Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
82,728 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Saturn Vue electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Saturn Vue:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Saturn Vue Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #45

Nov 102013


  • 62,000 miles


Hitting 2 deer going 60 miles an hour and the passenger air bag never opened. The red light for passenger airbag has been on since we purchased the vehicle. We also have problems with electrical being the dashboard lights always flicker and the left side lights and blinker do the same. We also have had problems with the ignition being the key will not turn over, we have to be very patient and after quite sometime it will finally work after you remove the key several times and try try again. We have had to have brakes done numerous times at least twice a year. I sure do not understand why this vehicle was not on the recall list.

- Owosso, MI, USA

problem #44

Oct 232014

Vue 6-cyl

  • 133,000 miles
Car was parked in parking lot after half an hour. Dash ignited in flames.

- Billerica, MA, USA

problem #43

Aug 092013

Vue 4-cyl

  • 81,000 miles
I have a 2006 Saturn Vue with ignition and airbag sensing and diagnostic module (SDM) issues. I have checked online at the GM recall website, called my dealer twice and filed a claim at the GM recall hotline. I am frustrated with the lack of or slow response to this problem and I do not understand why our model year was left out of the recall cycle. My situation: My ignition became increasing tight/stiff/locked to where I could not turn my key or pull it out. I would have to shake the car or key to get it to turn on. My key can slide right out of the ignition while the car is running, (but sometimes I can't pull it out). I have also returned to my car and found it running twice now and noticed it was not totally in the off position anymore). At the same time my airbag indicator light became intermittent and finally stayed on. Our mechanic notified us that the airbag sensing and diagnotic module (SDM) is no longer working. A dangerous safety issue. The dealers say that parts are not currently available for my model and my mechanic can not find them either. The cost is ridiculously high! I have now been on a mission to put in complaints with the appropriate divisions in an effort to see this situation resolved. (note this website list several complaints similar to mine and others. There is something linking the ignition and the airbags: ()) the 2006 model must be included in the recall before there are serious incidences. Come on General Motors corporation. Help us life long loyal buyers out. Loyal (but disappointed) GM customer white knuckling it everyday.

- Southfield, MI, USA

problem #42

Nov 022012


  • 72,000 miles


Ignition switch would not turn - dealer pulled ignition tumbler, vacuumed the socket where a pile of metal shavings were seen inside the socket, inserted old tumbler, cut a new key and charged 75 dollars. 12 months later, same problem. I had a new key cut, and the ignition switch turns like it should. Does my car have a potential ignition switch risk"??" as GM describes for a lot of other cars my daughters 2004 Saturn Vue V6, had the same problem, and three keys later she sold it and bought a new car.

- Chase City, VA, USA

problem #41

Jun 012012

Vue 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
This has to with the ignition switch. For at least the last two years and maybe longer I have had problems with my ignition switch. The key will get stuck and not move in the ignition. Therefore I cannot start the car. Not good if you need to go somewhere or are trying to leave somewhere. Also, I have the reverse problem, I will try to turn the car off and the key will not "switch" all the way to the release point, therefore causing me to often have to take the key out of the ignition a full stop before it is truly off. This of course is troublesome the next time I start the car because I have to try and work the key first back to the initial ignition position and then start the car as you would normally. Also, I can pull the key out of the ignition going anywhere from 0 - 65 mph down the street / highway with the car obviously in drive. I can have the car in park and running and pull the key out of the ignition and the car will continue to run / operate as if the key was still in the ignition (obviously not safe). Saturn / GM, you state that you care about the safety of your customers, whom by the way, entrust themselves and their children to GM cars. Please do the correct thing and immediately include Saturn Vue 2006 owners in the ignition switch recall who clearly have an ignition switch problem as well.

