Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Exterior Lighting Problems

2.3

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,588 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Suzuki Forenza lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Suzuki Forenza:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Suzuki Forenza Owner Comments

problem #17

Oct 152016

Forenza

  • 150,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall: And, defective fuel propulsion as the car reves up some times when going and shuts off by itself when traveling causing a dangerous situation. 2). campaign id.# 14 V262000 and 3.)12V397000. I have tried to contact the company but I keep getting a message that I called out of service time and to leave a message. Only to get a automated message that says the system isn't working. I do realize that there are other issues with this product car, like the takata air bags.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #16

May 092016

Forenza

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Suzuki Forenza. The contact stated that the low beam, high beam, and day time running lights became inoperable without warning. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the multi-function light switch needed to be replaced. The contact was not notified of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V262000 (exterior lighting) and 12V397000 (electrical system, exterior lighting). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available.

- Hammond, LA, USA

problem #15

Oct 122015

Forenza

  • 96,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Suzuki Forenza. The contact stated that the driver and passenger side headlights were not functioning properly. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 96,000.

- Ridgewood, NY, USA

problem #14

Nov 142012

Forenza 4-cyl

  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Slips out of gear while driving, car stalls and cuts off during driving, only cranks up in neutral, air bag light stays on, check engine light go off after a repair then lights back up. Its frustrating to have to call road side assistance for a battery charge frequently when battery loses charge for no apparent reason.

- Goose Creek, SC, USA

problem #13

Mar 052014

Forenza

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Suzuki Forenza. The contact stated that the headlights and high beam headlights shorted intermittently. The contact mentioned that the vehicle had been previously repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 14V262000 (exterior lighting) however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 85,000.

- Sutton, WV, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #12

Jul 052014

Forenza 4-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
I was driven when the right side headlight was stopped.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #11

Oct 302012

Forenza 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Suzuki Forenza. Consumer request reimbursement for headlights recall notice. The consumer stated the headlights failed, while driving. According to the repair invoice, the mechanic found the high beams inoperable and found the high and low beams inoperable through a switch, the day time running lights were keeping the low beams on, and the high beams worked through a flash to pass. When the mechanic removed the instrument cluster, there was exposed burnt wiring at the splice.

- Ignacio, CO, USA

problem #10

Oct 162012

Forenza

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Suzuki Forenza. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 12V397000 (exterior lighting:headlights) however, the daytime running lights were no longer operable. The failure occurred after the recall repair was performed. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where the contact was informed that the repair was not covered under the recall and that any further repairs would be at her expense. The contact attempted to contact the manufacturer but to no avail. The failure and current mileages were 50,000.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #9

Jul 152012

Forenza 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
Driving down interstate had smell coming from the dash like melting wires. Dash high/low beams stopped working, luckily daytime running worked but not good enough to see well at night periodically they will come back on for a few then cut back off. Most often they do not come back on at all and doesn't stay on long..afraid of fire or if working going out while driving and wrecking with my kids in the car. We purchased this car last year from a used car dealership and it was fixed under the recall or 07 in Jan 2008, called dealerships and Suzuki and they are telling me even though there is a new recall out for the same thing.. for 2004-2006 Forenzas manufactured between the dates of Sept 2003 and March 2006 that my car that was manufactured 11/2005 doesn't fall under the recall? just need to know what to do since its obviously a manufacturer defect. Or if maybe some information was crossed and hopefully ours can be fixed under the recall.

- Gerrardstown , WV, USA

problem #8

Aug 132012

Forenza

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Suzuki Forenza. The contact stated while driving, both of the head lights failed to function. The contact took the vehicle to a mechanic who stated the wires were burned and he needed to take the vehicle to the dealer to be repaired. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer for inspection and they stated that the VIN was not included in recall NHTSA campaign id number: 07V452000, exterior lighting. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 70,000.

