Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
11 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 1
Average Mileage:
31,386 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Toyota Avalon seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Toyota Avalon:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Toyota Avalon Owner Comments (Page 2 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #152

Mar 232015

Avalon

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (electrical system, air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Bristol, MD, USA

problem #151

Feb 082016

Avalon

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The failure mileage was 90,000. Updated 04/06/16

- St Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #150

Jun 152015

Avalon 6-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags). The dealer was unable to supply the part beyond a reasonable time frame. The manufacturer was unable to determine when the part would be supplied to the dealer. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. The consumer stated since there is no remedy for the air bag issue at the moment, she would like to have the air bag disconnected. Updated 03/02/16. Updated 04/06/16 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired on March 8. updated 04/20/16.

- Clear Water, FL, USA

problem #149

Feb 032016

Avalon

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Still waiting, over 1 year later, for resolution of NHTSA recall 15V043. This recall is dated 27 Jan 2015. Today is 03 Feb 2016. This is an unacceptable delay for a safety recall. Is there no enforcement action that could be utilized to address this issue?

- Madison, WI, USA

problem #148

May 312015

Avalon

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Havana, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #147

Jan 012015

Avalon

  • miles
Recall notification issued over 1 year ago, no remedy available currently. Local Toyota dealer offers no direction. This is not being handled appropriately considering the potential deadly consequences.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #146

Apr 032015

Avalon 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The recall notices was received in April, 2015. But the part needed to fix the problem was not available. The recall notices said "Toyota is preparing sufficient parts to support installation of sub-wire harness....we will send another notification when preparation are complete". my concern is that me and my family are currently driving around in an unsafe vehicle. The recall notice went on to say "the front airbag and/or seatbelt pretensioners could inadvertently deploy" my question is when is this problems going to be fixed. I have not taking this car on a major trip since this recall because I feel my family is at risk. I would appreciate a response to this inquiry. This recall correction need to be completed. Thank you [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Boonville, MO, USA

problem #145

Jan 282015

Avalon 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 03/18/16

- Monterey, CA, USA

problem #144

May 282015

Avalon

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Kalamazoo, MI, USA

problem #143

Apr 022015

Avalon

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the recall repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #142

Jan 212016

Avalon

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags) however, the parts were unavailable to perform the repairs. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Mckinney, TX, USA

problem #141

Jan 152016

Avalon

  • 49,984 miles
Takata recall - I received a recall notice approximately a year ago and have called my dealer and Toyota. They inform me that parts are not available. The airbag light has come on and off several times, but hasn't stayed on. I am concerned about driving the vehicle and having an accident and/or injury due to this problem. I was driving the vehicle on the interstate at the time. This recall concerns the supplemental restraint system electronic control module.

- Pulaski, VA, USA

problem #140

Jan 282015

Avalon

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Corning, CA, USA

problem #139

Feb 032015

Avalon

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact recivied notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15043000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailiable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Methum, MA, USA

problem #138

Mar 242015

Avalon

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Huntington Station, NY, USA

problem #137

Jan 052015

Avalon

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms part not available.

- Woodbury, NY, USA

problem #136

Jan 272015

Avalon

  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact stated that the SRS warning indicator illuminated. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was approximately 98,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #135

Jan 272015

Avalon

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Bernardsville, NJ, USA

problem #134

Mar 302015

Avalon

  • miles
Takata recall... it's been a year since we received the recall notice. Each time we contact our dealership we're told the fix is not ready yet. It's difficult to believe Toyota is taking this seriously if they can first say our lives are at risk and then diddle around for a full year without doing anything about it beyond sending out a letter. Do they get federal credit for responding to a recall situation when all they've done is post a letter to us"??"

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #133

May 272015

Avalon 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags) however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available....updated 01/25/16 updated 01/28/16.

- Sanibel, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?