Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Air Bags Problems

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
58,219 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Suzuki Grand Vitara seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Suzuki Grand Vitara:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Suzuki Grand Vitara Owner Comments

problem #14

May 182012

Grand Vitara

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I see that you have recalls on some vehicles for the daytime headlights over heating. It is also happening on the 07 Suzuki Grand vitara. I have to replace my headlights at least once a year from the over heating issue and it also has a rubber burning smell. If my vehicle is recalled how do I go about getting it fixed if I havent even got called for even the past recalls on my vehicle like the airbag reccall... please inform me on how to do so.

- Ragland, AL, USA

problem #13

Jan 042013

Grand Vitara 6-cyl

  • 92,900 miles
I received a recall notice regarding the air bags malfunction in the early part of 2014. In fact my air bag light stays on and will not turn off. I took my car to the recommended dealer, and waited 3 hours, while the dealer (big red) tried to sell me another car for all that time, only to be told 3 hours later that they didn't have the part to repair this problem. This was done in March 2014 and to date - July 2014 as of this letter, I still haven┐┐T been notified that they ever received the part, so this condition remains unfixed. Report receipt date: Sep 06, 2013 NHTSA campaign number: 13V405000 component(s): Air bags could you please also help me with this, I noticed that I have replaced the same head lights over 4 times in one year, the last time the light went out the gentleman at oreily's showed me that the headlamp switch was burnt, and told me there must be some electrical problem with the switch and to be very careful. I did read where there are recalls for problems with overheating headlamp switch and module that poses a risk of fire. Date of incident: 02/12/2013 NHTSA id number: 10618387 component(s): Exterior lighting lastly I have a transfer case problem and the car gets stuck in 4WD has anything to do with the power train recall? all my 4WD lights are blinking, I was just wondering if you knew if these problems maybe related. Report receipt date: Dec 07, 2007 NHTSA campaign number: 07V554000 component(s): Power train

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #12

Mar 042014

Grand Vitara

  • 115,503 miles
I received a recall notice regarding the air bags malfunction in the early part of 2014. In fact my air bag light stays on and will not turn off. I took my car to the recommended dealer, and waited 3 hours, while the dealer (big red) tried to sell me another car for all that time, only to be told 3 hours later that they didn"T have the part to repair this problem. This was done in March 2014 and to date - July 2014 as of this letter, I still haven"T been notified that they ever received the part, so this condition remains unfixed. Report receipt date: Sept 06, 2013 NHTSA campaign number: 13V405000 component(s): Air bags could you please also help me with this, I noticed that I have replaced the same head lights over 4 times in one year, the last time the light went out the gentleman at O'reily's showed me that the headlamp switch was burnt, and told me there must be some electrical problem with the switch and to be very careful. I did read where there are recalls for problems with overheating headlamp switch and module that poses a risk of fire. Please help me with these issues, where I can go to get these things repaired, and not just waste my time with a dealer who is just trying to sell cars and not fix the recalls, by the way I did call before I came and scheduled an appointment, so they knew what I came for and they told me to bring the car in for the recall of the air bag situation. Lastly do you think it is possible that my transfer case has anything to do with the power train recall? currently my car is still under dealer warranty so they are covering this repair, I was just wondering if you knew if these problems maybe related. Any help you can give will be greatly appreciated! report receipt date: Dec 07, 2007 NHTSA campaign number: 07V554000 component(s): Power train

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #11

Mar 162012

Grand Vitara

  • 38,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Suzuki Grand vitara. The contact stated that the air bag warning light was illuminated. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V405000 (air bags) however, the recall had surpassed a reasonable timeframe for repair. The dealer stated that the part was not available. The manufacture was not contacted. The vehicle the not repaired. The failure mileage was 38,000 and the current mileage was 61,000. The VIN was not available.

- Aibonito, PR, USA

problem #10

Oct 212010

Grand Vitara 6-cyl

  • 37,269 miles
On October 2010, our vehicle turner on the airbag signal. It was determined that the passenger seat sensor was faulty. The part was out of warranty thus having to pay $1700 for the part and $107 for the installation. Early this year I am getting the same alarm again in an intermittent fashion. Now looking in the internet I found that this is a faulty part due to manufacturing errors. This is a frustrating issue. And now seems that nothing can be done. Why doesn't the Japan corporation is liable for this. Now I have to risk the life of my family because I cannot afford to pay the same amount again for a factory faulty part.

- Aguada, PR, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #9

May 072013

Grand Vitara 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
The air bag sensor in my Suzuki Grand vitara 2007 does not register when an adult sits in the seat. The passenger airbag turns itself off. Having takin the car to the dealer and was informed in order to fix I would have pay over 2,000 dollars to have the passenger seat replaced. Now a few months later, the passenger seat belt light stays on whenever anyone sits in the front seat as well as the air bag light on the dash even though the seat belt is buckled in.. this is a common problem with Suzuki Grand vitaras. They refused to cover the seat and sensor under warranty when the problem first occurred and I do not have the 2,000 to replace the seat so I have had to deal with it... had to learn how to adjust my self in the seat so that sensor would work properly but now it seems the seatbelt system is also failing. I think Suzuki should have to recall these vehicles and fix this safety issue. I found 100S of complaints online for the same exact problem. Now I can't even sell or trade in my vehicle because of this problem due to safety issues unless I pay the 2,000 to have the seat replaced.. now I fear my airbags and or seatbelt may not work in the event of an accident.. why is Suzuki not being held responsible for this design flaw. This is not the fault of the consumers and Suzuki should have to pay for repairs via a recall..

