Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Electrical System Problems

2007 Saturn Vue (Page 4 of 5)

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
83,781 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Saturn Vue electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Saturn Vue:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Saturn Vue Owner Comments (Page 4 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #22

Sep 252009

Vue 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2007 Saturn Vue all the time since I purchased it the passenger side deployment bag light will not work, unless I turn on the passenger heat, and the seat does not heat up, and I am still not sure it will work because it is an electrical problem, also my electric windows won't work on several occasions, and the ignition shift the key sticks and steering column locks when this happens, and it won't release the key. Dealer won't deal with it, wonder if there has been any other complaints because I do not feel safe especially when I have passengers, it cannot be trusted, not sure of any recalls, but it definitely needs to be looked into and fixed before anyone could get hurt.

- Corpus Christi , TX, USA

problem #21

Sep 272011

Vue

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Vue. The contact stated that while parked, she turned the vehicle off and was unable to remove the key from the ignition. She attempted to restart the vehicle, but it would not start. The vehicle was not taken to have the failure diagnosed or repaired. The approximate failure mileage was unknown.

- South Plainfield, NJ, USA

problem #20

Jun 152010

Vue 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
My 2007 Saturn Vue hybrid battery light comes on. I took it to the dealership in June, 2010 and was told I needed a new battery pack (this will be the 3rd one), that there was a recall on the battery packs, and that it was "safe" to drive until the batteries were replaced. It is now December 30, 2010 and no battery packs are available. I'm finding out through internet research that once the battery pack goes, all power will drain and the car will cease to function within 30 minutes--that includes brakes and steering. I've complained to GM who now holds the warranties on Saturn and they advise me biweekly that they don't know when battery packs will be available. Aside from shirking its warranty obligation, GM is creating potential safety hazards on these hybrids when the recalled battery packs fail and power is lost while the car is in operation. I've learned that there are many Vue hybrid owners waiting for battery packs that have been recalled and nothing seems to be happening!!!!!

- Howell, MI, USA

problem #19

Dec 032010

Vue 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Vue. The contact stated that the after starting the vehicle, the check engine light was illuminated. The contact proceeded to drive the vehicle for a shirt period of time. The contact then decelerated to a traffic stop when the vehicle stalled. He was able to restart the vehicle as it resumed normal operation. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that the hybrid battery would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired due to the battery being on back order. The failure and current mileage was 60,000. Updated 01/18/11 the consumer stated the vehicle has not been repaired. The vehicle stalled in the middle of an intersection. Updated 02/07/11

- Sunset Beach, NC, USA

problem #18

Feb 012010

Vue 4-cyl

  • 50,822 miles
Severe problem with hybrid / electrical system impairing safety, use and value of the vehicle. Began with engine shutting down and restarting itself - lurching forward when it does - despite pressure on the brake. At a later date noticed a strong odor consistent with an electrical fire inside the vehicle cabin. On another occasion the engine shut down losing all power and vehicle functionality - including power steering and other vehicle systems. The vehicle would not restart. On the most recent occurrence the vehicle shut down, restarted itself and the check engine light and battery light came on yet again. The vehicle then proceeded to shutdown again three more times while enroute to the dealership for the attempted repair under warranty. Since February 2010, the hybrid batteries have been replaced twice and the ECM reprogrammed three times, the starter generator / alternator has been replaced and the starter generator control module relay has been replaced. The problem with the hybrid / electrical system still has not been isolated or resolved - despite an eight year, 100,000 mile warranty from the manufacturer and now assumed by General Motors. At this point the vehicle has been taken to the Saturn and GM dealers for service on the hybrid / electrical system a total of 6 times in the past 10 months. The vehicle has been out of service now for the last 26 days and is still at the dealership trying to be repaired.

- Crystal River, FL, USA

problem #17

Oct 122010

Vue

  • 35,000 miles
2007 Vue hybrid. Numerous electrical problem related to the hybrid system within first month of ownership. Recently received "voluntary recall notice for hybrid battery. Battery "back-ordered" for over 6 weeks. Was told it was entirely safe to drive and it just wouldn't perform as efficiently. Car parked in garage and would not start. Returned from out of town trip and car started. Had to replace at our expense the 12 volt battery. The hybrid battery probably caused the failure of the 12 volt battery but GM doesn't acknowledge that in the recall. GM should be mandated to pay for failed 12 volt batteries caused by the failure of the hybrid battery.

