Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.1

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
74,622 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Toyota 4Runner engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Toyota 4Runner:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Toyota 4Runner Owner Comments

problem #5

Mar 132014

4Runner 6-cyl

  • 112,109 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I filed a NHTSA complaint (ODI number 10569206 was assigned) on 13 March 2014 about this vehicle. On 14 March 2014, I took my 4runner to my local Toyota dealership after contacting Toyota customer service and logging a complaint ( case number [xxx] ) with them on the 14th of March 2014 at their office in California and the customer service rep telling me documentation of the issue at my dealership would help me. This vehicle was bought in NY and remained up North for 10 years and according to emerson Toyota auburn, me records at 85,199 miles on 07/11/2012. Service adviser, [xxx] condition1 at 85,199 miles. Used car prep. Vehicle being wholesaled per rich. Needs engine light on, A/C inop, rear axle housing very rusted and cracked, hood latch inop, radiator leaking, frame is soft. It had 85,404 miles when it came to Florida on 07 September 2012 my 2002 Toyota 4runner SR5 with only 112109 miles at coggin Toyota at the avenues dealership on philips hwy in jacksonville, Florida at 12:20pm on 14 March 2014 my complaint at the dealership on 14 March 20014 at 12:20.........customer states rear subframe is rusted. Check and advise. Their findings at 12:55pm on 14 March 2014... case number [xxx], found severe frame rust, holes in frame on right side, holes rusted through frame by gas tank on left side.holes rusted through gas tank and leaking fuel. Upper rear track bar bracket rusted off of rear end housing, rear shocks rusted off. Front brake rotor backing plates rusted through. The vehicle is unsafe to drive due to fuel leak and extreme rust through of frame. I want this vehicle frame and axle fixed or bought back by Toyota. A Toyota dealership in auburn, me knew of this problem almost 2 years ago and sent it out the door. Totally unsatisfactory. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #4

Nov 102011

4Runner 4WD 6-cyl

  • 135,000 miles
Engine at idle, loud noise, won't start. After taken apart found 4 connecting rods at the bottom of oil pan.

- Hampton Bays, NY, USA

problem #3

Dec 302009

4Runner

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota 4runner. The contact was driving 35 mph when the vehicle abnormally began to lose power with the illumination of the check engine light. The contact stated that the aluminum radiator and the bolt that connected the coolant and transmission fluid transfer was faulty. The contact stated that the failure would cause the two liquids to combine abnormally. The contact spoke with several mechanics that confirmed the failure. The failure would cause the vehicle to operate with extremely limited power. The vehicle was not repaired. The current and failure mileage was unknown.

- Cornwall, VT, USA

problem #2

Sep 022010

4Runner

  • 76,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota 4runner. While driving approximately 55 mph she heard a loud popping noise on the drivers side of the vehicle. She pulled over and she observed smoke and oil coming from underneath the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer where she was informed that one of the pistons pierced and engine block near the oil filter. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 76,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Pheonix, AZ, USA

problem #1

Aug 112008

4Runner

  • 50,000 miles
Burning too much oil.

- Miami, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?