Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Air Bags Problems

2005 Suzuki Forenza (Page 1 of 2)

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
55,877 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Suzuki Forenza seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Suzuki Forenza:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Suzuki Forenza Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #25

Jul 082016

Forenza

  • 175,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought a 2005 Suzuki Forenza. I had no idea that these cars are so hazardous. On the second day after my purchase, the car suddenly went into reverse on the highway in rush hour traffic. I was lucky enough to get it out of reverse and coast to the shoulder. I have since found out this is an ongoing defect that, and that there are many more. I also found out that Suzuki has been made aware but sits back and does nothing about it. This car has the potential of being deadly and needs to be removed from the market so that people like me aren't forced to drive something so unsafe. I can't afford the costly repairs and I can't sell this car. I am scared to death that in one of the many stalls some one is going to hit me. It should have never been on the market to start with. I am confident that if someone hasn't already been killed because of this defective car that they will be.

- Aumsville, OR, USA

problem #24

Mar 212016

Forenza

  • 100,000 miles
The vehicle has suffered from an intermittent airbag light for the past 10K miles but at 110K miles the light has come on and will not go off. I have attempted some of the Suzuki owners recommendations of disconnecting and then reconnecting the connectors under the seats to no avail. This appears to be a very common issue with the Forenza's and certainly a safety one.

- Flintivlle, TN, USA

problem #23

Jan 072016

Forenza

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owned a 2005 Suzuki Forenza. While driving 50 mph, the contact's vehicle rear ended another vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The vehicle was destroyed and towed from the scene. A police report was filed. The contact sustained injuries to the throat, left wrist, and knee. Medical attention was required. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was approximately 120,000.

- Frankfort, KY, USA

problem #22

Jul 012014

Forenza

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Air bag light stays on since 07-2014 approx. 55,000 miles on car at that time. Dealer says that there is not a recall and Suzuki will not cover under warrenty, but they will be happy to take my money. There is a service bulletin # ts050115B.its a safety issue that a lot of people are having.

- Paris, KY, USA

problem #21

Jan 282014

Forenza

  • 59,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Suzuki Forenza. While stopped at a stop sign, another vehicle crashed into the front driver side of the contact's vehicle. The air bags did not deploy. The contact sustained injuries to the left leg, back, and waist.the contact did not receive medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence where it was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 59,000.

- Bermingham, AL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #20

Mar 202014

Forenza 4-cyl

  • 74,723 miles
Recurring event air bag lamp keeps turning on never been in accident had it replaced twice Suzuki dealer was off for years, now has come back and stayed on for months. On 3/20/2014 car sputter lost power was able to park it in a parking space not able to turn back on, problem fuel pump went out. 8/28/2014 recently, while driving my car, my Suzuki Forenza 2005 lost complete power: When checked the believed problem is 4-3 shift malfunction P1884 manufacturer cont trans and P0700 trans control system malfunction. My mechanic told me to get a hold of Suzuki, to see if under warranty, if its going to be recalled or where it can be repaired, still trying to get a hold of them.

- Walnut, CA, USA

problem #19

Mar 282014

Forenza 4-cyl

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The air bag sensor turned on and wouldn't turn off. There was no accident or reason for the sensor to turn on. Took it to the dealership and had to have the sensor system replaced. Contacted the Suzuki customer service and was not given any information why the sensor would suddenly fail other than that it was no longer under warranty and so they were not responsible. The car was recalled in 2012 for electrical issues due to the headlights.

- Lake Oswego, OR, USA

problem #18

Oct 052013

Forenza

  • 29,141 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Suzuki Forenza. The contact stated that while entering the vehicle, the air bag warning light blinked twice and remained illuminated. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or an independent mechanic for inspection. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 29,141 and current mileage was 29,231.

- Savannah, GA, USA

problem #17

Mar 132013

Forenza

  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Suzuki Forenza. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the air bag warning light illuminated without warning. The vehicle was not inspected by a dealer or an independent. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure and current mileages were approximately 72,000.

- Wolcott, NY, USA

problem #16

Feb 262013

Forenza

  • 57,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Suzuki Forenza. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis where he was informed that the air bag control module and the seat sensor failed. The manufacturer was notified but offered no assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 57,000.

