Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
11 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 1
Average Mileage:
31,386 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Toyota Avalon seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Toyota Avalon:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Toyota Avalon Owner Comments (Page 7 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #52

Sep 082014

Avalon

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign id number: 14V147000 (air bags) and stated that the parts were not available for months. The dealer was unable to provide a specific date when the parts would become available and the contact was placed on a waiting list. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact was not experiencing a failure.

- Washington, NC, USA

problem #51

Oct 312014

Avalon

  • miles
I made an appointment with Toyota of rockwall to have a recall on the air bags repaired. After an hour I was informed that they would have to order the part. Kyle told me he would call me no later than Nov 4th with the part in hand. I never heard from him or anyone else at Toyota of rockwall. So I contacted Toyota hq by email. In their response they basically said that they don't care if the recall is repaired or not. It's their car on which they used defective parts and they should repair it asap.

- Forney, TX, USA

problem #50

Mar 272014

Avalon

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V147000 (air bags) had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that the part was not available for repair and that the manufacturer was only distributing one repair kit per week. The manufacturer was not made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced the failure.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #49

Mar 032014

Avalon 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number 14V147000 (air bags). After contacting the dealer and manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were not available. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 4/15/15 the consumer stated after a year the recall repair parts were still unavailable. Updated 11/5/2015

- Vero Beach, FL, USA

problem #48

Sep 012014

Avalon

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V147000 (air bags). However, the part needed was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Severna Park , MD, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #47

Sep 012014

Avalon

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V147000 (air bag) however, the part was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Hickson , TN, USA

problem #46

Oct 012014

Avalon 6-cyl

  • 103,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We took our vehicle to mann Toyota in prestonsburg, ky for a recall repair to the air bag system. The problem is much worse now after they said they replaced the wiring harness. The air bag light is coming on much more frequently now. Now they are saying we have to pay them to get a scan on the vehicle.

- Flat Gap, KY, USA

problem #45

Oct 202014

Avalon

  • 120,000 miles
Air bag warning light began flashing. The same week the light started flashing I received a letter from Toyota notifying me that there was a recall for a problem with the SRS because the SRS circuits are susceptible to internal shorting. The electrical short may create an abnormal current flow and increased heat which can damage the circuits. I brought the vehicle to a certified Toyota dealer to have recall addressed. The dealer told me they performed the fix that was required by Toyota. The work that the dealer performed did not address the problem that was causing air bag warning light to flash. I was told the air bag light was flashing because of a short. I can not figure out how this short in the SRS would not be covered under the recall.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #44

Nov 062014

Avalon

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V147000 (air bags). However, the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to state when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #43

Nov 032014

Avalon 6-cyl

  • miles
I received over the summer of 2014 a recall for my 2003 Toyota Avalon regarding the SRS (airbag) warning light and to hang tight because a 'fix' was coming soon. October 22, 2014 I received a 2nd letter from Toyota motor sales, U.S.a. indicating that the replacement part was in and to contact my Toyota dealership to schedule an appointment. I called walker Toyota (937.433.4950) located at 8457 springboro pike, miamisburg, oh 45342 on October 23, 2014 and attempted to schedule my car for repair. I was told that they did not have the replacement part but would contact me soon. On November 3, 2014 the SRS warning light came on the dashboard. I immediately took the car to the night drop at walker Toyota with the hope the part would be installed on Nov. 4, 2014. I received a phone call from bob (service mgr.) that there was no indication that the SRS warning light came on based on the car computer and because this is not considered an 'emergency' I have to wait 10 days for a part to become available. I now have a car that I'm afraid to drive for fear of the airbag deploying. I was assured by bob that this has 'never' happened to his knowledge. Wow.....that makes me feel good about it. I then asked for a rental car with a discount based on this issue. I was told that walker Toyota cannot give a price break on a rental. Keep in mind I'm a school secretary making $32,000 a year. $35 X 10 days is $350. I can't afford to do that. I am now resorting to begging rides to and from work until this car is scheduled for a repair.

- Springboro, OH, USA

problem #42

Oct 282014

Avalon

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V147000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available. The dealer indicated that the part was not available and did provide a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact did not experience a failure.

- Centreville, VA, USA

problem #41

Apr 072014

Avalon

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V147000 (air bags); however, the recall part was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Bellingham , WA, USA

problem #40

Jun 262014

Avalon

  • miles
Recall case #[xxx] I received a recall notice on my Toyota Avalon 2003 in June of 2014. Your customer service center has failed over and over to take care of this matter! I have spoken with [xxx], and none of them seemed to understand that I needed to speak with a supervisor none even would get a supervisor on the phone. The dealership near me Toyota of cool springs after speaking with the supervisor there named [xxx] told me even after 4 months they still were unable to schedule any service because they do not have parts in for this recall. I received a notice in October stating that the remedy was found and parts were delivered to all dealerships.the remedy recall notice also stated that the service should be done immediately. They told me at the dealership that the soonest they can schedule anything is six weeks from now in December. That is not ok as far as I am concerned for a safety recall that states it should be fixed immediately. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Thompsons Station, TN, USA

problem #39

Jul 152014

Avalon

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V147000 (air bags). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #38

May 012014

Avalon

  • 145,000 miles
NHTSA temporary complaint number jen15-49029. This concerns the Toyota recall for faulty air bag controllers, NHTSA recall #14V147000. Why has NHTSA waited so long before enforcing the recall" your site has about 122 complaints regarding the months-long delay to replace air bag controllers. How many people have to be killed before our government takes notice" while Toyota appears to take this recall very lightly, especially since the news is full of other Toyota recalls, the main enforcement group here in the us is your department. Stop meeting, stop waiting and start being responsive to dangers for the american traveling public. I hope by the time this recall and effective repair actually occur, I or someone else isn't killed or maimed on our roadways due to known faulty air bag controllers.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #37

May 072014

Avalon 6-cyl

  • miles
2003 Toyota Avalon. Consumer writes in regards to recall notice concerning the supplemental restraint system and electronic control module. The consumer was informed, she would receive a second notice. However, she has not received it yet.

- New Berlin, WI, USA

problem #36

Sep 292012

Avalon

  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. While driving 40 mph and making a left turn at an intersection, another vehicle made an illegal turn into the contact's lane and crashed into the passenger side bumper. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact was not injured and a police report was filed. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V147000 (air bags). The dealer stated that the parts were not available for repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 69,000.

- St. Paul , MN, USA

problem #35

May 172014

Avalon

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V147000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #34

May 242014

Avalon 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V147000 (electrical system), but the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. The consumer received an air bag recall. However, she was informed the parts were not available. Updated 01/21/15.

- Marco Island, FL, USA

problem #33

Oct 012012

Avalon

  • 79,000 miles
My wife was driving down the freeway when the seatbelt began tightening down on her to the point she felt she couldn't maintain her posture to drive safely and breath. She pulled off the road and released the seatbelt. She was unable to refasten the seatbelt/shoulder strap. She drove home without a seatbelt. This was in addition to occasional flashing of airbag warning light which has continued to occur since replacement of seatbelt mechanism.

- Vancouver, WA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?