Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
11 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 1
Average Mileage:
31,386 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Toyota Avalon seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Toyota Avalon:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Toyota Avalon Owner Comments (Page 1 of 9)

problem #172

Apr 222016

Avalon

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Salisbury, NC, USA

problem #171

Sep 212016

Avalon

  • 185,000 miles
The recall remedy for NHTSA campaign 15V043000 is a failure. An identical symptom to the original problem has recurred on two occasions (intermittent illumination of the SRS system warning light). Prior to the recall, we attempted to have the error code diagnosed by the dealership following illumination of this warning lamp. However, no error codes were stored. Now, the dealership (lou fusz, St. Louis) claims that they must charge us to attempt to read any stored codes. Obviously, Toyota engineers do not know what the problem is after having a first recall that failed followed by a second recall and now recurrence of identical symptoms.

- Webster Groves, MO, USA

problem #170

Jun 052015

Avalon

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Caldwell, ID, USA

problem #169

Jun 012015

Avalon

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The SRS side airbag system light flashes while driving, states that they fixed it but still airbag system light flashes while drive, it was a recall.

- East St. Louis, IL, USA

problem #168

Jan 272015

Avalon

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Torrance, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #167

May 022016

Avalon

  • miles
Takata recall I received a safety recall notice about the passenger front airbag on May 2 2016. I went to walker jones service department in waycross, ga on May 3. I was told they do not have the part and have only received one replacement part. I was told they would call me when Toyota sent them the part. I called again on May 16 and they said the same thing. I want my vehicle repaired so I can safely use it. Why are the parts not available"?? this is unacceptable. When these notices are sent out why do we have to get the runaround about the parts"

- Blackshear, GA, USA

problem #166

Mar 012016

Avalon 6-cyl

  • 93,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata airbags: Having received takata recall notices, I took my car to the dealer for action. He said my vehicle does not have takata airbags. According to NHTSA site, it does. Please let me know if there were any 2003 Toyota Avalon models sold with some other airbags than takata. If I do indeed have takata airbags, please let me know. Thank you.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #165

Mar 102014

Avalon

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The VIN was invalid. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Hendersonville, NC, USA

problem #164

Apr 072014

Avalon

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags); however, the part for the recall repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #163

Nov 242014

Avalon

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags); however, the part needed to perform the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #162

Feb 022015

Avalon

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had gone to walker auto group located at 8457 springboro pike, miamisburg, oh 45342-4503 both on 2/2/2015 and again on 4/7/2015 to perform the E0G recall repair on the sir sub harness. Both times they advised they did not have to part and would contact me when it was in. It is now 3/12/2016 and no call or contact in regards to this recall repair. My air bag light continues to flash and per the notification I had received to get this addressed it advised to file a complaint if I thought this matter had not been addressed in a timely fashion. It has been almost a year and this issue is still a problem.

- Centerville, OH, USA

problem #161

Jan 272015

Avalon

  • 90,500 miles
Over one (1) year ago I received a safety recall notice on this vehicle stating that the electronic control unit (ECU) would need to be replaced. Over a year later and "remedy not available" is the response from Toyota. It appears that the remedy is to delay, delay, delay so as many of these cars as possible are retired and do not require repair. Please let me know how this recall problem is going to be resolved in a timely manner.

- Fernandina Beach, FL, USA

problem #160

Jan 012016

Avalon

  • 118,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. While operating the vehicle, the air bag sensor light began to flicker off and on. After turning the engine off and back on, the vehicle operated normally. The cause of the failure was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 118,000.

- Redondo Beach, CA, USA

problem #159

Mar 012014

Avalon 6-cyl

  • miles
We own a 2003 Toyota Avalon. We received the safety recall notice regarding the supplemental restraint system (SRS) electronic control unit (ECU) for this vehicle in March of 2014. The red airbag light in the dash has been on, making the vehicle unsafe to operate. Since this involves the very safety and well-being of my family, we called the local West covina dealer, at least four (4) times and made at least one (1) drive-in visit, to get this matter resolved. Each time we were told there was no SRS ECU replacement part available. On our last attempt to reach out to them, we left a message for the service advisor at the West covina Toyota location and was not even given the courtesy of a return phone call. We are thoroughly disappointed and frustrated! since this places our family at great risk of harm and endangers their well-being, out of desperation, we are reaching out to you. It has now been over two (2) years since receipt of the initial safety recall notice. Surely, this is sufficient time to be able to rectify the problem! please feel free to contact via email at either [xxx] to discuss this matter. Or, you may reach out to us by phone at [xxx](H) or [xxx] (C). It is my hope that your assistance will provide the impetus needed to resolve this matter. Sincerely yours, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- West Covina, CA, USA

problem #158

Jun 152015

Avalon

  • 113,500 miles
Rec'd both notifications last year, but this exceeds reasonable amount of time waiting for a fix. One day last spring (2015) I had just started the car while in my driveway. The airbag indicator lite stayed on longer than usual. Also, my seat belt tightened up on me by itself while driving in town. I also smelled hot wires another time. I called Toyota several times and was told the part is unavailable, though I explained my issues. I requested the airbag be disconnected which they refused to do. I called Toyota again on 2/22/16. They said the part is in, but the manager of the dealership (Toyota) states they won't replace it in my vehicle unless the airbag light is on. Does that mean I will have fair warning" does that mean I will have to drive a dangerous vehicle about 50+ miles to the nearest dealer to have it fixed at that time" this is nuts! I am angry! I will be calling the federal trade commission next, which traffic safety referred me to. I still owe $4,400 on my car and will be unable to trade it in without the recall being completed.

- Baraboo, WI, USA

problem #157

Mar 162015

Avalon

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The VIN was invalid. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Howell, NJ, USA

problem #156

May 012015

Avalon

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Bolton Landing, NY, USA

problem #155

Jan 292015

Avalon

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. While driving at various speeds, the air bag warning light illuminated. The failure recurred intermittently. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags); however, the part or remedy for the recall was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Elmhurst, IL, USA

problem #154

Apr 152015

Avalon

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags) however the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time to do the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 04/20/16

- Castle Pines, CO, USA

problem #153

Mar 152014

Avalon 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Avalon. The contact stated that when the ignition was turned to the on position, the driver side air bag warning indicator illuminated intermittently. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the vehicle was experiencing issues from the open recall on the vehicle and the air bag may not deploy in the event of a crash. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and stated that the VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The failure mileage was approximately 50,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 04/13/16 updated 04/19/16.

- Coral Springs, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?