Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
25,997 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Toyota Avalon brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota Avalon:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Toyota Avalon Owner Comments

problem #15

Apr 182015

Avalon 6-cyl

  • 136,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On April 17, 2012 bayside Toyota replaced the brake master cylinder seal on the Avalon under recall# 10V499000. Almost exactly 3 years later on April 18, 2015 the brake master cylinder seal failed as I was backing the car out of my garage. I was able to use my parking brake to stop the vehicle. Toyota claims that although the original seal never failed after 6 years of service it was replaced because it was a safety concern. The new seal failed after 3 years and Toyota claims it is only covered by a 12 month component warranty and is an "inconvenience" but not a safety issue. Toyota gave me a case number but said there was nothing else they could do. Had I been driving the car at full speed the results would have been catastrophic. I am having the car repaired at my own cost but I have no faith that the brake system is safe.

- Hunitingtown, MD, USA

problem #14

Dec 012014

Avalon

  • miles
I have a safety concern with the brakes slow to stop. I have replaced them I think twice through Toyota. But the issue never seem to totally go away. Below is the issue showing I am not the only one with this safety problem. But Toyota refuse to acknowledge this problem is real even with the campaign on it. Report receipt date: Oct 21, 2010 NHTSA campaign number: 10V499000 component(s): Service brakes, hydraulic Toyota is recalling certain model year 2005-2006 Avalon, a leak of brake fluid could lead to a change in brake pedal feel and overtime a degradation in braking performance increasing the risk of a crash resolve for me would be: Dealers will replace the seal with a newly designed one. This service will be performed free of charge.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #13

Mar 252011

Avalon

  • 9,500 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Avalon limited. When the contact attempted to make a left turn with his foot on the brake pedal the rpms increased, the vehicle continued to accelerate into the intersection. He engaged the brakes with extreme pressure, turned the engine off and placed the vehicle in park. He restarted the vehicle and it functioned normally. The contact stated that this was the first and only time the failure occurred. The vehicle was taken to the dealer on March 26, 2011. The dealer was unable to locate the failure but modified the brake cylinder. The contact stated that he filed a complaint with the manufacturer. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 9,500 and the current mileage was 9,590. Updated 05/04/11 updated 1/11/11

- Applegate, OR, USA

problem #12

Nov 232010

Avalon

  • 28,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Avalon. While driving approximately 5 mph, the vehicle suddenly accelerated. The failure occurred twice. The second time, the vehicle accelerated through a stop sign. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technicians stated the accelerator pedal and brakes needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The contact stated she did not feel comfortable driving the vehicle after repairs. The approximate failure mileage was 28,000.

- Pismo Beach, CA, USA

problem #11

Aug 012010

Avalon

  • 53,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Avalon. The vehicle was included in recall 10V499000 (service brakes, hydraulic: Foundation components: Master cylinder). The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that the parts would not be available for two weeks. The vehicle had not been repaired. The VIN was unavailable. The current and failure mileages were approximately 53,000.

- Lenhartsville, PA, USA

problem #10

Jun 102010

(reported on)

Avalon

  • miles
2006 Toyota Avalon. Consumer writes to express views regarding Toyota incidents the consumer stated he was sold a defective demo vehicle. The entire brake system had to be replaced as well as the tires due to premature wear. The windshield wipers did not clear the windshield properly and the brake light illuminated right after the consumer left the dealership. The consumer returned to the dealership only to be told there was no brake fluid in the reservoir.

- Peachtree City, GA, USA

problem #9

May 232007

Avalon 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,382 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Avalon. While driving at approximate speeds of 20-30 mph, the contact applied the brakes but they did not engage. The vehicle proceeded to crash into the rear of another vehicle. Two of the vehicle occupants were injured and a police report was filed accordingly. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where repairs were made to the front body damage. The failure mileage was 11,382 and the current mileage was 32,000. Updated 07/19/10. Updated 09/21/10

- 310-831-8126, CA, USA

problem #8

May 042010

Avalon

  • 47,571 miles
1. I was at a stoplight, foot firmly on the brake, doing nothing but waiting for the light to change. Suddenly I realized my car was moving forward, so I pushed the brakes harder. The pedal went down further but the car kept moving forward. All of this took only a few seconds. Then I heard and felt the engine accelerating very loudly. Just at that moment the light changed, and traffic sped ahead. Without thinking, I put my foot on the accelerator and the engine stopped roaring, the car accelerated normally and the brakes were responsive. 2. this was the only incident. 3. I was actually on my way to the Toyota dealer for routine maintenance when the incident occurred, so I continued on my way. When I got to the dealer, I had the person who met me at my car check the floor mat before I walked away. He said it was fine. Toyota performed all recall actions, asked if I wanted the computer re-programmed to allow the brakes to override everything else (I said yes), and filled out the forms and performed actions in accordance with an sua incident. They gave me a loaner and the next day told me that my car would be released. I asked for, and received a copy of the form for an sua incident, but it only has instructions for the technician and no written results, so I don't know what was found and what was done, other than normal recall work. I am filling this out because I no longer trust Toyota, and now I am afraid. It only happened once, so I don't know if they fixed the problem, and I want to be part of the record of incidents.

