Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
93,050 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Saturn Outlook engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Saturn Outlook:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Saturn Outlook Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #21

Jan 302015


  • 172,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Outlook. During low climate weather, the ignition was turned to the on position and all of the warning indicators illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was shifted into drive, but failed to move. While driving at various speeds, all of the warning indicators illuminated and the engine stalled. While driving during low temperatures, the brake pedal was depressed, but the vehicle accelerated. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that there was oil in the engine air flow. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 172,000.

- Ducktown, TN, USA

problem #20

Apr 262015


  • 187,880 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Outlook. While accelerating from a complete stop, the traction control warning indicator illuminated and an unusual noise emitted. The vehicle began to vibrate with hesitation and then stalled. The vehicle was merged to the side of the road, where the engine was turned off. After waiting five minutes, the vehicle restarted with the illumination of the engine warning indicator. The failure recurred numerous times. On a separate occasion, the vehicle accelerated independently. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who stated that the failure could possibly be related to the throttle body. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 187,880.

- Corona , CA, USA

problem #19

Mar 302015

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 133,000 miles
Issues with the 2007 Saturn Outlook include ongoing electrical issues (lights intermittent functioning, stabilitrack, traction control and ABS lights on intermittently, remote start doesn't work, power lift gate opens on it's own, lift gate switch failed internally), air intake filled with oil and water mix, water under fuel induction service, intermittently the stabilitrack will turn off, message saying 'engine power reduced', car shakes, no power and requires coasting to side of road. (this particular issue is temporarily addressed by turning the car off, removing the keys, opening the door, waiting five minutes. Then the car starts but check engine light remains on.) required new throttle body, replacing struts, sway bar link, shot and/or strut assembly. Rack and pinion, tie rods needed to be replaced. Most recently having difficulties with hard shifting, cel and traction control lights on, intake boot full of oil, vehicle will not shift out of 1st gear until 4000rmp's and does the same thing on highway in 2nd gear.

- Shoreview, MN, USA

problem #18

Mar 092015


  • 128,000 miles


I was stopped at a red light on an off ramp, and my car just shut off. When I tried to start it, it made horrible noises and would never stay on. I took it to a mechanic and he said it's possibly the timing chain. There is a recall of timing chains except it's 120,000 miles or 10 years, which comes first. My car has 128,000 miles on it and is not eligible by 8,000 miles!!!!! this car has already had too many problems, now GM knows there is a timing chain issue, they should not limit the replacement on this or any other item that they know is faulty or will be a problem for all 2007 Saturn.

- Lakewod, CA, USA

problem #17

Feb 162015

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
Driving in sub zero weather, I driving on the freeway when my car lost power and now I find out, it is something called "limp" mode. Car would not go more than 35 miles per hour and I had multiple warning lights coming one. How dangerous to be on the highway at 70 miles per hour see a check engine light come on and suddenly realize you have no power. Trying to get into the outer lane and get off the highway almost cost me my life. I was -20 degrees out that day. I found this listed on a web site, sound like GM knows there is a problem already. I work with a girl that has a acadia. She saw my facebook post about my car. She was also on the highway the same day I was and here car was doing the exact same thing my was. Two cars with loss of power at the same time and day. This is dangerous. Here is the link I found regarding this GM has issued a service bulletin to address a problem with oil in air intake duct, along with a check engine light, poor acceleration, and throttle body freezing. The bulletin applies to the following vehicles equipped with the 3.6L engine: 2008-11 Buick enclave, 2007-11 Chevrolet Malibu, 2009-11 Chevrolet traverse,2007-11 GMC acadia,2007-10 Pontiac G6, 2007-09 Saturn aura, 2007-10 Saturn Outlook GM states that the problem occurs after a cold start up or when driving in cold temperatures. If you scan the PCM, ice formation is caused by condensation freezing at the base of the throttle body with additional collection of ice formation deposits in the air inlet duct. Freezing condensation forms after the vehicle has been driven and then parked in low ambient temperatures. Oil deposits are the collection of the engine vapors, fuel dilution and oil mist at the base of the throttle body with additional formation collecting in the duct.

