10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
78,478 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Subaru Outback seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Subaru Outback:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Subaru Outback Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #34

Dec 012016

Outback

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Subaru Outback. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 15V323000 (air bags) was received in December of 2016. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed for the recall remedy were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be provided. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Mason, MI, USA

problem #33

Dec 232016

Outback

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2007 Subaru Outback. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V323000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lakewood, CO, USA

problem #32

Nov 022016

Outback

  • 96,000 miles
Airbag light on. Diagnosed as code 26. Dealer recommended replacing overhead console due to faulty led light for passenger airbag indicator. Estimated $300 part. Ended up finding a cracked solder joint and resoldering. Premature failure.

- Traverse City, MI, USA

problem #31

Dec 012015

Outback

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall; I received a letter from Subaru in February 2016 stating that my front seat passenger is in danger of death from this recall. It has been 10 months since receiving this letter and I have not been contacted as to how to resolve this issue. It is unacceptable that I cannot use my vehicle to Transport passengers in the front seat. Why aren't these issues getting fixed or at least scheduled to be fixed? recall was initiated in December 2015 - one year ago! passenger can die from this!

- Los Alamos, NM, USA

problem #30

Jun 132016

Outback

  • 102,738 miles
Takata recall. I bought the car used from empire Nissan in lakewood, Colorado in June 2016. I found out later it had an open airbag recall. Empire refused to fix it. I've been waiting since June 2016 to have auto nation Subaru West, a Subaru dealership in golden, Colorado to order parts and get the car in to have the airbag repaired. When I called them, they put me on some informal list and said they would get back to me when the parts came in. I've been without a car that can hold 4 passengers since buying the Subaru. 4 months seems like too long to repair a recalled airbag. The Subaru repair rates for this recall are a dismal at 22%. Subaru, and the dealerships need to do more to support the safety of their customers.

- Lakewood, CO, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #29

Feb 012016

Outback

  • miles
Takata recall - notified in Feb 2016, it's now last day of Sep 2016, and all I have is the initial letter, no follow-up, no estimate of when this will get fixed. I can't use the front passenger seat of this vehicle, a great inconvenience. When is this going to get fixed"?"

- Chester, VT, USA

problem #28

Feb 012016

Outback

  • 62,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall have followed up with manufacturer 3 times and all I have been told is the local dealer has ordered the part...

- Saratoga Springs, NY, USA

problem #27

Feb 152016

Outback

  • miles
Takata recall: I was notified in February that it needs to be looked at but there was a shortage of parts. I have not yet been notified to have car looked at.

- Nellysford, VA, USA

problem #26

Jan 082016

Outback

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Subaru Outback. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V323000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Broomfield, CO, USA

problem #25

Aug 052016

Outback

  • miles
I received a notice of safety recall for the airbag in my 2007 Subaru Outback dated February 2016. The notice said there was a parts shortage and Subaru would contact my when parts became available but nobody should ride in the front passenger seat until the airbag is replaced. Tired of waiting I called the Subaru dealer today and they said I need to order the part, which would take 4 months, before it can be fixed. This timeline is not reasonable given that I had already waited 6 months and assumed that surely the supply shortage would be remedied by now. It is also unreasonable to expect that nobody ride in the passenger seat of a car purchased for a family. It seems Subaru slow response is putting my family at risk. I will not purchase another Subaru if this is how Subaru treat recalls. I also expect our government safety commissions to do a better job holding car companies accountable.

- Westminster, CO, USA

problem #24

Mar 142016

Outback

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Subaru Outback. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V323000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Brandenburg, KY, USA

problem #23

Feb 162016

Outback

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Subaru Outback. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V323000 (air bags); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Big Bear City, CA, USA

problem #22

Apr 282016

Outback

  • 115,000 miles
Takata recall -- when will parts be available to fix my car's faulty, recalled airbag" this is creating a great deal of stress, inconvenience, and hazard for my family. A reasonable amount of time has passed and takata has not rectified this situation. Millions of people are on the roads with deadly airbags. How will this not be perceived as a regulatory failure"

- Lincoln, NE, USA

problem #21

Mar 252016

Outback

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Subaru Outback. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V323000 (air bags); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact was added to a waiting list of three hundred people. The dealer stated that five remedy parts were received every two weeks. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Westchester, PA, USA

problem #20

Apr 142016

Outback

  • 88,000 miles
Takata recall. I received the recall notice from Subaru of America about 2 months ago. Notice said that parts were in short supply, but they would contact me. I waited two months. Heard nothing. Called fitzgerald Subaru, rockville, md. Dealer on April 14, 2016. Service dept. Says that there is a further approximately three month wait. What is the point of a recall if you can't fix the problem within 5 months" what are you doing to keep Subaru's feet to the fire? they are effectively failing to comply with your recall order. Maybe a $1 million fine per day would get them moving"

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #19

May 272015

Outback

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Subaru Outback. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V323000 (air bags). The part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Florence, MT, USA

problem #18

Mar 152016

Outback 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Subaru Outback. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V323000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 04/12/16.

- New York, NY, USA

problem #17

Mar 142007

Outback

  • 121,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Subaru Outback. The contact stated that the air bag warning light remained illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was taken to a dealer but the failure was unable to be determined due to the air bag warning light no longer being illuminated. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 121,000.

- West Richland, WA, USA

problem #16

Feb 072016

Outback

  • miles
Takata recall.the contact owns a 2007 Subaru Outback. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V323000 (air bags); however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Plains, MT, USA

problem #15

Feb 222016

Outback

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Subaru Outback. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V323000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Bend, OR, USA

Read the next 14 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?