Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
38,547 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Toyota Avalon seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Toyota Avalon:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Toyota Avalon Owner Comments (Page 2 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #94

Mar 122014

Avalon

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Avalon. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 03/18/16

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #93

Mar 152015

Avalon

  • miles
Toyota has issued a recall for the supplemental restraint system and electronic control unit in March 2015. Toyota says that there is no remedy available. I am very concerned about my airbags deploying accidentally. I do not feel that Toyota is taking my safety or my family's safety seriously. The recall I received clearly states that they know how to fix the problem "replacement of the SRS ECU is now also required for this safety recall to be complete, " it just seems that they won't. it has been over a year that I have been driving a car in which I am not confident. Please make Toyota execute this recall in a more timely manner.

- Timonium, MD, USA

problem #92

Feb 162016

Avalon

  • 65,000 miles
Toyota has issued a recall for the supplemental restraint system and electronic control unit in March 2015. My car's airbag light is illuminated intermittently and the Toyota dealer recommends the ECU be replaced. I have been in contact with Toyota and my call has been escalated several times but they still are not fixing my car. Toyota says that there is no remedy available. I am very concerned about my airbags deploying accidentally. I do not feel that Toyota is taking my safety or my family's safety seriously. The recall I received clearly states that they know how to fix the problem "replacement of the SRS ECU is now also required for this safety recall to be complete, " it just seems that they won't. it has been almost a year that I have been driving a car in which I am not confident. Please make Toyota execute this recall in a more timely manner.

- Grand Junction, CO, USA

problem #91

Mar 252015

Avalon 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Avalon. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 04/29/16 updated 05/04/16.

- North Chesterfield, VA, USA

problem #90

Dec 302015

Avalon

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Avalon. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 04/29/16

- Vero Beacvh, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #89

Feb 042016

Avalon

  • 136,000 miles
2004 Toyota Avalon -receive a notice of a problem with the supplemental restraint system(SRS) electronic control unit (ECU). The original "fix" for this problem (deemed an "urgent safety recall" by Toyota) was announced in Mar, 2014. It was later found that this "fix" did not do the job.a 2nd recall (dated Jan 27th, 2015)was issued. To date, the recall has a status of "remedy not available". I consider this to be reprehensible!! the recall id is 15V043. I have called Toyota on several occasions and I get the same response.... "we will contact you when a remedy is available."

- Hampton, IL, USA

problem #88

Jan 152016

Avalon

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Avalon. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer prior to the failure for a air bag manufacturer recall however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 60,000. Updated 04/14/16

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #87

Mar 102014

Avalon

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Avalon. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags) and the dealer indicated that the parts to provide the recall repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was unable to provide a reasonable timeframe for when the parts would become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #86

Mar 302015

Avalon

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Avalon. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts are unavailable.

- Clackamas, OR, USA

problem #85

Jan 062015

Avalon

  • miles
The air bag warning indicator of my car lights up on a regular basis. The vehicle owner's manual states clearly that if this happens, the vehicle must be taken to a Toyota dealer for service. I took the vehicle to a local Toyota dealer, and the service representative informed me that they could solve that problem by replacing the air bag control module, or by changing the cable that connects the module to the accompanying air bag devices. Because the service department didn't have a replacement control module available, they replaced only the connecting cable. After the visit to the dealer, the air bag warning indicator didn't light. However, a few weeks later, the warning indicator began lighting occasionally, and as time passed, the indicator again began lighting regularly. When I called the Toyota dealer to report this condition, the dealer told me to call Toyota directly for more information. The representative at Toyota said that they had issues a recall notice, but a solution to the problem wasn't available, and they would notify me when it became available. In the meantime, I continue to see the air bag warning indicator lamp lighting almost all the time. I am very concerned that Toyota is attempting to avoid the cost of replacing the defective air bag control modules, and instead trying to find a less expensive alternative. I find this behavior dangerous on the part of Toyota and want them to own up to the issue and provide a timely solution to this dangerous situation.

- Providence, RI, USA

problem #84

Jan 272015

Avalon

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Avalon. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Springfeild, MO, USA

problem #83

Feb 022015

Avalon

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Avalon. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 05/11/16

- Broken Arrow, OK, USA

problem #82

Jan 052015

Avalon

  • 140,000 miles
The airbag light intermittently goes on and off

- Princeton Jct., NJ, USA

problem #81

Jan 282015

Avalon 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Avalon. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirmed part not available. Updated 03/09/16 the consumer stated the recall is three years old. Updated 03/10/16.

- Germantown, MD, USA

problem #80

Jan 012014

Avalon

  • 60,000 miles
The manufacturer has failed to remedy the defect within a reasonable time.

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #79

Nov 212015

Avalon

  • 43,000 miles
"takata recall" I was notified in January 2015 of additional recall by Toyota. The eog work was done previously. Now the airbag light intermittently goes on and off when traveling with a front seat passenger only. The light does not go on when driven by just the driver and no front passenger. My wife will no longer ride in the vehicle out of fear of air bag deploying. Have heard nothing from Toyota instructing us to bring vehicle to dealer for recall work. The January 2015 notice of recall stated we would be contacted when the parts to fix airbag issue would be available. My mechanic could not find evidence of problems when he checked error codes on vehicle, however the airbag light goes on and off intermittently when traveling with a front seat passenger. We would like the issue addressed promptly by Toyota.

- Terre Haute, IN, USA

problem #78

Oct 012014

Avalon

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Avalon. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags). However, the parts needed were still not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time to provide the recall remedy. The dealer was contacted and was unable to provide a time frame for when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was not made aware of the delay. The contact had not experienced the failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Torrance, CA, USA

problem #77

Jan 262015

Avalon

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Avalon. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Scarsdale, NY, USA

problem #76

Jan 272015

Avalon

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Avalon. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #75

Aug 012014

Avalon

  • 73,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Avalon. While operating the vehicle, the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the supplemental restraint system needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. In February of 2015, the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 15V043000 (air bags) was received. After notifying the dealer, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were not available. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 73,000.

- Richmond, IN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?