Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Air Bags Problems

2007 Suzuki SX4 (Page 1 of 3)


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
55,754 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Suzuki SX4 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Suzuki SX4:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Suzuki SX4 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #41

Mar 242015


  • miles


I spoke with the Suzuki recall resolution team (1-855-815-8359) concerning their recall notice due to problems with the front passenger sensing system sensor mat built into the front passenger seat bottom cushion. The nearest approved location for this repair is 91 miles from my home in reno, at people's folsom lake Suzuki, folson ca 95630. I requested that the repair be made in the reno area or that I be reimbursed for mileage (irs rate $0.575/mile) and time (estimated at 6 hours at my billable rate.) I was told that I would have to pay for the work to have it done in reno and that they would not reimburse me for mileage and time. They said they would keep my information on file and notify me if they decided to have the repair done in a location closer to reno.

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #40

Feb 032014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Suzuki SX4. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign id number: 13V405000 (air bags). However, the parts were not available. The dealer could not repair the vehicle for seven months since the parts were not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue.

- Thornton, CO, USA

problem #39

Nov 202013

SX4 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Suzuki SX4. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 10V513000 (visibility) and NHTSA campaign number: 13V405000 (air bags) had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repairs. The dealer stated the parts were not available for repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact did not experience any failure. Updated 8/12/14 updated 09/5/2014

- Fall River, MA, USA

problem #38

Apr 072014

SX4 4-cyl

  • 145,000 miles


I got in the car, started it up and the air bag light came on with the passengers restraint light. I ran a scan and the seat sensor failed. 2 grand to repair it. No one sits on this side. I'm the original owner and I baby the heck out of this car. This stinks. Now its become a safety issue.

- Afton, TN, USA

problem #37

Apr 032014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Suzuki SX4. The contact stated that he attempted to have his vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V405000 (air bags ) but was informed that the parts were not available. The contact stated that since the failure was reported in September of 2013, there should be a remedy available before April of 2014 and that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. There are no failures at this time.

- Dundee, OR, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #36

Mar 102014

SX4 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Airbag light is on, does not go off, also seatbelt sign for passenger side is on.

- Montreal Nord, CA, USA

problem #35

Nov 202013


  • 13,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Suzuki sx-4. the contact stated that whenever starting the engine, the air bag warning indicator was illuminated continuously. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number 13V405000 (air bags) however, the contact was not able to have the vehicle serviced because the needed part was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 13,000.

- Harrisonburg, VA, USA

problem #34

Jan 212014

SX4 4-cyl

  • 199,000 miles
Bought car brand new in 2007, had no problems with it except rear wheel bearing. At about 102,000 miles I had an air bag light come on for driver side, to costly to get repaired. Then at about 160,000 miles my front passenger air bag light came on. Recently I had received notification for recall for air bag problem. Called many dealerships tristate to my area, and they all told me there are no parts available.the state of West Virginia is now enforcing inspection codes, and I cannot get my car inspected. I called number on recall card, and it seems that they are reading from a cue card and offered no help at all.I was forced to buy another car, which cannot really afford at this time, dealer offered me $500 for my Suzuki, which to me was an insult.he explained that it was due to airbag situation, and they would have to send car to auction, believing they would not get much for car. I declined offer and car is sitting in driveway, Suzuki should be responsible for putting me back in debt!

- Follansbee, WV, USA

problem #33

Oct 022012


  • 54,000 miles
Ok where do I begin, I have had this car for 5 yrs., and it is a piece of crap. The air conditioner leaks water inside the car, I had it blown out and it didn't help, the power steering pump leaks, I don't have any power steering, the air bag light stays on. I paid 15,000 for this car, I feel its a lemon, but can't prove it, cause I don't have receipts from the last 12months. Does anybody else have these problems. I'm just sick of it, I know I got ripped off. What can I do about it, I will never buy another Suzuki.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #32

Dec 182012

SX4 4-cyl

  • 175,000 miles
Air bag sensor failure on passenger side front seat.

- Marshfield, VT, USA

problem #31

Mar 012013

SX4 4-cyl

  • 194,000 miles


Passenger air bag sensor is bad. Sensor is on and nobody can tell me why except to buy a new seat. I already replace the drivers seat due to same issue.