- Bangor, ME, USA

problem #15

Jan 122013

Forenza

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Back in Nov 2012 I took my 2005 Suzuki Forenza in for a recall repair as suggested the recall was on the wiring harness that put the headlights on and off (I had been having trouble with my headlights popping on and off at random times) so after I obeyed the recall I noticed that the problem was fixed so in Jan 12 2013 my car was sitting at a local applebees parking lot completely turned off nothing plugged in no lighters in the car just sitting there when someone ran into the restaurant and shouted "whose gold Suzuki is that? its on fire" needless to say when I ran out the dashboard was completely in flames the fire dept came to rescue and at my request a fire investigator investigated the incident and concluded that the fire started as a result of a electrical short in the wiring harness...(yes the "recalled'' "fixed" part) the actually dealership that "fixed" the recalled part has already stated that they arent taking responsibility for it & I am waiting to Suzuki corporate to conclude their findings I truly hope Suzuki does the right thing in this unfortunate matter if not I am prepared to take legal action but im praying they will do the right thing and take responsibility.

- Panama City, FL, USA

problem #14

Oct 142010

Forenza

  • 33,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Suzuki Forenza. The contact stated that the air bag light illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to dealer for inspection and they stated that there was a connection error. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer but they stated that they could not determine the cause of the failure. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 33,000.

- Meridian, MS, USA

problem #13

Aug 012012

Forenza

  • 50,000 miles
Air bag light on since bought car in 2006. Wiring for airbags has been replaced once still an issue at owner expense. Outlet and lighter stop working year after car was bought. Headlight wiring replace twice and day lights still only comes on some times.

- Dublin, VA, USA

problem #12

Sep 052011

Forenza

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Suzuki Forenza. The contact stated that the air bag light constantly illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and the contact was informed that the wiring harness failed and needed to be replaced. The contact felt that this was a manufacturer's defect. The failure mileage was 70,000 and the current mileage was 78,000.

- South Amhearst, OH, USA

problem #11

Aug 292011

Forenza

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Suzuki Forenza. While driving approximately 65 mph, the contact noticed that the air bag off light was illuminated on the instrument panel. The warning light would illuminate sporadically and would often flicker on and off. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostics but the vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Newark, NJ, USA

problem #10

May 012010

Forenza

  • 31,828 miles
June 2010 air bag defect -- I own a 2005 Suzuki Forenza wagon. In May 2010 I listed this vehicle for sale only to find (through a check up) that there was a faulty air bag on the passenger side front. At the time of this discovery the car had a little less than 32,000 miles. The dealership said that it would cost $1,500/$1,600 to replace the problem seat. It was also told to me that there exist an "out of warranty assistance" program for safety related problems. After three weeks of waiting for an answer, Suzuki denied any assistance. I feel that since this is a "no maintenance safety system" (that is defective as of no fault of mine) that the airbag should be replaced or fixed by the manufacture. After all they have a 3 year - 36,000 mile warranty. (my car has 32,000 miles) how do I proceed against Suzuki before some one is injured because of a lack of safe air bag? [xxx] case #[xxx] with Suzuki company information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Chillicothe, OH, USA

problem #9

Jun 182008

Forenza

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Suzuki Forenza. The air bag warning light consistently illuminated on the instrument control panel; which, indicated that the air bags were inoperative. As a consequence, the air bags may fail to deploy. The vehicle was taken the dealer multiple times and several repairs were made; however, none of the repairs have remedied the failure. The failure mileage was 30,000 and the current mileage was 85,000.

- Salinas, CA, USA

problem #8

Sep 272009

Forenza

  • 15,995 miles
We own three 2005 Suzuki Forenzas. Each has had problems with either the airbag or airbag sensor. One of our vehicles currently will not pass state inspection due to the airbag light being on. This is its second problem of the same kind. One of the other vehicles has had the same problem three times. This is a serious safety concern. Suzuki has never told me if this is actually a problem with the airbag, the sensor, the harness, or something else. My concern is two-fold: (1) will I have to pay annually for a serious Suzuki defect in order to pass inspection? (2) is this a real problem" do I have a safety concern" Suzuki has never told me if this is actually a problem with the airbag, the sensor, the harness, or something else. My wife and two daughters drive these vehicles. This appears to be an engineering design problem that requires investigation.

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

problem #7

Jan 012008

Forenza

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Suzuki Forenza. The contact stated that the driver's side air bag light remains illuminated while driving. The dealer stated that the failure was not covered under warranty; therefore, the contact would have to pay for the repair. The current mileage was 69,171 and failure mileage was 68,000.

- Clarkville, TN, USA

problem #6

Sep 222006

Forenza 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,371 miles
Air bag warning light continues to stay lit. Since Sept. 22, 2006 three more attempts has been made to fix the error. Todate, Jan. 1, 2008, dealer has not returned my calls.

- Newark, Ca, CA, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?