Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Electrical System Problems


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
69,047 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Suzuki Reno electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Suzuki Reno:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Suzuki Reno Owner Comments

problem #12

Apr 012015


  • miles


Takata recall: The steering wheel light keep coming on and off. Im not sure why, I keep fluid in the tube. The engine light never goes off. This all happenedes in April 2015 at the house address the car first purchased.

- Apopka, FL, USA

problem #11

Nov 092015


  • 90,000 miles
The contact owned a 2007 Suzuki Reno. While the vehicle was parked with the ignition switch in the on position, the vehicle caught fire. The contact extinguished the fire. The vehicle was destroyed. There was no police report filed. The VIN was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 90,000.

- Fort Piers, FL, USA

problem #10

Aug 272015


  • 180,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Suzuki Reno. While driving approximately 70 mph, the low beam headlights began turning on and off. The contact stopped on the side of the road. When she turned off and restarted the vehicle, it resumed normal operation. The vehicle was driven to the contact's residence. The vehicle was never diagnosed or repaired. The contact also stated that a recall notification was received for NHTSA campaign number: 14V262000 (exterior lighting). The approximate failure mileage was 180,000.

- High Pointe, NC, USA

problem #9

Aug 012015

Reno 4-cyl

  • 101,000 miles


Electric locks continue to cycle on and off, not in complete movement or circuit on and off cycles, causing undue load on alternator, and causing the car to stall out, occasionally even at a zero speed, or in reverse...updated 10-26-15 given the poor electrical history of this model car, I formally request a recall in regards to this safety issue, as the doors could lock or unlock at any given time. Furthermore, the wiring harness for the daytime running lights, that was recalled by nhsta, has been replaced previous to this incident. And the day or time that this problem started.

- Rome, GA, USA

problem #8

Oct 122009


  • 26,083 miles
Issue noted: A hesitation/loss of power while driving resulting in rapid deceleration and no response from the acceleration pedal/throttle. Several "pumps" of the pedal were required and after some coasting, the vehicle accelerator would respond again. Issue noted as being worse in warmer temperatures and also when driving on hills/inclines. Issue creates a major safety concern when pulling into or across lanes with traffic as the issue may reoccur at any time. On the first occurrence of this issue (10-12-09), vehicle was taken into dealership w/ hesitation and loss of power. The throttle body was replaced at that time with part#13400-85Z20. Issue reoccurred (06/09/11) and dealership checked electrical connections/ground wires, etc. And applied stabliant 22 to terminals. Issue reoccurred (08/24/11) and throttle body was replaced again with part# 13400-85Z21. Issue reoccurred (01/25/12) and was taken to an import specialist that suspected the foot pedal sensor (est. Cost 350.00). Subsequent service at dealership included wiring/signal correlation work between throttle body and foot pedal sensor. Issue is reoccurring now (07/07/15) and after $1597.22 in repair costs since 2007 with this issue, I am hesitant to spend more money on a poorly engineered product that the manufacturer refuses to accept responsibility for by issuing a recall (similar complaints noted on this site and online.)

- Bella Vista, AR, USA

problem #7

Nov 012014


  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Suzuki Reno. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle loss acceleration power. The contact mentioned that the speed decreased to 25 mph. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, where the failure was unable to be duplicated. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 98,000. The VIN was not available.

- Roanoke , AL, USA

problem #6

Aug 042014


  • 50,154 miles


On 07/21/2014 vehicle daytime running lights would not turn off after turning off vehicle and removing key from the ignition. Five (5) months later and two (2) recall letters from Suzuki, the issue has not been resolved.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #5

Oct 232013


  • 83,000 miles
Warning light for air bag system came on and stays on, and I have not been in an accident and the car fax for this car shows no accident where airbags where used, at any time in the past. Called pugmire Suzuki, in marietta, ga. And they advised they would not fix it under warranty, since it was an electrical part, and that I would have no use of airbags, until it was diagnosed for 100 dollars and then repaired for an unknown amount that is more than the 100 dollars, and I decided not to go and get it fixed because it is 70 miles to the nearest dealer, and therefore dangerous to drive there with no air bag use possible. This should be paid for by the car maker, because it is a dangerous defect.

- Rome, GA, USA

problem #4

Aug 132013


  • 85,465 miles
I own 2007 Suzuki Reno since this year. Car was running good now its has 85600 miles on it approximately. I haven't had any issue but since last six month, my transmission range sensor causing lots of problem I already spent $350 for repair but now I replaced it second time. When I search online and go to Suzuki forum I see lots of owner of Suzuki having same issue that I am having. Below is the link where you can see so many people already having same issue that I am having. I need your help to resolve this issue with the company. If Suzuki can install original parts that would be fine. I have already spent lots of money for this specific issue.

- Overland Park, KS, USA

problem #3

Jun 272012


  • 47,857 miles
Going into reverse heard and felt a hard loud clunk. Check engine light came on and car bare ly moved. Kept slipping in to neutral on highway top shop. Had checked transmission range sensor

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #2

May 092012


  • 67,000 miles
Car check engine light was on for a few days, then turned off. When I turned on the car, the check engine light was back on, put car in reverse and clunk, while the display where the R for reverse would have been was scrambled, car still reversed. Clunked into drive, and wouldn't switch out of 1st gear. This occurs sporadically. Check engine code signaled transmission range sensor malfunction. There are many other occurrences for the same model year which occurs around 70000 miles.

- Absecon, NJ, USA

problem #1

Sep 012010


  • miles
Hi, I have a 2007 Suzuki Reno, after 20,000 miles the transmission range sensor broke, they fixed it for me at the dealer. And now 10,000 miles later it broke again. I believe this shouldn't be normal, when this breaks, its a hassle for the car to drive properly. And its potential hazardous if the car can accelerate properly.

- Hialeah, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?