- Ft Myers, FL, USA

problem #16

Aug 292010

Vue

  • 1,800,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2007 Saturn Vue hybrid check battery light on when car started. Lost hybrid functions, the all check lights were visible, starting with battery, then engine, lost ABS, traction control, and ability to steer car etc. Car stopped working and 12 volt battery could not even be jump started. Has been in the shop since August 30, 2010. Shop unable to tell me when car will be returned. Perhaps after October 18, 2010. Waiting for a replacement hybrid battery. This is the 3rd time car in shop for hybrid battery defects. I understand that there was a recall issued July 2010 but have yet to receive recall notice from GM. This is a nationwide recall but unable to find any information in print.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #15

Aug 292010

Vue 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,275 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Vue. While driving approximately 35 mph she stated the vehicle lost all of the hybrid functions. The battery and check engine light began to illuminate on the dashboard. She was able to drive the vehicle home. Once she got home the vehicle stalled would not restart. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer where she was informed the battery for the hybrid system failed and this was a known problem. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 16275 updated 12/29/10 the consumer stated the vehicle was returned to her on September 29,2010. The consumer stated the dealer was aware of the recall, but she was not notified until the vehicle was towed to the dealership. Updated 01/10/11

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #14

Aug 172010

Vue

  • 45,925 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Vue hybrid. The contact stated that the check engine light illuminated and the hybrid functionality would not engage. The contact had previously received an unknown manufacturer's recall for the hybrid battery and the vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer. The dealer advised that the parts needed to make the recall repairs were not yet available. The dealer assured the contact that the vehicle was safe to drive until the parts became available. One week later, the contact was driving 45 mph and the voltage imbalance drained the battery causing the vehicle to stall. The vehicle was towed to the dealer but was not repaired. The manufacturer would not provide any assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 45,925 and the current mileage was approximately 46,000.

- Round Rock, TX, USA

problem #13

Jun 112007

Vue

  • 448 miles
Continual electrical malfunctions, most recent windshield wipers failed to operate during heavy rain storm while driving on highway. My car is three years old. I have had 8 trips to dealer to address these "modular component" issues. The dealer has made repairs, longest time dealer kept car was 25 days to figure out how to repair. My car just reached 36000 miles and Saturn customer care refuses to acknowlege this car is a safety hazard should another component fail while driving.

- Miami Lakes, FL, USA

problem #12

Jan 262009

Vue

  • 38,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Vue. When the contact attempted to start the vehicle, the ignition malfunctioned. It started up initially, but stopped a few seconds later. She also noticed that the fuel gauge did not move. All of the interior lighting in the vehicle illuminated and could not be turned off. The contact exited the vehicle and noticed that all of the exterior lighting was also illuminated. She attempted to lock the doors, but they would not lock. She attempted to activate her panic button, but that also did not function correctly. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and they stated that it functioned correctly once it was jumpstarted. The contact was not informed of what caused the failures, although the dealer stated that the vehicle had to be jumpstarted due to the lights being illuminated. The manufacturer was aware of the issue, but stated that there were no recalls available. The current mileage was approximately 38,650 and failure mileage was approximately 38,600.

- Waukesha, WI, USA

problem #11

Aug 052008

Vue

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Vue hybrid. While proceeding through a traffic light at approximately 5 mph, the vehicle stalled. After several attempts, the vehicle restarted. While the engine was running, the ignition restarted automatically. Also, the engine warning light illuminated on the instrument panel and the radio light indicator shut off. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and they stated that the failure was related to a voltage defect within the battery. The failure recurred on three separate occasions and was taken to the dealer. The vehicle was repaired, with the exception of the radio. The failure mileage was 40,000 and current mileage was 43,942.

- Palmdale, CA, USA

problem #10

Jul 282008

Vue

  • 32,000 miles
Driving on interstate, check engine light came on, shortly thereafter all dash lights came on and car shut off on its own. Coasted to side of road, thankfully no accident. Took to dealer, diagnostic test ran, 5 codes came up, repaired only one according to paperwork. Next time drove vehicle happened again.

- Plainfield, IL, USA

problem #9

Jul 222008

Vue

  • 35,000 miles
(1) the ignition cylinder has been faulty since the vehicle was received at the dealership in April 2007. It was greased twice. Since possessing the car (bought May 2007), I have had increasing trouble turning the key in the ignition. The dealership just urged me to grease it, but finally, July 2008, they replaced the faulty ignition cylinder. (2) the batteries in this greenline Vue were leaking, twice, leading to a recall, and having them replaced.

- Palestine, TX, USA

problem #8

May 052008

Vue 4-cyl

  • 17,622 miles
I purchased a Saturn Vue hybrid almost a year ago and I have sustained approximately 12 occurrences of the vehicle just completely going dead. I have taken the vehicle to the dealer 4 times in 8 months. 2 of which were directed at the behest of recall issues related to the battery and battery harness. Both the battery and battery harnesses were replaced yet the problem still occurs. Today, I retrieved my vehicle from the dealer who just replaced the battery harness and the vehicle died two miles after picking it up when they informed me that no power appeared to be draining the battery. While I received quality care, the items were warranted and I received courteous service. The car still remains completely unreliable.

