Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Power Train: Automatic Transmission Problems

2003 Saturn Vue (Page 10 of 10)

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,313 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Saturn Vue transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Saturn Vue:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Saturn Vue Owner Comments (Page 10 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #20

Feb 122004

Vue 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving 45 mph transmission slipped while shifting from second to third gear. Also, there was hesitation, and the RPM's went up. Dealer replaced a sensor on the transmission, but problem recurred.

- Wixom, MI, USA

problem #19

Apr 282003

Vue 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1 miles
My complaints are several. All of which have been described in technicakl bulletins. I have had my vehicle back to the dealer no less than 10 times since I ourchased it. Now, I live with the issues because I can't afford to lose additional work, the worst problem is the vibration in the drivetrain at idle (when in drive and the vibration driving at 60-65. In addition, the front drivers door squeeks ( I belive its the insulation) my luggage bolts broke, the seat cushion on the drivers side would not stay attached on the front edge, there is a popping noise when the truck is idling, when you close the rear liftgate, the plastic interior seperates from the door, whe it is cold my steering column make noise.

- East Setauket, NY, USA

problem #18

Jan 192004

Vue 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,629 miles
Vti transmission failed at 27650 miles.

- Magnolia, TX, USA

problem #17

Jan 122004

Vue 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,005 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is the second complaint I have had to file. This car keeps breaking down on me and it is not even one year old! on 1/12/04 I needed to drive to rocky mount, nc then on to roanoke rapids, nc school. After arriving in rocky mount, my car would not go into gear, but started fine. When I attempted to put the car in gear the care stalled and turned off. I then attempted to start my car again and place it into gear one more time. It started and went into gear and seemed to drive fine. I called Saturn of greenville and they told me that the battery is likely to be the problem and to not turn my car off for one hour, I then stated that I would continue to drive to roanoke rapids. After arriving at my final destination, my car again stalled and turned off when I placed it into gear. I had to get my car towed and get a rental car which were both huge inconveniences to me. Finally, on 1/16/04, I called Saturn to find out what was wrong with my car and they said that air was trapped in the transmission line and that during the repair process, damage was done to a drain bolt ("stripped"). I was then told I could pick my car up on 1/17/04. After getting my car back, it is still making a grinding noise in the steering column when I turn the steering wheel, it makes weird noises constantly, and the rpms are messed up. They rev up when I tap the pedal, but when I need to accelerate, they do nothing. Something is seriously wrong with the Saturn Vue and their transmissions need to be recalled!

- Cape Carteret, NC, USA

problem #16

Dec 222003

Vue 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,005 miles
I detected a roar/rubbing sound in the engine or drive train when the car was in park or neutral. I called Saturn of greenville (nc) and was told to bring the care in to be checked. I did this and was told that the care sounded normal, to continue driving the car, and to bring it back if it got worse. The roaring/rubbing noise continued to become worse. I again took the care in for evaluation by the service manager of Saturn of greenville on 12/26/03. This time, at my suggestion, the technician accompanied me on a test drive and was able to hear the noise. The service manager also heard the noise. I informed the service manager that I planned to take a trip to Florida the next day and did not feel comfortable driving my car. He told me that he did not believe that the noise was serious nor was the car dangerous to drive, and that no further damage would be done to my car if I drove it to Florida. I asked that he put this in writing and if I could speak to the owner. The owner agreed to provide me with another car and to fix mine. I was told that there was a problem with a belt in the transmission rubbing against the trans-case, which was what was causing the noise. I received my car back on 1/10/04.

- Cape Carteret, NC, USA

problem #15

Dec 272002

Vue 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,800 miles
During highway driving with my V6 AWD Vue I was at 72 mph on cruise control and started a long incline. Initially RPM's were about 2500, car downshifted to 3500 RPM then again to 4500 RPM. After incline the terrain became flat and the RPM stayed at 4500 and would not upshift automatically as I would expect. I waited for about 2 miles and then took one mph off of the cruise control and then car upshifted to 2500 RPM. Took car into dealer next working day and they could not find the problem. I've been driving for 25 years and never experienced this before. I have concerns about the drivetrain.

- Cottage Grove, WI, USA

problem #14

Dec 052003

Vue 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving in snow and accelerating automatic transmission failed.

