Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Visibility: Windshield Problems

6.7

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
9,916 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Scion xB windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Scion xB:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Scion xB Owner Comments

problem #18

Sep 122010

xB 4-cyl

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Toyota settled a class action lawsuit for 2006 Scion Xb windshields, but won't address other years. The windshields are defective and break. Here are my 2008 Scion Xb windshield problems for the record. In 09/2010 with 20,000 miles, my 1st windshield cracked and had to be replaced. In 05/2013 with 32,715 miles, my 2nd windshield cracked and had to be replaced. This makes my 3rd windshield. Both times a long odd "L" shaped crack, covered a large portion of the windshield. This made visibility and driving impossible and unsafe.

- Harvey, LA, USA

problem #17

Feb 142013

xB 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
When the car had about 37,000 miles I started hearing a rattle coming from the back of the car. The car now has 50,000 + miles and I hear the rattle all the time. I searched every online forum regarding rattles coming from the bumper with no findings. In conversation with a Toyota service rep, he told be it could be the roof brace at the B pillar. I further investigated the problem on line and saw several reports where the 2008 through 2009 does have a problem with the left side roof brace at the B pillar not being welded to the frame. I removed enough interior parts to confirm the roof brace is not welded to the structure on the left side. Is seems the roof support not being welded would weaken the crash resistance in a side impact. I also noted several complaint of stress cracked windshields which may be related to a loose B pillar roof brace.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #16

Jun 182012

xB 4-cyl

  • 22,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Scion Xb. The contact stated he noticed there was a fracture on the driver side windshield. There was no evidence of impact on the glass. The dealer was notified and offered no assistance. The manufacturer was notified and instructed him to make a complaint with NHTSA. The failure and current mileages were 22,000. Updated 7/13/12 updated 07/17/12

- Independence, OH, USA

problem #15

Sep 122009

xB

  • 20,899 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was interested in buying a 2008 Scion Xb. I had heard that the older Xbs had a major problem with the windshields spontaneously cracking. They called them "stress cracks" because of the way the frame was and the slope of the windshield. I spoke to a salesman before I bought the new Scion about the windshield problem. He told me that the problem was fixed. Today, Sept. 12th 2009, I found the L shaped crack that so many people had complained about on the 1st generation Xbs. I am contacting the Toyota dealership on Monday. This is a manufacturer's defect, and I am not about to replace my windshield numerous times (as many other customers have had to do, sometimes 7 or 8 times in 6 months!!!) are there any other complaints about the Scion Xb windshield?

- Hebron, ND, USA

problem #14

Apr 292009

xB

  • 12,500 miles
My Scion Xb developed a crack in the windshield. There is no reason for it, it just showed up. There is no impact, just a straight crack from the seam that extends about 5-6 inches and then curves to the right about 4-5 inches.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #13

Dec 082007

xB

  • 10,000 miles
Cracked windshield...due to stress.

- Wake Forest, NC, USA

problem #12

Mar 312008

xB 4-cyl

  • 2,142 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Cracked windshield (again!) this is my second Xb and I figured the first cracked windshield in my 2006 was a fluke, but no! now I have one in my brand new (2,100 miles) 2008 Xb! what the heck?? it has to be a defect.

- Greenville, NC, USA

problem #11

Apr 022008

xB 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles
One morning when getting into my (5 mo old) 2008 Scion Xb I found a 2-3 in. Crack in the windshield that started under the weatherstriping at the A-pillar about 6-8 inches up from the hood on the passenger side. Within a short time that day the crack extended up to approx. 12-14 in. In a U shape. Due to conflicts I was unable to take the car to the dealer for 2 weeks. By that time the crack had extended about 4-5in. More horizontally across the windshield and a second crack started from the bottom of the U shape extending down to the hood (about 2-3 in). Visual examination of the windshield revealed no obvious pits or impact hits. The weatherstripping where the crack initiated also appears free of defects or damage. Upon quick review from the dealer they declared that it was cracked due to some impact (rock/pebble/etc...) and refused replacement as factory defect.

- Townsend, DE, USA

problem #10

Feb 152008

xB 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,800 miles
2008. 2008 Scion Xb during a 5 hr trip, without getting hit on the windshield by anything at all, the windshield developed a crack starting at the top edge and extending down about 6 inches. I had read about this problem on the edmunds auto website. I went to my local dealer and was told by a service adviser that I was financially responsible for the repair, I went to the service manager to complain that this was a problem with these cars, and I was not going to pay for it. He told me that he would contact the Toyota rep for the area and would get back to me. They did approve the repair, but I'm afraid this will happen again, its happened more than once to many owners, Toyota should be forced to fix this without giving customers a hard time about it.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #9

Mar 052008

xB 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Cracked windshield. Possible design or manufacturing defect. Present in Scion Xbs years 2006-2008. If you google "Xb windshield" you will find numerous posts regarding this issue. Toyota/Scion appear to be refusing to acknowledge this issue. I contacted Scion and they told me to contact the dealer to look at the windshield. The dealer uses a biased 3rd party glass company who, of course, says the frequency of windshield replacements are no different than any other car. Which, based on the number of internet posts and websites dedicated to this issue and a possible class action law suit, all beg to differ.

