Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Steering Problems

2009 Saturn Outlook (Page 2 of 2)

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
57,284 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Saturn Outlook steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Saturn Outlook:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Saturn Outlook Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #17

Jun 152012

Outlook

  • 61,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Saturn Outlook. The contact stated the power steering malfunctioned and the steering wheel became difficult to manuever while reversing out of a parking lot. The vehicle would make a squeaking noise whenever making a left or right turn. The failure recurred several times. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the power steering needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 61,000 and the current mileage was 62,000. Updated 09/02/14

- Monroe, WI, USA

problem #16

Dec 032013

Outlook 6-cyl

  • miles
I purchased my Saturn Outlook in June of 2009 and still enjoy driving it but recently when turning the steering there is a "thud" noise and steering becomes difficult. This has happened on several occasions but not every time. I also have lost the ability to lock the drivers door with door lock but can lock it from remote key or using the passenger door lock and now the window control has started to work at random. This too is only when using the drivers control. The door on the drivers side just started making a loud noise a few weeks ago when opening. It sounds like it might be on a bind. I did take my car to dealer when the lock stopped working and was told I needed a part that was over a $100 +$100 labor just to tell me it needed the part. This was before the window starting acting up and the door began making loud creaking noise. Any advice is appreciated. Thank you

- Clarksburg, WV, USA

problem #15

Sep 122012

Outlook 6-cyl

  • miles
Purchased car used in 2012. Problems started about a month later. First windows stopped rolling down and side mirrors unable to be moved. Was finally able to get that fixed in April of 2013, except the mirrors, they failed to fix those. Brake pedal was making a squeaking sound when pressed. Was also fixed in April 2013. A squeaking or grinding sound started when turning along with a loud metallic squeaking sound when going over speed bumps, pulling into driveway, stuff like that. In April 2013, the rack and pinion was replaced. All this was under my extended warranty. About 4 or 5 months after that repair, the same things were happening. A grinding sound when I turn, brake squeaking again, the same sound going over speed bumps and losing power steering fluid. Took car back to dealership, unable to have it seen for a month. When I was able to get it in, it was well over the parts warranty and the extended warranty was out. Now the same things need to be replaced, plus the engine mount is broken and needs to be fixed. When I complained to the dealership about it and letting them know that I tried to get my vehicle in while the warranty was still valid, they offered to pay $750, leaving me to cover the other $956. I haven't even had them try to figure out why my car doesn't start right away only after I put gas in the tank, regardless of how much gas is already in the tank. I am guessing that is some sort of fuel pump problem, but I'm not a mechanic. I have also had to replace my left rear blinked light twice in under 6 months. I take care of my vehicle, I don't drive it off-road or over pot holes and I don't hit curbs. I don't believe there is any reason for these items to be failing like they are, except that there is a huge problem with the vehicle that GM doesn't want to address.

- Corpus Christi, TX, USA

problem #14

Nov 162012

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 91,236 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

11-16-12 replaced power steering cooler @ 91236 miles 01-08-13 replaced power steering cooler pipe/hose--diagnosed as high pressure problem @ 91450 mi. 01-28-13 secured power steering fitting & bled system @ 92694 mi. 02-06-13 replaced power steering pump & purged air from system @ 92866 mi. 04-02-13 replaced power steering rack @ 93530 mi. 09-20-13 replaced power steering low pressure hose (again) @ 98739 mi. 03-08-14 replaced power steering cooler (again!) @ 103187 mi.

- Arnold, MD, USA

problem #13

Feb 262014

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 132,000 miles
Complete loss of steering assist, vehicle nearly impossible to turn at low speeds (I am a 6'-1" male in good physical shape). Nearly caused crash due to inability to turn at low speed. Extremely concerned with safety as normal driver is my wife with our 2 kids in the vehicle, I am certain she would not have been able to steer the vehicle given the difficulty I had to turn the wheel. Took to nearby trusted, licensed mechanic, after diagnosis found that needed new power steering pump and rack and learned that there is a known problem with power steering pump and rack in this and "sister" GM vehicles. I verified this by finding numerous similar posts in on-line forums. Mechanic replaced the power steering pump and rack at a cost of $1,100. I feel lucky that there was not an accident, and now upset that there is such a widespread problem out there that could cause injuries and is costing consumers big $ to repair.

