Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
97,215 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Toyota Avalon seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Toyota Avalon:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Toyota Avalon Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #22

Oct 052007

Avalon

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Air bag light stay on all the time. Dealer cannot fix it.

- Parkersburg, WV, USA

problem #21

Apr 172016

Avalon

  • 203,883 miles
SRS warning light appeared flashing on car. Took car to have checked and was told the side air bag sensor needed to be replaced. Side air bag sensor was replaced. Light no longer flashed. 5 days later the SRS warning light is flashing again. There have been several complaints on the NHTSA website about the same problem. I've been told that some car manufacturers will fix safety issues under an extended warranty. Can Toyota fix these problems free of charge? I'd like to find out before I spend more money trying to diagnose why the SRS air bag light is flashing. Several complaints have said that people have had several items repaired and the light still flashes. I think this is a safety issue that Toyota should fix.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #20

Nov 202015

Avalon

  • 268,464 miles
During a front-end collision in which my car was stopped and rammed into by another vehicle the air bag inflation sensor was sheared off it's mounting bracket. The air bag failed to inflate because the sensor failed to detect the impact.

- Port Neches, TX, USA

problem #19

Oct 052005

Avalon

  • 27,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Air bag light stays on.

- Oldsmar, FL, USA

problem #18

Jan 202015

Avalon 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Avalon. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available....updated 12/11/15 updated 12/15/15.

- Redlands, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #17

Jul 152015

Avalon

  • 71,500 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Avalon. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician was able to adjust the pretensioners on the front passenger side of the vehicle. The contact stated that the air bag warning light was reset; however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where the contact was informed that the air bag wiring harness needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 71,500.

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #16

Oct 042013

Avalon 6-cyl

  • 59,067 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Air bag warning light came on:dealer - labor 59067 checked all connections. Checked codes. Cleared codes. Air bag warning "red" light came back on within a few days dealer offered a repair approximate cost $2,000 I did not accept did not repair am driving the car since with warning light on all the time.

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #15

Dec 072010

Avalon 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Avalon. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The failure occurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the air bag needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact did not disclose if the manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 48,000. Updated 04/06/15 updated 11/3/2015

- Saint Augustine , FL, USA

problem #14

Jan 292015

Avalon 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Avalon. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the air bag light illuminated continuously. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, where it was diagnosed that the air bag system needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 70,000. The VIN was not available. Updated 4/7/15

- Ontario, CA, USA

problem #13

Jan 162015

Avalon

  • 162,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Avalon. The contact stated that while driving at a low speed, the brake pedal was depressed but the vehicle failed to stop. The contact applied excessive force to the brakes again but the brakes failed to respond. As a result, the contact crashed into the rear of another vehicle. The driver's side air bag failed to deploy. The contact sustained sternum and heart bruises that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 162,000.

- Alvin , TX, USA

problem #12

Aug 302013

Avalon 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Without incident, about 2 months ago, the airbag light came on when car started and continues to blink while car is running. I have approximately 99,000 miles on my 2002 Toyota Avalon. Local mechanic tested with his equipment and found a problem with passenger side airbag. He referred me to dealer to make repairs. Called dealer and was told they would have to re-check at cost of more than $100 and then would charge me for any repairs that were needed, but could not quote price until they performed test. I then read about recalls of 2002 Avalon, but my dealer said that I would have to pay because my make and model had not been recalled. I cannot justify paying $100+ for a re-test and then having to pay any amount dealer charges to repair a 12 year old auto. I do not trust this dealer because of past dealings with their sales and service departments. Please advise me. I Transport my elderly aunt on occasion. Is it safe for her to ride in the front passenger seat? thank you.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #11

Aug 292014

Avalon

  • 161,370 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Avalon. The contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, the airbag light illuminated intermittently. The problem recurred several times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 161,370.

- Norcross, GA, USA

problem #10

Jul 012013

Avalon 6-cyl

  • 160,000 miles
I own a 2002 Toyota Avalon XL. The SRS airbag light on the dashboard is constantly blinking. I took the vehicle to a repair shop that tested it and said that there is a short in the drivers side squib circuit. There was no incident to trigger this. Apparently this is a manufacturing defect and should be fixed via a recall by Toyota.

- Clifton, VA, USA

problem #9

Aug 142014

Avalon 6-cyl

  • 159,500 miles
The SRS warning light on the dashboard blinks continuously.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #8

Apr 042011

Avalon

  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Avalon. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated recurringly. The vehicle was taken to a dealer three times where the system was reset but to no avail. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number 14V147000(air bag) but did not confirm if the vehicle was included in the recall complaint. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 160,000.

- Benicia, CA, USA

problem #7

Apr 182013

Avalon

  • 183,058 miles
I was driving in traffic and I put on my brakes suddenly and the SRS light came on and remained on all day. I took it into the dealership and they ran a diagnostic which cost me 97 dollars, the code was B0113 right side air bag defect. I was quoted 2,000 dollars to repair. The air bags on my car have never deployed and I think there is a defect with the air bags and should be repaired by Toyota free of charge.

- Riverdale, GA, USA

problem #6

Jun 102012

Avalon 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Avalon. While driving approximately 65 mph, the driver of the vehicle crashed into a cement divider on the highway. The air bags did not deploy. The police reported to the scene and a report was filed. The driver of the vehicle and the contact, who was in the front passenger seat, was transported to the hospital by ambulance. The driver of the vehicle suffered a neck injury and the contact suffered a concussion and fractured vertebrae requiring surgery. The contact stated prior to the crash the air bag light would illuminate intermittently. The vehicle was destroyed. The approximate failure mileage was 160,000....updated 08-10-12 updated 08/14/2012

- Newport, MI, USA

problem #5

Oct 052011

Avalon

  • 101,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Avalon. The contact was driving 30 mph during inclement weather when the vehicle suddenly accelerated and crashed into an embankment. The air bags did not deploy and the vehicle was destroyed. The contact was not injured during the crash. The contact called the manufacturer and filed a complaint. The manufacturer also stated that an engineer would be sent to inspect the vehicle. The manufacturer inspected the vehicle but did not give any details of what caused the crash. The failure mileage was 101,000.

- Boston, MA, USA

problem #4

Jul 272010

Avalon

  • 104,281 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Avalon. The contact stated that upon starting the vehicle, the air bag warning light was illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that there was a damaged wire connector under the front driver seat. The vehicle was repaired yet the failure recurred approximately two months later. The vehicle was taken back to the authorized dealer where the electronic control module was repaired yet, the failure persisted. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where the air bag sensors were replaced but to no avail. The vehicle was taken to a different dealer where the contact was informed that the wiring for the front driver side air bag exhibited a short. The vehicle was not further repaired. The failure mileage was 104,281 and the current mileage was 113,000.

- Wading River, NY, USA

problem #3

Sep 132010

Avalon

  • 39,600 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Avalon. While driving approximately 30 mph, the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was advised to have the air bags replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 39,600 and the current mileage was 39,800.

- St Augustine, FL, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?