Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Engine Problems

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
59,877 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Suzuki Forenza engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Suzuki Forenza:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Suzuki Forenza Owner Comments

problem #20

Sep 292016

Forenza

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The transmission range sensor on Suzuki Forenzas and other models has been shoddy at best. My car currently has 65000 miles on it and I have replaced the trs 3 times getting ready to be a 4th. This is not a sensor that should need replaced regularly. I have had the vehicle slip out of gear at speed due to this and can never accelerate when I need to. Im afraid that if I need to accelerate to avoid a collision I wont be able to. This is a safety hazard and NHTSA needs to investigate. They have more then enough complaints to see this is an issue and they need to act before someone gets killed.

- York, PA, USA

problem #19

Jun 082016

Forenza

  • 91,000 miles
Car headlight shut of on me while driving down road along with air conditioning and windows they all shut off on me while driving windows would not go down and I had to pull over near the nearest store and cut car off thanks I turned it back on and they all srarted working accept the air that didnt start working again till about thirty mins later car also jumps when pulling out of park in to drive or reverse really hard jump the car headlights also flicker when pressing windows buttons to go down tire sensor light wont go out car also has a hard time accelerating going uphill U have press down all the way on gas for it to

- Ocean City, NJ, USA

problem #18

Mar 152016

Forenza

  • 108,000 miles
I have had the transmission range sensor replaced on my 2008 Suzuki Forenza twice already and it has malfunctioned again. When it malfunctions, my car jerks heavily when changing gears, and it is an automatic engine. The rpms will not exceed 3000, the check engine light comes on, and "hold" flashes in the dash. The car accelerates very slowly shudders above 50 mph. The speedometer has dropped to zero while I have been driving on the highway, so I cannot tell how fast I am going.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #17

Jul 152013

Forenza 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,844 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Suzuki Forenza. The contact stated that while driving approximately 65 mph, the accelerator pedal was engaged and failed to respond as the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was then taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the engine wire harness and the engine control module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 71,844. Updated 6/11/15 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired by replacing the engine wire harness. Updated 7/16/2015

- Harrisonburg, VA, USA

problem #16

Mar 032015

Forenza

  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Suzuki Forenza. The contact stated that while driving at 10 mph and approaching a stop sign, the vehicle accelerated independently causing the contact to loose control and crash into a wall. It was unknown if injuries were sustained or if a police report was filed. In addition, the brake pedal was depressed and the vehicle continued to accelerate. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown. The VIN was not available. Updated 4/6/15

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #15

Nov 152014

Forenza

  • 80,200 miles
The check engine light came on when putting my car into reverse. The car would jump whenever putting it in reverse or drive. I had a scanner put on it and the codes came out to be the transmission range sensor. The check engine light will continue to go on and off depending on how much I drive it. I am being told this is not under the power train warranty. This needs to be as it is affecting the power train.

- Waynesboro, PA, USA

problem #14

Dec 142011

Forenza 4-cyl

  • 65,040 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving down a busy street in stop and go traffic. While stopped at a stop light, my vehicle made a very loud "clunk" noise, lurched forward and the check engine light came on. When I attempted to accelerate after the light turned green, I had to push the gas pedal almost to the floor to get the vehicle to move forward. I pulled over and parked, turned the vehicle off, waited about a minute, turned the vehicle back on, and the problem had gone away although the check engine light was still on. A day or so later, while I was driving on the highway going approximately 65 miles per hour, the vehicle made the "clunk" noise, lurched forward and the check engine light came on again. This time, because I was already in motion, the rpms jumped up above 3000, which is very high for a 4 cylinder engine only going 65 miles per hour. Again, I pulled over, turned the vehicle off, waited about a minute, turned the car on and was able to drive the vehicle normally again although the check engine light remained illuminated. This issue has been happening randomly about 20 times a year over the course of the last 2 1/2 - 3 years.

