Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

7.7

pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
6,125 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Subaru Forester miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Subaru Forester:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Subaru Forester Owner Comments

problem #8

Jan 192015

Forester

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There is an odd hesitation as if it does not want to go forward at idle after braking. If I press the gas, there is a delayed reaction and a lurch. This is scary! at times, when I am heavily braking to a stop I can feel my car lurching slightly when it unlocks before it comes to a stop. This lurching is most noticeable in stop and go traffic. When I take my foot off the gas to coast, it seems to slow the vehicle down very abruptly as if I was in the wrong gear. Even under light braking, these unexpected occasional forward lurches occurs. This is a real safety hazard, as I am not expecting the vehicle to speed up momentarily as I am braking. I notice that these lurches correspond to RPM blips and the mileage mpg goes to 11, 12, or 13. On the freeway while driving at a decent speed, say 50 - 70 mph, if I hit the gas to overtake someone, sometimes there is a hesitation before I get a change in the engine RPM (and speed). Finally, when I push the pedal to accelerate it often hesitates before revving up. The problem is that these issues does not occur all the time but enough to make me feel that this car is dangerous to have on the road.

- Montebello, CA, USA

problem #7

Sep 252016

Forester

  • miles
Vehicle was purchased new on October 31, 2014 at a Maryland dealer. The following are dates, miles and the issues that have arised since taking ownership. All issues related to vehicle have occurred while driving. No specific roads, vehicle maneuvering or weather condition, changed or caused the the following issues. 12/09/14 6680 miles, issue with steering & alignment 12/20/14 8524 miles, issue with steering & alignment April 2015 replaced battery 06/20/15 41,700 miles, issue with electrical system 07/23/15 47672 miles, issue with driveability 08/26/15 53037 miles, issue with body electrical system 08/2015 all rotors and brake pads replaced 09/23/15 57923 miles, issues with check engine light & stop light lamp switch 10/08/15 60428 miles, issue with power windows 12/03/15 68762 miles, automatic transmission replaced, electrical system June 2016 issues with starting vehicle begins, undetermined cause July 2016 issues began with HVAC blower fan intermittent failure 09/25/16 110839 miles, unknown A/T possible failure Subaru of America still has an open ticket for electrical issues that still plague the vehicle; including power windows, hill start assistant, low oil pressure, audio speaker, vehicle stability control, ABS, brake system failure lights. Dealer has stated that failure can only be duplicated when an on-board diagnostic system code is present. Thus the reason for outstanding issues. Furthermore, not all repeated issues or communications with dealer are listed due to lack of records.

- Gaithersburg, MD, USA

problem #6

Mar 182016

Forester

  • 27,409 miles
Car shuts off while driving on the expressway, approx 70mph. All of the lights on the dash turn on as car dies. These incidents have happened multiple times, and the dealer cannot locate the issue to resolve the matter. The defect is unknown at this time. The date indicated is the most recent occurrence.

- Norton Shores, MI, USA

problem #5

Nov 162015

Forester

  • 12,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My vehicle is bucking/jerking under light to medium acceleration loads between about 10 mph to 30 mph. The issue occurs intermittently, but it will occur several times during a single trip to work 25 miles away. I have taken it to the dealer, but the technician was not able to replicate the issue in the parking lot. They believe it is an issue with the cvt. Others online have expressed concern with the exact same issue. Specifically, you depress the gas pedal a constant distance, but the vehicle will give you unreliable amounts of acceleration: Sometimes an initial lurch and then a pause and then another lurch or very little acceleration and then a pause and a lurch. Depressing the gas pedal farther during one of the jerky periods has little effect except to make the lurch more violent once it finally happens. Not being able to accelerate reliably during a turn with oncoming traffic is extremely dangerous and the reason for me writing a report. I will continue to work with the dealer, but from the research I have done, this is not an isolated issue. I believe the only reason I was not able to find recorded car accidents referencing this issue is due the newness of the vehicle.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #4

Oct 022015

Forester

  • 200 miles
Within 1 week of purchasing the vehicle, small, unknown road debris hit the windshield causing a divot the size of a pencil eraser. This was repaired. Over the next several months, the same thing happened 5-6 times. This vehicle is driven on paved roads in good repair. On a recent cross country trip, a new chip expanded before it could be repaired, progressing to a crack several inches long and requiring that the windshield be replaced.

- Owasso, OK, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #3

Aug 282014

Forester

  • 800 miles
When the transmission is put into drive or reverse from park, or from drive to reverse or vice versa there is a delay of approximately three seconds before the transmission engages. On a hill, the car starts to roll if the foot is removed from the brake before the transmission engages. I have asked Subaru to correct this, but I have been told that this is a characteristic of this transmission and that they will not correct it. While it may not be a major defect that will lead to serious injury, it represents a risk to the people and cars around the vehicle.

- Media, PA, USA

problem #2

Jun 012015

Forester

  • 8,088 miles
I purchased my car from colonial Subaru in danbury ct. It's a 2015 Subaru forrester xt with only 11 miles. Unfortunately, I was dissatisfied for the following reason(s): I just purchased the vehicle in Jan 2015 but the exhaust on the vehicle has a lot of rust building up on the pipe. I took it to the local Subaru dealer where I purchased it and they said contact Subaru headquarters. I contact Subaru hq and they said contact the local Subaru dealer.

- Danbury, CT, USA

problem #1

Feb 022015

Forester

  • miles
2015 Subaru Forester. Consumer writes in regards to steering wheel issues. The consumer stated her jacket with a zipper had a tendency to get caught on the steering wheel and on several occasions, she almost caused an accident, as she was unable to move her arm, to steer the vehicle.

- Concord, NH, USA

Not what you are looking for?