Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
17 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 1
Average Mileage:
39,546 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Toyota Avalon engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Toyota Avalon:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Toyota Avalon Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #53

May 102015


  • 121,500 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Avalon. While driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle failed to accelerate without warning. In addition, the contact stated that the vehicle accelerated independently without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 121,500.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #52

Feb 072007


  • miles
I had multiple incidences of my car surging in my Toyota Avalon. I would put my foot on the brake but the car wouldn't stop but would surge forward. At first this didn't scare me and I got a little used to it actually so that I thought I could handle it. But it kept getting worse. I drove on the highway between Iowa city and cedar rapids a lot. I would always use cruise control. I would say it happened to me 10-15 times on the highway between cedar rapids and Iowa city. I remember coming very close to rear ending someone when I had to slow down to exit but the car wouldn't slow down.

- Cedar Rapids, IA, USA

problem #51

Oct 292010

Avalon 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Avalon. The contact stated that while driving various speeds, she experienced an excessive pulsation in the accelerator pedal. The failure recurred whenever the vehicle was in operation. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign id number 10V017000 (vehicle speed control) in June of 2010. The failure recurred recently. In addition, the vehicle would accelerate independently. The failure recurred four times. There was also a default with the variable valve timing. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000....updated 05/22/13 the consumer stated the vehicle was being rebuilt. Updated 06/14/2013

- Hampton , VA, USA

problem #50

Oct 192011

Avalon 6-cyl

  • 59,000 miles


I was driving my 2005 Toyota Avalon in stop and go traffic due to an earlier accident up ahead. Vehicle speed at the time was approximately 10-15 mph. Without warning the Avalon surged ahead and rapidly accelerated. My vehicle impacted a truck which I had been following for some time. Air bags deployed, the windshield shattered and I sustained numerous injuries. The Avalon was declared a total loss. It's unbelievable how so much damage could have resulted from such a slow initial speed and the short distance I traveled. Mileage at the time was approximately 59,000 and I had driven the vehicle since it was new without any previous incidents. Numerous recalls involving acceleration and braking with the Avalon had already been completed by our local Toyota dealer.

- Bluffton, SC, USA

problem #49

Aug 042011


  • 60,000 miles
Vehicle experienced an unexplained acceleration while pulling into a parking space causing the vehicle to crash through a fence and underneath a parked construction tractor trailer. Vehicle accelerated with enough force to move the parked construction trailer several inches, shattering the windshield of the vehicle, and required extensive repairs to the vehicle of approximately $6,000. Aubrey alexander Toyota of selinsgrove, pa performed the "unexplained acceleration recall" of this vehicle in March 2010. We purchased this vehicle new in 2005 and prior to this incident we never experienced any unexplained acceleration.

- Lewisburg, PA, USA

problem #48

Jul 282011


  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Avalon. The contact stated that while driving with the cruise control set at 55 mph, the vehicle surged forward to 70 mph without warning. The failure was experienced twice. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, but the vehicle was not examined to determine the cause of failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 100,000 and the current mileage was 103,000. The VIN was not available.

- Lancaster , OH, USA

problem #47

Nov 032010


  • 100,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Avalon. The contact was driving approximately 35 mph when the vehicle suddenly accelerated and crashed into a utility pole. The contact attempted to apply the brakes but to no avail. The contact was injured and a police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to a local body shop and declared as destroyed. Prior to the crash, the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 10V017000 (vehicle speed control:accelerator pedal) and the vehicle was taken to the dealer where the contact was advised that no mechanical failure were located within the vehicle. The failure and current mileage was 100,000.

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #46

Mar 132011


  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Avalon. The contact stated that while driving at low speeds and in reverse out of a parking space, the vehicle suddenly accelerated in reverse and crashed into another vehicle. She applied the brakes as hard as she could but the vehicle wouldn't stop. No one was injured. The police were not notified. The vehicle was towed to a dealer and they are waiting for an inspector to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was approximately 48,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #45

Jul 092010


  • 49,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Avalon. The contact stated she was attempting to enter a parking space at approximately 2mph. When she depressed the brake pedal, there was an unusual increase in engine rpms and the vehicle abnormally accelerated. The contact crashed into a tree and continued to accelerate until independently stopping. The contact sustained injuries to her knees. A police report was available. The vehicle was towed to an authorized Toyota dealer where the vehicle was inspected two weeks following the crash. The technician advised that the results would not be available for 30-45 days. The contact was awaiting the results of the inspection. The failure and current mileages were approximately 49,000.

- Freeport , ME, USA

problem #44

Jul 092010


  • 39,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Avalon. While traveling at 2 mph, the vehicle suddenly accelerated without warning causing the contact to crash into a nearby tree. There were no injuries. A police report was available. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the contact was awaiting diagnosis of the failure. There were no prior warnings. The current and failure mileage was 39,000.

- Freeport, ME, USA

problem #43

May 092010


  • 18,009 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Avalon. While driving at 10 mph with his foot on the brake pedal, the contact stated that the vehicle suddenly accelerated. The vehicle went over a curb and hit a concrete trash can. There was front end damage to the vehicle but no injuries. The contact called an authorized dealership but the dealer stated that they could not assist him if he did not file a claim with the manufacturer. The vehicle had not been inspected or repaired at the time of the complaint. The current and failure mileages were 18,009.

