Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Electrical System Problems

2.6

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
58,182 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Suzuki XL7 electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Suzuki XL7:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Suzuki XL7 Owner Comments

problem #16

Nov 082016

XL7

  • 178,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I went to turn left this evening departing off of a sharp turn and the car without warning became almost impossible to steer. Meanwhile, another automobile came flying around the turn and barely missed hitting me. It took much arm muscle but I was able to get the car home. This is our only family car and I am not comfortable any longer driving it. Prior to this incident the readings on the dash began acting up and the remote start quit.

- Jewett, OH, USA

problem #15

Apr 152015

XL7

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Suzuki XL7. While driving approximately 25 mph, the temperature gauge abnormally increased and the engine overheated. The contact maneuvered the vehicle to the side of the road and noticed smoke (no flames) under the hood. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the instrument cluster would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #14

Nov 032014

XL7

  • 60,000 miles
It is a shame this vehicle has not been recalled for any of the problems we have encountered. 1. steering wheel is difficult to turn at slow speeds and makes loud rubbing noise. 2. door locks will not unlock using key fob. Have to manually unlock by hand from the inside. I consider this a danger. 3. vehicle will not maintain one speed on its own. Even with cruise control, the car's power decreases. I am petrified to pull out in traffic with this car. 4. sunroof leaked all over into the interior electric due to improper installation from the factory. 5. turn signal switch does not work. 6. heating and cooling system does not work properly. Can only adjust temp if you set it on windshield defrost mode. 7. rear end has strange bang coming from it. Dealer can't determine any problem.

- Land O Lakes , FL, USA

problem #13

Apr 232014

XL7

  • 97,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When put gas in doesn't start has to hold gas pedal down.. driving on hi way going 70mph on interstate 69. Had to come to abrupt stop truck shut off and would not start for few minutes in middle of highway. This has happened twice so far.and sometimes when speeding up it smells like something is burning.theres other stuff but not too major as these are.

- Marion, IN, USA

problem #12

Feb 082008

XL7 6-cyl

  • 15,791 miles
The airbag system had to be replaced at 16,000 miles B/C of warping & the airbags beginning to release. Then, not 1 time but 3 times the visor assembly had to be replaced. At 26,900 miles I reported problems with the gear shift, A/C & radio assembly & this had to be replaced. I reported complaints of hearing a loud noise coming from my steering wheel column when driving & they stated that it was just rubber rubbing up against rubber. After 30,000 miles I took it back & complained & they said it was my steering column & pin that needed to be replaced & my warranty for that part was gone off. I had a problem with my car when I filled it up with gas the car would not crank properly & it ran ruff after putting gas in. The dealership replaced chain assembly, tensioners, timing chain, purge valve & etc. I had problems with the A/C & heat when I turned on the air with the control heat would blow out. I reported the problem but they said they could not duplicate it & that they found nothing. I had problems with the car battery & the mechanics said the battery was fine but I kept having problems with the battery being drained so I replaced the battery & the battery terminals. The electrical system for the passenger seat airbag sensor would not turn on when someone was sitting in the passenger seat the problem was not solved & still occurs. My car had to be towed into the dealership B/C the vehicle shut down due to sludge in my oil even after having my car serviced by a Suzuki dealership since buying the car new. I have reported complaints to Suzuki headquarters but they don't care. I think this vehicle is unsafe and a lemon & people should be compensated for investing in such a defective car. I have paid off the Suzuki & it is not worth trading B/C I can't get anything for it so please help consumers get their money back B/C Suzuki can have this SUV back.

- Lancaster, SC, USA

problem #11

May 302013

XL7 6-cyl

  • 119,000 miles
There are multiple issues with my 2007 XL-7. most recently it's been the smell of burning wires coming from either the steering column or under the dashboard which I will need to get inspected asap. I read one other complaint posted on 2/29/12 stating the same problem of smelling burning wires which ended in the vehicle being engulfed in flames and the family running for their lives. I've already had a so called tune-up from the local dealer about 1 1/2 years ago, but I now have issues starting the vehicle when I get gas. I have to pump the gas pedal multiple times in order to start the SUV and then it's a rough idle until I start driving. I get the oil change regularly, but was told on the last oil change that I needed a new oil pan gasket because oil was leaking from the pan. I also had my brakes checked 2 years ago and was told by the mechanic that I have uneven brake pads due to the front brake calipers engaging incorrectly or on one side of the rotors. In order to replace the calipers, get new brake pads and turn the rotors on the front, it would cost me $400+ per the mechanic which I felt was ridiculous. I've never heard of faulty brake calipers on a vehicle below 5 years of age as I bought my XL-7 new in 2007 and the brake inspection was between 2009 and 2010. My windshield wipers failed one year to the point where I now have a scratch on my windshield. I like the style of the XL-7 and its horse power and it' has not failed me on long road trips, but the recent issue and past issues are very troublesome. I'm very close to paying my SUV off and no longer have the warranty so I have some decisions to make on whether I should invest the money or get rid of it. A recall on the electrical system should be implemented when considering all the past complaints. By the way, the dealer I purchased my XL-7 from no longer exists.

