Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Air Bags Problems

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,421 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Suzuki Reno seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Suzuki Reno:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Suzuki Reno Owner Comments

problem #10

Jun 112013

Reno

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My airbag lights turned on for my driver's airbag and the passenger airbag. We we had the car serviced, the sensors under the seats were disengaged. No recall. A few months later the lights came on again for both seats. We were in an accident that month and the airbags did not deploy.

- Portland , OR, USA

problem #9

Oct 232007

Reno 4-cyl

  • 20,788 miles
Air bag light has been on almost continuously since October 2007 (vehicle purchased new in June 2006). Dealer in Nevada checked vehicle October 2007 (mileage 20,788), found codes B1102 low battery voltage and B1378 drivers side resistance too high. Cleared codes, tightened connector under passenger seat (no cost); light was off for about a week then back on. Dealer advised I should just snug up the connector under passenger seat to resolve indicator light and I did this regularly for several years until light wouldn't go out anymore. March 2011 (mileage 62,751) dealer in Washington checked car, found codes B1382 right side resistance and B1378 left front side resistance. Cleared codes, cleaned, tightened, and added stabilizer to connectors (charged $105); light was off about 2 days then back on. Air bag light has been on ever since (currently 94,950 miles as of November 18, 2014).

- Seatac, WA, USA

problem #8

Apr 092010

Reno 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
My 2006 Reno has had airbag light on all the time for years. It has been reset multiple times, only to come on again. What's entirely wrong with the current airbag recall that the NHTSA is currently having is the fact Suzuki ( GM ) is trying to say it only effects grand vitara's and SX4's. I beg to differ. This company new all along the airbag problem existed, just check some of the old Suzuki problem bulletins 4&5 years ago. And it's not only 290,000 vehicles and/or only 2 models. This recall should absolutely be increased to cover Reno's, forenza's etc;. these companies don't buy separate airbag components, they buy bulk ( its just cost effective.) any fifth grader knows that. Again this recall needs to be looked into much further then 2 vehicles. And now with all the dealers gone you have no recourse to solve their inferior components problem, so once again the working man takes the hit ! fyi, rich people weren't buying these cars hard working people were !

- Ronkonkoma, NY, USA

problem #7

Feb 012008

Reno

  • 14,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Suzuki Reno. The contact stated that the passenger abd driver's side air bag warning lights remained illuminated. The vehicle was previously taken to the dealer for the air bag failure. The dealer replaced the passenger front seat cushing assembly however, the failure was not corrected. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer for further inspection. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 14,000 and the failure mileage was 121,437.

- Smthville , MS, USA

problem #6

Jun 262013

Reno 4-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Suzuki Reno. The contact stated that the driver's side air bag warning light continued to illuminate. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis where it was stated that the air bag kit needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Pensacola , FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #5

Jul 252012

Reno 4-cyl

  • 109,926 miles
Air bag light is on air bag is on will not reset talk to dealership said it would cost $700 to fix. I think it should be fix on recall. Unsafe condition indicates unsafe airbag would not deploy.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #4

May 102006

Reno 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Suzuki Reno. When the contact started the vehicle, the air bag and engine warning indicators began to illuminate on the instrument panel continuously. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the air bag sensor was replaced. The failure recurred two weeks after the vehicle was repaired. The vehicle was not repaired a second time. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 36,000. Updated 06/06/12 the consumer stated there is also a failure with the seat belt. The transmission failed 1 year after the vehicle was purchased. Updated 06/07/12

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #3

Nov 032008

Reno

  • 12,000 miles
Air bag lights repeatedly turn on even after recommended fixes. The current tsb out there is an out of pocket fix for the consumer in spite of issue while under warranty. Now that the vehicle is out of warranty it is cost prohibitive to continue "fixing" the airbag when the light comes back on a few days later. Two years of airbag issues and still not resolved.

- Tempe, AZ, USA

problem #2

Apr 282010

Reno

  • 41,495 miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) the airbag light is on with my 2006 Suzuki Reno. VIN # [xxx]. you have issued at a technical service bulletin #TS0501158 NHTSA item #10024195 which warns of this item being related to an overpressure airbag. However, the dealerships do not have record of a recall. This, in my estimation is very severe safety issue. Please intiate a recall expeditiously.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #1

Jul 172007

Reno 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Suzuki Reno. While driving 65 mph, the contact's vehicle was rear ended by another vehicle. The contact's vehicle swerved into oncoming traffic and was struck by a semi-vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy and no warning indicators illuminated. The contact has pictures and a police report was filed. The consumers son sustained neck, back, and shoulder injuries. The current and failure mileages were 50,000.

- Atwater, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?