- Greenfield, WI, USA

problem #40

Apr 092013

Vue 6-cyl

  • 79,000 miles
Noticed radio screen was not fully illuminated & my seat belt warning 'chime' stopped working when belt was unfastened. Had this problem w/ another vehicle (1999 Acura integra) & it resulted in replacing the ignition cylinder. As a result, I started jiggling the Saturn key to see if there was improper/ inadequate circuit closure. When I jiggled the key, it was loose and came out, but the car remained running! since then I have experienced several similar incidents and the radio display still does not display fully across the screen and the seat belt chime still doesn't work. (approximately May 2013) I started having difficulties getting key to turn in ignition enabling the vehicle to start. I went to GM dealer to get a new key in case that might rectify the problem - it did not. Recently (August 2014) asked a non-GM mechanic about key turning difficulties. He indicated 'tumblers' gets 'sticky' & prevents key from turning & that it would get worse until I replaced ignition lock cylinder. I checked on-line for recalls, as so many GM vehicles were having problems with their ignitions and safety equipment. The 2006 Saturn Vue wasn't on the list. I went to local GM dealer (Buick/ GMC dealer in naperville, il) in September 2014 & they confirmed the 2006 Vue was not covered under a recall. I went ahead and provided my VIN #, proof of ownership (title and drivers license) and they quoted a price of $90 for the ignition cylinder, $60. To obtain and use the GM code to program the new ignition lock cylinder, & this did not include a new key! they did they work & even included a key @ no additional cost. Now I am attempting replacement of ignition lock cylinder, but it requires key to be turned to the accessory position to remove the cylinder. I can't get key to turn, so can't replace cylinder and the car is not operable. I believe 2006 Saturn Vue should be recalled too.

- Wheaton, IL, USA

problem #39

Aug 012007

Vue 6-cyl

  • 12,000 miles


Original owner of this vehicle, still have it. The ignition wasn't right from the very beginning. I could remove the key from the ignition when the car was still running. There were issues with the alarm - it wouldn't go off despite the keys being in the ignition. I took the car in several times to get the ignition issue corrected. The issue we have now is the ignition won't respond to the key when it is inserted. Additionally, it is not releasing the key when we try to remove it. Ridiculous- an otherwise great car and we have had 3 other Saturn and the ignition was always the only issue- ion, Vue and SC3.

- Parker, CO, USA

problem #38

Aug 012011


  • 105,000 miles
Several issues with 2006 Saturn Vue to report: - air bag light comes on virtually every time the car is started. There is no one in the passenger seat - ignition - key can be removed from ignition switch while motor is running - ignition - key is virtually impossible to turn unless it is cajoled repeatedly. Typical start up time is in excess of 5 minutes to find the "sweet spot". "sweet spot" tends to move on a daily basis. No particular technique works every time - ignition - key will become stuck in the ignition switch. Results in a two to five minute careful tug of war with the car in order to remove the key. Ignition switch had this problem before and was replaced (at owners expense of $214 dollars) and things were fine for approximately two years. Now the symptoms (see above) have returned. - power locks - unable to lock doors (any) with drivers side lock controls.

- Reynoldsburg, OH, USA

problem #37

Aug 092014


  • miles
Bought a 2006 Saturn Vue in 2008. Within a year, had problems: Ignition switch/key. Does not function as it should with the key turning in the ignition switch. Replaced tumbler. Worked for awhile. It broke again. For both times it takes anywhere from 5 - 15 minutes every time to get the key to turn the vehicle on in the ignition switch. I am a 60+ year old woman who works nights. If I have to leave an area quickly for my own safety, I cannot do so. The ac fan shuts off as soon as the exterior car temp reaches 100 degrees. Had that fixed two years ago. But the problems persisted. Now the ac only blows warm air when and if the fan works. Door locks: Keys function inconsistently. Passenger side door does not allow me to lock all doors, which it once did. Fob: Functions inconsistently despite battery replacement. Windows; do not close all the way, allowing rain and air in. Steering wheel: Shakes. Had it fixed. Shakes again between 60-70 mph. I am fed up with this car. Will never buy another american made car.

- Lilburn, GA, USA

problem #36

Jul 042013


  • 68,000 miles
Bought a 2006 Saturn Vue in 2012. Within a year, had problems a couple of times with the key turning in the ignition switch. 2014: Now it takes anywhere from 5 - 15 minutes every time to get the key to turn the vehicle on in the ignition switch. Air bags: The symbol for the air bag keeps appearing on the dash board often.

- Columbus, GA, USA

problem #35

Oct 072013

Vue 6-cyl

  • miles


I had to have the ignition switch replaced car would not start this was on 10 7 2013.

