Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Air Bags Problems

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
56,802 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Saturn Vue seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Saturn Vue:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Saturn Vue Owner Comments

problem #18

Sep 282016

Vue

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takada recall

- Saint Martinville, LA, USA

problem #17

Jan 122016

Vue

  • 68,000 miles
I have just paid to replace the passenger seat cushion where the sensor for the passenger airbag is. The passenger airbag light came on in my car and the mechanic discovered that the sensor was not working, therefore they were unable to say whether the airbag would correctly deploy in an accident situation. I am unable to upload the receipt due to file size. The mechanic indicated they could provide details if necessary.

- Worthington, OH, USA

problem #16

Apr 202015

Vue

  • 112,000 miles
A car hit me from behind and pushed me into oncoming traffic where I was hit by a car on driver front. Air bags deployed and the chemical in the bags caused 3rd degree burns on my hand and arms. Medical expenses were not that much but I have been left with scarring that I think are unattractive. Doctors say it is permanent.are airbags supposed to explode and the chemical in them be released?

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #15

Dec 012014

Vue

  • 88,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had work done after steering column due to a faulty sensor causing ABS warning light to come on. The. Not long after that my airbag warning light would come on intermittently especially when using my turning signal. The vehicle was taken to dealership twice and was told nothing wrong could be found. So I did some research about other Saturn and GM owners having the same problem and it was determine to be a faulty airbag clock spring or connector. Now I am driving a vehicle where I really don't know if the airbags will deploy if I am in a accident.

- Corpus Christi, TX, USA

problem #14

Dec 012014

Vue

  • miles
Very upset that alot of GMC vehicles/Saturn are on a recall for airbag problems. Except mine!!! my airbag light came on for the driver's side twice now. First in Dec 2014 then suddenly went off. Took it to the dealership in April (light came on again) to have it repaired. Then messed with the wires and got the light out but said if it came on again it would need replaced. Well it's on again and it will be about $1,500+ to have it repaired!! this is obviously a manufacturing defect!! air-bags don't wear out! this is a significant safety issue which should be taken care of by GMC!!!

- Perrysburg, OH, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #13

Apr 272015

Vue 6-cyl

  • 89,663 miles
The vehicle was at the dealership for a different repair. Upon driving the car off the lot on Friday, I noticed that the air bag light was illuminated. I immediately returned to the dealership. On the following Monday, I was told that the air bag module had failed, causing the air bags to become inoperable. This car has experienced major electrical failures including ignition failure/replacement, HVAC module failure/replacement, body control module failure/replacement, brake sensor failure/replacement and now the airbag module failure/replacement. This vehicle needs to be taken off of the roads due to severe safety hazards and systems failure.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #12

Feb 072014

Vue 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Vue. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated continuously. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 40,000. MA 08/13/15 the consumer stated the dealer advised the air bag coil needed to be replaced. The vheicle was repaired. Updated 11/30/201*

- Santa Barbara, CA, USA

problem #11

Oct 052011

Vue

  • 80,000 miles
Purchased in 2011 from Toyota dealership in louisville. It had the tire sensor light on. They sent it to the shop and we were told it was a sensor malfunction over and over. Then other lights started coming on along with the sluggish feeling and an annoying rattling, rolling sound. Dealer said that this was from spark plugs"??" I had an extended warranty. They wanted $100 for diagnostic 500 for spark plugs. I declined. The rotor and struts have been replaced twice. The car would often times be running with the key out of the ignition, gas gone, not to mention dangerous and bad for the car. Transmission failure starts and continues. Had a car accident in December 2013. Airbags did not activate. Dealership received over $5000. After a month they say it's finished bring me the car. I get home and the key won't come out of the ignition. They told me that they would not replace it because it was a known issue with the vehicle. The rocking and rolling sound in the struts is worse. They said that is also a known issue along with the transmission and not from the accident. They would not replace. They finally agreed to fix ignition. This vehicle is a failure! no wonder Saturn is out of business. As for the Toyota dealership and the GM dealer under progressive ins. Thieves! I took pictures of my file and have what they actually did for the 5000. How much they paid for the parts. I almost threw up. It was 300% mark up on some things. Others were charged for and not replaced. After this I lost all faith in trusting dealerships etc. I still owe on the car. I will continue to educate myself on the thievery that goes on in the vehicle industry. I pray everyday that karma will catch up with them. Don't bother contacting GM. They will act like they have no idea what you are talking about and never get back with you.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #10

