Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Electrical System Problems

2002 Saturn Vue (Page 1 of 2)

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
93,921 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Saturn Vue electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Saturn Vue:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Saturn Vue Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #28

Dec 152015

Vue

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had several problems with my ignition switch since buying this vehicle as new, so the switch was replaced on Dec 2008 at the dealership, which I paid for. I brought this vehicle to a GM dealer per the recall in 2015 and was told all is good, so I could claim reimbursement for the 2008 repair. To date, after filling in the required forms and submitting them to a local GM dealer, and corresponding with GM corporate, they refuse to reimburse me for the repair because they did not keep any Saturn maintenance records when the division was shuttered, even though corporate was the office that notified me of the exact date of the ignition switch repair so I could submit my credit card statement as proof. The last contact from corporate was 15 Dec 2015 with no response from several messages left with their case manager, paula (866-790-5700, ext. 5913223).

- Cocoa Beach, FL, USA

problem #27

Sep 152015

Vue

  • 200,000 miles
ABS light remains on; my electrical system is faulty; my blinkers work at will. My fuel line sensor causes my vehicle to shut off after driving a distance. There is a noise when I reverse. My service engine light is now appearing and the wheel locks and hard to turn. Read the manual; vehicle does not require power steering fluid. Must contact a dealer per the manual. Will call today. Fuel line issues September 2015 other issues to date 12/28/2015.

- Savannah, GA, USA

problem #26

Dec 022014

Vue 6-cyl

  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Saturn Vue. After the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V490000 (electrical system), the key failed to release from the ignition switch and heard a clicking noise when removing the key. A couple of days later, the turn signals failed intermittently. In addition, the contact mentioned that smoke emitted from the top of the steering wheel on several occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The dealer stated that the turn signal arm would need to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 160,000. MA 10/5 updated 10/8/15

- Seaside, OR, USA

problem #25

Jun 122012

Vue 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Saturn Vue. Consumer writes in regards to ignition cylinder and keys replacement recall issues. The consumer stated he received a recall notice in the mail in October 2014 regarding an issue with the ignition switch. The work had already been done and therefore, the consumer sent in the necessary paperwork for reimbursement. Even though the GM had the proof the work was done, they informed the consumer to have the vehicle inspected, to make sure the ignition switch was installed properly. Once it was verified, the consumer never heard back from the GM representative.

- Little Falls, NJ, USA

problem #24

Jan 212015

Vue

  • 154,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Saturn Vue. The contact stated that the key failed to turn in the ignition switch and numerous attempts had to be made before the vehicle would start. The failure recurred continuously. There was a recall under NHTSA campaign number: 14V490000 (electrical system). However, the dealer refused to repair the vehicle because they were unable to locate a failure. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 154,000.

- Fairport, NY, USA

problem #23

Oct 092014

Vue

  • 146,000 miles
Vue stopped in parking lot other vehicle hit me head on Vue air bags didnt deploy my Saturn Vue key was on floor fell out of ignition I was sent to hospital erie totaled my Vue.

- North Canton, OH, USA

problem #22

Jul 162014

Vue

  • 41,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving with almost a full tank of gas, I lost power on the freeway. Scarier than that, it was right in a construction zone on the freeway. I freaked. I had no idea what to do. I let it coast to a stop. I almost got slammed by a 18 wheeler. I thought I was dead. I went to restart the car and the keys fell out of the cars ignition switch. It took me trying to get it restarted several times. I had waited about 10 minutes before trying it when it finally restarted. I'm glad to be alive don't get me wrong. But, being stuck on a freeway in 106degrees and almost dying sucked. I have access to all maintenance records for this auto. It has been very well taken care of and only has 41K miles on it. Please tell me what to do at this point.

- Buckeye, AZ, USA

problem #21

Sep 292005

Vue

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owned a 2002 Saturn Vue. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, the engine stalled without warning. The contact stated that in the process of restarting the vehicle, the key slipped out of the ignition. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for a diagnostic testing but they could not determine the cause of failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 60,000. The VIN was not available.

- Statffrod, NY, USA

problem #20

Jun 182014

Vue 4-cyl

  • 88,238 miles
Keys fall out of the ignition as you're driving down the road. This has happened more than once. Is this one of the defective GM vehicles?

