Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Visibility: Sun Roof Assembly Problems

2005 Scion tC (Page 1 of 2)


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
27,275 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Scion tC accessories - exterior problems

accessories - exterior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Scion tC:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Scion tC Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #32

Nov 162015


  • 160,500 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Scion Tc. The contact stated that while driving at 65 mph, the sun roof glass exploded and shattered. The contact did not sustain any injuries. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 160,500.

- Brea, CA, USA

problem #31

Aug 032014

tC 4-cyl

  • 145,600 miles
I was driving along government St, the streets downtown needs major repairs. But I didn't hit a bump in the road or nothing to cause my glass to break. I didn't even hear anything hit my glass I had the sunroof open with my little brother and dog in the car when glass begin to fall on us.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #30

Apr 052014


  • 94,000 miles
When I returned to my car that had been parked for approximately three hours, I found that the deflector was raised and the sunroof was entirely shattered. The "legs" of the deflector appeared to have broken through the glass, as the sunroof was severely cracked and broken along each of its four edges. I had not used the sunroof prior to parking my car that morning. Upon reading similar complaints, I do recall also having heard an extremely loud pop while driving, but the sunroof did not shatter until some time after while the car was parked.

- Palatine, IL, USA

problem #29

Apr 302011

tC 4-cyl

  • 90,000 miles


Driving down the highway at ~65 mph in 2005 Scion Tc with sunroof open and without warning the front air deflector shield shattered throwing glass into the passenger compartment. No other traffic was around that could have caused a thrown stone or anything else.

- Reading, OH, USA

problem #28

Feb 222008

tC 4-cyl

  • 41,465 miles
Sun-roof shattered while driving on tollway! this was possibly due to debris that may have hit it from the road. Went for recall on wind-breaker, but this issue hasn't been resolved with the sunroof! this is clearly a manufacturer defect and another source for a liability for Toyota.

- Dallas, TX, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #27

Nov 232007

tC 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,625 miles
Moonroof deflector shattered at highway speeds.

- Pearland, TX, USA

problem #26

Jun 172007


  • miles


I was driving on an interstate highway at approximately 60 mph with all the windows closed, including the sunroof. Both the sunroof had the shades pulled as well. The outside temperature was about 85 degrees, and the A/C was running in the car. Suddenly, I heard an extremely loud pop which sounded like a gun shot. Seconds later, I heard bits of glass bouncing down the back of the car. I opened the shade of the sun oof only slightly enough to see that the entire sun roof shattered and as I drove, chunks of the glass were flying off the car. When I was able to pull off and assess the window it almost appeared as if it had been hit from the inside. The glass around the entire portion of the window was broken and pulling away from the sides and it puckered up toward the center of the window. This was an extremely distracting incident, and potentially dangerous. I was lucky to have the shades pulled so that the glass did not fall into the car. We had previously taken the car to dealer to have the deflector shield treated because of the recall.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #25

May 222007

tC 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Looping to the ramp around 40 mph entering freeway, sunroof shattered due to the side metal frame that was attached/glued to the glass gave in and the sunroof was not even opened. Brought to dealership, took pictures of the shattered sunroof and sent to manufacturer. Next day, Toyota said it was a road hazard. I told them how could that be if the side metal frame gave in and they know there was no evidence of any materials or rock that hits the sunroof.

- Tracy, CA, USA

problem #24

Feb 102007

tC 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,000 miles
Driving on a sunny day without a car around, sunroof shattered and covered the interior with glass. The sunroof windshield was previously fixed as part of the recall. Both the sunroof and rails were destroyed. Toyota did not pay for repair.

- Littleton, CO, USA

problem #23

Dec 082006

tC 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Moonroof has shattered for second time. Dealer/Toyota would not replace per warranty. Vehicle was brought in for recall approx. June 2006. There were no problems prior and glass was fine before recall. Moonroof has shattered twice since recall with no noticeable impact. Recall fix/material is unsafe as shattering glass may injure driver and or passenger.