- Alpharetta, GA, USA

problem #10

May 292013

XL7

  • 119,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There are multiple issues with my 2007 XL-7. most recently it's been the smell of burning wires coming from either the steering column or under the dashboard which I will need to get inspected asap. I read one other complaint posted on 2/29/12 stating the same problem of smelling burning wires which ended in the vehicle being engulfed in flames and the family running for their lives. I've already had a so called tune-up from the local dealer about 1 1/2 years ago, but I now have issues starting the vehicle when I get gas. I have to pump the gas pedal multiple times in order to start the SUV and then it's a rough idle until I start driving. I get the oil change regularly, but was told on the last oil change the I needed a new oil pan gasket because oil was leaking from the pan. I also had my brakes checked 2 years ago and was told by the mechanic that I have uneven brake pads due to the front brake calipers engaging incorrectly or on one side of the rotors. In order to replace the calipers, get new brake pads and turn the rotors on the front, it would cost me $400+ per the mechanic which I felt was ridiculous. I've never heard of faulty brake calipers on a vehicle under 5 years of age as I bought my XL-7 new in 2007 and the brake inspection was between 2009 - 2010. My windshield wipers failed one year to the point where I now have a scratch on my windshield. I like the style of the XL-7 and it's horse power and it's not failed me on long road trips, but the recent issue and past issues are very troublesome. I'm very close to paying my SUV off and no longer have the warranty so I have some decisions to make on whether I should invest the money or get rid of it. A recall on the electrical system should be implemented when considering all the past complaints. By the way, the dealer I purchased my XL-7 from no longer exist.

- Alpharetta, GA, USA

problem #9

Jun 252011

XL7

  • 58,000 miles
The air bag is malfunctioning, the lights kept coming on. The dealer I bought the vehicle from agreed to fix the problem if I purchased the vehicle. Well it was too expensive so the ended replacing the pass. Seat airbag module with a used seat from another used vehicle. The steering wheel also makes a whinning noise when turning the wheel. The dealer told me it was the rubber rubbing against the cover. I found out from a ex-employee of the dealer that it was the steering column needing replacement. Since then every other owner I have spoken with says their steering wheel is the same. So it must be a faulty steering column in all these vehicles. Back to the airbag, the following months since getting my airbag fixed, the dash lights no longer came on in the vehicle. I did, however, notice that the indicator light would sometimes say off and sometimes say on if I had a front seat passenger. Several months following this, I started having a problem with my vehicle going dead. I took the cook to have it inspected, everytime I was told that the battery was fine as was the alternator. I started driving watching the voltage meter. Finally, I replaced the battery. I no longer have a problem with the car dying on me, but I do notice that the vehicle voltage still fluctuates from 12.3 to 14.3. when the fluctuation occurs, nothing has changed as far as running extra accessories etc. Now my traction service light, stability control light, ABS light and service airbag light are all coming on. Researching I have found online from numerous message boards and owners that this is a common occurrence and when repeatedly reported to manufacturer there is nothing being done. Examples are the lights coming on, air bags deploying while driving, vehicle acc.(radio and A/C controls) not working and so on. Is there a way you can investigate this with Suzuki?

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #8

Oct 282011

XL7 6-cyl

  • 41,000 miles
Family was traveling to town when we smelled something that smelled like wires burning. Upon inspecting the vehicle, the smell disappeared. Upon leaving the stop sign we were at, we traveled about a quarter of a mile & the driver (myself), started to smell smoke. I then pulled over to further inspect the vehicle at which time, I turned on the overhead lamp in the vehicle since it was starting to get dark, & noticed that the whole front dashboard at this point, was glowing red, orange, & blue & thick black smoke was boiling up on the entire inside windshield & that the truck on the driver's side was fully engulfed in flames behind the dashboard. I immediately got my children (teenagers) out of the truck & leaned over to grab my purse & saw that there was blue flames dripping down from under the dashboard onto the floor where my feet had previously been just seconds before. We all ran as fast & as far as we possibly could away from the vehicle to safety. Within 3 minutes of getting safely out of the truck (by the grace of god), the entire truck was fully engulfed in flames. The trucks windows had at this point, already had started blowing out & shattering & it was shooting huge basketball size fireballs out of the top of the truck into the fields that were beside the road we were on. The local fire department had arrived on the scene at 4 minutes after the truck had caught on fire, & the flames were nearly 30 to 40 feet above the truck. The fire department as well as the fire chief, determined the cause of the fire was due to an electrical failure and/or malfunction within the truck itself. I am just very thankful to the good lord that we all got out safely. If, I had kept driving, the fire department stated that we all could have passed out from smoke inhalation & possibly lost our lives that night. I just wanted others to be aware of this very serious situation.