- Stilwell, KS, USA

problem #13

Jun 142013

Forenza 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
2008 Suzuki Forenza. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle stalls while driving. The consumer stated the vehicle would stall after driving 5-10 miles, once he started to slow down. The consumer was able to re-start the vehicle. Also, the check engine light illuminated.

- Hamilton, NJ, USA

problem #12

Jul 012013

Forenza 4-cyl

  • 49,885 miles
Every time I change gears, my car thunks under the hood and my check engine light is continuously on. A machine was hooked up to my car and it reads that there is a bad transmission range sensor. I've done my research, and notice an unbelievable amount of complaints due to the same issue/part. When this happens in my vehicle, it drives very poorly and feels like it cannot shift into the correct gear. This is unsafe.

- Muskegon, MI, USA

problem #11

Aug 202013

Forenza 4-cyl

  • 44,380 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Suzuki Forenza. The contact stated that while driving approximately 55 mph, she heard a loud grinding sound coming from under the hood area. The brake and electrical system lights then illuminated as the vehicle became difficult to steer. The contact stopped and the vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic for diagnosis. The technician stated that the engine serpentine belt was fractured and pulling the brake line out of the fire wall, spinning it around the brake line, the alternator pulley, and the steering rod. The electrical system harness was also fractured. The mechanic replaced the brake line and the engine drive belt. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 44,380.

- South Plainfield, NJ, USA

problem #10

Oct 092012

Forenza 4-cyl

  • 78,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While sitting at a stop sign, I decided I was a little to far into the road. I shifted into reverse and noticed it shifted really hard. I put it into drive and pulled out onto the road - again it shifted hard. When trying to speed up, the car wouldn't shift out of 1st gear, the check engine light came on and I couldn't speed up. I've been told it is a bad transmission range sensor.

- Carthage, NC, USA

problem #9

Jul 302010

Forenza

  • miles
I noticed my car having difficulty accelerating and it would occasionally feel the engine jump while driving. The check engine light was on. I was going down the interstate when the engine shut itself off. Luckily it turned itself back on and I was able to safely accelerate to speed. The shop said that it was the transmission range sensor and the transmission control sensor. A year ago the car was displaying funny symbols and would not start occasionally. Again the same sensors had to be replaced. A third time the car check engine light came on and the car was again having difficulty accelerating. The acceleration issue and the light are intermittent, it has now again begun doing the engine "jump" it is scary being at a light and not being able to move. It is very scary stopping to turn left into my apartment complex and not knowing if my car will respond when I have a gap in traffic to turn. Took it to a shop today to find out that the codes from the engine check light are again the transmission range sensor and the transmission control sensor. The car has under 65K and I have had these issues three times. I am thankful that it has not caused a major accident.

- Decatur, GA, USA

problem #8

Jun 112009

Forenza 4-cyl

  • 4,000 miles
I bought my car 3-29-09. At 4,000 mi. I began having problems. At 57,059 mi. 4-9-13 was the 18th time my car has been in for svc. I'm on my 3rd dealer (orig. Out of svc.) I am having my 3rd trans installed.can someone say "lemon law ?" 1st they could not find the problem as no codes were shown by the computer. My car at one point was at the dealer for 34 days straight! at times it would not even go into gear or would just die. I have had the tcm, ECM, & trans range switch replaced multiple times.since Oct 2012 have getting an intermittent ck eng light, I was finally able to bring it in on 3-29-13 & the ECM was replaced. On 4-8-13 I was barely able to make it in to the shop as my car was stuck in 3rd gear and I was on the hwy the ck eng, light was on. It was the trans range switch again! it was just replaced Oct 2012. Mon. Eve. The car would stall in neutral when in drive, slam into gear, the ck eng light remained lit, it was stuck in 3rd gear and the newest development was that as I was driving on the hwy, the lit D (drive) by the odometer was flashing normal & then with a line through it. I got to the dealer, pulled the code & the trans needs to be replaced again! I have absolutely had it with this car and am attempting to re-instate my arbi- tration with them (I dropped it when the supposedly fixed the prob.last yr). 14 of visits were major. Suzuki's tech explained to me that there is an engineering design flaw. My car is dangerous and I no longer want my life in Suzuki's hands. I cannot continue to drive a care that can become faulty at any time, especially when I am driving 55-65 mph on the hwy and the car gets stuck in third gear! my husband has also had the engine die on him while driving.(I took a short video with my phone that shows the ck eng light on and the D flashing with a line through it.every time that the ck eng light comes on lately, it's a new code.