- Marshfield, VT, USA

problem #30

Mar 232008


  • 2,850 miles
Vehicle purchased new on 10/30/2007, and serviced regularly at local dealer. Initial reports of "passenger air bag" light ignored repeatedly by dealer. On 3/23/2008 while vehicle was moving it was backed into by a Toyota Camry. The Camry had minimal damage, but the Suzuki sustained more than $4700 in damage. Numerous calls to police ensue and finally after 2 hours, a Florida hwy. Patrol officer responds. He refused to make/take a report as his shift is about to end. He had a very demeaning attitude and was quite agitated. While injuries were sustained, no one knew the extent of them at the time of the incident. None of the 7 airbags deployed and the airbag light never came on. The car itself was severely damaged and almost tipped completely over onto its roof. The passenger later learned that the reason for her severe pain and inability to walk 3 weeks after the accident was due to a severed hip joint. Of course the Camry driver's geico insurance handled the initial claim and repaired the Suzuki. They balked at the injuries, but after retaining counsel finally paid out a small portion on the medical; the passenger has permanent life long problems as a result, lost her job and has a large partially unpaid medical bill. The vehicle was "okay" after the repair and then at 51310 miles the "air bag" light came on and stayed on. Reports to NHTSA and Suzuki went completely ignored since there were not enough Suzuki's sold. Suzuki advised owner to continue making car payments, insurance premiums etc., but do not drive vehicle as they would not be responsible for injuries now that they were aware. What a complete joke! owner had to sell car as transportation was needed; why make payments on something you can't drive. GM owned the Suzuki division at the time and have since closed the Suzuki division. They again got off while others suffer for the rest of their lives!

- Ocala, FL, USA

problem #29

Feb 062013


  • 72,463 miles
As others have related the air bag warning light(s) has appeared on my car also now. As others have written theirs was mainly the driver seat sensors failing. The minor difference of my issue is that both seats air bag warning lights came on and will not go away at the same time. This fact does add up to the sensors in each seat failing at exactly the same time. Suzuki repair departments are claiming individual seat sensor issues. Something else is wrong here and this should become a defect investigation before someone dies due to the air bags not deploying.

- Gurnee, IL, USA

problem #28

Jul 152009

SX4 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Suzuki SX4. The contact stated that the all bags warning light and the passenger side seat belt warning light remained illuminated. The air bag warning light would illuminate even when the passenger seat was occupied. The contact was told by the manufacturer that there was no way of knowing whether the air bag would deploy in the event of a crash. The contact had been dealing with the failure for four years and had not been offered an adequate repair. The manufacturer sent a good faith extension letter to the contact that stated that the sensor could be repaired for up 10 years or 120,000 miles. The failure mileage was 60,000 and the current mileage was 130,000. Updated 08/03/12 updated 08/06/12

- Mahopac, NY, USA

problem #27

Sep 012010


  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Suzuki SX4. The contact stated that after crashing into a deer, the passenger air bag warning lamp illuminated and the air bags did not deploy. A police report was not filed and no injuries were reported. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who diagnosed that the passenger seat air bag sensor was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 40,000 and current mileage was 60,000.

- Saxonburg, PA, USA

problem #26

Apr 062012

SX4 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Suzuki SX4. The contact stated that the air bag sensor illuminated on the instrument panel while driving 50 mph. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and the dealer stated that air bag control module sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 61,000 and the current mileage was 62,200. The consumer was informed the rear axle was leaking oil. The air bag and seat belt light illuminated while driving. The dealer informed the consumer the seat sensor failed and it would cost $1300 to replace the passenger side seat bottom unit. The rear differential was leaking. The catalytic converter had to be replaced for the second time, due to premature failure. Updated 05/23/12

- Tacoma , WA, USA

problem #25

Sep 232011


  • 70,000 miles
At approximately 70,000 miles the airbag light came on. A computer diagnostic showed that the sensor in the passenger seat cushion needed to be replaced. This is the sensor which senses whether or not a person is sitting in the seat and in the case of an accident tells the airbag to deploy. The state in which I live requires safety inspections which the vehicle will not pass if the airbag light is on. The failure of an airbag deployment is considered a safety issue by my state laws and should be considered a safety issue with the manufacturer of this vehicle.

- Paauilo, HI, USA

problem #24

Mar 092012


  • 56,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Suzuki SX4. The contact stated that the passenger side air bag and seat belt warning lights illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and was advised that the cushion for the passenger seat needed to be replaced because the sensor failed. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 56,000 and the current mileage was 56,200.

- Bronk, NY, USA

problem #23

Feb 072012


  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Suzuki SX4. The contact stated that when starting the vehicle, the air bag light would illuminate and remain illuminated whether a passenger was occupying the seat or not. The vehicle was neither diagnosed nor repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 40,000 and the current mileage was 40,100.

- Wilmington , CT, USA

problem #22

Jan 312012

SX4 4-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
This is a safety issue and I have tried working with Suzuki Corp. And my local dealer. They both say I have to replace it at $1,000. New seat or a used one( which I do not want) for $450. I am on disability and cannot afford a seat. It should be up to Suzuki to replace this at no charge because of a mechanical defect. I love my SX4 and I am very upset that they will not replace the seat.

- Concord, VT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?