Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
123,003 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Toyota 4Runner body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Toyota 4Runner:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Toyota 4Runner Owner Comments

problem #16

Dec 102014

4Runner 4WD 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles


The contact owns a 2001 Toyota 4runner. The vehicle experienced severe corrosion underneath the frame adjacent to the muffler and subframe. The mechanic diagnosed that the frame and subframe had severe corrosion. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 130,000. MA 10/22/2015

- St Clairsville, OH, USA

problem #15

Apr 032015


  • 126,000 miles
Left side frame rotted out.

- Bridgewater, NJ, USA

problem #14

Mar 082011

4Runner 4WD 6-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
The under carriage has been rusting since I noticed approx. 4 yrs after purchase. I now have been unable to pass inspection or drive vehicle since entire under carriage is completely rusted out. When attempt was made to place on lift to observe it began to crack or split. I have only 87000 miles on it and the rest of vehicle is clean and basically rust free. It is March 27, 2015 and has been sitting in driveway for last 3 yrs. The Toyota dealership in wappingers falls stated that Toyota is planning on repairing but is uncertain as to when. At present the back parking lot is filled with new under structures for other models.I would like to know when this ongoing terrible and dangerous problem will be repaired.

- Wappingers Falls, NY, USA

problem #13

Mar 032014

4Runner 6-cyl

  • miles


Vehicle has a frame that is rusted on passenger side and was told by a mechanic on 3/20/15 that it should be in a recall asap. Differential cover is a rusted bullet and is leaking. There is no changing it as cover is a solid weld no bolts to take off to change cover. Brilliant idea by Toyota.

- Chenango Forks, NY, USA

problem #12

Mar 162015


  • 113,332 miles
The frame on my 4runner will not pass inspection due to rust, which I need to repair. The vehicle does not have much miles on it and should not rust like it did from the inside. The rust is from the inside, which makes it very dangerous to have on the road especially in states where an inspection is not required. It could easily go unnoticed until it is too late, and somebody could get hurt or killed when the frame fails.

- Irwin, PA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #11

Oct 202014

4Runner 4WD 6-cyl

  • 110,900 miles
On routine check and inspection, Toyota arlington and Toyota schaumburg called my attention regarding a premature rusting on the underbody frame and resulted in a linear hole by the rear left and right portions of the vehicle. This according to the service advisors of both Toyota dealerships may make the vehicle unsafe to operate and may result to uncontrolled stability during driving.

- Arlington Heights, IL, USA

problem #10

Sep 282014

4Runner 4WD 6-cyl

  • 188,000 miles


Vehicle frame is rusting to the point of perforation. I discovered today two holes, one on each the driver and passenger side, inner frame rails just behind the rear crossmember. My concern is it may be rotting from the inside out. Is the manufacturer going to issue a recall on these frames as they have done on Tacoma and Tundra? this car is in excellent condition otherwise and I had planned to drive it for much longer due to its handling and safety.

- Panton, VT, USA

problem #9

May 232014

4Runner 6-cyl

  • 95,617 miles
Vehicle failed inspection in May 2014 due to excessive frame rust and perforation. The frame was rusted so badly that the service advisor at new rochelle Toyota advised "due to excessive frame perforation do not let customer drive vehicle."

- Mineola, NY, USA

problem #8

Apr 032014


  • 115,639 miles
Extreme rust on frame and surrounding components. The 4runner only has 115K miles on it.

- Creedmoor, NC, USA

problem #7

Feb 072014

4Runner 6-cyl

  • 91,000 miles
When I took my vehicle to get a state inspection at my Toyota dealership, the mechanic found a rust hole on my frame. It is located on the passengers side right beside the muffler. This vehicle is serviced regularly at this dealership since it was new. There are forums on the internet that have many people that have the same problem that I do. If these frames are this inferior they should be recalled just like the Tacoma and Tundra.

- Skowhegan, ME, USA

problem #6

Sep 242013

4Runner 4WD 6-cyl

  • 306,781 miles


The contact owns a 2001 Toyota 4runner. The contact stated that the frame was rusted. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic where the failure was confirmed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted, several times. The failure mileage was approximately 200,000. Updated 12/20/13 the consumer stated the vehicle is on the same frame as other recalled Toyota vehicles. Updated 12/26/13

- Bath, MI, USA

problem #5

Dec 282012

4Runner 6-cyl

  • 112,000 miles
My 2001 4runner vehicle will not pass inspection due to corrosion, actual holes and soft spot, on the rear part of the frame in the muffler area. Concerned with failure when towing 300 lbs trailer. No other issues with the vehicle, 112K miles and bought new 11 years old. Only detecting the problem now. Should not be needing to replace frame. Cost estimate $10K, shopping around for better pricing. Cost to repair 40% of the original purchase price or twice what the vehicle books today. Contacted Toyota and they will not even disclose # of complaint on this issue. Their only comments is there is no recall at this time. Finding numerous people experiencing the same issue.

- Bangor, ME, USA

problem #4

Oct 012012

4Runner 6-cyl

  • 113,462 miles
Severely rusty frame. My 4runner only has a little over 114K miles on it. It shouldn't have anywhere near the amount of rust on the frame. It's everywhere and flakes off to the touch.

- Creedmoor, NC, USA

problem #3

Aug 202012


  • 145,000 miles
My vehicle has very little rust except for the rear differential. Large flakes of rust have formed. The differential recently began leaking. After searching online I see this is a common problem with 4runners.

- Elmira, MI, USA

problem #2

May 202011

4Runner 6-cyl

  • 110,321 miles
Extreme rust on my 4runner's frame. Can be seen easily from in and outside of vehicle. I have many pictures to document. The recall on Toyota Tacoma and Tundra should be expanded to include 96-02 Toyota 4runner.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #1

Jan 032012

4Runner 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 128,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Toyota 4runner. The contact stated hat the vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for an unrelated defect when the technician detected a hole in the rear frame and informed the contact that entire frame was completely rusted. The vehicle was damaged beyond repair. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 128,000. Updated 02/10/12 updated 03/12/12

- Wheeling , WV, USA

Not what you are looking for?