- New Philadelphia, OH, USA

problem #16

Nov 162014


  • 115,467 miles
Traction control alert warning engine power reduced and the engine turns off disabling the vehicle this has happened numerous other times and GM has had the vehicle in for repairs more than 5 times and last time charged over $2000 to fix the transmission although there was a recall they would not pay for the work completely.

- Sonora , CA, USA

problem #15

Aug 142014


  • 140,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Outlook. While driving approximately 60 mph, the vehicle caught fire. There were no injuries. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 140,000.

- Olympia Fields, IL, USA

problem #14

Apr 242012

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
April 2012 was the first transmission failure incident. Under warranty at this point 63000 miles. Check engine light comes on transmission not shifting properly, pressure plates had disintegrated in transmission metal in transmission fluid. GMC honored warranty and took care of problem. 22000 miles later, 2 years pass, check engine light comes on and transmission not shifting changing gears properly. Car was used for 20 minute round trip commute to work, local shopping. Occasionally a 4 hour round trip recreational get away. No towing or hauling. Less than average driving. Took vehicle to my mechanic, informed that transmission codes 0752, 0700. My mechanic refers me to a transmission specialty shop, as he didn't have the ability to perform necessary repairs diagnostics. At the transmission specialty shop, scan code 0989 transmission fluid pressure switch, shift solenoids stuck on. Advised we need a new tranny, as he also found metal particles in transmission fluid. Advised 4 thousand dollars is what it would cost to replace transmission. Here we go again same problem that GM fixed 2 years ago 22000 miles ago. The dealer who originally did repairs 2 years ago said out of warranty now you have to pay out of pocket. Called GM head quarters. They had car picked up by tow truck from tranny specialist shop, and towed 30 miles away to chase Chevrolet 30 minutes away. They have had my car almost 2 weeks now. They finally call me day number 12 to tell me they found code 0989 and would have to replace the transmission control module, at a cost of 800 dollars to me and GM would pick up the other 400 dollars, a 1200 dollar repair. I asked about the metal in the transmission fluid, service guy tells me if I want them to check on that issue, as reported by tranny specialist it would cost me and additional 24 hundred dollars to tear engine apart!

- Tracy, CA, USA

problem #13

Jul 052014

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 71,000 miles
On Saturday July 5, 2014, while traveling N/B on I-81 in Virginia my 2007 Saturn Outlook xr suddenly began to lose power to the engine. At the time, I was in the left lane and going approximately 70 mph. At no time did any check engine light or other service indicator come on. Fortunately I was able to steer the vehicle over to the right shoulder before it completely stopped. After about 30 minutes on the shoulder the vehicle lost all electrical power. I had my wife and 3 kids (8yr, 6yr and 3 month old) in the car when this happened. It took an hour for the tow truck to get to us. We loaded the car seats and all of us into the tow truck and were towed to a mechanics shop in front royal, va. Since all shops were closed at that time, we had to leave our car and went to a hotel. On Monday July 7th, we were told it would be at least a few days until they figured out what went wrong. I rented a car and drove home to NJ. On Thursday July 10th, the mechanic shop called and said the engine was completely shot due to a missing valve cover inside the engine, 1 of the catalytic converters not working and multiple pistons failing. On July 24th the car was finally picked up and transported to another mechanic by my residence. The next day that shop called with the same diagnosis and said I needed a new engine. I had to purchase a new engine from GM for $5,000. That purchase with labor and tax will cost me $7,500. This whole breakdown ended up costing me approx. $9,000 total and I am still waiting to get my car back. The vehicle has been in my family since it was purchased and had all the recommended tune ups/recalls performed. It bothers me that GM puts families at risk by not addressing this issue. Breaking down on the side of the highway puts people in dangerous situations. GM should own up to this problem and take all appropriate action to prevent a potential tragedy.