- Ann Arbor, MI, USA

problem #12

Dec 152009

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 12,170 miles
Our 2009 Saturn Outlook was purchased new in Feb 2009. The squeaking noises in the steering column started at 11,171 miles. We had it serviced under warranty. They said it needed to be lubricated. The squeaking persisted and we returned to the dealership December, 2009 at 12,000 miles. They said it was a loose part in the assembly so they flushed the fluid and replaced the reservoir assembly. The squeaking persisted and we returned to the dealer Feb 2010 at 16,940 miles and they again lubricated the steering shaft. The squeaking returned Aug, 2010 at 20,621 miles and the steering gear was finally replaced. The speaking returned in late 2011 but we were out of warranty and decided to deal with it. Then the power steering went out completely as I was making a U-turn in a busy intersection, kids in the car. I almost crashed. This was late 2013. It was "repaired" out of warranty "internal failure in pwr steering pump possible due to metal from older steering gear. Replace pwr steering pump. Fill/bleed system." this cost us $1100 to repair and the steering wheel is still squeaking. Filing complaint with NHTSA. Contacted GM and filed a formal complaint with their corporate office.

- Fountain Valley, CA, USA

problem #11

Sep 232013

Outlook 4-cyl

  • 45,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I took my 2009 Saturn Outlook xe to the GM service center yesterday only to find out at 45000 my steering rack and pump needs to be replaced at $1300 +. also, my timing chain is gone. My air conditioner stopped blowing cold air for the second time and lastly when I turn on my defrost it comes out at my feet. The air and the defrost I am still waiting for them to figure out the problem. How can GM get away with this. I haven't even reached 50000 miles and my car needs close to $5000 in repairs. GM need to stand behind their vehicles and put out a recall on the steering rack before someone gets seriously hurt or killed. Please, someone do something.

- Stafford Springs, CT, USA

problem #10

Jun 102013

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
I took my '09 Saturn Outlook to royal automotive dealership on 7/2/13 to correct another (now the 4th) recall and to have my steering issues corrected. The power steering locks up constantly when making turns. It is very difficult to maneuver and is very dangerous, especially when turning into on coming traffic. The dealership told me that the steering needed steering gear and pump replacements at a cost of $1436. After researching online, I found that many people across the nation are having the very same problems yet GM refuses to correct this dangerous issue. I supposed they are waiting on a class action law suit. After working with GM customer assistance, I am still unable to get henry parker at royal automotive in Alabama to return my phone calls. From all the complaints across the nation, I would think this would need to be another GM recall because of the high nature of a potential life threatening situation in driving these cars.

- Warrior, AL, USA

problem #9

Jul 142011

Outlook 6-cyl

  • miles
On multiple occasions, we have lost the power steering while turning the vehicle. It is most prevalent with deeper turns, so it happens most often at low speeds, such as U-turns and in parking lots. The lost of the power steering gives the driver the sensation of a complete lost of steering. A local mechanic contacted a dealership technician who told him that they had not had any complaints of this on Saturn Outlooks, but have had several Buick enclaves with a similar problem. They recommended changed the type of power steering fluid, and if that did not work then we may need to change the type of power steering pump on the vehicle. So far we have changed the fluid, but it has not been a successful solution as the problem is still occurring.

- Pine Knot , KY, USA

problem #8

Apr 202013

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 98,800 miles
Bought this vehicle used in November of 2012. Noticed that the steering wheel is noisy (a squeaky noise). Eventually when I do U-turns the steering wheel gets stiff but still manageable to steer the vehicle although it's totally stiff to turn. Then lately most of the time when going in and out of a parking lot it seems I totally lost the power steering or perhaps the power steering locks up because it's really hard to turn the steering wheel. Brought it to a former Saturn dealer and they said the power steering pump and rack is busted and needs to get repaired. Their quote to replace the parts and labor is about $1,500.

