Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Electrical System Problems

2.1

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
76,968 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Suzuki Grand Vitara electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Suzuki Grand Vitara:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Suzuki Grand Vitara Owner Comments

problem #10

Jul 012016

Grand Vitara

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought my 07 Suzuki Grand vitara in 2008. Since I have owned this vehicle I have had to replace the low beam headlights about every 3-4 months. The lights even after being replaced will flicker and turn off. I have to open the hood and wiggle the light to come back on. The connectors on the headlights have become overheated and mealted. Once while driving I smelled smoke, after opening the hood I realized it was the headlight. I have been pulled over several times because my headlight(s) have turned off while driving. I have had to drive multiple times with the high beams. Also the low beam headlights are so dim I can barely see a yard infront of my vehicle while driving. These are all serious safety hazards and even life threatening if the headlights were to catch fire.

- Ingram, TX, USA

problem #9

Dec 312015

Grand Vitara

  • 124,000 miles
12/31/15 -- outside temp approx 8 deg F, vehicle defroster failed to actuate, windshield froze over internally worse & worse, finally resorted to use ice scraper on inside of windshield while driver continued on state hwy. Heated air was coming out dash vents, floor, but not a whiff from defroster. Was on the way to a hospital, kept driving til about 12 miles along suddenly defroster vents actuated, blowing heated air like crazy. But had I not been along, spouse would have been hard-pressed to safely pull off or get to surgery appointment. Since heat was blowing out of other vents, indicates actuator fault. Problem not diagnosed, not sure if temp.-related or intermittent fault. In snowstorm or at night could have become really serious event (recently purchased used, not sure of history) 124000 miles

- Dacono, CO, USA

problem #8

Aug 252014

Grand Vitara 6-cyl

  • 146,665 miles
Vehicle sitting in drive. Started vehicle put in reverse and backed out of drive. Put vehicle in drive and it went dead but was rolling...no control, power steering out no brakes.. let vehicle roll to end of street and pressed harder on brakes and it stopped. Put vehicle in park..turned off switch...attempted to start again and put the vehicle in drive and the engine stopped running again. Turned the air off and restarted the engine and put in drive and it ran but the gas pedal was more sensitive than usual got to the house and put in park and put on E-brake. Waited for a couple of hours and started the engine and tried to release parking brake but it would not release. Turned the air on with car running and it died again without shifting into drive. Restarted the car and put in reverse to see if it would die again and the car tried to die so I put in park and cut the engine off and parking brake would still not release.

- Russellville, AL, USA

problem #7

Jan 042013

Grand Vitara 6-cyl

  • 92,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a recall notice regarding the air bags malfunction in the early part of 2014. In fact my air bag light stays on and will not turn off. I took my car to the recommended dealer, and waited 3 hours, while the dealer (big red) tried to sell me another car for all that time, only to be told 3 hours later that they didn't have the part to repair this problem. This was done in March 2014 and to date - July 2014 as of this letter, I still haven┐┐T been notified that they ever received the part, so this condition remains unfixed. Report receipt date: Sep 06, 2013 NHTSA campaign number: 13V405000 component(s): Air bags could you please also help me with this, I noticed that I have replaced the same head lights over 4 times in one year, the last time the light went out the gentleman at oreily's showed me that the headlamp switch was burnt, and told me there must be some electrical problem with the switch and to be very careful. I did read where there are recalls for problems with overheating headlamp switch and module that poses a risk of fire. Date of incident: 02/12/2013 NHTSA id number: 10618387 component(s): Exterior lighting lastly I have a transfer case problem and the car gets stuck in 4WD has anything to do with the power train recall? all my 4WD lights are blinking, I was just wondering if you knew if these problems maybe related. Report receipt date: Dec 07, 2007 NHTSA campaign number: 07V554000 component(s): Power train

