Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Although it has a stellar record in terms of vehicle problems, initially the 4th generation (2003 - 2009) 4Runner didn't earn our top "Seal of Awesome" rating because it received poor crash test ratings for rear impacts. However it's proven to have one of the lowest driver death rates out of all vehicles (not just SUVs), so we've bumped it back up to our top award.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
93,381 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Toyota 4Runner seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota 4Runner:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Toyota 4Runner Owner Comments

problem #14

Nov 072016

4Runner

  • 126,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I took my Toyota tacome 2006 truck to the dealer from springfield, Virginia. A few weeks ago my air bag light came up on the front where the mileage is.

- Arlington, VA, USA

problem #13

Oct 202016

4Runner

  • miles
Nothing has happened but there was a recall and there is no fix yet

- North Chesterfield, VA, USA

problem #12

Aug 222016

4Runner

  • 129,000 miles
Takata inflators, ABS. Purchased vehicle used 08/12/2016 the following mil codes were cleared by selling dealership. C1223, P0456, B1150, CR123, C1241, B1152. Needed repair immediately, passed state inspection even needing the following repairs, both front axles, serp belt, sway bar link and rear brakes.08/24/2016 vehicle repaired by selling dealer and returned with flat tire, I had it towed to tire garage because spare was too old and incorrect size. After I picked up from tire repair I made an appointment for an unrepaired safety recall from 2012 on the ABS at a local dealership. Prior to service appointment I was driving over a speed bump and the vehicle would not drive over bump, ABS lights came on and vehicle rolled backwards. Had towed to Toyota dealer for service(I have receipt for tow) a couple days later dealer said recall was completed but would not provide any documentation for repairs. That dealership broke a lug stud on the front tire in but did not repair it. They said its ok to drive on 5 lugs its a 6 lug rim. I then brought the vehicle to another Toyota dealer for repairs because the vehicle started rolling backwards on inclines and not accelerating. Very scary because I almost rolled back into cars, also tire pressure light was on but all tires were inflated. They had it from 09/12/2016-09/26/2016. Unfortunately could not duplicate concern but did repair the lug stud, tire pressure sensor and recalibrated the ABS and airbag light(I was not informed until picked up about the airbag). I also had an oil change. Vehicle having issues as of today right turns I hear a loud clunking sound and wobble when hitting bumps on highway speeds.. the ball joints might be bad. I can see them covered in grease and have play. I am concerned that the vehicle is unsafe and was in an undisclosed major accident prior to purchase. Next app is not until 10/24.

- Bradford, RI, USA

problem #11

Mar 012016

4Runner

  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The airbag light in my '06 Toyota 4runner is on and won't turn off even after letting it idle for "6 seconds" as recommended by the recent letter from Toyota that I received. I have been informed that an official fix/recall for the airbags will not be available until September 2016. The takata airbags have killed and permanently maimed people thus far. Fingers crossed that I can make it until September without being killed/injured by my car.

- Mammoth Lakes, CA, USA

problem #10

Oct 152015

4Runner

  • 87,000 miles
The contact was owns a 2006 Toyota 4runner. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 35 mph, the air bag warning indicator illuminated continuously. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the air bag spiral cable would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 87,000.

- Belpast, ME, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #9

Feb 052016

4Runner 6-cyl

  • 176,460 miles
The airbag light appeared while I was driving, I was googling why this happened and came across a forum talking about similar incidents. I was reading that after the light appeared most of the same year and model the airbags are exploding while driving. I am concerned with my safety and my family's safety. I also read the airbags were recalled for 4runners. Please I need to make sure everything will be fine while driving my truck. Thank you!

- Commerce City, CO, USA

problem #8

Jan 142016

4Runner

  • 145,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The air bag warning lamp went off around 145K miles while I was driving. Went to a fred anderson Toyota charleston, SC and the advisor stated that it was just the lamp and that the airbag is still functional. Approximately after 200 miles, the light reappeared, but as the Toyota advisor stated it was still functional, I ignored it. At my next check up at leith Toyota raleigh, nc. (153,953 miles) the advisor at that time told me that it was a failed spiral cable assembly. Come to find out there actually has been recalls on the spiral cable assembly. As stated in the Toyota recall ("the steering column assembly in the involved vehicles contains a spiral cable assembly with electrical connections to the driver's airbag module that could become damaged when the steering wheel is turned. If this occurs, the air bag warning lamp will illuminate. In addition, the driver's air bag could become deactivated, causing it to not deploy in the event of a crash"). I just want this to be reviewed promptly considering that the recall that was made did not reach out to my model. This is a life threatening situation that has to be solved immediately and this calls for a recall! these two urls contain the exact situation that I have experienced. Https://techinfo.Toyota.com/techinfoportal/staticcontent/en/techinfo/html/prelogin/docs/cp/E1mtofaq.pdf www-ODI.NHTSA.dot.gov/acms/cs/jaxrs/download/doc/ucm453341/rcdnn-14V168-1650P.pdf

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #7

Jun 162015

4Runner

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota 4runner. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #6