Aug 052014

Vue 6-cyl

  • 91,764 miles
My airbag light started coming on about eight months ago. The light was continuously lit any time the car was running. It would not go off. I receive monthly diagnostic checks on my car from onstar. It kept alerting me for months that I had safety issues with my airbag system. I kept thinking the light just would not go off. After the continued persistence by the onstar alerts, and emphatic warnings to call them and have a diagnostic run on the system while I was in the car, I finally did. The operator at onstar told me that I had a serious problem with my airbags, and that they may not deploy in an accident. They strongly recommended that I check with my car dealer. I contacted General Motors and told them about the issue I was having. I stressed that I feared driving in this dangerous situation, where the airbag would not work properly in a crash. I told them that I needed to have the problem checked. After stressing my concerns, GM give me the go ahead to take the vehicle to have a diagnostic check done on the airbags. The car dealer, crews Chevrolet, in SC, found that the airbag was defective! I called GM representatives with the report of the inspection of the airbag module. The GM representative actually talked with the crews representative to understand the problem with the airbag. GM then said that they would have my case looked at by their superiors and make a decision about how to proceed. I waited for several days and then recalled General Motors to get guidance on when to take the car in for repairs. Crews quoted the cost at $880. GM said it would only assist the cost by paying $264. That the airbag was out of warranty. My problem with this is---how can something as crucial as airbags be under warranty? I was shocked that the value of my life was worth less than $880 to them. I was them to replace the airbags at total cost!

- Charleston, SC, USA

problem #9

May 272013

Vue 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
On a road trip the red air bag light went on and off a few time but is now on all the time. Chevy dealer says there are no known problems with the 2008 air bag system, which I do not believe, and they will troubleshoot for $100 an hour.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #8

Oct 092013

Vue

  • 67,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am not sure when the front drivers side airbag came on and stayed on but I noticed it today. Does not make me feel safe to think there might be an issue with the drivers airbag but right now I cannot afford to have it fixed. So the problem is their airbag light for the driver stays on all of the time.

- Colorado Spring, CO, USA

problem #7

Jan 012013

Vue

  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Vue. The contact stated that the front passenger's air bag warning light illuminated sporadically. The failure occurred whether the passenger's seat was occupied or not. The vehicle was taken to the dealer to have a diagnostic performed but to no avail. The dealer then advised the contact that the vehicle was operating as normal. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 62,000 and the current mileage was 67,000.

- Oregon, WI, USA

problem #6

Nov 112011

Vue 4-cyl

  • miles
Light appears, continues to stay on.is this a electrical problem?

- Albuquerque , NM, USA

problem #5

Nov 192011

Vue

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owned a 2008 Saturn Vue xe. The contact stated that she was rear ended while driving 55 mph. As a result, the vehicle spun around and rolled 20 feet down into an inbankment. Upon impact, the side airbags did not deploy and the front passenger seat belt failed to retain the passenger. The driver suffered a severe contusion and abrasions. The passenger sustained a damaged knee, shoulder, arm, hand and head. The police were notified and a report was available. The driver and passenger declined services through an ambulance. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to an independent mechanic. The dealer was notified and the contact was awaiting a response. The failure mileage was approximately 95,000.

- Ridgeville, SC, USA

problem #4

Mar 192011

Vue

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Vue. While driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle was involved in a crash in which the air bags did not deploy. A police report was filed but no injuries were reported. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer where the failure of the air bags was not diagnosed but the vehicle was deemed as destroyed. The failure and current mileage was 80,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Waynesville, OH, USA

problem #3

Nov 252010

Vue

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Vue. The contact stated that the air bag warning light was illuminated for approximately four months. The vehicle was not inspected for the failure or repaired. The manufacturer was contacted but provided no assistance. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was approximately 45,000.

- Ft. Washington, MD, USA

problem #2

Jun 012009

Vue

  • miles
We purchased a 2008 Saturn Vue on June 28, 2008. The past 3 weeks, the key would periodically not release from the ignition - service department replaced the shifter saying it was not completely going into park. Also, the airbag light (for driver) starting blinking at the time the above occurred (this was also brought to their attention). When I started the car, it started to blink (only light blinking) and continued blinking when all other lights faded. No error message was received by the chip. Mile one Saturn claims that they could not replicate the air bag issue, therefore the service department perceived there was no issue and released the car to me. Needless to say, I went back in and told them I was not taking the car until they fixed the problem.

- Hampstead, MD, USA

problem #1

Nov 252008

Vue 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Saturn Vue. The contact was involved in a crash and the air bags did not deploy. While driving approximately 20 mph, the contact's vehicle was struck on the driver's side by another vehicle. The contact sustained strained ligaments. The dealer stated that the engineer would have to inspect the vehicle. The manufacturer has not yet been notified. The current and failure mileages were approximately 24,000. Updated 12/17/08. Updated 12/18/08.

- Saint Rose, LA, USA

Not what you are looking for?