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #7

Jul 072013

Outlook 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving at low speeds the power steering fails and it is extremely challenging to complete turns. As this occurs randomly, it is impossible to predict when this will occur. Numerous customer forums with Saturn Outlooks/GMC acadia and Buick encore indicate a problem with either power steering fluid, power steering pump or steering rack. This could be extremely problematic on winding roads with hairpin curves.

- Columbia, MD, USA

problem #6

Dec 152010

Outlook

  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Saturn Outlook. The contact stated that there was a squeaking noise coming from the steering wheel while turning. The failure recurred intermittently and when the contact was driving at different speeds. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. Later, the vehicle was taken to the dealer for unrelated repairs when the technician advised that there was a steering failure and the steering system would have to be repaired. The contact was unaware of the repairs that were necessary to correct the failure. The contact continued to drive the vehicle and advised that the power steering assist failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 5,000.

- Paducah, KY, USA

problem #5

Dec 202012

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 15,600 miles
I have a Saturn Outlook, 2009 model year with 15,600 miles on it. After I parked the vehicle, I noticed a fluid had leaked out onto my driveway. I could not tell where the fluid was from, although I knew it was not oil. I suspected power steering fluid or brake fluid. I took the vehicle to a Chevy dealer for inspection / repair. The dealer found that the hose was leaking at the connection to the power steering unit. The dealer called General Motors and they ( General Motors) agreed to pay for the repair minus a $100 deductible which I had to pay. I really appreciate this gesture by General Motors, however, this tells me that G.M. knows there is a problem with this power steering hose on many vehicles, and they are just trying to avoid a recall due to this problem. Maybe I am wrong in my assumption, but I think it is worth looking into for a possible defect in material or design on this hose or connection. The leak has gotten worse daily. It was leaking more than just a little spot overnight. It was leaking enough to possibly empty the power steering reservoir (spelling?) during a longer trip than just local errands. I could not find the power steering unit to check the fluid level on this vehicle, so I do not know for sure if it was nearly totally empty or not when I took it to the Chevy dealer for the needed repair. If it were to empty out while driving, the vehicle could have lost the capability of power steering unexpected to the driver.

- Macomb, MI, USA

problem #4

Nov 192012

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
I brought a Saturn Outlook in 2009 and had numerous issues similar to what has been detailed in this website. - both headlights failed to work - one covered under warranty & cost of second one reimbursed by GM under the recall - starter failed - covered under warranty - failed water pump at 73K - I paid for replacement - steering gear and pump replacement because the steering locks up at low speed @ 78K my third vehicle but first GM and the experience with Saturn/GM have been frustrating. I see others have experienced similar failure on this mode. Documenting these vehicles for future use or possible help from GM or dot.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #3

Jul 012011

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
On multiple occasions, we have lost the power steering while turning the vehicle. It is most prevalent with deeper turns, so it happens most often at low speeds, such as U-turns and in parking lots. The lost of the power steering gives the driver the sensation of a complete lost of steering. A local mechanic contacted a dealership technician who told him that they had not had any complaints of this on Saturn Outlooks, but have had several Buick enclaves with a similar problem. They recommended changed the type of power steering fluid, and if that did not work then we may need to change the type of power steering pump on the vehicle. So far we have changed the fluid, but it has not been a successful solution as the problem is still occurring.

- Pine Knot, KY, USA

problem #2

Aug 202012

Outlook

  • 35,000 miles
Our Outlook had to have the power steering pump replaced due to a high pitch squeal when accelerating. The dealer also had to correct an issue with squeaking in the steering column. I have now heard of others with similar issues with the Outlook or acadia. Are these issues that should be recalled?

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #1

Jun 012012

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 37,000 miles
Owner noticed a whining noise when turning at low speeds. Dealer diagnosed a failed steering rack (pinion), leaking power steering pump, and leaking water pump. Vehicle was purchased new in 2009 and currently has 39,000 miles (no longer under bumper to bumper warranty).

- Anaheim, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?