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #6

Mar 042014

Grand Vitara

  • 115,503 miles
I received a recall notice regarding the air bags malfunction in the early part of 2014. In fact my air bag light stays on and will not turn off. I took my car to the recommended dealer, and waited 3 hours, while the dealer (big red) tried to sell me another car for all that time, only to be told 3 hours later that they didn"T have the part to repair this problem. This was done in March 2014 and to date - July 2014 as of this letter, I still haven"T been notified that they ever received the part, so this condition remains unfixed. Report receipt date: Sept 06, 2013 NHTSA campaign number: 13V405000 component(s): Air bags could you please also help me with this, I noticed that I have replaced the same head lights over 4 times in one year, the last time the light went out the gentleman at O'reily's showed me that the headlamp switch was burnt, and told me there must be some electrical problem with the switch and to be very careful. I did read where there are recalls for problems with overheating headlamp switch and module that poses a risk of fire. Please help me with these issues, where I can go to get these things repaired, and not just waste my time with a dealer who is just trying to sell cars and not fix the recalls, by the way I did call before I came and scheduled an appointment, so they knew what I came for and they told me to bring the car in for the recall of the air bag situation. Lastly do you think it is possible that my transfer case has anything to do with the power train recall? currently my car is still under dealer warranty so they are covering this repair, I was just wondering if you knew if these problems maybe related. Any help you can give will be greatly appreciated! report receipt date: Dec 07, 2007 NHTSA campaign number: 07V554000 component(s): Power train

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #5

Feb 192014

Grand Vitara 6-cyl

  • 86,500 miles
The bulbs in my headlamps constantly need replacing. I have replaced them on average twice a year since I purchased the vehicle, which has increased in frequency the last two years to 5 month intervals. I have a standing relationship with my electrician/mechanic, who almost knows me on a first name basis. He never finds anything wrong, in terms of a short in the wires.....just continues to change the bulbs and pocket my money. This last time both bulbs blew out within a week of one another. There was one instance when I was unaware that a bulb had blown and incurred a "fix it" ticket. There should definitely be a recall for this issue, as I suspect there is either a short or outright flaw in the electrical system.

- San Bernardino, CA, USA

problem #4

Sep 032013

Grand Vitara

  • 77,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The low beam headlights in our Suzuki Grand vitara went out completely. I have had problems before with a single bulb burning out which I replaced. They are burning out much more rapidly now and becoming a constant problem of having to replace the low beam headlights. Now, both low beam headlights stopped working the other day as we were driving back at night which forced me to use my high beam headlights to get home safely. I have researched online and have seen that this is a common problem many Suzuki owners are having but Suzuki is refusing to acknowledge it and put out a recall on the issue.

- Smithville, MO, USA

problem #3

Jun 192013

Grand Vitara

  • miles
My headlight has blown out 3 times within 6 months. I have replaced them but now I tried to replace my headlight and it won't work, my headlight doesn't even come on. I am thinking its the wiring and I looked online and I seen that multiple people have had this same problem. It is crazy because I shouldn't have to replace my headlight that many times in a year. I contacted Suzuki and they said they can't help me without making me pay the amount, I shouldn't have to pay for this parts and labor when they are aware of this problem because they said they have heard that before.

- Garfield , AR, USA

problem #2

May 022011

Grand Vitara 4WD 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Low beam headlamps keep blowing every 2 months or so, bulb brand does not seem to effect longevity. It is extremely dangerous when the bulbs blow and you live out in the county where it's pitch black at night!!! and then have to switch to high beams and blind other drivers!!! just to get to a safe place to replace the bulbs. Will never own another Suzuki again and can't wait to afford to trade this death trap off!!!!!!!!!!!!! Suzuki dealer says "it is normal"

- Nicholasville, KY, USA

problem #1

Jun 102011

Grand Vitara

  • 67,112 miles
After noticing that the airbag light which monitors inflators, crash sensors, seat belt pretension, the front passenger sensing system, and corresponding electrical circuits stayed on after starting the car, I took it to the Suzuki dealer. After they inspected it, they told me that the problem was a sensor in the driver seat. He told me me that the sensor was inside the drivers seat and that the drivers seat with the sensor inside would cost $1,984.42 plus labor. I contacted the Suzuki main offices in brea, ca who offered to replace the whole assembly at a cost to me for a total of $300. I don't think I should pay for that since it is a manufacturer's defect and the differences in price between the dealer and the manufacturer means that they own the responsibility. I am now driving with the sensor light on and the airbag may or may not deploy because of this. 06/

- Miami, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?