Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Electrical System Problems

2009 Saturn Outlook (Page 2 of 2)

3.1

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,044 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Saturn Outlook electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Saturn Outlook:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Saturn Outlook Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #18

Jul 142011

Outlook 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The headlamp on the right side went out in July 2011 and we had it replaced at a GM dealership. September 20th, 2011 rolls around and the same headlamp is out again! funny thing, as I'm driving around town I'm noticing the same problem (right side even) on other GM vehicles of the same body style.

- Huntington Woods, MI, USA

problem #17

Aug 122011

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
I bought a brand new Saturn Outlook in 2009 and 3 month after I had to take to the dealer because a headlight was off. When I asked them if the light bulb had burned they told me if was a faulty headlight harness wiring had melted. I am experiencing the same problem again. I researched the internet and I found that I am not the only problem with this problem. I am afraid if this problem its not fixed by the manufacturer in a timely matter it may cause the dead of many people including my self due to an electrical fire.

- Tamarac, FL, USA

problem #16

Jul 032011

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 28,500 miles
I have a 2009 Saturn Outlook with approximately 28K miles. It has leaks in the front passenger compartment. Recently the car would not turn off and the power would decrease and then surge back to normal. I am afraid to drive a car that accelerates unpredictably. We have had other electrical issues like engine lights coming on for no reason. The dealer can't recreate the problem but they don't try using water (hose or rain). I see many other people on the internet are complaining of similar problems with these cars. Please call me at [xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Oakton, VA, USA

problem #15

May 202011

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 29,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2009 Saturn Outlook and the front passenger headlight has gone out for the 2nd time and the vehicle has only 29900 miles on it. It was last replace when the vehicle had only 22000 miles on it. I know that multiple people have had this problem, it should be a recall due to all the issues. They say the wire harness is bad, but something is causing it to heat up too much.

- Massillon, OH, USA

problem #14

Apr 172009

Outlook

  • 50,000 miles
Wiring harness melted.

- Pryor , OK, USA

problem #13

Oct 012010

Outlook

  • 28,000 miles
We have replaced the headlight on this vehicle 3 times since October 2010. The headlight went out again last week. We took the car to a GM dealer who replaced the electrical housing to the lamp. After doing research on-line I have discovered that this seems to be a recurrent problem with the Saturn outllook. We are hopeful that they wil make this a recall on the vehicle and the electrical housing to the headlights will be replaced.

- Oak Lawn, IL, USA

problem #12

Oct 012010

Outlook

  • 28,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We have replaced the headlight on this vehicle 3 times since October 2010. The headlight went out again last week. We took the car to a GM dealer who replaced the electrical housing to the lamp. After doing research on-line I have discovered that this seems to be a recurrent problem with the Saturn outllook. We are hopeful that they wil make this a recall on the vehicle and the electrical housing to the headlights will be replaced.

- Oak Lawn, IL, USA

problem #11

Oct 012010

Outlook

  • 28,000 miles
We have replaced the headlight on this vehicle 3 times since October 2010. The headlight went out again last week. We took the car to a GM dealer who replaced the electrical housing to the lamp. After doing research on-line I have discovered that this seems to be a recurrent problem with the Saturn outllook. We are hopeful that they wil make this a recall on the vehicle and the electrical housing to the headlights will be replaced.

- Oak Lawn, IL, USA

problem #10

Feb 032011

Outlook

  • 37,000 miles
Passenger side headlight went out, dealer said it was the entire 'assembly'. a few weeks later (today), the driver side headlight went out. I read all of the other similar complaints about this same issue. Seems to me that a recall should be issued by GM.

- Freeland, MI, USA

problem #9

Dec 102010

Outlook

  • miles
The front driver side headlight kept fizzing out. The underlying cause was a frayed and melted wiring harness that was not any good. There is no recall on it but Saturn is aware. Hopefully it won't happen again, but if it does I'm afraid there lies a potential for a fire.

- Stanley, NC, USA

problem #8

Nov 152010

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 41,005 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1. daytime running lights automatically come on and stay on unless manually turned off by driver. 2. the wiring harness in which the headlight connects melts due to excessive heat causing the headlight to fail and the harness having to be replaced. 3. the repair at the dealer costs $250. This is a common issue with the Saturn Outlook due to poor design of wiring harness.

- Franklinville, NJ, USA

problem #7

Oct 312010

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 46,352 miles
Second headlight went out on 2009 Saturn Outlook purchased August 2008. Both times the harness needed replaced. First time the replacement was under warranty, the second time was not, but car is only 2 yrs 2mos old. Both wiring harnesses were burnt out.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #6

Oct 202010

Outlook 6-cyl

  • miles
2009 Saturn Outlook headlight failure due to faulty wiring harness.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #5

Oct 022010

Outlook

  • 26,000 miles
Daytime running light, low beam headlight went out. Replaced bulb and light still didn't work. While reinstalling light flickered and I noticed there is a short within the harness.

- Catonsville, MD, USA

problem #4

Sep 052010

Outlook

  • 53,540 miles
Driving and headlight goes out. Headlight has gone out two times since ownership of year and a half. I have replaced the wire harness on the driverside headlight once and going to replace it again! I will hang on to this harness for the future.

- Blytheville, AR, USA

problem #3

Aug 252009

Outlook

  • 45,000 miles
Passenger headlamp went out. On my 2009 Saturn Outlook. Took the vehicle to the GM dealership for repair and found there was a fire in the wiring harness that controls the headlamps.

- Federal Way, WA, USA

problem #2

Aug 122010

Outlook

  • 23,234 miles
First occurrence: June 21, 2010--battery dead, key stuck in ignition. Charged battery overnight. Drove to dealership on June 22, 2010. Dealership stated "battery failed load test, replaced battery." Second occurrence: August 11, 2010--battery dead, key stuck in ignition, unable to place in neutral. Charged battery overnight (unsuccessful). Towed to dealership on August 12, 2010. Dealership stated "trouble shoot starter and charged system. Battery failed test, replaced battery." I was told by dealership advisor that it was just a bad battery. (this is the second time to just be a bad battery.) advisor said they ran a parasitic test on the battery to make sure nothing was drawing too much from the battery. That test came back normal.

- Beaumont, TX, USA

problem #1

Dec 062009

Outlook

  • 10,043 miles
I bought a new 2009 Outlook in August 2009 three times since buying the car, the battery has gone completely dead. The dealer has checked the car thoroughly and found no problems. They say that GM has put out a bulletin for an "intermittent parasitic draw", but no solution has been found to date. They are sympathetic to my problem, but can not do anything until GM finds the solution.

- New Fairfield, CT, USA

Not what you are looking for?