- Warren, MI, USA

problem #34

Jul 032014


  • 137,850 miles
I have been having trouble with the key sticking in the ignition and not clearing the system when I take it out. The system still dings when the key is out of the ignition. Twice on July 3rd, the ignition locked up totally. The first time I was able to wiggle the key after 30 minutes of trying and start it. I took it to a dealer where they made me a new key. Three hours later the ignition locked up again. Waited 3.5 hours for a tow truck, continuing to wiggle the key with no luck. Mechanic got it to turn but towed it to get it fixed... 29 other complaints on this site of the same thing.. how many have had this happen without reporting it"?" time to check it out and get a recall!!! I have also had issues with doors closing and converter torque, not repaired under recall as dealer stated they could not duplicate the issue.

- New Hampton, NH, USA

problem #33

Mar 052012

Vue 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
When starting the car, the key will get stuck and not turn in the ignition. I have to keep jiggling the key multiple times to get it unstuck and turn. Turning the steering wheel does not help. It has been happening more and more frequently over the past year or so. More recently, when I turn the car off, the ignition gets stuck. When I take the key out, I can feel it does not register and release inside the switch. The car still dings when I open the door as if the key is still in the ignition. I have to put the key back in, jiggle it, and then take it out.

- Montpelier, OH, USA

problem #32

May 272014

Vue 4-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
When trying to start the vehicle the key will not turn in the ignition. It started several months back where I would have to try to turn the key several times and it would finally turn and start. It is now completely locked up and the key will not turn at all in the ignition switch. My brother also owns a 2004 Vue, his was doing the same thing and he said that he had to have the ignition replaced.

- Mckinney, TX, USA

problem #31

Jun 052014


  • 100,000 miles
I have an ion and a Vue. My ion is in for the recall and I just had to have the same part replaced on the Vue. I was not able to even turn the key it just completely locked up on me. Luckily this happened before I even started going anywhere as I had my 3 children in the vehicle. So I went and got the new ignition, paid for the locksmith to match it too my key and now it is running again. I think you need to look closer at the other vehicles also as what was happening with my view was identical to what the ion was doing.

- Winona, MN, USA

problem #30

Sep 092010


  • miles
I have a 2006 Saturn Vue and I have several problems with my car. When I had a car wreck either of the air bags did not deploy but the lights stay on. I had to pay $596 to replace my key ignition and sometimes it still sticks. My driver door will not open and one of the seat belts in the rear has not worked properly. I see that they are recalling other Saturn but not mines.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #29

May 262014


  • 94,000 miles
On 5/26/14 that morning my car wouldn't start so I got jump start. Late that afternoon again it wouldn't start, but battery under warranty, so I got a new one. Driving home that evening, with kids in car, going through intersection car loses power! luckily we were not hit. I managed to start car repeatedly to get to the side of the road. On 5/27/14 car was taken to dealer and was there till 5/29/14 and I was told it is the ignition switch and need to pay $295 since there is no recall. This is a very dangerous situation I was one light from entering the fwy home. I hate to think what could of happened at higher speeds. Please look into a recall.

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #28

Dec 102008


  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Saturn Vue. The contact stated that the ignition switch and the power system failed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 10,000. The VIN was not available.

- Houghsonville, NY, USA

problem #27

Jan 292008

Vue 4-cyl

  • 29,560 miles
1st incident date 1/29/2008 mileage 2956, vehicle was towed to dealer, 2nd incident 3/12/14 73,780, keys continue to presently get stuck in ignition, it locks up, you have to wiggle, try to turn steering, ignition doesn't lineup, after waiting to prevent from breaking key in ignition it lines up after wiggling lock steering, this happens all the times sometimes prefer not to turn car off, to keep from being stranded, this has been happening again for at least 2 yrs. I now have 74,000 miles. Also I've experienced 2X's car not starting, everything shutting down, door won't lock, lights wont turn off inside vehicle, radio works, but car won't start, or do anything, last incident 3/12/14 brand new battery purchase 5/17/2012. This last incident vehicle had to be towed to dealer.

- Ft. Washington , MD, USA

problem #26

May 082014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Saturn Vue. The contact stated that the key needed to be shaken several times prior to starting the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. A private mechanic diagnosed that the failure was the ignition switch. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was unknown. The current mileage was 113,005.

- Tinton Falls, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?