- Joliet, IL, USA

problem #7

Feb 252010

Avalon

  • miles
I own a 2006 Toyota Avalon. Before the recalls there was only two occasions where my vehicle acceleration malfunctioned slightly. On Thursday February 25, 2010 I had the recall repairs completed, and now my vehicle acceleration malfunctions every time I drive it. I almost hit another car moving up at a stop sign because my vehicle took off when I pressed slightly on the pedal. The brakes are now malfunctioning, where it doesn't stop upon pressing the brakes.

- Meridian, MS, USA

problem #6

Feb 142010

Avalon

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns 2006 Toyota Avalon. While driving 65 mph on cruise control the vehicle continued braking on its own. The contact deactivated the cruise control because the brakes continued to engage on their own. When the cruise control was turned off, the vehicle surged forward and almost hit a another vehicle. Two weeks ago the contact surged forward while driving 30 mph. She took the vehicle to the dealer and suggested that it was the computer in the vehicle. The dealer inspected the vehicle and stated that the computer did not have any problems. The contact stated that her steering wheel became stiff several times and the dealer stated that there was nothing wrong with her power steering. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 35000 and the current mileage was 42800.

- Corsicana, TX, USA

problem #5

Dec 262006

Avalon

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Avalon. While driving approximately 30 mph over rough surfaces, bumps or potholes and trying to depress the brake pedal, the contact heard a grinding noise and the brakes did not respond. He stated that it felt as if the brakes were rubbing metal-to-metal; however, the brakes responded normally after he drove over the rough or bumpy surface. The failure occurred approximately 5 to 6 times. The dealer and manufacturer have not been notified. The vehicle has not been repaired. The current mileage was approximately 150,000. The failure mileage was approximately 20,000.

- Corona, CA, USA

problem #4

Jan 192010

Avalon

  • miles
Problems with 20006 Toyota Avalon: On numerous occasions, the car has accelerated spontaneously and the brakes have not stopped the car when the brake pedal was depressed. Luckily, no accidents yet. Recent problems with engine malfunction and vehicle stability control malfunction. Toyota dealer denied any problems, except for "spark plugs" and oil line defect. Dealer denied car was on recall list. Complained that I was never notified about the mat, gas pedal or other recall. Dealer denied that car was on recall list. Dealer charged $1,100 (4 tires included) for work. Ongoing problem since car was purchased: Gas cap is difficult to replace after fill-up. Check engine light comes on if cap is not "clicked" several times. Car must be taken to dealer to be turned off. It will not go off even if gas cap is on properly. Dealer charged $135 for each time.

- West Babylon, NY, USA

problem #3

Mar 042007

Avalon

  • miles
I owned a 2006 Toyota Avalon. While driving on mountain road, as I rounded a curve, my car seemed to surge. A dog crossed in front of me as I came into the curve. I slammed on brakes and could not get car to stop I spun out of control and hit the bank on every corner of car as well as head on. Car finally came to rest about 150 yards from where I began braking. I was shaken up but not hurt. I am now convinced my gas pedal stuck or something electronically happened. My husband asked me what happened and I told him I honestly could not explain what happened. My vehicle was a total loss and my insurance paid; however, I purchased a 2007 Avalon and I am extremely nervous living here in the mountains and driving this car. I don't have VIN or mileage handy but can get info from my insurance agent if necessary.

- Hiawassee, GA, USA

problem #2

Sep 072008

Avalon

  • 38,000 miles
I am writing this for my brother who is the legal owner of the vehicle. (2006 Toyota Avalon) he had regular maintenance at laurel carmax Toyota on July 30th,2009. (including brake and fluid change) in sepetember 7th, he was driving on the road and the brake light turned on. He immediately lost brake and tried to pull over the road in order to stop the car. He took his car to the nearby bodyshop and they found his brake fluid reservoir was empty. They refilled the fluid at the body shop. Few days later, he brought his car back to Toyota dealership to request what's going on with his car. Since he just got brake/fluid change, this issue should not happen. Toyota said they need to "exam" the car first and found out the master cylinder and booster are bad with leaking. The exam cost around $270 and they will charge $1250 for repair the master cylinder and booster. The car has 39000 miles (2 years and 9 months) that is probably not covered under warranty. I just cant believe for being a 2 yrs 9 months old Toyota, how can its brake system just failed like that? my brother was lucky that he was able to stop the car and didn't get hurt. I think Toyota needs to do something about this issue.

- Angola, IN, USA

problem #1

Mar 272007

Avalon 6-cyl

  • 11,500 miles
My wife left work and experienced braking problems, had to pump brakes to stop. A few hundred feet later she came to an intersection and applied the brakes, which did not work. She rolled into the intersection with oncoming traffic. To avoid being T - boned she accelerated and ran off an ajacent roadway striking trees. The car was totalled, and she and my two sons had to be extricated from the vehicle, suffering only minor injuries. Her actions to protect herself and my children resulted in the collision, avoiding a river with high rapid running water.

- Ticonderoga, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?