Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,276 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Toyota Avalon wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Toyota Avalon:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Toyota Avalon Owner Comments

problem #6

May 012013


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


2001 Toyota Avalon. Consumer writes in regards to defective vehicle wheels leaking air.

- Buffalo Grove, IL, USA

problem #5

Jul 222011


  • 154,657 miles
Flat tire, Jan 2011, while daughter was driving. Tire was separated at tread-sidewall on bridestone potenza, 205/60/16. I assumed my daughter did not pull over immediately and that caused the separation. Daughter swears over the bible she wasn't far from driveway (still in neighborhood) when she realized she had a flat and pulled over immediately. The separation between tread and sidewall had me doubt my daughter, at least until July 2011. July 2011, took same vehicle to the same dealer that replaced the flat in January, (auto tire of St. Louis), for tire rotation, balance, and alignment due to excessive vibration in steering wheel. Auto tire immediately called me to state that three of my tires, (bridestone potenza, 205/60/16) were defective and need to be replaced. I asked dealer to show me the defect and the defect was exactly the same as the tire that was replaced in January, except not as severe - meaning the separation was only a few inches in length and separation was much longer on the tire that had gone flat. In January, I assumed the separation was caused by daughter driving after tire had gone flat. I did not suspect it to be a defective tire since Bridgestone is a reputable company. The defects on the three tires replaced at no charge in July 2011 were identical to what was observed on the tire replaced in January 2011. The dealer, auto tire, did not make a warranty claim to Bridgestone in Jan 2011as they should have, they treated it as a flat replacement and not a defect and Bridgestone would not compensate me for the flat tire I replaced. So why am I filing this complaint? to warn other consumers that Bridgestone is aware they have a defective lot of bridestone potenza, 205/60/16 and as a consumer you may have a flat and not know that it should be considered a warranty defect.

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #4

Sep 062007

Avalon 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Avalon. The vehicle has Michelin mxv4, size P205/65R15 92vms tires. While driving 70 mph, the rear passenger side tire blew out. The contact stated that he did not drive over anything that may have caused the failure. The tires on the vehicle were replacements that were purchased from costco more than a year ago. He stated that all four tires were leaking air, causing him to place more air in them each week. The failure causes the vehicle to wobble while driving. The dealer rotated and balanced the tires, however, the failure persists. The latest repair on the vehicle was performed on August 27, 2007. The dot number and speed were unknown. The current and failure mileages were 54,000.

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #3

Aug 252003

Avalon 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,000 miles


This tire completely shredded.

- Maryville, TN, USA

problem #2

Jun 062001


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
There is constant vibration at 60-75 mph, and vehicle pulls to the left, seldom to the right. Dealer replaced tires and rims, it did not remedy the problem. Two tires showed excessive wear and were replaced. While driving the lug nuts caps fell off and were replaced.

- Miramar, FL, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #1

Nov 282001


  • miles
Tires too narrow and small for gross weight of Avalon car. (dot number: 205 tiresize: 205 60 R)

- Eugene, OR, USA

Not what you are looking for?