- Elk Grove, CA, USA

problem #8

Mar 102008

xB 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,050 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Windshield cracked easily.

- Bothell, WA, USA

problem #7

Feb 052008

xB 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 400 miles
I recently purchased a brand new 2008 Scion Xb with 125 miles already on the car. I've only had it for a little over 2 weeks and there is a huge crack on my windshield that started on the lower passenger side of the windshield and has now spread to the driver side of the windshield.

- Davis , CA, USA

problem #6

Jan 312008

xB 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles
The windshield on my 2008 Scion Xb cracked overnight with no apparent stone or impact damage. The service rep at lombard Toyota in lombard Illinois took a look at it and said it's rock damage. He ran a pen along the crack and came to the conclusion that a stone hit it and will not fix it. The glass is not chipped and there was no sign of an impact, only a crack that runs from the edge of the window to about 5 inches in, on the driver side. At this time I either have my insurance company fix it or pay for it myself. The windshield does not have any stone chips on it and the car only has 15,000 miles.

- Lisle, IL, USA

problem #5

Jan 242008

xB

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
After owning my 2008 Scion Xb for 2 months I found a small chip in the windshield. Not sure when it happened. That chip has not spread so far. Then, my husband and I took a trip to Oregon driving on the coast so that we would not get rocks kicked at us from cars on the highway. After 8 days we came home with 3 more chips on our windshield and 2 cracks each measuring approximately 6 inches in length and spreading. We heard 2 separate times where a rock hit the windshield and left the chip; however, the other chip and 2 cracks are unknown how they happened. One morning we came out of our hotel and found the 2nd crack. We were not parked by a lot of cars and we were not by a main street or highway. I have read several sites on the internet where other Scion owners are experiencing the same problem with their windshield. This leads me to believe that there needs to be investigation into a recall on the windshield. I plan on getting this windshield replaced in the next month, but if a recall occurs, I hope that I will be reimbursed.

- Los Alamitos, CA, USA

problem #4

Jan 112008

xB 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2008 Scion Xb, 5,000 miles, windshield mysteriously cracked, no impact or reason. Called dealer and they say they have no reports or recalls. I searched the internet and found many people experiencing the same issue. True safety issue.

- Nashua, NH, USA

problem #3

Oct 252007

xB 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have a 2008 Scion Xb that has developed an" L" shaped stress crack on the upper passenger side of the windshield. There are no rock chips of any kind located near the beginning of the crack. The crack begins under the moulding and continues downward into the "L" shape. I would like to know if Toyota will be made to replace this since it seems to be an ongoing problem with Scion owners.

- Herriman, UT, USA

problem #2

Dec 202007

xB 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 2,200 miles
I recently purchased a 2008 Scion Xb in October of this year (2007) within 2 months of owning the car (approximately on December 20, 2007) I noticed that I had a crack on the left hand side of my windshield that progressively spread in a matter of a day. I took the car to eddy's Toyota/Scion on December 21, 2007 to have it inspected and fixed under warranty, and I was told that the warranty would not cover the windshield because the service rep. Said that he saw a rock chip that had allegedly caused the crack and rock chips were not covered by Toyota. A week and a half later on December 28, 2007 I woke up to discover another crack on my windshield located on the right hand side of my windshield. I took that crack to go be inspected at the dealer, having observed no chips in this one, and I was told yet again that there was a tiny mark that they considered to be a rock chip and that this new crack, which by that time had visibly spread, was also not covered. I am absolutely furious at the lack of responsibility Toyota is taking in this matter. I have since called the corporate Scion offices and filed a formal complaint which I am waiting to here back on. I also proceeded to do some research and have found that this is an extremely common thing amongst Scion owners and they have all experienced the same non responsiveness from the Toyota corporation. I bought a Toyota product because I valued their workmanship and reliability and now I am beginning to believe that they are cutting corners and not owning up to the defects that are in their vehicles. I have received no customer service in regards to this matter and have basically been told that there is nothing that can be done and that I have to continue to pay whenever my windshield gets damaged. The Scion Xb windshields are defective and Toyota refuses to take responsibility for this matter. This is not only a defect but it is also a safety hazard, one in which I was not told of when purchasing the vehicle.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #1

Aug 082007

xB 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,500 miles
2008 Scion windshield crack and no apparent reason.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?