Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
74,883 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Toyota Avalon steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Toyota Avalon:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Toyota Avalon Owner Comments

problem #16

Apr 202014

Avalon 6-cyl

  • 215,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Avalon. The contact stated that while turning at unknown speeds, the vehicle became difficult to maneuver. The contact also mentioned that the vehicle failed to respond to deceleration attempts. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The failure and current mileage was 215,000. Updated 6/27/14 the consumer stated the steering wheel locked up and she was unable to turn the wheel left or right.

- Hamilton , OH, USA

problem #15

Feb 012012


  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Avalon. The contact stated that while driving at any speed, the vehicle would stall without warning. The failure was recurring. The check engine light illuminated and then flashed randomly each time the vehicle was driven. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, who diagnosed that the steering column pin and an environmental control box needed to be repaired. The vehicle was repaired and the failure still recurred sporadically. The vehicle was taken to a mechanic, where the radiator was replaced. The mechanic was unable to diagnose the steering failure however and the failure persisted. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 140000. Updated 05/22/14

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #14

May 112013


  • 155,995 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Avalon. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 10V345000 (steering) was performed however, the failure was not corrected. The steering wheel became hard to turn and made a loud clicking noise. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 155,995.

- Baten Rouge, LA, USA

problem #13

Dec 152010

Avalon 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 143,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Avalon. The contact was driving approximately 35 mph when the steering wheel suddenly locked and caused the vehicle to veer off road, crashing into a tree. The contact was reported injured and was transported to the hospital via ambulance. A police report was filed. The vehicle was then towed to a independent mechanic where it was deemed as destroyed. The manufacturer was contacted and advised him that there was a recall on the vehicle in regards to NHTSA campaign id number 10V345000 (steering) but the vehicle was never brought in for recall repairs. The failure mileage was approximately 143,000. Updated 03/31/11 the consumer stated to date, he/she has not received a report from Toyota. Updated 06/20/11

- Ferris, TX, USA

problem #12

Jun 102006


  • 25,000 miles
I've had my 2002 Toyota Avalon since it had about 25,500 miles. It now has about 77500. From the start of owning the car, the tires were worn as if the car was not aligned properly. We had it aligned at a reputable company, purchased top of the line Michelin tires. They wore incorrectly just as the first ones on the car when we bought it in spite of property rotating of them, etc. Last Nov or so, we replaced the tires again which should have lasted much longer than they did. Again, the tires are wearing improperly. We have had the car aligned no less than once per year. Another issue is the steering. If you barely move the steering wheel it "overcorrects". I've learned to drive it carefully with this issue, but every person who has driven is astounded at their first experience. I've sending this now because I received a recall on the steering column and telephoned the dealer to ask if this is why it is recalled. He said it isn't. therefore, I think someone should be aware of these issues with this vehicle. Other than these items, the car has been a great vehicle.

- Bloomfield , NE, USA

problem #11

Sep 212010


  • 71,000 miles
2002 Toyota Avalon was repaired due to recall on steering column. After repair, I was able to turn off ignition while car was in drive mode. Which safety defect is worse?

- Overland Park, KS, USA

problem #10

Sep 012010


  • 30,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Avalon. The contact stated that he received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 10V345000 (steering) but when he contacted the dealer, he was told that the parts needed for repairs were not available and could not provide an estimated expectancy date. The contact did not experience a failure but was concerned that the failure could potentially cause a crash if the failure existed. The vehicle was not repaired under the recall. The manufacturer confirmed that the parts were not available and could not provide a date of availability. The current and failure mileages were approximately 30,000.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #9

Sep 142010


  • 92,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Avalon. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 10V345000 (steering) and contacted the dealer to secure an appointment for repairs. The dealer advised that the recall parts were not readily available. The dealer advised the contact that he would be notified when the part became available. The contact was concerned that the failure would occur while waiting for the parts to arrive. The failure and current mileage was 92,000.

- Fishers, IN, USA

problem #8

Sep 132010


  • 127,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Avalon. The contact stated that he received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 10V345000 (steering). The dealer was contacted and stated that they have not received the part needed for the recall to be performed. The dealer stated that they would contact him when the part became available. The contact had not experienced a failure. The current mileage was 127,000.

- Quincy , IL, USA

problem #7

Jun 142010


  • 34,915 miles
On 14 June 2010, while driving in fairly heavy traffic, there was a loud noise in the front end of my 2002 Toyota Avalon. The wheels immediately jerked to the left. I regained control and moved thru the intersection when the action repeated itself. I immediately pulled over and had the car towed to findlay Toyota in henderson nv. After extensive testing, they found nothing wrong nor did an independent repair shop. Following the 29 July news release from Toyota, I E-mailed Toyota for information regarding Avalon's problem. On 30 July Toyota responded "at the present time, Toyota has not identified a remedy for this safety recall." In your 2 Aug release, NHTSA states the problem is "due to improper casting of the steering lock bar". NHTSA goes on to state that "dealers will replace the steering interlock device free of charge". my question is, why is it that NHTSA has identified a remedy for the problem and Toyota has not?

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #6

Dec 222009


  • 122,000 miles


While driving on the Massachusetts turnpike (route 90) my Toyota Avalon suddenly turned to the left (driver's side) and struck the highway median. I had no control of my Avalon and the vehicle was unresponsive to turning the wheel and to braking.

- Lynn, MA, USA

problem #5

Feb 032007


  • miles
I was driving on the high way with cruise control set to 65 mph. When I tapped on the brake to reset the cruise control, not only that the car did not slow down, it actually picked up the speed and started turning around all over the high way in a big 's shape. Neither the brake nor the steering wheel was functioning. The car was totally out of my control. The car eventually stopped after hitting the side rail on the road. The weather was good and the road was clear. As an engineer, I suspect the electronic sensor(s) of the car was the cause of the malfunctioning.

- Sandwich, MA, USA

problem #4

Jun 202007


  • miles
I purchased a certified used car from ira Toyota and since I've owned it 4 things have never worked: 1. the seat belts always stick and have been replaced and still do not work. 2. the driver's seat does not move forward and back. The dealer looked at it more than twice and still will not fix it. 3. the steering wheel does not turn smoothly and the dealer does not know why. 4. the vehicle continuously turns to the left, even after all new, superior wheels and tires, new struts and two front end alignments. The dealer: Ira Toyota could find nothing wrong.

- Lynn, MA, USA

problem #3

May 162008


  • 42,213 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Avalon. While driving at any speed, the steering wheel became difficult to turn. When the steering is operative, it is very erratic and hard to control. The steering wheel over compensates and caused several near crashes. The contact took his vehicle to the dealer and they identified the failure as the steering knuckles. The dealer also stated that the steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle is currently at the dealer for repair. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 42,213 and the current mileage was unavailable because the vehicle is at the dealer.

- New Berlin, WI, USA

problem #2

Mar 052003


  • miles
The steering wheel made a loud noise.

- Larchmont, NY, USA

problem #1

Jan 202003

Avalon 6-cyl

  • miles
When a left turn was made, and consumer straightened the wheel, the vehicle continued to turn to the left. The vehicle constantly wandered from side to side, changed lanes without turning the steering wheel, and worsened when traveling farther in distance. The dealer thought it was a tire problem, but the problem continued. After numerous attempts to repair the wandering, the problem continued, and an experienced technician stated that the steering was the problem. The consumer requested to recieve their money back for the vehicle. Scc

- Holmen, WI, USA

Not what you are looking for?