Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
7,579 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Subaru Outback engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Subaru Outback:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Subaru Outback Owner Comments

problem #8

Jan 082012


  • 22,262 miles


I bought my Outback in March 2010. I noticed my dash lights flickering early in my ownership, but I thought they flickered because maybe I went into a shadow and a sensor caused them to go off and on. The feeling the car is going to stall has happened before, but it was and would only happen every now and again. On a recent trip, January 8, 2012, it did it every time I slowed down for 4 or 5 traffic lights. That really got my attention. I thought maybe my brakes were catching so I took it into my dealer on January 12, 2010. They told me the brakes were fine. After I thought about it, I decided the "catching feeling" actually felt more like L had not depressed a clutch when slowing down and the car was going to stall. The only problem with that theory is that I have an automatic I spoke to my-son in-law about the feeling that the engine is going to stall when I slow down at a light. He mentioned that he had noticed the flickering lights last winter when he drove my car. He explained to me that it was not normal for the lights to do that. He told me to have the alternator checked out. I took it back to the dealer on January 27, 2012. They ran three different diagnostic test and everything checked out fine. I am so afraid the car will cut out on me and I will lose control on the road. I thought I was the only one having this problem, but after my son did an internet search he found a lot of people having the same problem. From the complaints I read most people have a manual transmission.

- Falls Church, VA, USA

problem #7

Mar 162010


  • 10 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Subaru Outback. The contact stated that when the vehicle was pulled out of the driveway, it began to shake and then stalled. Other than the shaking, there was no prior warning. The dealer replaced the transmission but the failure continued. The contact believed the problem to be related to the air conditioning system. The failure mileage was 10 and the current mileage was approximately 12,000.

- Wadley, GA, USA

problem #6

Jul 152010


  • Manual transmission
  • 8,000 miles
2010 Subaru Outback, 6 speed manual transmission. The car has stalled approximately 6 times while stopping at a stop sign with both clutch and brake pressed to ground. Notified dealer. Dealer looked at car and said they could not replicate issue and did not know what was wrong with it. Suggested I was doing something wrong to make it stall.

- East Aurora, NY, USA

problem #5

Aug 022010


  • 14,011 miles


The contact owns a 2010 Subaru Outback. While driving approximately 10 mph the vehicle stalled and all of the lights on the dashboard illuminated. Upon restart the vehicle operated as normal. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where they were unable to diagnose the failure. This failure occurred approximately seven times in the past which the authorized dealer was unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 14,011. The VIN was unavailable.

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #4

Jul 202010


  • Manual transmission
  • 9,400 miles
My 2010 Subaru Outback with a 6 speed manual transmission has stalled on my multiple times. It has always been within the first few minutes of the car running. It has stalled backing up out of a parking spot, approaching a traffic light or spot sign, slowing down to make both a right and a left hand turn, and it has also stalled going about 35mph driving down the street. Every time it has stalled the A/C was on.

- Melbourne, FL, USA

problem #3

Jun 252010


  • 650 miles
Vehicle has repeatedly stalled during deceleration once clutch is depressed or taken out of gear. Other times it will rev down to about 400 RPM and then catch itself prior to stalling, but momentarily removing all power assists. Has been to dealer once, problem was duplicated and ECM was reprogrammed, problem has been better since, but not resolved.

- Pine Hill, NJ, USA

problem #2

May 182010


  • 3,800 miles
5 months after the car was purchased new I started using the air conditioner. Within the first week as I was slowing make a right turn into a parking lot from the street I engaged the clutch to shift from 3rd gear to second and the car died and I had no power steering or power brakes. I didn't use the air conditioner all the time. Two times the following week the same thing occurred again, both times slowing down and engaging the clutch and down shifting. I took the vehicle in to have it looked at on 6/2/10 and they tested all the sensors and checked it on their computer and they found no problems and asked that I keep a log of each time it happens and if I notice any patterns. I noticed that the majority of times as I would engage the clutch to down shift the tack would drop and the car would shutter and the tack came back up. The times when the tack dropped and then died it did not shutter. The problem only happens when the air conditioner is on. I then had a near collision shifting from 4th to 3rd in a busy T-intersection and called service the next morning, 6/10/10 and scheduled to take the car in on 6/14/10 and did not use the air conditioner at all. The service department duplicated the problem and had a Subaru engineer look at it. They erased the car's memory and will have a program written to hopefully fix the problem. Since the program will not be available for a long time they are giving me the car back to drive and believe that since they erased the car's memory that may fix the problem. They believe it may be an electrical or computer problem.

- Nixa, MO, USA

problem #1

May 312010


  • 2,500 miles
Car dies while driving at a steady pace, then slowing down, engaging the clutch and letting the car idle at a light. Has happened 4 times in 2 weeks. Once was while downshifting to 2nd gear to complete a left turn. Had enough speed to complete the turn, but did not have steering or braking assist.

- Coppell, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?