- Murrieta, CA, USA

problem #22

Dec 072006

tC 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles


I was driving on the highway 5:30 pm on Dec 7. the rear moon roof of my 2005 Scion Tc shattered with a loud "bang"while I was driving. The glass shattered uniformly through out the entire window. I stopped and inspected the glass and did not find any noticeable impact chips or points. The glass fell in to the passenger area over the following several days. (photos were taken prior falling)

- Arcata, CA, USA

problem #21

Aug 102006

tC 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 12,000 miles
Purchased my vehicle in March 2005. I have had it in the shop three (3) times for the moon roof. The moon roof rattles horribly and the dealership as taken the glass out and replaced it saying "that Toyota has done all that they know what to do with that particular situation". I find this unacceptable. I have also had my car in the shop five (5) times for the back hatch. The hatch makes a horrible rattle when just driving on regular roads. This problem is still unfixed. My paint as with the numerous other amounts of complaints is chipping and bubbling up. It horrifies me to read all of these complaints regarding this vehicle. I can only anticipate on what could happen next.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #20

Sep 222006


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The wind deflector for my sunroof on my 2006 Scion Tc was shattered on Sept 22, 2006 1) I was driving with my sunroof open on the street (no freeway). I closed the roof and went into work. At lunch time I made several stops (never opening the sunroof) and after coming back from the last store, I found the wind deflector shattered. I never heard anything hit my car. I did have the recall laminate in place but there was glass shards and pieces from the edges and the bottom. Both dealers I went to cannot tell how the damage happened since the whole thing is shattered. There is no sign of a rock hitting it. 2) I cannot open sunroof or window for fear more glass will break off into my car. 3) I have gone to 2 dealerships (Toyota) and both told me to that my insurance will have to pay for the damage. Part has to be ordered through deal only. The first dealer was not helpful and even told me any glass place could replace which turned out to not be true. I am in the process of getting my insurance to pay for repair so I am still driving around with shattered glass (at least the 2nd dealer taped it so I don't lose a lot more glass).

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #19

Sep 192006

tC 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 36,900 miles
I was driving my Scion Tc in a normal fashion on the interstate when my glass sunroof shattered unexpectedly. My insurance is covering the cost, the dealer is waiting for the check to order the parts. Previously my glass wind deflector has shattered also.

- Litchfield Park, AZ, USA

problem #18

Sep 162006

tC 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,600 miles
Around 10 months ago I was driving down interstate 27 with my sunroof completely closed. There were no other vehicles around me. Suddenly I heard a loud noise, I swerved a quite bit and then I noticed glass was falling on my head. I looked up to see my sunroof was gone. I immediately went to the dealership where they replaced the glass on warranty. Since it was replaced at no charge to me I was satisfied. The second incident happened last Saturday night (9-16-06). I was driving home with the sunroof closed.there were no other cars around. We heard a quieter noise that sounded like glass shattering; we looked at all the windows but saw nothing wrong. The next day I noticed that the wind deflector was completely shattered. Most of the pieces of glass were still there except the leading edge of the glass. I've had the plastic film put on the car according to the recall but it isn't completely effective because there is glass missing. The dealership wouldn┐T replace the part on warranty. I am now in a dispute with Scion to get them to replace the deflector. My car is still under warranty yet they won't replace the defective part stating that they have a policy against replacing glass for any reason. I have tried for a week now to resolve this with Scion. They have told me that a representative will call me the next business day yet they don┐T call me. I have told them every time that I called that I can┐T drive my car until this has been resolved. I have done some research and found, on Scion's forum (, many other people that this has happened too. There are many people that state their deflector has shattered, other people's sunroof has shattered and still other people's moon roof has shattered. Some people were moving when it happened, others were parked.Scion replaced the part on most of the other vehicles.with all the glass panels in the roofs of these cars shattering for unknown reasons it's obvious to me that there is a dangerous design flaw.