- Kent, OH, USA

problem #19

May 192014

Vue

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Saturn Vue. The contact stated while driving approximately 5 mph smoke was emitted from the steering wheel without warning. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who was unable to determine the cause of failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the defect. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 150,000.

- Diamond Bar, CA, USA

problem #18

Mar 072014

Vue

  • 91,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car will stall at various speeds, sometimes will completely die or will go off for 10-30 seconds, turning signals will occasionally work but will go out. No codes will show up when tested, so the cause is unknown.

- Andersonville, TN, USA

problem #17

May 092014

Vue 6-cyl

  • 124,862 miles
Key in vehicle locks up at times when trying to turn it on. Key also comes out of ignition while car is still running. Now when start the car smoke is coming out of ignition and steering wheel area.

- Connersville, IN, USA

problem #16

Nov 112013

Vue

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Saturn Vue. The contact stated that the key can be removed when the ignition is not off. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the ignition cylinder needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- Webster, NY, USA

problem #15

Oct 312013

Vue

  • 179,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Saturn Vue. The contact stated that the key became damaged and fell out of the ignition switch sporadically while the vehicle was in motion. Additionally, the vehicle would sporadically fail to start. The vehicle also stalled without warning and the service engine light would randomly illuminate. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 14V171000 (electrical system) but the contact stated that the vehicle exhibited the same failure that was listed in the recall. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, who replaced the keys but the failure recurred. The contact had to unplug and reattach the battery multiple times to start the vehicle. The vehicle was to be towed to a repair shop where it was diagnosed that the lock cylinder and ignition switch needed to be repaired. The vehicle was to be inspected and repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 179000.

- Middletown, PA, USA

problem #14

Jun 282013

Vue

  • 50,000 miles
I bought this AWD 2002 Saturn June 28 2013 from Toyota nation in buena park and even within 3 hrs of owning the car it quit working so I had it towed back I had traded in my 2010 Chevy cobalt that only had 25K miles on it anyhow I ve had ignition replaced I had some other things spent almost $1000 already I cant get dealership to fix it last I replaced BCM and still not working right I ll be driving 45 mph and poof security light flashes I loose gas and it dies I live im mountains scary as heck with my kids im single parent pls help.

- Crestline, CA, USA

problem #13

Jun 112013

Vue

  • 79,300 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Saturn Vue.the contact stated that while driving 55 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the technician diagnosed there was an ignition failure. The vehicle was repaired however, the exact repairs were unknown. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 79,300 and the current mileage was 79,440.

- Biddeford, ME, USA

problem #12

May 012012

Vue

  • 110,000 miles
Electrical system starting to act up (every dashboard light comes on) causing the vehicle to lose power and stall while driving. Steering power was lost and brakes became very soft. Happens at random speeds from 20mph and up to 65mph. Very scary! I have a child and I couldn't get my hazard lights to come on until the electrical calmed down. Was nearly rear-ended multiple times with a child in the vehicle. Finally had to replace the throttle body on the vehicle which is very expensive.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #11

Nov 022013

Vue

  • 112,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Saturn Vue. The contact stated when the driver activated the alarm it caused the horn to remain engaged. The driver disconnected the horn relay in order to shut the horn off. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection and they stated that either the air bag switch assembly or body control module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 112,000.

- Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #10

Sep 202012

Vue 4-cyl

  • 113,000 miles
I have had problems since I bought the vehicle. Shocks, struts, rear suspension, brakes, electrical, oil has been either leaking or burning to the existent I put some in everyother day because it is low, the sway bar and the steering column, the transmission and drive train, and the timing chain. There are many other unsafe issues I have had and I have brought it to their attention from day one because I have a beautiful daughter, but he refused to do anything to help me. It finally broke down on me and now I am without a vehicle.

- Dayton, WY, USA

problem #9

Sep 262011

Vue 6-cyl

  • 118,695 miles
When the turn signal is engaged, it activates the headlamp (brights) and the only way to get the lights off is to flip the bright switch up ( towards driver). The headlamps do not need to be turned on. The bright beam indicator on dash illuminates when this happens. It does not matter what speed you are traveling.

- Redlands, CA, USA

Read the next 8 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?