- Tievose, PA, USA

problem #42

Mar 122010


  • miles
2005 Toyota Avalon - sent car in on thurs, Mar 11th for fixes per recall on accelerator and floor mat. The next day after the fix had been completed, while driving, the car accelerated on its own after releasing the accelerator. The car was fixed at the Toyota dealership in redwood city, ca.

- Menlo Park, CA, USA

problem #41

Mar 142010


  • miles
I have a Toyota Avalon (2005) that has been in to Toyota for all the recalls (floormat, accelerator). On March 14, 2010 I was leaving a parking lot when the car accelerated and I could not stop it even by putting 2 feet on the brake. I steered the car over towards the curb, jumped it and pushed the ignition button while both feet were on the brake. The car then stopped. I waited about 10 minutes then drove slowly and apprehensively home. I called the dealer first thing Monday morning and was unable to get the car into the shop until Tuesday morning. The car remains at the dealer's as they are still trying to recreate what happened. I was told they were talking to Kansas City and California. My fear is that nothing will be found, they cannot assure me this won't happen again. I am very apprehensive as I await the outcome. Do you have any advice?

- Bennington, NE, USA

problem #40

Mar 032010


  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Avalon. The contact was driving approximately 5 mph, proceeding to make a turn. The vehicle accelerated unexpectedly and crashed into a large bush. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer. The technician advised that a manufacturer inspection was required before repairs were performed on the vehicle which could possibly take months. The contact had concern of being without a vehicle for such a lengthy period and uncertainty of the service repairs. The manufacturer was notified and there was no response. The failure and current mileages were 55,000.

- Pleasant, CA, USA

problem #39

Nov 222005


  • 1,931 miles
Re: 2005 Toyota Avalon// 11/22/05 we were entering the freeway and our vehicle began to accelerate// both feet on brake// accelerated to approx 85 mph// put vehicle in neutral///the car revved to 8000 RPM's// heard a pop and the vehicle stopped accelerating. We drove immediately to nearest Toyota dealer and have all of this documented.

- Belgrade, MT, USA

problem #38

Dec 012008


  • 47,800 miles
We purchased a 2005 Toyota Avalon. Since 2007. We complained of erratic acceleration and downshifting problems. We also reported electrical issues involving the dashboard lights blinking on and off. Each response was your car passed all of our diagnostic tests¿. last year, while accelerating from a traffic light, our car surged forward hitting a vehicle. Luckily, no one was hurt. On January 25, 2010, while accelerating on a bridge incline, the car did not slow when the gas pedal was released. I applied the brakes and steered off the road hitting a curb. I contacted our local dealer. After performing diagnostic tests, we were informed the vehicle was fine. The surging could not be explained. When asked if the car had the cts gas pedal, the service manager wasn't sure. After checking, he confirmed it did have the recalled pedal. We expressed concern about driving the vehicle. The service manager assured us they found no problems and said the two incidents were not related to the faulty gas pedal because they took place too far apart. After contacting Toyota corporate (repeatedly) we finally had the ¿pedal fix¿ taken care of yesterday. From the start, we felt the dealer ignored us.. one employee told us ¿if it is related to the gas pedal, it will be the first complaint on the East coast.¿ we have owned Toyota for over 25 years. We fully understand recalls. It is difficult to understand downplaying the concerns of customers. Truthfully, we feel no safer after the new part was installed. This does not seem as if it will take care of the problem any more than the floor mat recall. We also continue to have problems with the electrical system (dashboard lights blink on and off).

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #37

Mar 082010


  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Avalon. The contact took the vehicle into the dealer to be serviced per the recall. The vehicle began to surge forward after the vehicle was repaired while driving approximately 15 mph. The contact did not have time to depress the brake pedal and allowed the vehicle slow down on its own. A different driver experienced the identical failure while driving the vehicle at 30 mph. The dealer nor the manufacturer were informed of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 48000 and the current mileage was 48103.

- Chatham, IL, USA

problem #36

Dec 242009


  • 124,000 miles
I have had several incidences of unintended and sudden information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6). Acceleration with my 2005 Toyota Avalon [xxx]. one resulted into me crashing into the garage. I have formally written to james lentz and akio toyoda and I have had my car inspected by herb wilkie from Toyota. I no longer feel that this car is safe to drive...

- Salisbury, NC, USA

problem #35

Jan 172009

Avalon 6-cyl

  • miles
On 1/17/2009 my mothers car left the paved roadway at approx. 70 mph and struck a brick wall. No skid marks were present at the time and we now believe that the vehicle may have accelerated out of control and caused the crash and subsequent death of my mother. Updated 03/14/10 updated 05/10/10 updated 9/29/11

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #34

Jan 022010

Avalon 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Avalon. The contact was driving down an incline, approximately 10 mph. An increase of acceleration occurred without warning. The engine was turned off and restarted. The vehicle was able to resume normal operation. The manufacturer was notified and provided recall number 1001101339. The vehicle was in the process of being repaired. The technician stated that the failure was related to the floor mat. The current mileage was 72,000. The failure mileage was unavailable. Updated 01/13/11 updated 01/27/11

- Kansas City, MO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?