- Shrewsbury, PA, USA

problem #13

Dec 162003

(reported on)

Vue

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,000 miles
The vehicle experienced a problem with the transmission. While the vehicle was on an incline, the transmission shut down. The vehicle has front wheel drive which was effected by this method. Provide further details................................................................

- Massillon, OH, USA

problem #12

Nov 212003

Vue 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,000 miles
2003 Saturn Vue 4 cyl vti has transmission problems. Transmission has been repaired twice, continues to make rumbling noise along with apparent loss of performance. Saturn admits that the problem appears to be a defect in the model, but cannot repair.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #11

Oct 062003

Vue

  • 15,600 miles
While driving the transmission failed without warning. The cause has yet to be determined. Please provide additional information.

- Massapequa Park, NY, USA

problem #10

Nov 172003

Vue 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,780 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vti transmission failed at highway speed. Could have caused accident, vehicle could not hold speed in the middle of higway.

- Plain City, OH, USA

problem #9

Oct 092003

Vue 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles
The headlight and daytime run lights burn out when it rains... instead of finding out the cause of the problem is, the dealer just replaces the bulbs and sends me on my way. The following rainy day, there I am back at the dealer with the same problem. So far this will be the third time, not including the problems with the drivetrain/rear diff that had to be replaced, the dash and cabin rattles that none can seem to fix, and the transmission that once left me stranded at a stop sign.

- Yonkers, NY, USA

problem #8

Oct 022003

(reported on)

Vue

  • miles
Consumer stated after shifting gear into drive while going down hill transmission would not engage. Dealer had been contacted.

- Rochester, MN, USA

problem #7

Jun 012003

Vue 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles
ODI 10039640 (related?) while stopped on a hill, the vehicle slides back very, very quickly while accessing the gas pedal. Numerous accidents averted by using left leg for the brake. Transmission replaced once, starting to do the same again.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #6

Aug 012003

Vue

  • miles
Transmission failed, dealer had repaired vehicle six times.

- Norwalk, CT, USA

problem #5

Jul 062003

Vue 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,008 miles
Consumer drove 2003 Saturn Vue with the variable speed transmission on a dirt road which led to the top of chelan butte, in chelan county on July 6, 2003. This was a frequently used road because the top of the butte was used to launch hang gliders. Consumer had driven on the same road with 1986 Audi, the previous day July 5, 2003, and it completed the climb with no problems. The Saturn Vue almost stalled in negotiating any grade above 5%. transmission would reduce the rpms to 1500 and below while being driven with foot to the floor, asking for more power. There was no response. Then, suddenly a very low ratio would allow the engine to rev to over 2000 rpms, only to repeat this cycle at the next turn or grade. The factory and dealer have maintained that transmission was operating "as designed." Consumer contended that having transmission control the speed of the car was actually a car out of control. Could have easily stalled with no way to continue up the grade. Vehicle was carrying 4 passengers on the incident date. After taking the car to the dealer, who did nothing to the transmission, consumer took it up the butte alone as an unloaded vehicle. It repeated the above three times in the course of 5 miles.

- Chelan, WA, USA

problem #4

Jul 172003

Vue 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,229 miles
The variable drive unit transmission in my 2003 Vue had to be replaced when the car had 10,229 miles on it. Work took place at delray beach, fl dealership on 7/17/03. Dealership acknowledged that the transmission was faulty.

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #3

Jul 112003

Vue

  • miles
While driving vehicle at 35mph at the California highways automatic transmission failed, forcing the consumer to pull out of the road. Dealer will fix the transmission.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #2

Sep 042003

(reported on)

Vue 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles
The consumer stated water leaked into the passenger cabin through the roof of the vehicle. This caused an unsafe distraction when driving in inclement weather. Consumer also had transmission problems and her main concern was the all wheel drive. The consumer was scared of the vehicle and had a bad experience with the dealer. She would like Saturn to buy the vehicle back.

- Montague, CA, USA

problem #1

Jan 282003

Vue 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,284 miles
While accelerating from a stop, the engine RPM rev's to 4000 RPM, speedometer indicates a speed of 80-90 mph, while physically going 10-15mph. Additionally, the service engine soon indicator appears as well as the reduced power indicator. Also happened with cruise control on. Exact same problem occurred on two Vue's, both times with less than 1300 miles on the vehicle, both with 4 cyl, vti automatic transmissions. One incident on Dec 24 - Dec 27 2002 was the first.

- Greenwood, IN, USA

Not what you are looking for?