- Guyton, GA, USA

problem #7

Jun 052007

XL7 6-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Suzuki XL7. The contact started the ignition and all of the doors automatically locked and could not be unlocked. After three attempts, the doors were eventually unlocked by a person on the exterior of the vehicle using the key fob. The vehicle was not diagnosed for the malfunction. The contact had not notified the manufacturer of the one time occurrence. The approximate failure mileage was 15,000. Updated 12/20/11 updated 01/19/12

- Inverness, FL, USA

problem #6

Oct 132011

XL7

  • 53,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Suzuki XL7. The contact stated all of the gauges on the instrument panel failed to function. The dealer was not notified of the failure. The manufacturer was notified and stated there were no recalls and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 53,000.

- Waxhaw, ND, USA

problem #5

Sep 062011

XL7 6-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
The engine overheated due to wiring shorting out on two fan motors. No fuse was tripped or light came on. Both motors shorted causing the connectors in the wiring harness to melt. Melting was discovered by local dealer. The wiring is being removed. I have pictures and I have documented the problem. The parts being kept due to seriousness of the defect.

- Keller , TX, USA

problem #4

Dec 212010

XL7

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Suzuki XL7. The contact stated that the steering wheel was making a strange noise and water was entering the vehicle on the passenger side floorboard. The contact stated that the water initially leaked from the sunroof which was taken to the dealer and repaired, but the problem persisted. From the leakage, mold began to form in the vehicle. It was taken to an authorized dealer who offered no assistance. The vehicle was also taken to a second dealer for the steering wheel failures where the contact was advised that the bushings would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired, as the part needed for repairs was on backorder. The horn had also failed but the manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was unavailable and the current mileage was 48,082. The failure mileage was 35,000.

- Americus, GA, USA

problem #3

Mar 312010

XL7

  • 60,123 miles
I am the original owner of a 2007 Suzuki XL7. Due to disabilities in the family I put several miles on this vehicle. From the beginning I have several issues w/this vehicle. Because of Suzuki's lack of concern/interest I have decided to make formal complaints about the "safety" issues today. If I was to list all problems with this vehicle I would be here all day. Out of 4 passenger windows we currently have only 2 functioning. When diagnosed I was told that one window was the motor and the other was electrical. After paying $76 to the dealership to identify the electrical problem they told me that they would need at least an additional hour (additional $76) to find the wiring problem. I declined. I have made several calls to Suzuki, about their product, to which they have replied I have too many miles on my car and they will do nothing for me. Also, the latches that fold the middle seats down often stick. At any given time you can go to pull one up so as to fold the middle seats and they will not budge! we have already had this issue addressed way back in the beginning of owning the vehicle. When we brought it back in to have the multiple issues addressed (something Suzuki suggested we do to see if we could help) we were told that "they would need to be taken apart to see what the problem was". for a cost, of course. We do not let our daughters ride in the third row seating for fear that if something happened they could not get out!! Suzuki's rep (who I was told was on vacation and didn't know when he could consider our issues) quickly emailed back to the dealer "too many miles, not going to help". I cannot even begin to afford the multiple problems w/this car and the value has decreased so that trading it in is just not an option. My concern is that I drive my children in this car daily and everytime I hope and pray nothing major happens. My children now call the car the "lemon" or the "beater". as they too are well aware of all the problems w/the vehicle.

- West Swanzey, NH, USA

problem #2

Sep 102010

XL7

  • 18,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Suzuki XL7. The contact stated that if there was a power failure while in the vehicle, he noticed that one would be unable to exit the vehicle. The unlock/lock button was electronically controlled. He had to have someone get a second key to unlock the doors so he could get out of the vehicle. The vehicle had not been inspected or repaired. The contact called the manufacturer who offered no assistance. The current and failure mileages were approximately 18,000.

- Madison, AL, USA

problem #1

Oct 252008

XL7

  • miles
Possible bad software issue. Faulty (gone bad) 'voltage regulator chip" that controls voltage and alternator. When it malfunctions it causes entire system and motor to shut down. If you are driving it locks up transmission and you can not control car. Been going on for months. Dealership just jerking me around for months.

- Munford, AL, USA

Not what you are looking for?