- Manassas, VA, USA

problem #7

Mar 222008

Vue 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,100 miles
I have a 2007 Saturn Vue green line. Over the last few days the vehicle will stall on starting after stopping or coming to a near stop (braking and then accelerating). The engine stalls for several seconds, the battery light comes on and then the vehicle will restart. This has happened 3 times and then the check engine light came on. I took the vehicle to the dealer. Codes were reset and I was told that my gps unit which is plugged into the interior outlet may be a cause. After leaving the dealership, the same thing happened without the gps being plugged in. The stalling has happened several time since then and the check engine light is back on. The dealer does not seem to know what to do to correct.

- Wake Forest, NC, USA

problem #6

Apr 032007

Vue 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 800 miles
My Saturn hybrid Vue has had several "incidents" since it's purchase. The first was at around 800 miles. The vehicle stalled and could not be started for several minutes. All engine and traction control lights were on. When it finally started, it jerked severely and lunged forward several times. Had another vehicle or a pedestrian been in front of me they would have been hit. I had the car towed into Saturn service. There were several problem codes in ECM. They said it was a chaffed wire that needed to insulated. At around 1,200 miles the jerking happened again. Over the next couple of months there would be episodes of where the engine lights or traction control lights came on and it would stall but then it would drive fairly normal. I checked with onstar to do a diagnostic check and they said every thing seemed ok. I complained to the Saturn dealer but the problem seemed to be persistent but intermittent. I began to fear driving the vehicle, especially with my grandchildren in it. All during this time the mileage was very low (especially for a hybrid). Three month's since its first failure I took the Saturn Vue into service with all the engines lights on -- they found problems with starter generator, and the charging and autostop systems related to the 12 V and 36 volt batteries. They replaced the engine wiring harness. Now it is one month later and it is going back into service for lunging forward at a stop sign, and for answers about why I get such low mpg (22).

- Fairfield, CA, USA

problem #5

Sep 072007

Vue

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,092 miles
Hello, I am writing concerning issues with my brand new Saturn green-line hybrid Vue. I purchased it about 2 months ago, and there have been some frightening issues. This is a serious issue about the voluntary recall of the green-line hybrid Vue- the fix does not work. It has put our family in harm's way. I received a voluntary recall notice to fix the electric harness wiring on my hybrid, to prevent problems. Well, I took it in today, and not less than 1 minute after I left the dealership the engine light came on (first time ever). Then about 8 minutes later, all hell broke loose in the car... all electronics failed- radio lights, dash lights, headlights, engine wouldn't change gears, lights were flashing on and off, speedometer didn't work, then they were all flickering, then the headlights went out, onstar died, radio died, power steering died! me and my family were in the car and almost died in a head on collision because I couldn't barely steer the car!! well, from taking my new car in to prevent a problem, to the Saturn team almost killing us, I am far from happy. Please let whoever needs to know this, know immediately. If we had gotten on the highway as planned, we most likely wouldn't be talking because we would have lost control on the highway.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #4

Aug 282007

Vue

  • miles
2007 Saturn Vue green line (hybrid) regarding new (8/24/2007) campaign #07195. Saturn of tempe service advisor jered schager described to me a local incident, likely related to this campaign, where the vehicle quit running suddenly during a merge onto a freeway, which almost resulted in an 18-wheeler crashing into the vehicle. There was no crash, but the vehicle had to be towed from the freeway. This was not my vehicle. This was related to me while my vehicle was being repaired for this campaign. My symptom of the problem was a "check engine soon" light. I was led to believe that if I had not taken care of this problem soon, then I probably would have been stranded somewhere (hopefully not in the middle of the desert in 130 degree sunshine), or worse yet in an accident. The fix to my vehicle was to reroute some jumper wiring and reprogram the ECM & tcm.

- Tacoma, WA, USA

problem #3

Jul 072007

Vue 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,043 miles
Vehicle had electrical problems prior to purchase. Purchased 5/26/07 - 7/7/07 in shop electrical system failure. Chk. Engine light comes on, gauges erratic, power steering fails, mileage 3,043. Problems persist, eventually entire main wiring harness replaced (removed seats, dash, etc. From interior). More problems each time, gauges still erratic, low power light and check engine light still come on. Very dangerous situation, if power lost at high speed could cause accident.

- Muleshoe, TX, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?