- Louisville , KY, USA

problem #8

Dec 302010

Grand Vitara 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Several years ago, the warning/reminder lights for the passenger seat belt and airbag came on and would not go off. I call the dealer and ask about any recalls, I was told that there were no recalls for this specific problem and I would have to pay to have the car diagnosed and repaired. Last year, I had my car service at jack phelan Suzuki in countryside, il and inquired about it again. I was told the same thing; I would be responsible for the repair. I recently received notification from Suzuki about the same problem and they would repair at no cost to me, provided that the vehicle is less than 10 years old or less than 120,000 miles. My car has 155,00 miles. I called and asked if they would make an exception and was told no. I reported this problem and they were well aware of this problem and now are refusing to fix it. I think they should repair it, as they have known about this issue from other owners besides myself. I don't know where else to go to for help and would really appreciate some assistance with this.

- Naperville, IL, USA

problem #7

Dec 162011

Grand Vitara

  • 34,300 miles
The passenger seat weight sensor indicates no weight in the seat and the yellow light on the console is on. A passenger can be in the seat with the seat belt buckled and the light indicates the passenger air bag is off. It also indicates on the dashboard with a red light that all the air bags are disabled. I have researched this on the internet and this is also common on the 2006 model also. It is happening to many 2006 and 2007 Grand vitara Suzuki vehicles. It is a common problem for these vehicles and is a safety hazard. Suzuki wants over 1600.00- $2000 dollars to repair the problem. They informed me the warranty has expired after 36 months or 36000 miles. The parts to fix this problem is a dealer stock item only. Will it take many deaths for Suzuki to recall this and fix the problem. We need the help of the NHTSA because Suzuki will not take the responsibility nor admit that this a design fault for these vehicles. I am sure you have many reports of this issue and we the owners of these vehicles need relief. We cannot trade in these vehicles without having the expensive repairs made. While trying to trade in my vehicle the first question was is the air bag lights on in the dash and on the console. If the dealerships are aware of the problem and want the repairs done Suzuki knows there is a flaw in the seat weight modules, please help the many owners of these vehicles. I am the original owner of this vehicle and only have 37000 miles on my car. Will it take an injury, crash or fire to force Suzuki to recall this problem. I am afraid to drive this vehicle and only do so to go shopping or doctor appointments. I am disabled and cannot afford 1600-2000 dollars to repair something that Suzuki knows is a problem with all of these vehicles.

- Brooksville, FL, USA

problem #6

May 282012

Grand Vitara

  • 129,234 miles
Started car and air bag light first blinked like it was suppose to and went off. Went to put car in gear and notice the light was on again and this time it did not go out. Then a few minutes later I notice the passenger side seat belt light was on also and no one was present in that seat. On research on the internet I have learned this is a major problems with Suzuki owners of different models. A lot of vehicles with less miles then my vehicle, I can not get my car inspected or even trade it in with the light on and told it could cost me up to $1400 to fix. Of course Suzuki does not care this has become a money maker for them. There has to be a defect in the air bag system they placed in the vehicles for so many people to be having the same problem. Of course the biggest problem is now the air bag are not going to work in a crash. Please check into this for all us Suzuki owners who are trapped.. I understand the sensor for the air bags are in the seat.

- North Garden, VA, USA

problem #5

Jun 102011

Grand Vitara

  • 67,112 miles
After noticing that the airbag light which monitors inflators, crash sensors, seat belt pretension, the front passenger sensing system, and corresponding electrical circuits stayed on after starting the car, I took it to the Suzuki dealer. After they inspected it, they told me that the problem was a sensor in the driver seat. He told me me that the sensor was inside the drivers seat and that the drivers seat with the sensor inside would cost $1,984.42 plus labor. I contacted the Suzuki main offices in brea, ca who offered to replace the whole assembly at a cost to me for a total of $300. I don't think I should pay for that since it is a manufacturer's defect and the differences in price between the dealer and the manufacturer means that they own the responsibility. I am now driving with the sensor light on and the airbag may or may not deploy because of this. 06/

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #4

Apr 202011

Grand Vitara

  • 37,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Suzuki Grand vitara. The contact was involved in a head on collision and the air bags did not deploy. The contact was at a complete stop when the collision occurred and did not know how fast the other vehicle was traveling. The vehicle was towed to an auto body shop to be repaired, but had not been inspected. The failure and current mileages were 37,000.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #3

Mar 172011

Grand Vitara

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Suzuki Grand vitara. The contact stated the air bag light permanently illuminated on the dashboard. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and was told that the air bag sensor light needed to be replaced and would require the dealer to replace the passenger seat. The failure mileage was 85,000 and the current mileage was 90,000.

- Medford, NJ, USA

problem #2

Nov 052010

Grand Vitara

  • 35,750 miles
Own a Suzuki Grand vitara 2007, in November 2008 the airbag passenger seat sensor fail, Suzuki replaced it, on 2009 December it fail again they replaced it, on 2010 it fail again this time they told me the warranty has expire, they ask me for $1000 for it. I been searching the internet and this is a common problem that is happening to 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009 and think 2010 SUV. I think this is a malfunction of the part or other electrical issue. This could lead to airbag malfunction in a crash or unexpected airbag deployment, resulting in injury to the passenger. They have to fix this at no cost.

- Saint Just, PR, USA

problem #1

Mar 312008

Grand Vitara 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Suzuki Grand vitara. The contact stated that she had to replace the sway bushings on her front and rear tires. All four tires on her vehicle became worn at 20,000 miles and the repair technicians were unable to determine the cause of the failure. The air pressure indicator continues to illuminate on the tires. The air bag sensor on the passenger side remains illuminated and does not dim. In addition, the vehicle vibrates when driving more than 40 mph. The failure mileage was 25,000. U pdated 04/24/09. The latch on the back door was loose. Updated 04/29/09.

- Richmond, VA, USA

Not what you are looking for?