Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
30 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
16 / 1
Average Mileage:
42,704 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Toyota Avalon engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota Avalon:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Toyota Avalon Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #71

Oct 152010

Avalon

  • 42,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Avalon limited. While driving 30 mph the vehicle suddenly accelerated. As she applied the brakes and shifted into neutral gear the vehicle would not slow down until it crashed into the median. She was injured but did not go to the hospital. The police were not contacted. The vehicle accelerated previously prior to the crash and was inspected by the dealer who removed the floor mats but did not reinstall a new set. The damage was to the left front steering area. The repair cost was $3,000. The vehicle was towed to a local dealership for the repairs. The manufacturer was contacted and a representative inspected the vehicle and found no manufacturing defects within the vehicle. The insurance company assumed responsibility for the repairs. The failure mileage was 42,300 and the current mileage was 42,645.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #70

May 182010

Avalon

  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Avalon. The contact stated that while driving 2 mph, the vehicle suddenly accelerated in reverse into another vehicle, spun around and continued into a building doorway. The contact tried to stop the vehicle by firmly depressing the brake pedal, but it continued to accelerate. The vehicle stopped after reversing into the building. A police report was filed. The contact sustained injuries. The vehicle was towed to a dealer who informed the contact that they would remove the floor mat and lower the stem. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 52,000.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #69

Dec 232010

Avalon

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Avalon. While driving 10 mph, the contact engaged the brake to make a right turn and the vehicle surged. The vehicle accelerated so forcefully that the contact had to make a left turn. The contact turned the vehicle off and it coasted to a stop. The vehicle had not been inspected or repaired. The contact called the dealer who stated that the failure was impossible. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 51,609.

- Bixby, OK, USA

problem #68

Nov 282010

Avalon

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Avalon. The contact stated that he received a recall notice. When he called the authorized dealer to make an appointment, he was informed that the parts were backordered until January 2011.

- Earlysville, VA, USA

problem #67

Sep 032010

Avalon

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Avalon. The contact was accelerating 10 mph from a complete stop and to an intersection when the vehicle abnormally accelerated. The contact applied the brakes but the vehicle would not stop or decrease in speed. The contact was unable to stop the unintended acceleration and crashed into the rear of a truck. The contact sustained a concussion, fractured wrist, fractured tubular and a laceration on his left leg. The vehicle was destroyed. A police report was available. The dealer was informed of the failure and they stated that they would file a complaint. The failure and current mileage was 130,000.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #66

Jun 262010

Avalon

  • 83,319 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Avalon. The contact stated that while at a stop sign, she depressed the accelerator pedal but the vehicle would not move forward. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealership where the throttle actuator control motor was replaced. The contact had not noticed any further issues since the vehicle was repaired. The contact had not spoken with the manufacturer at the time of the complaint. The current mileage was approximately 85,000. The failure mileage was 83,319.

- Auburn, AL, USA

problem #65

Apr 212010

Avalon

  • 63,119 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Has anyone ever considered the Toyota vehicle speed control, vsc, system as a source of sudden acceleration? a code P1578 means brake system malfunction relating to the cruise control brake switch. If the brake switch develops an intermittent, stepping on the brake pedal will not cause the cruise to disengage. The driver will fight the cruise control with the brakes and think its a sudden acceleration. The Toyota vsc system needs to be included in the protocol for their vehicle exams as well as independent forensic examiners.

- New Egypt, NJ, USA

problem #64

May 032008

Avalon

  • 45,000 miles
On May 2008 I was in a one car accident on the major freeway, determined by the police and sited a ticket for not being able to control the car. All I remember is my car accelerated and I went to slow down and lost control. My car was totaled and in pieces on the freeway. This vehicle had always accelerated since I had purchased it and determine that it was the type of car and was normal. I never received a recall on this vehicle until when I went to take another vehicle to get repaired I asked them if they had a recall with all of the media exposure. At that time they informed me that they did have a recall and I asked and was told.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #63

May 032008

Avalon

  • 45,000 miles
My vehicle 2006 Toyota Avalon, since I had bought it has always accelerated so I would just slow it down (tapping on the brakes). I assumed this was normal since I did bring it to the dealership telling them. May 3, 2008 I was in a bad car accident on 75 North. At that time the vehicle accelerated and when I went to slow down the car it went into the guard rail and after that when I woke up my car splattered all over the freeway. I was fined by the police unable to control my car. Went to court to fight it and I had to pay $140 plus they wanted me to pay for the damage on the freeway $3,000. I had to be cut out of the car and my vehicle was totaled.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #62

May 232007

Avalon 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,382 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Avalon. While driving at approximate speeds of 20-30 mph, the contact applied the brakes but they did not engage. The vehicle proceeded to crash into the rear of another vehicle. Two of the vehicle occupants were injured and a police report was filed accordingly. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where repairs were made to the front body damage. The failure mileage was 11,382 and the current mileage was 32,000. Updated 07/19/10. Updated 09/21/10