- Lubbock, TX, USA

problem #17

Jun 142006

tC 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 29,000 miles
June 14, 2006. Was driving on the highway at around 65 mph with no other cars in front of me or to the side of me. Suddenly, without warning, the power moonroof of the car shattered, with a large portion of the glass entering the passenger cabin and striking me (the driver). Besides minor scratches and bruises from the falling glass and sunroof assembly, I did not suffer any injury. Drove immediately to the dealer, who provided me with a rental car while my car was being repaired. Upon picking up the car 4 days later, I was told that besides the glass, the entire sunroof assembly had to be replaced. Was also told that they could not find the cause of the failure. Pictures of the damage would be available upon request, if needed.

- Whitestone, NY, USA

problem #16

Mar 152006


  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving between 55-70 mph the sunroof shattered. The sunroof was closed at the time of the incident. The contact is unaware of an object hitting the sunroof. The vehicle is at the dealership and they are unable to determine the cause of the failure. Email reply on May 19, 2006 shows (pictures) that it was the sun/moon roof (not the wind deflector) that shattered.

- Modesto, CA, USA

problem #15

Dec 222005


  • 12,500 miles
While driving my 2005 Scion Tc on the interstate highway, I heard a loud pop. After the pop I heard glass shattering and flying off the top of the car. The only thing protecting me from shattering glass was the sun shade. Yet, almost immediately glass started coming through the vent holes on the sun shade and falling down on my head and flying in from the sides. When I stopped to look at what had happened, it appeared that the top sun roof had exploded. Nothing had hit the car from the outside that I was aware of. I know that I would have seen it or heard something hit the car, not the loud pop that sounded like an explosion. I looked on your site and was able to see that other owners of Scion have experienced this same problem. I am waiting on Toyota to determine how this will be fixed and if they will cover it. I will file a claim against them if they do not, as I think this should be a warranty issue or a safety issue with the dealer. I noticed on one complaint that the individual was forced to pay $900. For the repair themselves. Phone interview confirmed that it was the sun/moon roof that shattered.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #14

Sep 202005

tC 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
I was cruising in my 2005 Scion Tc at approximately 40 mph on a smooth road with the moon roof closed. Air temperature was in the high 90S and, as I had been driving about an hour, the interior had been cooled by the A/C. there was no traffic within sight either ahead or behind me and no trees, overpass, etc., above. I heard a loud gunshot-sounding "bang" and found, when I pulled over, that the glass of the front wind deflector of the moonroof had shattered. There was no evidence of any object impacting the glass. Because the moonroof had been closed, glass particles did not enter the passenger compartment. The moonroof wind deflector glass was replaced by my local authorized dealer under warranty (after I called their attention to similar failures of other vehicles); the fragments of the old glass were removed and disposed of by the dealer. Subsequent to that, a "safety recall notice" (#ssc 50S) was received from the manufacturer and a "protective laminate" was applied to prevent glass fragments from entering the passenger compartment in the event a recurrence of the failure is experienced when the moonroof is in the open position. Contrary to this manufacturer's recall notice, I was not driving with the moonroof open, I was not driving at "highway speeds" and the glass was not impacted by road debris. I feel there is a flaw in the manufacturing process of the glass used in the Tc's moonroof.

- New Braunfels, TX, USA

problem #13

Sep 112005


  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,000 miles
I was driving my 2005 Scion Tc on the freeway with the sunroof closed. I heard a loud breaking sound and saw glass fly onto the freeway from my car. I pulled off the freeway and noticed that the glass from the deflector of the sunroof had shattered. The freeway was empty and nothing, not even a rock, had hit my car. I am not sure how it happened- but now I see lots of reports of this happening. I am just lucky that this happened when my sunroof was closed. I was also informed by Toyota that this would cost me $900 to fix. They were not going to cover it. I plan to fight this as it is supposed to be designed to perform under normal operating conditions. It sounds like faulty installation to me.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?