- Westfield, NJ, USA

problem #12

Sep 302012


  • 97,000 miles
This car is a lemon. We bought the car used from a GM dealership in Sept 2012. In retrospect, it was a sign from above indicating it was a lemon however we held out faith. The first problem, not even 2 weeks after buying the car, the water pump blew. The thermostat then broke only a few months later. Another repair. Then the monster came --- timing chain! the timing chain broke! just awful! thankfully, we discovered a 120,000 warranty thing that included the timing chain, otherwise this pos would've been dumped off at the nearest junkyard. So, that was all fine and dandy until several months later the brakes wouldn't have pressure behind the pedal. We had to replace lines, pads, rotors, the whole kit and caboodle since that was all broken. Okay, so we fixed that. Ugh. We started talking about replacing the vehicle, but soon discovered we would owe more on vehicle than what it is worth. Everything was fine and calm and peaceful for quite some time. Then the one time we go to use the lift gate to unload some boxes, sure enough -- the lift gate wouldn't open!! the stupid switch went out on that! what?!!! they had to take the whole flipping door off the car in order to get to the stupid switch! it was locked shut. It wasn't a tragically expensive repair, so we paid it, moved on. Now, this is the thing that has really irked me. Noticed while driving the car's transmission jerks at 20-30 mph, and in reverse. So we called up the dealership, explained what it was, they test drove it, said "ooohhhh, it's probably the wave plate inside the transmission." -- you'll need to purchase a remanufactured transmission from GM, or you'll need to have it rebuilt, but they're about the same price (about $500 difference). I was sucker punched. You win again GM! you're cheaply made crap and now my wallet is hemorrhaging again! I will never buy GM again! ever! piece of crap vehicles!

- Redwood Falls, MN, USA

problem #11

Sep 142007


  • miles


TL- the contact owns a 2007 Saturn Outlook. The contact stated that the ignition module failed, causing the vehicle to stall sporadically and without warning for years. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure several times but did not provide a remedy for the failure. The contact stated there was a noise upon driving the vehicle and various warning sensors illuminate on the instrument panel each time the vehicle was driven. The warning sensors show service traction, service engine light, service air bags, service ABS brake system indicators. There was a leak in the sunroof which was diagnosed and repaired by an authorized dealer. The diagnosis was to replace the track. After the repair the failure happened again. The contact stated that the vehicle does not shift in and out of gear properly. The contact had to press the gas pedal hard to accelerate the vehicle. The gas gage reads intermittently. The brakes are not working. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer multiple times and the failures still recurr. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was unknown. Dyd

- Irvine, CA, USA

problem #10

Dec 182013

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 159,160 miles
While driving my 2007 Saturn Outlook the engine stalled and came right back on. The engine light came on and the transmission would not shift out of 2 nd gear. I pull over put it in park sat there for a few minutes. I put it in drive and it went into gear. I'm very upset to learn it will cost me $6000 to repair the transmission and timing chain which is a problem GM is very aware of. I think they should take care of the problem due to many people having the same issues with this type of vehicle. I have only owned this vehicle for just over a year. And paid good money for the vehicle. So if they know there is a problem they should fix it.

- Waterloo, IN, USA

problem #9

Sep 252013


  • 150,000 miles
During the car being serviced they did a service bulletin on the car that was to reprogram the ECM computer in the car for a timing chain issue. After the service the gas mileage went down and noticed the change oil calculator went down faster. Not a big deal I change my oil at 5,000 miles with synthetic blend. Wife too car and after shopping the car would not start. Found out that the timing chain snapped and broke numerous pieces in the engine. Found out after taking to the mechanic that the reprogram actual allowed more stretch in the timing chain then the factory setting. So feel like they were trying to push the issue out past the warranty period. Never was told at dealer what the reprogram did or they were having issues with the timing chain. Nothing in manual stating to change timing chain at any point. Found out after the problem happened and GM basically says it my fault I should have changed the oil more. This could become a safety issue if you are on the highway and this happens.

- Voluntown, CT, USA

problem #8

Oct 012013

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 77,000 miles
Stabilitrak traction control turned off, warning beeps came with a message saying oil pressure low, shut engine off. This is one of many issues I have encountered, among getting a new engine after buying it in 2010 6 months later, because of wave plate issues, timing chain problem, the lift gate not functioning, my husband spent $23K on the car and since then we have put thousands more into the car to have it fixed. Feel unsafe in it an disgusted at how many times I have to get it serviced.

- Newport News, VA, USA

problem #7

Aug 112013

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 55,654 miles
I was driving to church on Aug. 11, 2013 with my 3 year old and 11 year old niece and nephew. The car was running fine. Went down a hill and the car was having problems with the gas and then the check engine light came on. I was at a stop sign and I was turning right. The rpms went up like I was going really fast and then realized I was not getting the gas I should have been getting. I had to stop in the middle of the road with a car behind me and turn around. I was so nervous I didn't know if any other car was coming because I could barely go in reverse. I was able to get the car back home by going 40 mph with the rpms between 4 and 5. it was by the grace of god that I was able to return home safely.

