Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Exterior Lighting Problems

2009 Saturn Outlook (Page 2 of 4)

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
33,218 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Saturn Outlook lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Saturn Outlook:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Saturn Outlook Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #47

Sep 102010

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The wire harness going to the low beam left and right sides burning causing the lights to go out prematurely.

- Sealy, TX, USA

problem #46

Sep 222011

Outlook

  • 40,004 miles
Low beam headlight harness has completely melted resulting in bulb outages. First the passenger side and now two weeks later the headlight harness on the drivers side has melted. I am being told that this is a common problem and that eventually this should be a recall due to safety.

- Washington, IL, USA

problem #45

Jul 142011

Outlook 6-cyl

  • miles
The headlamp on the right side went out in July 2011 and we had it replaced at a GM dealership. September 20th, 2011 rolls around and the same headlamp is out again! funny thing, as I'm driving around town I'm noticing the same problem (right side even) on other GM vehicles of the same body style.

- Huntington Woods, MI, USA

problem #44

Sep 012011

Outlook

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2009 Saturn Outlook - I have had to replace both headlights and harnesses, because the harness shorted out. The cost to me was approx. $600 to replace harness and light bulbs. I feel this is a safety issue and should be a recall. I have about 55,000 miles on my Outlook.

- Hanford, CA, USA

problem #43

Aug 292011

Outlook

  • 41,000 miles
My passenger headlight went out. I replaced it and it was temporarily fixed for 1 1/2 weeks when it went out again. A few days later, the drivers side headlight went out as well. So I was driving in the dark with no working headlights.

- Lakewood, CO, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #42

Oct 012010

Outlook

  • 37,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Saturn Outlook. The contact stated that the headlights continued to blow out and the passenger side headlight was inoperable. The dealer advised the contact to bring the vehicle in for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was aware of the failure. A private mechanic inspected the vehicle and informed the contact that the wires in the headlight melted and the entire headlight capsule needed to be replaced. No repairs were performed. The approximate failure mileage was 37,000 and the current mileage was 42,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Windham, NH, USA

problem #41

Jul 282011

Outlook

  • 43,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Low beam headlight on 2009 Saturn Outlook will not work due to faulty wiring harness.

- Bedford, IN, USA

problem #40

Jul 092011

Outlook

  • miles
Passenger side headlight failed on 07/09/2011, reducing night time exterior lighting necessary for safe operation. I purchased and installed replacement headlamp on 07/10/2011 which subsequently failed on 07/15/2011. Further examination indicates a failed/failing headlight wiring harness system precluding proper operation of the exterior lighting necessary for safe nighttime operation.

- Rockford, MI, USA

problem #39

Mar 242011

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
I have a 2009 Saturn Outlook and the passenger side head light went out in March of 2011 (there was no message in the car to indicate this either). I took it to the local GM dealership and had the light bulb replaced. Which cost over $40 (because of the difficulty with having to remove the tire just to replace the bulb). To my unpleasant surprise the passenger side head light is out again after only 3 months.

- Fowlerville, MI, USA

problem #38

May 202011

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 29,900 miles
I have a 2009 Saturn Outlook and the front passenger headlight has gone out for the 2nd time and the vehicle has only 29900 miles on it. It was last replace when the vehicle had only 22000 miles on it. I know that multiple people have had this problem, it should be a recall due to all the issues. They say the wire harness is bad, but something is causing it to heat up too much.

- Massillon, OH, USA

problem #37

Apr 172009

Outlook

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Wiring harness melted.

- Pryor , OK, USA

problem #36

Mar 162011

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 25,722 miles
Driver's side low beam headlight bulb blown and harness connecter melted to bulb socket--car has 26071 miles.

- Holbrook, NY, USA

problem #35

Apr 052011

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 47,800 miles
Driver side low beam light headlight does not work all the time on my 2009 Saturn Outlook that I just purchased on April 5th, 2011. After researching the problem and trying to fix the issue myself, found that there have many numerous reports of the wiring harness being wrong wire gauge that GM placed on this vehicle. It is very difficult to change the bulbs, having to remove front bumper and/or the undercover of the driver side fender well. Does not make sense to have to do all this just to replace a headlight, plus, why would GM put incorrect wiring harness on this extremely nice vehicle...recall should/must be issued immediately very dangerous not have driver side headlight work when it wants to and it happens very very frequently, have to knock on the light assembly and sometimes it comes on, most of the time it stays off...I have purchase replacement bulbs but looking like its the wiring harness is the problem, according to all the other complaints I continue to read on-line. I am going to attempt to replace, but a recall is a must!!!

- Ellettsville, IN, USA

problem #34

Apr 202011

Outlook

  • 36,000 miles
I have a 2009 Saturn Outlook I bought new from a greenwood, Indiana, dealership in July 2009. For the second time in three months, the passenger's side headlight has stopped working. I had it fixed three months ago by the dealership. Well, I got pulled over my an officer this morning on my way to work. Lo and behold, the same headlight was out again. The officer told me he has problems with many Saturn having headlights out.

- Mitchell, IN, USA

problem #33

Feb 252011

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
Passenger-side low-beam on 2009 Saturn Outlook has ceased function after only 25K miles. In researching options for repair, I discovered numerous online accounts of the same complaint and the cause was found to be a defective wiring harness. As of this writing, nothing has been done. I have a dealer appointment in the next few days.

- Humboldt, TN, USA

problem #32

Jul 012010

Outlook

  • 36,000 miles
I purchased the Outlook in July and noticed a few weeks later that the drivers side low-beam headlight was out. I returned it to the dealer thinking it was just a burnt out bulb and they replaced it for me, but noted that the whole socket had melted away and had to be replaced. 4 months later the same thing has happened again! the frequency and severity of the problem indicates that the wiring is faulty for the headlights in this vehicle. It is not a stretch to think that an electrical issue that causes components to melt could cause a fire and affect the safety of me and my family.

- Salt Lake City, UT, USA

problem #31

Feb 072011

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 52,707 miles
My passenger headlight has been replaced 2 times on my 2009 Saturn Outlook since the warranty expired and I now am told there is a short in the harness-is this a recall item?

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #30

Feb 182011

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 51,000 miles
The wiring in the headlight of the vehicle was completely fried. The headlight went out. I received a warning ticket from the police the same day the headlight went out. The headlight is not covered under any warranty even though it was the wiring that caused the headlight to fail. I have been told by the dealership that it will cost me around $700 for labor and parts to replace the headlight on a vehicle that is only 2 years old. The light went out because of an issue with the wiring. I have read online of many others that have the same issue. I think this needs to be recalled and that I should be reimbursed for any monies I am out of pocket for having to fix the headlight due to a manufacture wiring problem!

- Conway, AR, USA

problem #29

Feb 072011

Outlook

  • 45,600 miles
Right side headlight wiring came out of connector and melted connector head

- Minonk, IL, USA

problem #28

Jun 072010

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 37,000 miles
I own a 09 Saturn Outlook, the drivers side headlight went out while driving. There was no accident but on looking into the matter it seems to be a common problem with the wiring harness for the headlight which I was quoted 700 dollars to fix with only 37000 miles on my car.this should not happen to a brand new car and if it is as common as it sounds there should be a recall to fix the issue at no expence to the owner. There is a tech.serv. Bullitin out by G.M. on the matter #09-08-42-004 if this holds true its an admittion to a reoccuring problem.

- Riverbank, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?