- Elk Grove Village, IL, USA

problem #7

Jul 182012

Forenza

  • 47,980 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Suzuki Forenza. The contact stated that while driving 55 mph, the vehicle stalled and the check engine warning light was illuminated. The contact did not take the vehicle to a dealer or a mechanic for inspection or repairs. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 47,980.

- Virgina Beach, VA, USA

problem #6

Feb 052013

Forenza 4-cyl

  • 92,850 miles
My transmission range sensor has been replaced twice, both within a 12 months time frame. Both times my car jerks at low and high speeds and my engine light is invoked. The second time the dealership replaced my transmission range sensor...the very same week my vehicle is still experiencing the same exact issues, inclusive of my engine light coming on and staying on for 3 days. Upon return, the dealership says my jerking, hard gear shifting and on board engine light is being caused due to an engine skipping issue, which is "possibly" due to the electronic control module not communicating with the transmission control module. I'll have to pay the dealership $210 to see if the connector between the ECM and the tcm is bad, and if its not bad, I still pay the $210, but then they'll tell me what the next possible step would be?? I feel I'm in a no win situation, it sounds like, just keep writing checks. My issue sounds the same as the countless others that have been documented, my issue should be covered since Suzuki is more than aware that these are known issues.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #5

Dec 312012

Forenza

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Suzuki Forenza. The contact stated that while driving approximately 15 mph, the vehicle erroneously slipped out of gear and jolted. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic where it was confirmed that the spark plugs, engine head gasket, and trans range sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for the same failure on several occasions. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 45,000 and the current mileage was 45,500.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #4

Nov 222012

Forenza

  • 70,000 miles
Started car put it into reverse to back out, aloud "clunk" noise was maid and the car had trouble accelerating. Not it often slips into neutral while driving or will only accelerate in third.

- Va Beach, VA, USA

problem #3

Nov 162012

Forenza 4-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
In less than 2 months, I've had to replace several parts of my car that I don't believe is part of regular service maintenance. Thermostat, coolant hose, spark plugs (twice in a year), brake lights and headlight bulbs (replaced twice in a year), transmission control module and motor mounts because of the tcm that made my car jerk all the time whenever I accelerate. Either at a traffic light or on the freeway, my car hesitates to accelerate and jerks every time I shift gears. Now, possibly the transmission range sensor needs to be replaced (I am currently in the process with this one). I'm afraid in the next few months, I'll be spending more on car repairs than the car is worth and it's only a 2008!

- San Diego , CA, USA

problem #2

Sep 142012

Forenza 4-cyl

  • 38,370 miles
The car will not come up to speed when pulling into traffic. Transmission jerks violently and car will not speed up to enter traffic safely. Turn the car off service light goes away, back into traffic and same issue. Car will not go to speed to enter traffic safely!

- Rio Rancho, NM, USA

problem #1

Jul 102012

Forenza 4-cyl

  • 73,000 miles
I am thinking our transmission range sensor went out on our 2008 Suzuki Forenza with over 70,000 miles. Car check engine light was on for a few days, then turned off about 3 days ago, stopped at drug store, when I turned on the car, the check engine light was back on, put car in reverse and clunk, while the display where the R for reverse would have been was scrambled, car still reversed. Clunked into drive, and wouldn't switch out of 1st gear.

- St Louis, MO, USA

Not what you are looking for?