If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

2003 Saturn Vue suspension NHTSA complaints: Suspension:Rear

NHTSA — Suspension: Rear Problems

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
16,372 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Saturn Vue suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Saturn Vue:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Saturn Vue Owner Comments

problem #18

Mar 062009

Vue

  • 14,002 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Saturn Vue which was purchased in December 2002. She stated that there were numerous failures with the vehicle. While driving approximately 6 mph through a brush-less car wash, water entered into the sun roof housing. On a separate occasion, she also smelled oil burning and the dealer replaced the right inner cv joint boot. The hazards lights failed to operate normally and were repaired twice due to repeat failures. When she engaged the hazard switch, it collapsed into the dashboard console. The service engine soon light illuminated and the dealer stated that the thermostat failed and it was replaced. All repairs were made to the vehicle per the warranty. The rear lateral link assembly recall number 04067001 2002-2004 Vue rear suspension recall was also replaced. The driver's side window would not close; however, the driver's side switch was replaced. The fuel gauge indicated the improper level of fuel that was in the fuel tank; although, the fuel sending units were replaced. All of the repairs made to the vehicle have failed more than once. The horn would also operate intermittently on its own. The dealer found a shortage in the body control module and replaced the operating design system which forced the mechanic to reprogram the keys to the vehicle. The valve cover gasket failed a second time when the contact smelled oil burning. There were no related recalls for most of the other failed components. The failure mileage was 14,002 and the current mileage was 70,501.

- Bridgeton, MO, USA

problem #17

Dec 092006

Vue

  • 54,757 miles
On 5th set of tires, uneven wear, mainly right rear. Getting only 12,000 miles for 1st 2 sets, bought better tires elsewhere. Told of noise and vibration. Was told was caused by worn tires. When tires wore again, went to dealer to replace the worst, right rear, and told of uneven wear, noise and vibration. Was blamed with poor maintenance, dealer did not test drive. Offered alignment, could not get right rear to align. They said replace knuckle joint, but couldn't tell me it would fix it. Told them I couldn't afford at that time, didn't tell me it was covered by warranty. Didn't like how I was treated, went elsewhere for other 3 tires. They also said the noise/vibrations from worn tires. They aligned no problems. Replaced wheel bearing month later. Every 10 -12 months replaced tires and align, all told me the noise/vibration from worn tires (the noise/vibration would go away with new tires). Last round, had tires, alignment, new front brakes, and rear brakes cleaned. Found broken rear axle. Replaced axle, noise/vibration back, with new tires. They pulled up service bulletin from 2004, defective rear differential seal leaking causing the clutch drum to go. Took to dealer, they confirmed rear differential clutch drum needed replaced. They would not pay, as no warranty, even though they missed the diagnosis in 2006, under warranty. I asked them to look at the old axle (I have ). they said it looked like it fell apart, not broken. Been trying to reach corporate investigator over 3 weeks with no luck. Should be investigated as I have read numerous reports of others with these same issues. Notes: Mileage was documented 3000 miles over actual on 2 occasions (dealer), was given a competitor warranty company's phone number when I asked for dealers warranty company phone number, and corporate documented my phone number wrong (even area code) and then tried to blame me. Current mileage is 83,962, dealer has me documented at 85623 on 06/23/08.

- Rogers, AR, USA

problem #16

Apr 122007

Vue 6-cyl

  • 71,000 miles
I am dissatisfied with the corrective action towards Saturn Vue recall campaign # 04067001. The inside pivot bolt on the driver side rear lateral link sheared off on our Saturn Vue before having the recall work performed. The bolt I am talking about is the M12-1.75X85mm 10.9 hardness bolt. Moments before the bolt broke, my wife and only child were on the highway. Luckily she was off the highway and only traveling around 20 mph rounding a corner when the bolt sheared off. That very bolt that sheared off was replaced with the exact same diameter and hardness bolt as part of the corrective action. To me, Saturn is still compromising the safety of my wife and only child. I crawled under a 2007 Saturn Vue on the showroom floor at Saturn of binghamton. Just as I suspected...........that very same pivot bolt under the 2007 was much larger in diameter (16mm in diameter roughly). So this was obviously apparent in the engineers design, because they made a change to the newer vehicles. It was obviously a design flaw, so why wasn't ours fixed correctly" what's from keeping this same bolt from shearing off again in say 2 or 3 years. The M12 bolt obviously doesn't have the shear strength for that application. That is why they are now putting a much larger diameter bolt in its place on the newer models. All these 2002-2004 Saturn Vue owners in the country have warm and fuzzy feelings about feeling safe in their vehicle again now that they had the recall campaign performed. When in fact the majority don?"T even have a clue what the recall entailed. Saturn is banking on these vehicles to be in the scrap yard before anything major happens again. This is a very serious issue, and needs to be addressed!!! I addressed this issue with Saturn customer service already. They are basically saying tough luck, the recall corrective action is what it is.

- Bath, NY, USA

problem #15

Jan 092003

Vue 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Cv joints were replaced at 22000 now againat 37000 I need to replace them. Front rotors were replaced at 22000 and again at 33000 timing belt at 20000 needed replacement I replaced the main computer controller in Aug 2006. This car is a piece of crap and I will never buy a Saturn again I bought this brand new off the lot in Jan 2003 and have had major things go wrong. I also need to now replace the tires ( dullers) at 37000 because I am hydroplanng all over the place.I had a loud sound from my passenger window that took 2 years to diagnosis and repair and the rear end was recalled and the cooling fan replaced at 24000.

- Hull, MA, USA

problem #14

Mar 172006

Vue 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
: the contact stated there was a clunking noise coming from the front suspension at various speeds. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealership for inspection. The dealer determined the front control arm linkage and bushings needed to be replaced. The service department performed the repair as instructed by the dealer. The problem was with the rear suspension lateral link assemblies. Updated 04/06/06.

