Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

8.3

pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
4,054 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Toyota 4Runner seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Toyota 4Runner:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Toyota 4Runner Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #28

Jun 092016

4Runner

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Toyota 4runner. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags). The part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- San Marcos, CA, USA

problem #27

Nov 232016

4Runner

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Toyota 4runner. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Buford, SC, USA

problem #26

Aug 012016

4Runner

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Toyota 4runner. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags). The part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Monroe, LA, USA

problem #25

Nov 042016

4Runner

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall so I received a recall notice from Toyota for the takata airbags and called Toyota to fix it they said they don't have parts to fix it and to call again in a few months. A few months past called again and still don't have parts so ask what are my options" is it safe to drive" they say it's safe but just don't have sit in the passenger seat ( can't do that) or they can give me a compact car rental for free. I bought a SUV for a reason and need a bigger vehicle for work and will not accommodate rental for a bigger vehicle. I then agreed for a compact car then said I had to be put on a waiting list because there are none available. This all happened at Toyota marin located in san rafael ca. I then called Toyota corporate and asked if they can accommodate and whether they had any information when this will be resolved and jessica schell said she wasn't sure and started case # 1611031265 for my call and told me someone will contact me the next day about the case. So christina called me today and was rude from the beginning, first she said (her name was christina)my vehicle was safe to drive until you hit a 6-9 year deteriorate phase which then will be unsafe. That would be I believe janruary 2017. I then ask I was told it was shrapnel problem if I got in an accident by the first Toyota marin. Dealership service personal said (garret). So christina said she couldn't accommodate a larger a SUV for me and when I asked for her supervisor she refused to let me talk to him. All I want is a like safe vehicle to drive. I left like the whole time talking to christina from corporate she wouldn't answer my questions and said my vehicle was safe to drive and that it's not a issue.

- San Rafael, CA, USA

problem #24

May 152016

4Runner

  • miles
Takata recall takata recall takata recall takata recall when will Toyota have a fix for this problem, passengers in my vehicle are at risk of possible injury or even death from shrapnel? this should not be delayed any further we need a solution now.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #23

May 232016

4Runner

  • miles
Takata recall- my first notice of the recall was May 2016 and there still has not been a remedy for this recall. Just not having a pasture ride in the front passenger seat is not a long term fix. The holiday season is coming up and people will begin to travel more this is a problem that should have been fixed promptly. We are going on 5 months of this problem.

- Maurepas, LA, USA

problem #22

Aug 012016

4Runner

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My vehicle (4runner) has been sitting in Toyota's service center for over 2 months, waiting on a backordered part for a remedy to the recent recall. Our 7-person family cannot use the 4runner in the meantime due to the risk of death on passenger side. I am filing a complaint because Toyota gave us a loaner vehicle that is not comparable to our 4runner and they have no other option to provide us. We want our vehicle back and they state it will probably be at least December before the replacement part comes in. Since we just purchased the 4runner a year ago, we asked if we can just give the vehicle back to them as a trade in. However they will not work with us. We cannot continue driving this loaner vehicle because they will not allow us to drive it where we need to drive it, and were forced to cancel multiple trips due to not having our vehicle. This is getting ridiculous. Toyota must have known about this recall a year ago when we purchased the 4runner. Honda has known about it for years. We are extremely irate that we were sold this vehicle and cannot drive it for at least 5 months due to a recall. If the manufacturer cannot keep up with production of the replacement part then another a new manufacturer needs to come to the rescue. There has to be additional manufacturers of this part besides takata. Why aren't the auto makers bringing in outside help for this massive catastrophe and calling all hands on deck?! you are an organization that can help orchestrate a faster resolution to the problem. That is the reason I am reaching out to you, because I know you have the power to make things happen. I know I may be just one person writing this, but I speak for many who are being affected by the delays of the recall remedy. I look forward to hearing from you!

- Escondido, CA, USA

problem #21

Sep 202016

4Runner

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Toyota 4runner. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V577000 (engine and engine cooling) and 16V340000 (air bags); however, the parts for the recall repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. Parts distribution disconnect and VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Tupelo, MS, USA

problem #20

Sep 142016

4Runner

  • miles
Carlock Toyota in tupelo ms advised by phone there is no solution at this time.