- 310-831-8126, CA, USA

problem #61

May 042010

Avalon

  • 47,571 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1. I was at a stoplight, foot firmly on the brake, doing nothing but waiting for the light to change. Suddenly I realized my car was moving forward, so I pushed the brakes harder. The pedal went down further but the car kept moving forward. All of this took only a few seconds. Then I heard and felt the engine accelerating very loudly. Just at that moment the light changed, and traffic sped ahead. Without thinking, I put my foot on the accelerator and the engine stopped roaring, the car accelerated normally and the brakes were responsive. 2. this was the only incident. 3. I was actually on my way to the Toyota dealer for routine maintenance when the incident occurred, so I continued on my way. When I got to the dealer, I had the person who met me at my car check the floor mat before I walked away. He said it was fine. Toyota performed all recall actions, asked if I wanted the computer re-programmed to allow the brakes to override everything else (I said yes), and filled out the forms and performed actions in accordance with an sua incident. They gave me a loaner and the next day told me that my car would be released. I asked for, and received a copy of the form for an sua incident, but it only has instructions for the technician and no written results, so I don't know what was found and what was done, other than normal recall work. I am filling this out because I no longer trust Toyota, and now I am afraid. It only happened once, so I don't know if they fixed the problem, and I want to be part of the record of incidents.

- Joliet, IL, USA

problem #60

Nov 112009

Avalon

  • 25,000 miles
The contact owned a 2006 Toyota Avalon. While driving at approximately 35 mph, the vehicle suddenly accelerated and crashed into a tree. The contact sustained minor injuries and a police report was filed. The vehicle was totaled as a result of the crash. The VIN was unavailable at the time of the complaint. The contact had not spoken with the manufacturer at the time of the complaint. The failure mileage was approximately 25,000.

- Hackensack , NJ, USA

problem #59

Dec 212009

Avalon

  • 53,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Avalon. The contact was driving with the cruise control set at approximately 80 mph when she noticed that the brakes were not responsive when applied. The vehicle did not begin to slow down until the cruise control was disengaged. The contact notified the dealer of the failure but the vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The failure mileage was approximately 53,000. The current mileage was approximately 58,800.

- Pomona, CA, USA

problem #58

Mar 222010

Avalon

  • 18,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Avalon. While the contact was driving at approximately 60mph, the vehicle suddenly accelerated without warning causing it to drive over a curb. No one was injured and a police report was not filed. The current and failure mileages were approximately 18,000.

- Hewlett, NY, USA

problem #57

Feb 102010

Avalon

  • 830,000 miles
On 2/10/2010 I was driving my 2006 Toyota Avalon headed to work. I made a complete stop at a stop sign and proceeded to turn right doing about 5 mph.once I turned the corner my car accelerated and went up on the curb and hit a fire hydrant. I was the only person occupying the vehicle and I was not hurt.I have since then had the recalls fixed on my car by the dealer, but they failed to tell me if my accelarator pedal was defected!

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #56

Oct 012009

Avalon

  • miles
2006 Toyota Avalon. Consumer states stuck gas pedal caused an incident. The consumer stated as he was passing a another vehicle on a two lane road, he hit a pot hole and the vehicle accelerated at full speed across the road in front of the other vehicle. It went off the edge off the road on the right side and bottomed out.

- Jamestown, ND, USA

problem #55

May 012008

Avalon

  • miles
Over two yrs numerous times Avalon Toyota accelerated, brought in to be checked X2 to be told nothing was wrong, happened to others in house also. Had recall fix done, did it again. Jumps forward without acceleration. Too afraid to wait, traded it in, lost alot of $ but feel safer. Other dealers to send to auction.

- Lowell, MA, USA

problem #54

Nov 192007

Avalon

  • 57,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Avalon. Occasionally when the contact attempted to accelerate the vehicle would hesitate and within a few minutes it would accelerate and lunge forward. The vehicle was taken to the dealership where the contact was informed that the failure could not be reproduced. The current and failure mileages were 57000.

- Antelope, CA, USA

problem #53

Mar 142010

Avalon

  • 58,900 miles
I have a 2006 Toyota Avalon. I took it in a few weeks ago to have the accelerator recall problem "fixed". today (3/14), I was traveling thru a shopping center parking lot at 10 to 12 mph. As I touched the brake, the car started to accelerate, grinding thru the brakes. I pushed it into neutral and jammed the brake. There was a very loud "thunk" and the car stopped and ceased trying to accelerate.

- Kenmore, WA, USA

problem #52

Jan 022007

Avalon 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Avalon. The contact was traveling at speeds of 5 mph, attempting to make a left turn when he heard an unusual noise coming in the engine area. Immediately, the vehicle began hesitating and within seconds, resumed normal operation. On a separate occasion while driving in reverse, there was an unusual increase in the rpms. The vehicle then accelerated with a loud sound coming from the engine. The failure would occur whenever the vehicle was in operation. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer on five separate occasions for the identical failures. The dealer was unable to duplicate or diagnose the failures. The failure mileage was 500. Updated 06/04/10. The consumer stated he difficulty starting the vehicle, the engine had a high idle, the transmission would hesitate into gear at 10-15 mph and then catch would catch up and disengage and the drivers door wouldn't open. Updated 10/14/10

- Little Elm , TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?