- Linden, TN, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #13

Nov 252004

Vue

  • miles
Consumer was unable to have recall work done on 2003 Saturn Vue, due to parts were not available. The consumer also encountered problems with the A/C failing to work properly, molding peeling away from the structure and the rear suspension collapsing which caused the roll over.

- Mattydale, NY, USA

problem #12

Apr 012005

Vue 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Saturn has a defect in their rear wheel bearing on their 2003 Vue. I have had three replaced on my vehicle and have another out.

- Jamestown, OH, USA

problem #11

Jan 192005

Vue 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,183 miles
While driving at any speed vehicle jerked and vibrated uncontrollably. Vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection, and the mechanic determined that the rear suspension needed to be replaced. Vibration was felt at speeds of 75 mph. The consumer heard a grinding noise when making left or right turn. Rear wheels locking and skipping. The dealership found rear differential was bad causing vibration and dragging of wheels. The consumer stated that the manufacturer put out a technical service bulletin but failed to alert the consumers. Technical service bulletin dated 04/04 # 03-04-20-003A.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #10

Nov 252004

Vue 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I was involved in a rollover incident with my 2003 Saturn Vue while traveling on the New York state thruway. I was traveling at approximately 55-60 mph due to rain and wet roadway. Suddenly, the vehicle began to slide to the left (may have hydroplaned). I attempted to steer out of the slide and the rear of the vehicle swung around clockwise. The vehicle rolled and left the shoulder of the road. The vehicle came to rest on the passenger side in the area off the right shoulder of the roadway. The vehicle was totalled. I have been told by the insurance appraiser that the left rear suspension gave way and the left rear wheel area folded under. I had received the voluntary recall notice regarding the rear suspension back in August. I received a phone call from the Saturn dealer shortly there after advising me to call the dealership in 3 weeks to schedule the work. I called to schedule the work as directed and was advised that the parts would not be available until January of 2005, and that I would be receiving another letter. I have received nothing further to date.

- Mattydale, NY, USA

problem #9

Nov 182004

Vue 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 344 miles
Saturn is stalling about fixing the recall work on my unsafe 2003 Saturn Vue.

- Racine, WI, USA

problem #8

Jul 122004

Vue 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Bad weather conditions (rain) car hit side guard on highway, rear wheel snapped off causing roll over - resulted in injury to driver - car totally destryoed.

- Easton, PA, USA

problem #7

Oct 142004

(reported on)

Vue 4-cyl

  • miles
Rear suspension unsafe. Through the media the consumer became aware of her vehicle's rear suspension problem. The consumer contacted the dealer who indicated that the NHTSA test was not reliable an D that the repairs could not be done until October 2004.

- Patchogue, NY, USA

problem #6

Aug 062004

Vue 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving at 25 mph consumer's vehicle was involved in a head collision. As result of the collision rear suspension collapsed. Insurance company indicated to the consumer vehicle was totaled. Dealership was notified. Consumer has picture of the accident.

- Garland, NC, USA

problem #5

Jan 182004

Vue

  • miles
My wife was travelling North on interstate rt 83 towards york, pa in our 2003 Saturn Vue. The weather was light rain with the temperatures in the low to mid 30's. the time of day was around noon. Without warning, she lost control of the vehicle. It rolled over, resting on the passenger-side facing oncoming traffic. I viewed the vehicle after the accident. The driver-side rear wheel was crooked, as if the rear axle were bent. However, there was no damage to the driver-side of the vehicle. I thought that was very unusual to have a bent rear wheel with no damage on that side of the vehicle. Now I'm wondering if the wheel collapse defect is what caused our Saturn Vue to roll over.

- Lake Ariel, PA, USA

problem #4

Jul 282003

Vue 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
On July 28, 2004, driving East on hwy 221 toward marathon, NY when I passed over a flooded section of road in a 2003 Saturn Vue. The vehicle spun and rolled over twice. I have since received a recall notice from Saturn secondary to possible suspension failure and rollover risk. The car is being held by my insurance company, usaa auto, at co-part, 46 zuk pierce road, central square, NY 13036. The stock number is 681194. I would like to know whether suspension failure contributed to this rollover accident.

- Ithaca, NY, USA

problem #3

May 152004

Vue 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Bark on 5/15/2004 I noticed the rear driver side tire on our 2003 Saturn Vue with uneven wear. The passenger side was also but not as bad. Took car into Saturn they said we must have hit something and bent some part of the rear suspension causing the tire to go out of alinement. My wife drives this car and doesn't remember hitting thing let alone something that could bend metal. They charge us $324.63 to repair and replace one tire. They said that warrentee did not cover this. Now I see that a test caused the rear suspention to bend and they have a recall. They won't tell me what they are going to do, and I not really sure just what they replaced last time, this might be related" I still need to replace the passenger side tire, as soon as I can afford a new one, but I think this might be related to the recall. If so is Saturn liable for the past repairs? how can I find out what they intend to replace in the recall" thanks for your help.

- Festus, MO, USA

problem #2

Jul 012004

Vue 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,500 miles
Had very significant swaying back & forth while traveling on I-95 at 70 mph on 4 or 5 different occasions. Didn't happen all the time but did happen going down to fl and also returning back from fl. Only noticeable at high speeds.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #1

May 032004

Vue 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,900 miles
First my engine blew because Saturn did not put oil back into my Vue during a routine oil change next my control computer in the Vue had to be replaced because it did not work. Now my transmission cover needs replaced. I also hear about potential problems with the rear end suspension now. I bought a new Vue for its reliability and it is not reliable all on Saturn fault.

- Clarksville, TN, USA

Not what you are looking for?