Mar 272013

4Runner 6-cyl

  • 92,333 miles
Previous complaints, 10565915,10514762. Because of my complaints to safecar.gov, Toyota send me a report of the edr inspection. As per the inspection reports, Toyota says I was driving 50 mile per hour when the traffic stopped suddenly in front of me. And I stepped on the brakes but the vehicle did not have enough time to stop and I hit the vehicle in front of me in the rear. The vehicle was inspected on May 17 2013, because I filed a complaint through safecar.gov. When I had the accident I contacted Toyota few times to inspect the vehicle while the vehicle was in the repair shop. However Toyota refuses to do that. Now the edr report from Toyota says, vehicle appeared to have been already repaired, so making a complete determination as to why the airbags did not deploy cannot be done. That letter also asked me to send any pictures of my damaged vehicle. I send the pictures to Toyota and now another letter saying, after review of the photographs of the damage, this was not a direct frontal impact but an impact directed to the left front of the vehicle. There was insufficient abrupt forward deceleration of the vehicle to deploy the airbags. My insurance company estimated damage to the whole front part of the vehicle and paid $9300 to repair the vehicle. I believe Toyota don't want to say that it?S the airbag fault, because then they have to recall all the 4runners to repair the airbags. Anyway I am still alive, and I don't want any other owners to go through this kind of tragic accident. Hope safecar.gov will watch Toyota for its failure in the airbag safety of this vehicles. Thank you safecar.gov.

- Floral Park, NY, USA

problem #5

Mar 272013

4Runner 6-cyl

  • 92,333 miles
Previous complaints, 10565915,10514762. Because of my complaints to safecar.gov, Toyota send me a report of the edr inspection. As per the inspection reports, Toyota says I was driving 50 mile per hour when the traffic stopped suddenly in front of me. And I stepped on the brakes but the vehicle did not have enough time to stop and I hit the vehicle in front of me in the rear. The vehicle was inspected on May 17 2013, because I filed a complaint through safecar.gov. When I had the accident I contacted Toyota few times to inspect the vehicle while the vehicle was in the repair shop. However Toyota refuses to do that. Now the edr report from Toyota says, vehicle appeared to have been already repaired, so making a complete determination as to why the airbags did not deploy cannot be done. That letter also asked me to send any pictures of my damaged vehicle. I send the pictures to Toyota and now another letter saying, after review of the photographs of the damage, this was not a direct frontal impact but an impact directed to the left front of the vehicle. There was insufficient abrupt forward deceleration of the vehicle to deploy the airbags. My insurance company estimated damage to the whole front part of the vehicle and paid $9300 to repair the vehicle. I believe Toyota don't want to say that it's the airbag fault, because then they have to recall all the 4runners to repair the airbags. Anyway I am still alive, and I don't want any other owners to go through this kind of tragic accident. Hope safecar.gov will watch Toyota for its failure in the airbag safety of this vehicles. Thank you safecar.gov.

- Floral Park, NY, USA

problem #4

Mar 272013

4Runner 6-cyl

  • 94,102 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Previous complaint # 10505915 - date 4/11/13 on March 27th, 2013 I had an accident on a parkway rear ended. My whole SUV front part damaged and the airbag did not deployed. I was driving around 50 miles per hour and a commercial van in front of me stopped suddenly and I tried to stop the car, however it didn't and rear ended. Admitted to hospital emergency and released. Contacted Toyota few times about the airbag issue and not received a good answer or they don't even want to hear the complaint. Toyota 4runner - 2006 total damage to this car - insurance estimate $9400. * because of my complaint to safecar.gov, Toyota conducted an inspection on my vehicle on 5/17/13. The inspector send me an edr report and it showing airbag not commanded. ( unable to read / understand all other numbers on that report). The inspector informed me that, Toyota will contact me about the report. As of today no contact or any informations from Toyota about the edr report.

- Floral Park, NY, USA

problem #3

Mar 272013

4Runner 6-cyl

  • 92,100 miles
On March 27th, 2013 I had an accident on a parkway rear ended. My whole SUV front part damaged and the airbag did not deployed. I was driving around 50 miles per hour and a commercial van in front of me stopped suddenly and I tried to stop the car, however it didn't and rear ended. Admitted to hospital emergency and released. Contacted Toyota few times about the airbag issue and not received a good answer or they donżżT even want to hear the complaint. Toyota 4runner - 2006 total damage to this car - insurance estimate $9400.

- Floral Park, NY, USA

problem #2

Jul 142011

4Runner

  • 133,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota 4runner. The contact was traveling 5 mph and exiting a residential driveway when the side impact air bags deployed without warning. The contact did not suffer any injuries from the air bag deployment. The contact called the manufacturer and filed a complaint. The manufacturer sent a representative to inspect the vehicle who advised that the air bags deployed due to the vehicle experiencing a roll over. The contact disagreed and advised that he had not been involved in a crash when the air bags erroneously deployed. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer provided no further assistance. The contact stated that he did not feel safe driving the vehicle. The failure mileage was 133,000.

- Dry Ridge, KY, USA

problem #1

Apr 302009

4Runner

  • miles
We were stopped in traffic in our 2006 Toyota 4runner. We were slammed into from behind by a car traveling around 45mph. Thus we slammed into the car infront of us. Our airbags did not deploy, and the passenger seatbelt did not lock up, thus causing severe injuries to the passenger. There is around $11,000 damage to our truck.

- Shelbyville, IN, USA

Not what you are looking for?