go to take off and then the check engine light would come on and then would not change out of 2nd gear. I was told by my mechanic that this is a common problem with this make. I think GM should do a recall on these vehicles. Thanks

- Columbia , KY, USA

problem #92

Aug 202014


  • 104,000 miles
Our 2007 Saturn Outlook broke down with the dreaded wave plate transmission failure. Symptom was that the transmission shifted into neutral on its own around 30-35 mph and would not continue. We tried several times to restart. Each time the transmission held up until 30-35 mph then shifted into neutral and stopped. We had the Outlook towed to fna transmission in wakefield, MA who confirmed that the wave plate failed and shredded the rest of the transmission...nothing could be saved. While I am happy no one was hurt, a transmission should last more than 104K miles, which is of course out of warranty period. The repair cost $3000. Why is there no recall on this known issue? we had planned to trade this Outlook in for a newer traverse, but now I am not confident in the product. GM, please fess up to this problem. Thank you

- North Andover, MA, USA

problem #91

Apr 242012

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
April 2012 was the first transmission failure incident. Under warranty at this point 63000 miles. Check engine light comes on transmission not shifting properly, pressure plates had disintegrated in transmission metal in transmission fluid. GMC honored warranty and took care of problem. 22000 miles later, 2 years pass, check engine light comes on and transmission not shifting changing gears properly. Car was used for 20 minute round trip commute to work, local shopping. Occasionally a 4 hour round trip recreational get away. No towing or hauling. Less than average driving. Took vehicle to my mechanic, informed that transmission codes 0752, 0700. My mechanic refers me to a transmission specialty shop, as he didn't have the ability to perform necessary repairs diagnostics. At the transmission specialty shop, scan code 0989 transmission fluid pressure switch, shift solenoids stuck on. Advised we need a new tranny, as he also found metal particles in transmission fluid. Advised 4 thousand dollars is what it would cost to replace transmission. Here we go again same problem that GM fixed 2 years ago 22000 miles ago. The dealer who originally did repairs 2 years ago said out of warranty now you have to pay out of pocket. Called GM head quarters. They had car picked up by tow truck from tranny specialist shop, and towed 30 miles away to chase Chevrolet 30 minutes away. They have had my car almost 2 weeks now. They finally call me day number 12 to tell me they found code 0989 and would have to replace the transmission control module, at a cost of 800 dollars to me and GM would pick up the other 400 dollars, a 1200 dollar repair. I asked about the metal in the transmission fluid, service guy tells me if I want them to check on that issue, as reported by tranny specialist it would cost me and additional 24 hundred dollars to tear engine apart!

- Tracy, CA, USA

problem #90

Aug 182014

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 101,096 miles
Hello I have the 2007 Outlook that has experienced the notorious transmission failure. My car was taken back to the dealership soon after I purchased it with 40,000 miles and told them the car would roll back while on a hill in gear. They said it was inherent with this transmission and sent me on my way. As dangerous as this was to send a customer away with a car that rolls backwards. Today the transmission failed without notice. I backed out of a parking spot in the lowes parking lot and the car shuttered violently. I made it to the corner about a half mile away before the car simply would not move. I had it towed to lunghamer GMC at 5825 highland road in waterford Michigan. I pulled the engine code myself and had P2723, P0700 I am finding everywhere on the web through hundreds of forums that this transmission is a real issue due to the defective china made wave plate. This is a defective part that implodes internally then takes out the entire transmission. This is an expensive $4000 repair, replacement. This should be a recall because GM has known about this failure early on.

- Waterford, MI, USA

problem #89

Aug 022014


  • 92,000 miles
The transmission failed and almost caused me to get in a wreck on the interstate.

- Duson , LA, USA

problem #88

Jul 192014


  • 81,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Outlook. The contact stated that the check engine indicator illuminated and the gear would not shift, which prevented the vehicle from moving. The dealer stated that the transmission needed to be replaced. No repairs were made and the manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 81,000. Updated 04/13/15

- Severn, MD, USA

problem #87

Jun 042008

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 51,000 miles
My wife and I own a 2007 Saturn Outlook xr, which we brought brand new. After 1 year, we were having trouble with the Saturn Outlook trying to find gears, and the throttle response was disappointing. When passing, you press the throttle, and there is a 15 second hesitation, before the vehicle starts to pick up speed. We have taken the vehicle in for transmission recalls, where they have updated the software. I did this three times, it would last for a couple of weeks, and start right back malfunctioning. Now my vehicle is no longer under warranty, and guess what, the transmission goes out, while on I-55, in Chicago, on my way to! $4,032 to replace, brand new. I paid this because I felt that it was cheaper than another car payment. I am so angry at GM, because they knew that this transmission was faulty, and all they did was take my money, and left me hanging. I am just like other hard working families out there, who just can't cough up 4 grand, and it not put a dent in your budget. All they did was come up with a sorry patch job, that was only temporary, and once it was no longer covered under warranty, they had no shame or remorse about charging you. I called GM, and tried to see if they would do something, ha! no such luck. I often think about that moment my wife could have been hurt, or hurt someone because of GM's negligence. Please help me, and all the consumers out there who have purchased from GM. They need to take responsibility for this serious matter. Thank you....[xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Aurora, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?