- Tupelo, MS, USA

problem #19

Jul 012016

4Runner

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Toyota 4runner. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags) however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts unavilable.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #18

Jul 112016

4Runner

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Toyota 4runner. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Tuscaloosa, AL, USA

problem #17

May 272016

4Runner

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Toyota 4runner. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Mount Pleasant, SC, USA

problem #16

Aug 042016

4Runner

  • 56,000 miles
Takata recall. I'm very concerned that the 2011 4runner I purchased in July is involved in the recall and there is no remedy to fix it at this time" what are my other options" I don't want to ride in a car that is unsafe to drive. I was not given all the correct information during my hunt for a new car and am unsure how to proceed. The car originated from Florida and was transferred to me in Colorado through carmax.

- Thornton, CO, USA

problem #15

Aug 262016

4Runner

  • miles
Takata recall. I am an active duty sailor in the us navy stationed in California. I am transferring overseas next month and Toyota has yet to solve the safety recall issue on my vehicle. This is causing sever stress and concern. I was told by Toyota corporate and two local dealerships that I am just out of luck and they can't help. I am recently married and now my wife and I have to figure out how to not use our vehicle because it is unsafe to drive. What makes it worse is I need to ship my vehicle overseas to my new military assignment but can't because the shipper will not accept vehicles with safety recalls. So now I am stuck paying for a car that is unsafe and I can't take with me. This is competent wrong and should not be how a person willing to buy a brand and stand behind it is treated. Not only that but especially a military member who has enough concerns and stress during the process of moving to a different country. Why am I the consumer being punished for a mistake Toyota made? I really need help!

- Seeley, CA, USA

problem #14

Aug 252016

4Runner 6-cyl

  • 0 miles
Takata recall hello tried contacting Toyota and Lexus North America. Given that I am in puerto rico they referred me to Toyota puerto rico 1-877-539-8777, talked to [xxx]. so I received the letter for the two (2) vehicles I own:, 2011 Toyota 4runner ([xxx]) and a 2006 Lexus IS250 ([xxx]). currently they are saying that they cannot do anything until the replacement parts are available and that I should not seat anyone in the front passenger seat if it?S being used. Therefore, I am concerned for the safety letters I received, but more concerned that as a corporation no other options is being offered. I am paying for vehicles that I expect to be safe for my family and me. If I am not able to use my vehicle to go out with my wife and three kids, then I believe other options (I.e. rented car, dealer loaner) should be offered while a solution to the problem is made available. Final communication was that currently they are not offering any other options. Claim number: [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Humacao, PR, USA

problem #13

Jul 012016

4Runner

  • miles
Takata recall received the recall about 2 months ago and as of today 8/24/2016 my local dealership (world Toyota) has not received the information or parts to repair the recall and they inform me they do not know when they will receive it. Being the information in the recall recommends a passenger does not ride in the front seat I believe the time it is taking for the repair is excessive.

- Peachtree Corners, GA, USA

problem #12

Aug 012016

4Runner

  • miles
Takata recall Toyota has yet to provide a fix for this recall and they have provided no timeline for how long it will take. In the meantime, I am stuck with a vehicle that I cannot have a passenger sit in the passenger seat and I wonder if the driver's airbag is even safe.

- Peachtree Corners, GA, USA

problem #11

May 232016

4Runner

  • 57,500 miles
Takata recall. Notified in may of the problem with the passenger side airbag. Have made several calls to the dealer legacy Toyota, in tallahassee, Florida on the status of receiving the replacement part. They cannot give a date on when the part will be received. I am in zone a which is supposed to have a high priority due to high temperatures and humidity. Significant propellant degradation may occur is projected at between 6-9 years. Your website says millions have been replaced so I wonder why I cannot get a replacement? very frustrated because the vehicle cannot be operated.

- Crawfordville, FL, USA

problem #10

May 232016

4Runner

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Toyota 4runner. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V340000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 10/05/16

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

problem #9

Jul 192016

4Runner

  • miles
Toyota mailed a letter regarding the recall, dated June 9,2016. I received the letter on July 19,2016. I sent an email to Toyota on July 19,2016 regarding my concerns as the letter indicated that I could not have a passenger. On August 1, 2016, Toyota approved for me to use a compact car rental. Because the rental was approved, I had to leave my vehicle at the dealership and was told that the recall part could take 6 months to 1 year to fix. Although I appreciate a rental being covered during this process. Toyota has placed me in a small compact car that does not meet safety standards for my family, as I have a bigger vehicle with 3rd row seating. I am being told I can be without my vehicle for 6 months to 1 year with no actual date given to me. I don't believe Toyota is moving in a timely manner to correct this recall and I believe they are placing many families at risk.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

Read the next 8 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?