Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,339 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Subaru Outback seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Subaru Outback:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Subaru Outback Owner Comments

problem #14

Jul 292016

Outback

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. On 7/29/16 we received notice of the recall from Subaru of America. We contacted hansel Subaru in santa rosa to schedule the replacement. They said they did not have the replacement parts and put us on a waiting list. I've tried to call them again 10/13/16 & left voice message, sent them email 10/14/16. Hansel is not returning calls or answering calls to their service dept. I called the Subaru of America number today, 10/17/16 and only got a busy signal. As instructed, we are not using the front passenger seat. This is a real inconvenience and we are frustrated with the delay in getting the replacement..

- Santa Rosa, CA, USA

problem #13

Sep 112016

Outback

  • 200,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Subaru Outback. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator illuminated intermittently during hot weather. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the front passenger side air bag warning indicator failed. The mechanic did not specify if the air bag module or inflater was the cause of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 200,000.

- Tolland, CT, USA

problem #12

Aug 022016

Outback

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Subaru Outback. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V358000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Poughkeepsie, NY, USA

problem #11

Aug 022016

Outback

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Subaru Outback. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V358000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #10

Jul 272016

Outback

  • miles
Takata recall: I received notice of this recall on July 27, 2016. Within two hours of receipt I went to classic Subaru of atlanta (7700 roswell rd., atlanta, ga) to drop off my car for this recall. I was told that the replacement parts were on back order until December 2016 and that until then I should continue to drive the vehicle without anyone in the passenger seat. Over five months lead time to repair a known safety risk should not be acceptable.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #9

Sep 012014

Outback 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Subaru Outback. After the vehicle was restarted from being driven, the engine remained abnormally hot and the air bag warning indicator was consistently illuminating. The failure recurred on several occasions when restarted after being driven and progressed during humid weather. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000. Updated 1/19/16 ln the dealer found a code indicating a problem with the passenger air bag. The dealer replaced the map light assembly which included the air bag control electronic module. Updated 03/29/16

- Pennington, NJ, USA

problem #8

Mar 152015

Outback

  • 70,503 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The airbag light on the dashboard illuminates (comes on) randomly when driving. The problem is intermittent. Occasionally, turning off the vehicle & restarting causes the light to turn off. I have heard of other owners with the same issue.

- Vancouver, WA, USA

problem #7

Jan 162012

Outback

  • 35,251 miles
Problem 1: experienced rear wiper (station wagon) not working. Car still under warranty, took it to the dealer and was told the wiring harness that goes through the hinge area was broken. It was repaired. Now the car has 72,000 miles and I am having rear wiper problems again as well as the rear door not locking. Wires frayed and broken again. This is a known issue both with Subaru and on the forums on the web. This is a poor design and possibly dangerous as it can cause the rear lights to fail. Failure time frame was almost double mileage from the previous failure. (35,251 - 72,000). Problem 2: air bag light keeps coming on. Have had it to the mechanic several times to be checked out and reset. This is also a known problem with Subaru and on the web forums. This is a serious safety issue as the air bags could fail to deploy. Subaru may say the airbags are a "secondary" safety feature, but to me they are extremely important. Airbag deployment can be the difference between life and death in an accident. Please investigate!

- Sisters, OR, USA

problem #6

Nov 012014

Outback 4-cyl

  • 56,789 miles
"air bag" warning light in the instrument panel (combination meter) is on. The airbag light has come on since it has been cold out. It keeps on every cold day. It is a safety issue and if possibly not deploying the SRS to protect driver and passenger in a collision. This problem was reported by many drivers of Subaru, but Subaru company is still no response.

- Cheswick, PA, USA

problem #5

Aug 232007

Outback 4-cyl

  • miles
The airbag failure indicator in the instrument panel is coming on intermittently while driving. After turning off the engine, the problem goes away for some time and days or weeks later comes on again. I am concerned that should there be a collision while the condition describe above exist, airbag deployment may fail. There seems to be thousands of these incidents while searching internet databases and it appears all Subaru dealers know of the problem and presumably Subaru as well. Should not be a recall for this potentially serious safety issue?

- Kensington, MD, USA

problem #4

May 062013

Outback 4-cyl

  • 142,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The driver airbag in multiple models of Subaru are disabled because of an apparent fault in the passenger airbag indicator light in the overhead console.this requires replacement of the part. I have researched the topic in multiple auto websites and it appears to affect a lot of model years of all makes of the Subaru.the problem is also intermittent and occurs while driving. I think that disabling the airbag is a serious safety issue and that Subaru has not fessed up about this or fixed the problem.

- Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #3

Feb 172014

Outback 4-cyl

  • 56,209 miles
The airbag light on the dash would intermittently turn on. If I turned the car off and then right back on the light would go out. Eventually the light would come back on, so I took the car to the dealer who had a technician check the computer codes. It listed (code 26-right front seat belt error). The technician reset the computer and the computer error code was cleared. The tech told me that eventually it was going to happen again, as he had seen the problem several times before in the 2008/2009 year range of Outbacks & legacy's and told me that when the dash light was lit, "none of the airbags would work in a collision". all was well for a few weeks and the light did come back on, so the vehicle was taken to the dealer to be repaired. The problem seems to be the map light/passenger seatbelt lamp assembly (part # 84621ag53A) that is located on the interior roof directly next to the rear view mirror. I was informed that this part is not covered by any warranties, as the airbags are a "supplemental system", unlike seatbelts which "are covered" as the primary restraint system. It seems to me that Subaru must obviously be aware of this defective part as it is an instock item at their dealerships (at least it is at my dealer). The bottom line is that I had to pay (almost $200) to fix a problem that will allow my vehicle's airbags to work in the event of a collision because the airbags are considered a "supplemental system". "love" (pun intended) to know when the recall is going to occur.

- Cumberland, RI, USA

problem #2

Apr 092014

Outback 4-cyl

  • 39,000 miles
My seat belt warning light on the dashboard was coming on intermittently but usually went off if I turned the engine off and restarted it. But now it's on constantly. The dealer says it's a malfunction involving the passenger seat belt apparatus and it's not cover under the extended warranty. The cost of the repair is estimate to be over $350. I see online that many people have this problem with the 2005-2009 Outbacks. The mechanism is obviously defective and should be recalled.

- Astoria, NY, USA

problem #1

Aug 272012

Outback 4-cyl

  • 22,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Subaru Outback. The contact stated that while the brakes were depressed, the vehicle accelerated forward unexpectedly and then in reverse before crashing into two other vehicles and a brick wall. The vehicle was destroyed. The police and fire department were contacted and a report was filed. The vehicle was towed to a local repair shop and the manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure and the current mileage was 22,000. Updated 10/31/12 the consumer stated as she pulled into a vacant spot, with her foot on the brake, the vehicle emitted a roar and surged over a curb upwards and crashed into a tree, with her foot still on the brake. The vehicle went backwards and hit an SUV parked illegally behind her car. The vehicle then continued backwards, hit another car and finally crashed into the outside wall of a library and stopped. The air bag did not deploy. Updated 10/31/12

- New York, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?