10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
72,700 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Subaru Outback drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Subaru Outback:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Subaru Outback Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #49

Jan 122017

Outback

  • 121,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Torque converter judder. Recommended torque converter replacement after the back up duty solenoid malfunction. Car was towed to dealer after the at oil temp light as flashing while driving. Dealer said to not drive it and have it towed. Code P2764 was retrieved and solenoid was replaced. After test driving during the inspection, technician felt shuttering at 40mph and recommended replacing consistent with tsb 16-90-13R

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #48

Nov 302016

Outback

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Subaru Outback. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to shift into the reverse position without warning. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 40,000.

- Tiverton, RI, USA

problem #47

Dec 232016

Outback

  • 119,000 miles
Car is stalling when in motion, and coming to a stop without steady brake pressure. It shutters then stalls. It has happened at least 6 times since fall 2016. "NHTSA id number: 10080367- availability of countermeasure torque converter assembly" -doesn't solve problem for consumers. Lack of recall/action on a 2011 model is alarming! does this malfunction need to harm/kill victims before action is taken?

- Morganville, NJ, USA

problem #46

Nov 252016

Outback

  • 128,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle stalls after sudden stop requiring it to be restarted. I was told by Subaru sales there is a tsb # 16-90-13 R (1/6/14 issued). This relates to the transmission ( cvt) looking up after a sudden stop due to a thrust washer inside the torque converter. This is a dangerous issue that needs to be addressed immediately with a full recall.

- Copley, OH, USA

problem #45

Dec 032016

Outback

  • 93,000 miles
I own a 2011 Subaru Outback with 93,000 miles. The car stalled out at red lights in the city. Also, it stalled when I was on a hill and came to a stop. I was fortunate to restart engine and get out of the way of traffic. I took it to the dealer and they said I needed a torque converter costing $1,200. After reading the many complaints from other owners it is a dangerous situation. Why hasn't Subaru recalled the torque converters?

- Paupack, PA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #44

Dec 032016

Outback

  • 79,000 miles
Torque converter assembly. Car is stalling when coming to a stop at a stop sign, or at stop light or even when going to a stop through a work zone. It shutters then stalls. Feels like a manual transmission when a clutch is not fully pressed. It has happened 5 times since the end of November 2016

- Poughkeepsie, NY, USA

problem #43

Dec 132016

Outback

  • 124,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle stalled when approaching a stop. This happened twice. This is an automatic and should not be happening. I had to put the car in to neutral/park and restart it at an intersection where there's a firehouse. I've been told the torque converter needs to be replaced and there is already a tsb on the bad design of this part and that it needs to be replaced. At this point, I believe it should be recalled as it's happening more often than not to this particular transmission. This is very dangerous.

- Laurel, MD, USA

problem #42

Dec 142016

Outback

  • 122,000 miles
The vehicle will stall out when the brakes are pressed abruptly and the speed suddenly decreases. This is extremely unsafe. Especially for my pregnant wife to be driving. We bought a Subaru because we thought they were built right and safe. We were wrong.

- Victoria, TX, USA

problem #41

Dec 082016

Outback

  • 100,000 miles
Engine randomly stalls when coming to a complete stop. We are always concerned about the safety of our children when this happens in high traffic areas/times. Our Subaru service advisor has acknowledged that it is due to a poor design issue "tsb 16-90-13R" which requires the replacement of the torque converter.

- Mariposa, CA, USA

problem #40

Jul 112016

Outback

  • 110,000 miles
Began noticing vehicle shuddering and quitting or almost quitting when coming to a stop. Has continued to do this for months now and seems to be getting worse. Took it to dealer and it was diagnosed at torque converter sticking after several tests. Referenced to Subaru tsb no. 16-101-16. Dangerous design flaw as it can leave you without power after coming to an abrupt stop such as braking to avoid hitting a stopped vehicle leaving you unable to move away from other cars without restarting vehicle. My vehicle is in excellent condition aside from this issue but is out of powertrain warranty and the cost to repair are prohibitive. Request to issue recall for safety issues primarily and to not ultimately cause damage to transmission in the long term.

- Bighill, KY, USA

problem #39

Jul 152016

Outback

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Stalls when stopping or idling. Stops in intersections and coming to stops.

- Charlottes, NC, USA

problem #38

Nov 072016

Outback

  • 100,000 miles
Subaru has a known technical service bulletin 16-90-13R that identifies an issue the the torque converter that is causing Subaru vehicles to stall when breaking. This is a safety issue that must be fixed in order to avoid accidents while driving. Despite being a known safety issue, Subaru has not issued a recall. Rather Subaru owners are left to pay the $1500 cost of correcting the torque converter issue. My 2011 Subaru Outback is stalling out when braking at intersections and par.

- Crestwood, KY, USA

problem #37

Jul 142014

Outback

  • 89,236 miles
Engine stalled at low rpms. Similar to manual transmission without engaging clutch. Occurred when approaching stop at intersections or slowing for heavy traffic.

- Westminster, MD, USA

problem #36

Oct 102016

Outback

  • 107,000 miles
My 2011 Outback has recently started stalling out at stop signs. It will stall 5 times in 2 miles. It starts right back up but will stall again at the next light or stop sign (local streets). Apparently Subaru has a service bulletin 16-90-13R that indicates this problem is a poor design of the torque converter. I've read many similar accounts on line. Subaru should issue a recall. It's an expense repair and a safety hazard.

- Havertown, PA, USA

problem #35

Mar 152016

Outback

  • 65,000 miles
Vehicle unexpectedly stalls when coming to rapid stop such as at a traffic light resulting in a hazardous situation.

- Bellevue, WA, USA

problem #34

Jul 062016

Outback

  • 81,000 miles
While driving, if you have to stop quickly and step on the brakes hard the car engine stalls. This puts the car in jeopardy of being hit from behind and injury to the passengers. This has happened multiple times over the past couple of months at various speeds - both low speed and highway speed.

- Sewickley, PA, USA

problem #33

May 282016

Outback

  • 94,000 miles
Car stalls to complete stop motor stops and car is dead leaving my wife and 3 year old in the middle of an intersection for cars to nearly hit till she puts it in park to restart car I have read, it is the tork converter it needs to be recalled as a safety concern !!!!!

- Belmont, MI, USA

problem #32

Apr 252016

Outback

  • 89,300 miles
Vehicle intermittently shudders and stalls when coming to full stop, requiring shift to park or neutral to restart. Frequency of occurrence is rapidly increasing. Dealer cited service bulletin 16-90-13R and replacement of the torque converter is necessary to correct the problem.

- Hamburg, PA, USA

problem #31

Mar 292016

Outback

  • 107,102 miles
Vehicle stalled on inclines when brakes were applied creating a very dangers situation. Dealer sighted service bulletin 16-90-13R for design change to the cvt torque converter but would not absorb total cost of repair since car has 107102 miles and out of warrantee. This situation should create a product recall before someone is seriously injured.

- Far Hills, NJ, USA

problem #30

Mar 102016

Outback

  • 113,455 miles
While driving to approach a stop the car studders, begins to loose engine power and stalls. It then requires that the car must be placed in 'park', the key turned to the 'off' position and then restarted.

- Boiling Springs, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?