- Vale , NC, USA

problem #6

Apr 232013


  • 52,700 miles
I just purchased the vehicle. I went out of town with this vehicle and had to stop at some place I didn't know. They hooked the vehicle and found out it was a cylinder misfire. Within the first 2 weeks of purchasing the vehicle the check engine light came on. When found it out was a cylinder misfire I tried calling the dealership and letting them know what happened with the car. The place that checked cleared the service light. Less than two weeks later went to dealership and was informed that they would not check it because the light wasn't on. In July, a few months of having the vehicle than I had the stability track come on as well as the brake light. Went to dealership and they checked and told me they couldn't find anything wrong with it but the brake fluid was half empty. They put some brake fluid in vehicle and told me to go to GM. GM told me that it was the master booster cylinder without looking at the vehicle and told me it would be like almost $700 to fix it. So less than two weeks go by and I drove the vehicle and it was having a hard time before this with the car getting some gas. Beginning of Aug, I start driving it to church and the check engine light came on and the car was barely moving. It was in rpms of 4-5 and I was only going 60 mph, trying too. I had my niece and nephew in the car and they new something was wrong with the car. The car would barely go in reverse at this time. Now the car will not go in reverse at all. The car has only 55,654 miles on it. This is a safety issue and needs to be fixed and recalled.

- Vale , NC, USA

problem #5

Apr 122013

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
Wife called me and said her car wouldn't move - belt problem? had heard clattering and high pitched whine earlier and yellow check engine light came on. Was able to start car and shift it into reverse and drive. We decided to drive it to the dealer - champion GMC Buick in brighton. Going up a hill near maltby intermediate school, the car began to stall and slow. Blue smoke came out of the engine. Stopped at top of hill. Got out and inspected engine again...acrid burning smell. Was able to limp car down other side of hill and park in mt. Brighton parking lot and called aaa to tow the vehicle. No flames detected. Dealer said gaskets transmission had failed, coating underside of hot engine.

- Brighton, MI, USA

problem #4

Mar 012008

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 2,000 miles
We have had problems starting from a few months after purchase. Fast forward to Jan 2012 we had a major leak inside the car. Water making a "swishing" sound overhead from water storing in the headliner. Water was coming from air bags, shade covers, below the glove box, and inside the windows. Had a major leak in passenger floor. The air hasn't worked since Sept. And makes a loud "hissing" sound, instrument panel just disappears, drivers side headlight goes on and off. GM won't do anything. Took to dealer and paid $640 to fix headliner leak, but reading other posts it's a matter of time before it will leak again. All other issues still not working and all due to water leaking in. This is so scary and frustrating that nothing has been done about this. Lots of complaints for the same issues all over and other sites. We can't afford to fix all this, or get rid of the car. And who would buy it with all the issues?? please help all us owners!!

- Covington, GA, USA

problem #3

Dec 052011

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 78,766 miles
Wave plate broke inside the transmission. Loose metal from wave plate damaged many parts throughout the transmission. Original estimate was $3500 due to being 3 months outside warranty. GM agreed to cover remaining bill if I paid $1100 due to the relatively low mileage (78K). One small wave plate caused thousands of dollars of damage and GM knows this is a problem with the '07, '08, '09 Saturn Outlook.

- Kalamazoo, MI, USA

problem #2

Jun 202011

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 37,430 miles
In June of 2011 my Saturn suddenly started sticking in 2nd gear on an interstate highway. There were 37000 miles N this vehicle. I was able to exit and make it to a GM dealership where the vehicle was diagnosed with a broken 3-5wave plate which was repaired under warranty. Now 15 months later I was driving at 45 miles per hour and the vehicle suddenly revved to 5000rpm and slowed to about 10 miles per hour. The vehicle was towed to a GM dealership and the control module and solenoid valve need replacement. There are now 52500 miles on this vehicle. This is a known problem and GM has made no plan to recall the vehicle for transmission issues.

- Southampton, PA, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?