- Summerville, SC, USA

problem #7

Jan 112012

Forenza 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Suzuki Forenza. The contact stated that the low beam head lights malfunctioned. As a result, he was unable to switch off the high beams. The contact also mentioned that the air bag warning lamp illuminated. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 70,000 and the current mileage was 77,000. Updated 8/6/12 the consumer stated the low beam lights did not work. Only, the high beams worked. Updated 08/14/12

- Perry , FL, USA

problem #6

Jun 062011

Forenza

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Suzuki Forenza. The contact was driving approximately 40 mph with the illumination of the headlights and suddenly both headlights failed to operate. The contact was able to maneuver to the side of the road where the engine was turned off. Upon restarting, the headlights began to operate. There was a recall related to the malfunction under NHTSA campaign id number 07V452000 (exterior lighting). The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who advised that a diagnostic test must be performed before the recall repair. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the problem. The approximate failure was 75,000.

- Athens, GA, USA

problem #5

Aug 192011

Forenza

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Suzuki Forenza. The contact stated that the vehicle was parked and shut off when the brake lights continued to illuminate until the battery drained completely. The vehicle was jump started and taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that the brake light switch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was in the process of being repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure, but offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 95,000.

- Citrus Heights, CA, USA

problem #4

Dec 012010

Forenza

  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Suzuki Forenza. The contact stated that he experienced several electrical failures with the windows opening independently, failed headlights, flickering instrument panel lights and a failed battery. The vehicle was taken to a local repair facility where it was diagnosed. The mechanic advised the contact that the electrical failures caused the battery to fail. The dealer was contacted and advised the contact that the warranty was expired therefore; he would be responsible for the diagnosis and repair costs. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to the dealer previously for the failures and the dealer cleared the computer codes but the failures persisted. The failure mileage was 15,000 and the current mileage was 66,401. Updated 01/11/2011

- Stock Bridge, GA, USA

problem #3

Jun 152008

Forenza

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Suzuki Forenza. The contact stated that while driving and trying to turn the low and high beams on and then noticed that they failed to turn on. The dealer was informed about the failure and stated that there was no recall and would charge her for a diagnostic test. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 20000 and the current mileage was 30000. Updated 1/21/11 the consumer stated all of the lights failed except the running lights. The failure was due to a broken wire. Updated 02/14/11

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #2

Sep 182010

Forenza

  • 76,000 miles
The brake light switch on my 2006 sukuzi Forenza is malfunctioning due to having become misadjusted while pressing down on the brake pedal. The brake lights stay on when the vehicle is on and while turned off.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #1

Oct 102009

Forenza

  • miles
Electrical/exterior lighting: Just prior to 10/10/2009, I began noticing my lights were periodically flickering. On Oct. 10, 2009, I noticed what smelled like wires burning (electrical burning smell). The following evening I started my car and when I turned on the lights, they didn't come on, however my running lights did come on when I released my break (5 speed), I was also without the use of my hi-beams, however they work when I pull back on my turn signal/hi-beam handle. After doing a little investigation, I found that there was once a recall for this problem, however when I called Suzuki, I was of course told that my car was not part of that recall! how nice! the dealer informed me that it would cost not less then $150 to fix! I bought the car brand new in 2006, it is now just over 3 years old! I have never been notified of any recalls, just happened to hear about the door handle recall because I had another issue and had to contact a dealer (not the one I purchased the car from, either) as I have not had the best customer experience with them. My mechanic tried to inquire as to how to obtain the wiring detail for this car so that he could fix the problem, thus saving me a good deal of money...$150! I am a single parent and would hope that a car that is only 3 years old would not have the difficulties this car has had in such a short period of time. For the most part, I have enjoyed the car, but the fact that Suzuki is refusing to take responsibility for the faulty manufacturing of this car or at least the exterior lighting is so disheartening to me. This is certainly a road hazard not to mention the safety issue for myself, my children and any passenger I may have.

- Strongsville, OH, USA

Not what you are looking for?