Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

Excessive Oil Consumption

2004 Tata Indigo

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Tata dealer.

2.0

hardly worth mentioning
Typical Repair Cost:
No data
Average Mileage:
9,000 miles
Total Complaints:
1 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (1 reports)
2004 Tata Indigo engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Tata Indigo:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Tata Indigo Owner Comments

problem #1

Dec 202005

(reported on)

Indigo LS

  • 9,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Dated 10th November 2005.

To

Mr. Rajiv Dube Vice-President (Commercial Division) TATA MOTORS PUNE � 411018 Fax : 7462843

Dear Sir,

First I would like to thank TATA MOTORS for manufacturing a Defective Indigo passenger car for a consumer. Comparing to other brand new vehicles,

As you mentioned in the Manual Book:

�Tata- Indigo is exclusively dissimilar in the performance which is not endure by any of the consumer investing a vast figure�.

�Thank you for choosing the Tata Indigo Sedan- another quality offering from the company�s growing range of passenger cars.

We look forward to having you as a satisfied customer and hope to have you retain us as your first choice for any of your motoring needs�

If the above said words (satisfied customer) are true, then kindly go through my problem with this car: -

I have purchased a brand new car from your dealer M/s Kumaran Automobiles Pvt Ltd, Nagercoil, K. K. Dist, Tamil Nadu on 03rd September 2004.

After purchasing the car I had a very nastiest & dreadful experience, which I feel ignominy to share with my neighbors, relatives, friends. As a manufacturer you should be aware of the difficulties facing with the brand new car by the consumer.

List of Defects in my Tata Indigo LS Car:

There are lot of major engineering defects in the Tata Indigo. I have be acquainted with the following defects in the first 14 months after buying my Indigo LS (in 3rd September, 2004) Date / KMS: 1000 kms 1. From day one it has been difficult to engage reverse gear & 5th gear - Service manager at factory workshop told me this is because of, the reverse gear is an idler gear (duh??) and there is no solution to this problem except to race the engine a bit, move the gear to 2,3 & 4 and then try engaging reverse again. Date / KMS: 22/10/2004 / 2712 kms 2. Within one month, wiper started with complaint: without switch on / pressing the wiper, it works automatically, adjusted during 1st service. Date / KMS: 22/10/2004 / 2712 kms 3. Within one month, Oil consumption in the engine is high. After noticing by the dealer service engineer it has been top-up with 3.5 litres. Date / KMS: 1500 kms 4. Within the second month, one side of head light lamp flawed due to rain water, and after the continuous follow-up & repeated step thru your dealer, the same has been replaced after 3 months time. (Refer Job Card) Date / KMS: 29/01/2005 5000 kms 5. Within the third month of purchase, due to poor pick-up of engine, while running 50kms continuously, the engine gets stopped. After registering the complaint, the service engineer told that the battery terminal Soldering has to be done to arrest this complaint. The same has been done and born a bill from me (customer) even the warranty exists. Date / KMS: 5000 kms 6. Within the same third month of purchase, Fuel Indicator not worked properly and fixed new under warranty. Date / KMS: 27/04/2005 7. Within 8 months of purchase, second time the oil consumption has been noticed and top-up with 2.5 litres by the service point. Date / KMS: 27/04/2005 / 9300 kms 8. Within 8000 kms the engine gets switched off many times in many places even inside the cities/towns and used to deracinate with the help of 2 or 3 persons to start the engine. (Imagine how worst this state of affairs shows the performance of the brand new car). After registering the complaint in your service point, they told this problem occurs due to the self-motor and it has been repaired under warranty. Date / KMS: 16/05/ to 28/05/2005 / 9987 kms 9. After repeated complaint, the oil consumption issue has been taken towards the attention of Mr. Krishnan (Tata Motors Service Engineer, Chennai) and the vehicle was measured through the test drive for 130 kms and finally accepted by your company engineer that the engine is defective. The new engine has replaced after 14 days from the date of deposit of the vehicle. (Refer dealers Job Card) Date / KMS: 02/06/ to 03/06/2005 / 10,447 kms 10. After receiving the vehicle with new engine, within short period of time (i. e. before 5days) there is a strange noise from the engine side. While complaining the same, we came to know it was occurred from the power steering pump and the same has been given for service to the TVS Company in Tirunelveli and the vehicle has been delivered to me after 28hrs. Date / KMS: 09/11/2005 / 15,226 kms 11. After completing 12 months from the date of purchase and completion of 5000 kms in the newly replaced engine, the vehicle has given for the 3rd service, specifically for 3 issues. a) Noise & tightness while applying gear. b) While switching on AC the left side floor is been getting wet. c) While starting the engine in the morning, some different �whistle sound� occurs: This problem had find out by the service engineer and he asked me to deposit the vehicle for another 2days to repair the FUEL INJECTION PUMP in Tirunelveli TVS company. List of spares replaced / repaired for this brand new car within 15,500 kms : 1. Head Light 2. Wiper switch 2 times 3. Clutch Disc 4. Battery terminal 5. Power steering pump 6. Fuel Indicator 7. Engine 8. Gear rod 9. Fuel injection pump All these defects have happened in less than 15,000 kms on the odometer - the car has been parked in workshop for most of the time in the last & present year. These defects speak volumes about Tata�s attention to detail and their engineering, as I have learned at my expense. Sir! If you were the consumer in my position & facing the same issues with the brand new car, what will be your action?

I have spent enough time in workshop for this car. Kindly note, after replacing the engine, your dealer promised me that there would not be any more complaint with this car (attached letter from the dealer). But after getting the car, while driving with in 50 kms, the problem starts with power steering. Then what will be the rest assurance for a long drive with this car? Also how can I drive this vehicle with secure?

1. Is it fair for the brand new car having the problem with wiper switch within 5000 kms?

2. Is it fair for the brand new car having the problem with self-motor complaint?

3. Is it fair for the brand new car having the defect in Fuel Indicator?

4. Is it fair for the brand new car having a defect in Power Steering?

5. Is it fair for the brand new car having a sound in the gear?

6. Which brand new car having the problem in engine & replaced within 10000 kms?

I strongly believe, this is unfair to me as a consumer and to your company that claims to provide a fair deal to consumers. Your company has a legal and moral obligation to see that my car functions properly by taking necessary steps to replace the entire car with out any manufacturing defects or kindly reimburse my money.

I would like a written statement explaining your company�s stand in response to my complaint.

I am looking forward to hearing from you ASAP, resolving this problem. If I do not hear from you with in 2days ��Rest, your company aware of the measures strongly proceeds by the consumer.

Truly yours,

Sidhik Niyas. P

- , Kanyakumari Dist, TamilNadu, India

Not what you are looking for?